ARCHIVED - Winning Bidders Selected for the Central Mackenzie Valley, N.W.T.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Bulletin
Volume 2, Number 2
May 1995

Results of Call for Bids

Work bids in the amount of $ 4,365,000 were selected for two of the five parcels posted in the 1994 Central Mackenzie Valley Call for Bids (see Bulletin Vol.1 No.5, December 1994), which closed April 24, 1995. The winning bidders will receive exploration rights over an area totalling 163,889 hectares (630 square miles).

Parcel 5 was picked up jointly by Ranger Oil Limited and Unocal Canada Exploration Limited for $ 3,215,000. The term of their licence will be eight years divided into two periods of four years each. One well must be drilled in the first four years to continue the licence. This parcel is the third in the Northwest Territories to be acquired by Ranger Oil Limited in the past four months. Last December, Ranger picked up two parcels totalling 30,782 hectares in the southern Northwest Territories in exchange for work commitments of $ 5,367,075.

Parcel 2 was picked up by Foxboro Ltd. in exchange for a work commitment of $1,150,000. The term of Foxboro's licence will be nine years. A well must be drilled on the parcel within five years to continue the licence for an additional period of four years.

A ceremony scheduled to be held in Fort Norman on May 29, 1995, will provide the backdrop for the award of the exploration licence in respect of parcel 5. The winning bidder selected for parcel 2 will receive its exploration licence upon posting of the work deposit. No exploration licence will be issued for parcels 1, 3 and 4. Please see map for parcel locations.

Winning bidders were selected based on proposed exploration expenditures in the first part of their term. The call for bids lasted four months, from December 17, 1994 to April 24, 1995. The parcels had been posted by industry during a call for nominations which closed in November 1994.

Exploration of these two parcels will produce exciting new information along a 200 km transect of the Mackenzie River Valley. Winning bidders will have the opportunity to drill plays in rocks as young as Early Cretaceous and as old as Proterozoic with a spectrum of formation depth/source rock maturation history. High potential must be accorded carbonate plays in the Ramparts and Bear Rock formations. Potential is also good in older ilurian- Cambrian carbonates and cherts, and more speculatively in Cambrian sandstones. Porous reef development in the Ramparts Formation (Kee Scarp) and from the older Hume platform, and pervasive porosity development in the Bear Rock offer the most likely exploration targets.

Educational Seminar on the CPRA

Companies operating or interested in operating in the Northwest Territories are invited to attend an educational seminar on the Management of Oil and Gas Resources in Canada's North and on the Canada Petroleum Resources Act (CPRA).

Staff of the Northern Oil and Gas Directorate, assisted by officials from Natural Resources Canada and the National Energy Board will be presenting this one-day seminar at the new Metropolitan Centre in Calgary, on September 18, 1995. The seminar will review the northern resource management regime, will examine the status of land claims settlement agreements and the management of multi-stakeholder issues.

A geological overview will be provided followed by the highlights of the regime. Participants will be introduced to the land tenure system, including a review of the land tenure instruments; the rights issuance process; the royalty regime, including an examination of the royalty regulations; the process leading to declarations of significant discoveries and commercial discoveries; and the registration system.

This seminar is sponsored by the Canadian Association of Petroleum Landmen. For registration, please contact Denise at the CAPL office in Calgary at (403) 237-6635.

Next Requests for Postings

Calls for nominations will be repeated this summer for the Mackenzie Valley and the Southern Northwest Territories.

In the Valley, available Crown acreage will include Crown petroleum rights in lands where First Nations have become surface owners through the land selection process provisions of their respective land claim settlement agreements. This will lead to a significant increase in lands available for posting, including highly prospective areas close to recently awarded parcels. In the Southern Northwest Territories, the acreage available for postings should be similar to last year's offering.

Calls for nominations will be scheduled to close in mid-November. Parcels posted will be considered for inclusion in calls for bids opening in December for the customary four-month period. An April closing of the call for bids will result in the award of exploration licences in May 1996.

A call for nominations in the Mackenzie Delta - Beaufort Sea will be repeated in January 1996. Although no new nominations were received for this area in the call which closed April 10, 1995, the geology will sooner or later "do the talking" and revive interest.

See Us at the CSPG-CWLS Convention

Come and visit with us at Booth 219 from May 29 to 31 at the Convention Centre.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Soumissionnaires choisis pour le centre de la vallée du Mackenzie (T.N.-O.)

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Bulletin
Volume 2, Numéro 2
Mai 1995

Résultats des appels d'offres

Des soumissions pour des travaux s'élevant à 4 365 000 $ ont été choisies pour deux des cinq parcelles affichées dans l'appel d'offres de 1994 pour le centre de la vallée du Mackenzie (voir Bulletin vol. 1, no 5, décembre 1994) dont la date d'échéance était le 24 avril 1995. Les soumissionnaires choisis recevront des droits d'exploration sur une superficie totalisant 163 889 hectares (630 milles carrés).

La parcelle 5 a été obtenue par les sociétés Ranger Oil Limited et Unocal Canada Exploration Limited contre 3 215 000 $. La durée de leur licence sera de huit ans divisés en deux périodes de quatre ans. Un puits doit être foré au cours des quatre premières années pour poursuivre la licence. Cette parcelle est la troisième acquise par la Ranger Oil Limited au cours des quatre derniers mois dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest. En décembre dernier, la Ranger avait choisi deux parcelles totalisant 30 782 hectares dans le sud des Territoires du Nord-Ouest en échange d'engagements en travaux évalués à 5 367 075 $.

La parcelle 2 a été choisie par la Foxboro Ltd. en échange d'un engagement en travaux de 1 150 000 $. La durée de la licence accordé à la Foxboro est de neuf ans. Un puits doit être foré sur la parcelle d'ici cinq ans pour prolonger la validité du permis d'une période additionnelle de quatre ans.

Une cérémonie qui se tiendra à Fort Norman le 29 mai 1995 servira de toile de fond pour l'adjudication de la licence d'exploration relativement à la parcelle 5. Le soumissionnaire choisi pour la parcelle 2 recevra sa licence d'exploration sur affichage du dépôt relatif aux travaux. Aucune licence d'exploration ne sera délivrée pour les parcelles 1, 3 et 4. Veuillez consulter la carte pour l'emplacement des parcelles.

Les soumissionnaires seront choisis en fonction des dépenses d'exploration proposées pendant la première partie de leur période d'application. L'appel d'offres a duré quatre mois, du 17 décembre 1994 au 24 avril 1995. Les parcelles avaient été affichées par l'industrie au cours d'un appel d'offres qui a pris fin en novembre 1994.

L'exploration de ces deux parcelles permettra de recueillir de nouvelles données intéressantes le long d'un transect de 200 km traversant la vallée du Mackenzie. Les soumissionnaires choisis auront la possibilité de forer des zones pétrolières dans des roches aussi récentes que le Crétacé précoce et aussi anciennes que le Protérozoïque et qui présentent différentes profondeurs de formation et des roches mères de maturation variée. Un potentiel élevé doit être conféré aux zones pétrolières carbonatées dans les formations de Ramparts et de Bear Rock. Le potentiel est également élevé dans les carbonates et les cherts plus anciens du Silurien-Cambrien et, de façon plus hypothétique, dans les grès cambriens. Les récifs poreux dans la Formation de Ramparts (Kee Scarp) et dans l'ancienne plate-forme Hume ainsi que les roches à porosité pénétrante de la Formation de Bear Rock constituent fort probablement des cibles d'exploration.

Atelier d'information sur la LFH

Les sociétés qui exploitent dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest ou qui sont intéressées à le faire sont invitées à participer à l'atelier d'information sur la gestion des ressources pétrolières et gazières dans le nord du Canada et sur la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures (LFH).

Le 18 septembre 1995, le personnel de la Direction du pétrole et du gaz du Nord, avec l'aide d'employés de Ressources naturelles Canada et de l'Office national de l'énergie, présentera cet atelier d'une journée au nouveau Metropolitan Centre de Calgary. On y passera en revue le régime de gestion des ressources du Nord, le statut des ententes sur le règlement des revendications territoriales et la gestion des questions multilatérales.

Après un survol des points saillants du régime, on donnera un aperçu de la géologie. Les participants seront initiés au système de régime foncier, notamment des instruments de tenure des terres; au processus d'émission des droits; au régime de redevances, dont une analyse de la règlementation sur les redevances; au processus de déclaration des découvertes importantes et des découvertes commerciales; et au système d'enregistrement.

Cet atelier est parrainé par la Canadian Association of Petroleum Landmen. Pour s'inscrire, veuillez communiquer avec Denise au bureau de la CAPL à Calgary au numéro (403) 237-6635.

Prochaines demandes d'affichage

Les demandes d'inclusion de terres à des offres seront refaites cet été en ce qui concerne la vallée du Mackenzie et le sud des Territoires du Nord-Ouest.

Dans la vallée, les terres de la Couronne disponibles incluront les droits pétroliers de la Couronne dans les terres où les Pemières Nations sont devenues les propriétaires de la surface des terres par le processus de sélection des terres de leurs ententes respectives sur le règlement des revendications territoriales. Cela aura pour effet d'augmenter considérablement les terres disponibles pour affichage, incluant les zones d'intérêt près des parcelles récemment attribuées. Dans le sud des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, les terres disponibles pour affichage devraient être équivalentes à celles de l'an dernier.

Les demandes d'inclusion de terres à des appels d'offres cesseront à la mi-novembre. Les parcelles affichées pourront être incluses dans les appels d'offres débutant en décembre pendant la période habituelle de quatre mois. En mettant fin aux appels d'offres en avril, l'attribution des licences d'exploration aura lieu en mai 1996.

Une autre demande d'inclusion de terres de la région du delta du Mackenzie et de la mer de Beaufort aura lieu en janvier 1996. Même si aucune demande d'inclusion n'était reçue pour cette région dans le cadre de l'appel venant à échance le 10 avril 1995, la géologie d'elle-même ravivera tôt ou tard l'intérêt.

Venez nous rencontrer au congrès de CSPG-CWLS

Venez nous visiter au 219, rue Booth du 29 au 31 mai au Centre des congrès.

Date de modification :