ARCHIVED - Annual Beaufort Sea and Mackenzie Delta Call for Postings

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Bulletin
Volume 3, Number 1
January 1996

Call for Nominations Launched

The Northern Oil and Gas Directorate is calling for nominations over some 100 million hectares (385,000 square miles) in the Mackenzie Delta, Beaufort Sea and western Arctic Islands. Industry may request postings until the close of the 1996 Call on April 12, by mail or FAX to the Northern Oil and Gas Directorate (FAX 819-953-5828). Posted parcels will be included in a competitive call for bids scheduled to close in August 1996. This year the call area includes lands recently surrendered by Shell in the Mackenzie Delta.

The 1996 call is the eighth to be held in the Inuvialiut Settlement Region. Previous calls have resulted in the issuance of seven exploration licences since 1989. The annual cycle meets the expectation of local communities and industry for a predictable planning environment which should assist in developing land acquisition, exploration and other business strategies.

Terms and conditions of Call for Bids

Winning bidders will be awarded an exploration licence for a term of nine years divided into two periods. The drilling of a well during the first period qualifies the explorer to keep the licence for the full term.

The highest work proposal bid is the single criterion used to select winners. That is, the company proposing to invest the greatest amount of money on a specified parcel doing exploratory work will be awarded the licence for that parcel. Tenure is not related to whether or not the total amount bid has been spent, although deposits unredeemed by work will be forfeit at the end of the first period.

The Call Package

Interested parties may download electronic versions of the call document and map from our World Wide Web home page on Internet at the end of January. Paper copies are available from the Northern Oil and Gas Directorate or the Frontier Information Office of the National Energy Board.

Potential

The Mackenzie Delta and Beaufort Sea region is a prolific hydrocarbon province with 53 out of 178 exploratory wells designated as oil or gas discoveries. About half of these discoveries occur onshore in the Mackenzie Delta and on the adjacent Tuktoyaktuk Peninsula: the remainder lie in the shallow waters of the Beaufort Sea. Onshore, the largest three gas fields at Taglu, Parsons Lake and Niglintgak have combined established reserves of 5.8 trillion cubic feet (165 billion cubic metres - National Energy Board 1989). These form the nucleus of future gas projects for exporting Delta gas. Five oil discoveries in the 25 to 100 million barrel range (4 - 15 million cubic metres) are also onshore and excellent potential exists for further discoveries in the high end of this range. Offshore, the very thick stacked sandstone reservoirs associated with the Amauligak trend offer potential for further oil discoveries in the major category (100 - 500 million barrels/15 - 80 million cubic metres).

The Call area also includes thick sedimentary basins on Banks Island with moderate hydrocarbon potential, and in the western Sverdrup Basin of the Arctic Islands. The Sverdrup Basin, in particular, has proved rich in gas and oil with 19 discoveries. In the western Sverdrup, the Hecla Field contains gas resources of 3 trillion cubic feet (85.5 billion cubic metres), one of two major gas pools discovered along the southern margin of the basin. This margin also has high potential for oil discoveries in several exploration plays which have been barely explored. To the east of the Call area, Bent Horn field has been producing oil since 1985.

The Call also offers a vast area where well control is absent or extremely sporadic, and includes sedimentary basins with poorly understood potential for oil and gas. These expanses offer opportunities for explorers to develop ideas using modern reconaissance methods.

Results of Calls for Bids Available on Internet March 27 and April 10 1996

A quick reminder that bidding closes March 26, 1996, for the five parcels in the Central Mackenzie Valley. Bidding closes April 9, 1996, for the eight parcels in the Southern Northwest Territories.

The results of these two Calls for Bids will be available at 16:00, Ottawa time, on March 27 and April 10 respectively via our World Wide Web home page on Internet, from the Frontier Information Office of the National Energy Board in Calgary, or may be faxed upon request from the Northern Oil and Gas Directorate.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Demande annuelle de désignations pour la mer de Beaufort et le delta du Mackenzie

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Bulletin
Volume 3, Numéro 1
Janvier 1996

Lancement de la Demande de désignations

La Direction de la gestion des ressources pétrolières et gazières du Nord lance une demande de désignations pour quelque 100 millions d'hectares (385 000 milles carrés) dans le delta du Mackenzie, la mer de Beaufort et l'ouest des îles de l'Arctique. L'industrie peut soumettre des demandes jusqu'au 12 avril, date de clôture de la Demande de 1996, en s'adressant, par courrier ou par fax, à la Direction de la gestion des ressources pétrolières et gazières du Nord (fax 819-953-5828). Les parcelles désignées feront l'objet d'un appel d'offres concurrentiel dont la date de clôture est prévue pour août 1996. Cette année, la Demande vise une région qui comprend des terres du delta du Mackenzie que Shell Canada a récemment restituées.

La Demande de 1996 est la huitième qui est lancée dans la région de l'Entente intervenue avec les Inuvialuit. Les demandes antérieures ont mené à la délivrance de sept permis de prospection depuis 1989. Le cycle annuel répond aux besoins des collectivités et des entreprises de la région en matière de planification, ce qui devrait faciliter l'élaboration de stratégies d'acquisition et d'exploration des terres, et d'autres stratégies d'entreprise.

Modalités et conditions de l'Appel d'offres

Les soumissionnaires retenus se verront attribuer un permis de prospection dont la dureé sera de neuf ans, divisée de deux périodes. Le forage d'un puits au cours de la première période permet à la société exploratrice de conserver le permis de prospection pendant toute la dureé du mandat.

La soumission la plus élevée est le seul critère de sélection des soumissionnaires : le permis pour une parcelle sera accordé à la société qui propose d'y investir le plus d'argent en travaux d'exploration. La tenure ne dépend pas du fait que le montant total de l'offre a été dépensé ou non; toutefois les dépôts non justifiés par des travaux sont confisqués à la fin de la première période.

La Demande de désignations

Les parties intéressées peuvent obtenir des versions électroniques du document de la demande et de la carte s'y rapportant, à partir de la page d'accueil du World Wide Web sur Internet, à compter de la fin de janvier. Des copies papier sont disponibles à la Direction de la gestion des ressources pétrolières et gazières du Nord ou au Bureau d'information sur les terres domaniales de l'Office national de l'énergie.

Potentiel

La région du delta du Mackenzie et de la mer de Beaufort est riche en hydrocarbures; on y trouve 53 des 178 puits de prospection classés comme découvertes de pétrole ou de gaz. Environ la moitié de ces découvertes se trouvent sur terre dans le delta du Mackenzie et dans la péninsule adjacente de Tuktoyaktuk; les autres se trouvent dans les eaux peu profondes de la mer de Beaufort. Sur terre, les trois plus grands champs gazéifères de Taglu, de Parsons Lake et de Niglintgak recèlent des réserves prouvées totales de 5,8 billions de pieds cubes (165 milliards de mètres cubes - Office national de l'énergie, 1989). Ils constituent le noyau des projets futurs d'exportation du gaz du delta. Cinq découvertes de pétrole totalisant de 25 à 100 millions de barils (4 à 15 millions de mètres cubes) sont aussi situées sur terre, et il existe d'excellentes possibilités de découvertes futures se chiffrant à la limite supérieure de cette plage. En mer, les réservoirs de grès en strates très épaisses, associés à la direction du gisement d'Amauligak, offrent d'autres possibilités de découvertes de pétrole très importantes (100 à 500 millions de barils ou 15 à 80 millions de mètres cubes).

La zone visée par la demande de désignations comprend les bassins sédimentaires de l'île Banks, dont le potentiel en hydrocarbures est moyen, et le bassin Sverdrup des îles de l'Arctique. Le bassin Sverdrup, en particulier, s'est avéré riche en pétrole et en gaz : 19 découvertes y ont été faites. Dans la partie occidentale, le champ Hecla renferme 3 billions de pieds cubes (85,5 milliards de mètres cubes) de gaz; un des deux grands gisements a été découvert le long de la marge méridionale du bassin. Cette marge offre aussi de grandes possibilités de découvertes de pétrole dans plusieurs zones pétrolifères qui ont été à peine explorées. À l'est de la zone visée par la demande de désignations, le champ Bent Horn produit du pétrole depuis 1985.

La Demande vise aussi une vaste zone où le contrôle des puits est très sporadique, voire inexistant, ainsi que des bassins sédimentaires dont le potentiel pétrolier et gazier est méconnu. Ces zones de prolongement offre aux sociétés exploratrices la possibilité d'examiner de nouvelles avenues au moyen de méthodes de reconnaissance modernes.

Résultats des Appels d'offres disponibles sur Internet le 27 mars et le 10 avril 1996

Nous vous rappelons brièvement que l'appel d'offres pour les cinq parcelles dans le centre de la vallée du Mackenzie se termine le 26 mars 1996, et que celle pour les huit parcelles dans le sud des Territoires du Nord-Ouest se termine le 9 avril 1996.

Les résultats de ces deux appels d'offres seront affichés à 16h00, heure d'Ottawa, le 27 mars et le 10 avril respectivement, sur notre page d'accueil du World Wide Web, sur Internet, à partir du Bureau d'information sur les terres domaniales de l'Office national de l'énergie, ou pourront être faxés sur demande par la Direction de la gestion des ressources pétrolières et gazières du Nord.

Date de modification :