ARCHIVED - New Lands Available for Posting in the Mackenzie Valley

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Bulletin
Volume 2, Number 3
June 1995

New Call for Nominations

A new call for nominations will be launched on July 5, 1995, for lands in the central Mackenzie Valley of the Northwest Territories. Interested parties have until November 9 of this year to submit posting requests. Requested parcels will appear in a call for bids at the end of November.

The bid selection criterion remains the total amount of money that the bidder proposes to spend doing exploratory work on the parcel during Period 1 of the term of the exploration licence.

The term consists of two consecutive periods. The drilling of a well during Period 1 of the term qualifies the licence holder to retain the licence for Period 2, whether or not the total amount bid has been spent. In Zone A, where exploration is less mature, Period 1 lasts 5 years followed by 4 years in Period 2. In the Mackenzie Valley corridor, referred to as Zone B, Period 1 lasts 4 years followed by 4 years in Period 2.

New Acreage

The call area includes, for the first time, most of the acreage where the Gwich'in and Sahtu Peoples are surface owners, and where the Crown is owner of the subsurface.

Of particular interest is the opportunity to acquire exploration rights adjacent to the Norman Wells oil field. There is good potential for discovering additional reef build-ups of Middle Devonian and carbonate shoals of lower relief in areas close to existing production. A large area north of Fort Norman is also available for the first time.It lies northeast (and up-dip) from the Norman Wells field where thrust panels successively outcrop in the Franklin Mountains, repeating the carbonate stratigraphy of the Norman Wells area.

New Terms and Conditions

Some of the terms and conditions of the Call for Nominations and the Call for Bids have been modified to make the rights issuance process more competitive. Several changes were made at industry's request. The following summarizes the main modifications.

Call for Nominations

Priority of Posting Established . Posting requests submitted between July 5 and November 9, 1995, will be treated on a first-come first-served basis. In the case of overlapping requests, the configuration of the first requester will be honoured; the requester with the overlap will have the opportunity to either maintain his posting on the non-overlapping sections or withdraw his request.

Submission of Posting Requests. Posting requests may be delivered by registered mail, by fax or in person to our office. Receipt of requests directly by the Northern Oil and Gas Directorate will allow better tracking of posting priorities and timely treatment of overlaps.

Call for Bids

Requirement for Bid Deposit Dropped . We now only require that each bid be accompanied by a work deposit representing 25% of the bid amount. This deposit is refundable and may be in the form of a bank draft, money order or certified cheque. Winning bidders can replace this guarantee, at their own convenience, by an acceptable negotiable financial instrument.

Sale Results Announced Next Day. The sale results will be announced the day following the closing of the call. Exploration licences to winning bidders, will be issued within one week of the announced call results.

Northern Petroleum Geology

Summary information on the geology of the Central Mackenzie Valley region is available in the Vol.1 No.4 issue of the Bulletin dated August 1994. A copy will be provided on request and is also available on Internet.

Additional information is available in "Petroleum Exploration in Northern Canada --- a guide to oil and gas exploration and potential". This new prospectus on northern petroleum geology is available on request from the Northern Oil and Gas Directorate.

Educational Seminar on the CPRA

Just a quick reminder that staff of the Northern Oil and Gas Directorate, assisted by officials from Natural Resources Canada and the National Energy Board, will be presenting a one-day seminar on the management of oil and gas resources in Canada's North and on the Canada Petroleum Resources Act (CPRA). The seminar will be held on September 18, 1995, (9:00-17:00) at the Metropolitan Centre in Calgary. It is sponsored by the Canadian Association of Petroleum Landmen. For registration, please contact Denise Grieve at the CAPL office in Calgary at (403) 237-6635.

Exploration Round-up

Seismic operations have picked up considerably in the Mainland Territories with over 650 km of seismic shot from February to April, 1995. This work has been distributed between 5 exclusive programs and a non-exclusive ("spec") programme of 300 km.

Now is the time of year for company geologists to get away from their computers and hammer some rock. The Geological Survey of Canada (Calgary) is offering a field trip to the Nahanni area to examine dolomitization in the Manetoe facies in spectacular outcrop. The Manetoe is the principal reservoir target in the Fort Liard area and hosts major gas pools in the nearby Pointed Mountain and Kotaneelee fields. The trip will take place in late August. For more information, please contact Dave Morrow (403) 292-7143 or Tim Bird at (403) 292-7017.

CSPG Convention

Thanks to all who visisted our booth at the Canadian Society of Petroleum Geologists Convention in Calgary at the end of May. We appreciated the opportunity to meet you and we're delighted at the amount of interest.

Release of Well and Seismic Data - Central Mackenzie Valley

With the completion of the first rights issuance cycle in the Central Mackenzie Valley since the mid-eighties, certain well, geophysical, and geological program data pertaining to this region have been released. These include final well history reports and all other data for the following five wells: Conoco et al N. Little Bear O-51, Chevron et al Mountain River O-18, Chevron et al Hume River I-66, Chevron East Hume River N-10, and Chevron East Hume River I-20. Final well history reports have also been released for Chevron Sperry Creek N-58 and Chevron Ramparts River F-46. However, for these two wells, certain other data will not be released until 1996, the fifth year anniversary of rig-release.

In addition, 2417 km of seismic data from six programs shot between 1986 and 1988 and reports from a number of other geochemical, gravity and geology programs have been released.

This new information gives a superior view of the subsurface west of the Mackenzie River between Fort Good Hope and Norman Wells.It is available from Rudi Klaubert at the Frontier Information Office, National Energy Board Calgary. (403) 299-3112.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Nouvelles terres de la vallée du Mackenzie disponibles pour affichage

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Bulletin
Volume 2, Numéro 3
Juin 1995

Nouvelle demande de désignations

Une nouvelle demande d'inclusion de terres du centre de la vallée du Mackenzie (Territoires du Nord-Ouest) sera lancée le 5 juillet 1995. Les parties intéressées ont jusqu'au 9 novembre de cette année pour présenter des demandes d'affichage. Les parcelles faisant l'objet d'une demande apparaîtront dans un appel d'offres à la fin de novembre.

Le critère de sélection des offres demeure la somme totale que le soumissionnaire se propose de dépenser en travaux exploratoires sur la parcelle durant la période 1 de la durée du permis d'exploration.

Cette durée se divise en deux périodes consécutives. Le forage d'un puits durant la période 1 de la durée du permis permet au détenteur du permis de conserver le permis pendant la période 2 même si la somme totale prévue dans l'offre n'a pas été dépensée. Dans la zone A, moins explorées, la période 1 dure cinq ans suivie de la période 2 qui est de quatre ans. Dans le corridor de la vallée du Mackenzie, désignée zone B, la période 1 dure quatre ans et la période 2, quatre ans..

Nouvelle superficie en hectares

La région choisie inclut, pour la première fois, la grande partie des hectares où les peuples Gwich'in et du Sahtu sont les propriétaires des parcelles superficielles et où la Couronne est propriétaire des roches souterraines.

Fait d'un intérêt particulier, il est possible d'acquérir des droits d'exploration près du champ pétrolifère de Norman Wells. Il existe un bon potentiel de découvrir des récifs additionnels du Dévonien moyen et des hauts-fonds carbonatés de faible relief dans des zones qui en voisinent d'autres actuellement exploitées. Une vaste région au nord de Fort Norman est également disponible pour la première fois. Elle s'étend au nord-est (et en amont-pendage) du champ de Norman Wells où des panneaux de charriage affleurent successivement dans les monts Franklin, répétant la stratigraphie carbonatée de la région de Norman Wells.

Nouvelles conditions

Certaines conditions des demandes d'inclusion de terres à des appels d'offres et des appels d'offres ont été modifiées pour rendre plus concurrentiel le processus d'émission des droits. Plusieurs modifications ont été faites à la demande de l'industrie. Voici un résumé des principales modifications.

Demandes d'inclusion de terres à des appels d'offres

Priorité d'affichage . Les demandes d'affichage présentées entre le 5 juillet et le 9 novembre 1995 seront traitées par ordre de réception. Dans le cas des demandes chevauchantes, la configuration de premier requérant sera honorée; le requrant dont la demande en chevauche une autre aura la possibilité de maintenir son affichage sur les sections non chevauchantes ou de retirer sa demande.

Présentation des demandes d'affichage. Les demandes d'affichage peuvent être envoyées par courrier enregistré, par fax ou être apportées en personne à notre bureau. La réception des demandes directement par la Direction du pétrole et du gaz du Nord permettra de mieux retracer les priorités d'affichage et de traiter sans délai les chevauchements.

Appel d'offres

Exigences en ce qui concerne le dépôt relatif à l'appel d'offres . Nous exigeons maintenant que chaque offre ne soit accompagnée que d'un dépôt relatif aux travaux représentant 25 % du montant de l'offre. Ce dépôt est remboursable et peut se présenter sous la forme d'un retrait bancaire, d'un mandat ou d'un chèque certifié. Les soumissionnaires choisis peuvent remplacer cette garantie à leur choix par un instrument financier négociable acceptable.

Annonce des résultats des ventes le jour suivant. Les résultats des ventes seront annoncés le jour suivant la fermeture de l'appel. Les permis d'exploration seront accordés aux soumissionnaires choisis au plus tard une semaine après l'annonce des résultats.

Géologie pétrolière dans le Nord

Des informations succinctes sur la géologie du centre de la vallée du Mackenzie sont contenues dans le vol.1, n°4 du Bulletin d'août 1994. On peut en obtenir un exemplaire sur demande ou le consulter sur Internet.

Des informations supplémentaires sont contenues dans le «Guide de l'exploration pétrolière et gazière et de son potentiel». On peut obtenir ce nouveau document sur la géologie en s'adressant à la Direction du pétrole et du gaz du Nord.

Atelier d'information sur la LFH

Nous vous rappellons en passant que le personnel de la Direction du pétrole et du gaz du Nord, avec l'aide de représentants de Ressources naturelles Canada et de l'Office national de l'énergie, présentera un atelier d'une journée sur la gestion des ressources pétrolières et gazières dans le Nord canadien et sur la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures (LFH). Cet atelier aura lieu le 18 septembre 1995 (de 9 h à 17 h) au Metropolitan Centre de Calgary. Il est parrainé par la Canadian Association of Petroleum Landmen (CAPL). Pour vous inscrire, veuillez vous adresser à Denise Grieve au bureau de la CAPL au numéro (403) 237-6635.

Excursion d'exploration

Les levés sismiques ont connu un essor considérable dans les zones continentales des Territoires du Nord-Ouest si l'on base sur les nombreux tirs sismiques réalisés sur plus de 650 km entre février et avril 1995. Ces travaux ont été répartis entre cinq programmes exclusifs et un programme non exclusif portant sur 300 km.

C'est maintenant l'époque de l'année pour les géologues des sociétés de quitter leurs ordinateurs pour les travaux sur le terrain. La Commission géologique du Canada (Calgary) offre une excursion dans la région de la Nahanni pour examiner la dolomitisation dans le faciès Manetoe au site d'un affleurement spectaculaire. Le faciès Manetoe est la principale roche réservoir cible dans la région de Fort Liard et il renferme d'importants gisements de gaz dans les champs voisins de Pointed Mountain et de Kotaneelee. L'excursion aura lieu à la fin d'août. Pour plus d'information, veuillez communiquer avec Dave Morrow au (403) 292-7143, ou Tim Bird, au 292-7017.

Congrès de la CSPG

Nous tenons à remercier tous ceux et celles qui nous ont rendu visite à notre kiosque pendant le congrès de la Canadian Society of Petroleum Geologists à Calgary à la fin de mai. Nous avons apprécié de vous rencontrer et avons été impressionnés par l'intérêt que vous avec manifesté.

Diffusion de données sur les puits et les levés sismiques - centre de la vallée du Mackenzie

Le premier cycle d'émission de droits ayant pris fin dans le centre de la vallée de Mackenzie au milieu des années 1980, certaines données de puits et de levés géophysiques et géologiques recueillies dans cette région ont été diffusées. Il s'agit notamment des rapports historiques finaux sur les puits et ainsi que toutes les autres données sur les cinq puits suivants :
Conoco et al N. Little Bear O-51,
Chevron et al Mountain River O-18,
Chevron et al Hume River I-66,
Chevron East Hume River N-10, et
Chevron East Hume River I-20.

On a également publié les rapports historiques finaux sur les puits Chevron Sperry Creek N-58 et Chevron Ramparts River F-46. Cependant, dans le cas de ces deux puits, certaines autres données ne seront pas diffusées avant 1996, soit au cinquième anniversaire du retrait des installations de forage.

De plus, 2417 km ont fait l'objet de tirs sismiques dans le cadre de six programmes entre 1986 et 1988, et les rapports d'autres programmes géochimiques, gravimétriques et géologiques ont été produits.

Ces nouvelles données donnent un aperçu plus complet des roches souterraines reposant à l'ouest du fleuve Mackenzie entre Fort Good Hope et Norman Wells. On peut les obtenir de Rudi Klaubert au Bureau d'information sur les régions pionnières, Office national de l'énergie. (403) 299-3112.

Date de modification :