ARCHIVED - Additional Lands in 1996 Central Mackenzie Valley Call for Nominations

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Bulletin
Volume 3, Number 3
September 1996

The 1996 Mackenzie Valley Call for Nominations will open at 9 a.m. on September 16 and close at 4 p.m. (Eastern Time) on November 15, 1996. Posting requests will be included in a Call for Bids which should be launched on November 30, 1996. This Call is the third in a series of annual calls for this region of the Northwest Territories. The first call in 1994 resulted in the issuance of two exploration licences while the second, in 1995, saw the issuance of five additional licences.

The new Mackenzie Valley Call includes for the first time Crown subsurface lands in the northern K'áhsho Got'ine district of the Sahtu Settlement Region where surface ownership rests with the Sahtu. These lands, amounting to approximately 1. 1 million hectares, are included in the Call with the support of the communities of Colville Lake and Fort Good Hope.

New acreage open for posting includes areas with high potential for oil and gas underlying the Mackenzie Plain 40 km downstream from Norman Wells. Wells drilled in this area penetrated middle Devonian reef carbonates of the Carcajou reef complex. Tnese rocks are of the same type and age as the producing reef at Norman Wells. Oil and gas shows were recorded in several wells. The richly organic Canol Shale drapes the reef complex acting as both top and lateral seal for potential hydrocarbon traps and also as a source rock for oil in intimate proximity to potential reservoir.

Also open for nomination in this call are large areas south and northeast of the community of Colville Lake. Three gas discoveries and one strong gas show out of 12 exploratory wells drilled in the Colville Hills in the mid-seventies to the mid-eighties are estimated to contain a combined recoverable volume of 11.4 billion cubic metres (400 bcf). These discoveries were made in the basal sandstone of Cambrian age (Mount Clarke Sandstone), a reservoir rock of regional extent which underlies a thick sequence of younger carbonates and evaporates. Source rock studies of the Cambrian section suggest that oils of this age are also likely to be present.

New Terms and Conditions

In an effort to standardize terms and conditions throughout the Central Mackenzie Valley the following modifications have been made to the terms and conditions of the Call for Nominations and the Call for Bids.

Call for Nominations

Standardized term of 8 years; maximum block size of 6 grids
A term of eight years for exploration licences will apply throughout the Call area, as will a maximum block size of six grids (approximately 132,000 ha). Term and block size in previous calls used to differ between exploration zone B (south of Fort Good Hope and close to the Mackenzie River) and zone A (north of Fort Good Hope and remote from the river).

Call for Bids

Work Deposit
Pre-approved negotiable financial instruments such as letters of credit or Promissory notes accompanied by a bank letter of guarantee may now be used as a work deposit, as may bank drafts, money orders and certified cheques.

Issuance Fees
Issuance fees must now be submitted together with the bid by separate cheque.

Allowable Expenditures

In the first four years of the licence, exploration expenditures are used to offset the work deposit of licence holders. Since only 25% of the bid is secured by a work deposit, exploration activities are credited at the same rate ($4 spent reduces the work deposit by $1). In period 2 of the licence, the next four years, exploration reduces the applicable rentals on a dollar-for-dollar basis.

Rates for exploration activities are listed as 'Allowable Expenditures' in the Call document. They are intended to reflect a realistic rate for operations. Although they are unlikely to match the real rate paid by the company, they are intended as a practical yardstick for the preparation of bids by companies, and to facilitate the evaluation of bids by government and by local communities with respect to future work. Rates are reviewed periodically, with reference to actual expenditures for previous years, and with input from industry through polling of its members by the Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers.

This year, explorers should note that rates for 2D seismic acquisition have been increased on the basis of advice received from CAPP. In addition, provisions have been made for participation surveys and group shoots as they relate specifically to the evaluation of a licence.

Northern Benefits Requirements

Northern benefits requirements are associated with both the tenure and regulatory regimes. In the case of the tenure regime, the Benefits Statement of Principles found in the Call for Bids document constitutes an obligation which is contracted upon submission of a winning bid. The obligation rests with the holders of the exploration licence who, in turn, are committed to ensuring that their contractors follow the Principles with respect to all subcontracting opportunities.

In the case of the regulatory regime, a Benefits Plan is required for each work or activity pursuant to Section 5.2 of the Canada Oil and Gas Operations Act which is also referred to in Section 21 of the Canada Petroleum Resources Act. The requirement for a Benefits Plan may be waived, and this has generally been the case for operations of a transitory nature or short duration. However, explorers should note that for operations involving access over Sahtu or Gwich'in Surface Lands, a Benefits Plan will be required for all significant operations.

Enquiries as to the scope of benefits plans should be addressed to Walter Isotalo, Industry Relations Officer, at (819)994-0348.

Benefits Statement of Prindples

Companies engaged in exploration activities on frontier lands in the Central Mackenzie Valley are expected to follow the principles outlined below.

It is recognized that the nature and duration of work programs must be considered in determining the extent to which companies are able to implement the benefits principles.

Industrial Benefits

The company is committed to obtaining its goods and services on a fair and competitive basis. The company will support and encourage the development of regional businesses by considering potential suppliers for work associated with the program on the basis of best value, competitiveness and benefits to the regional communities and by providing relevant information to the supply community. Within the context of its general procurement policy, the company will conduct its operations so as to optimize the short and long-term benefits accruing to the North by providing opportunities for involving northern businesses on a full, fair and competitive basis.

The company is committed to work with regional communities and government agencies to identify potential business development opportunities.

The company is committed to ensuring that its contractors follow the above with respect to all subcontracting opportunities.

Employment and Training

The company is committed to the principles of fair and equal employment and training opportunities consistent with the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms. This commitment will promote fairness in employment opportunities and avoid employment practices which result in employment barriers. The company will give first consideration to qualified individuals resident in the regional communities.

The company is committed to work with regional communities and government agencies to identify potential employment and training opportunities.

The company is committed to ensuring that its contractors follow the above with respect to all employment and training opportunities.

Consultation

The company is committed to providing appropriate information concerning its exploration programs to concerned individuals, groups and communities in the region. Exchanging relevant information in a timely fashion will enable the company to assess the potential local economic and employment opportunities.

Compensation

The company will provide fair and equitable compensation, consistent with applicable territorial policies, to individuals involved in hunting, trapping and fishing in the event of adverse impacts demonstrated to result from project-related activities.

Annual Reporting Requirement

The company will submit an annual report within six months of the completion date of its seasonal work program.
The report should contain the following information:

  1. a brief work program description;
  2. total program costs (total value of purchased goods and services, total direct wages and total direct work months);
  3. total direct wages by northern community of residence;
  4. total direct work months by community of residence;
  5. number of northern community residents employed for each program component (e.g. seismic, drilling, support and construction);
  6. total value of purchased goods and services from each northern community, including a brief description of the goods and services purchased from each conununity;
  7. listing of consultations undertaken;
  8. a brief description of any programs that may be undertaken in the next work season.

Annual reports are to be sent to:

Director, Northern Oil and Gas Directorate,
Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development,
Ottawa ON K1A 0H4.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Vallée centrale du Mackenzie : nouvelles terres visées par la demande de désignations de 1996

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Bulletin
Volume 3, numéro 3
septembre 1996

La demande de désignations de 1996 pour la vallée du Mackenzie ouvrira à 9 h le 16 septembre 1996 et fermera à 16 h (heure de l'Est) le 15 novembre 1996. Les soumissions feront l'objet d'un appel d'offres qui devrait être lancé le 30 novembre 1996. Cet appel d'offres est le troisième d'une série d'appels annuels pour cette région des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Le premier appel de 1994 a mené à la délivrance de deux permis de prospection, et le second, en 1995, à la délivrance de cinq autres permis.

La nouvelle demande pour la vallée du Mackenzie vise pour la première fois le sous-sol de terres de la Couronne de la zone de K'áhsho Got'ine située dans le nord de la région du Sahtu dont la surface appartient au Sahtu. Ces terres, d'une superficie de quelque 1,1 million d'hectares, sont incluses dans la demande avec l'appui des collectivités de Colville Lake et de Fort Good Hope.

Les nouvelles terres ouvertes à désignation comprennent des zones souterraines au potentiel pétrolier et gazier´levé de la plaine du Mackenzie, situées à 40 km en aval de Norman Wells. Les puits forés dans la région ont traversé des carbonates récifaux du Dévonien moyen du complexe récifal de Carcajou. Ces roches sont du type et de l'âge du récif producteur de Norman Wells. Des indices de pétrole et de gaz ont été relevés dans plusieurs puits. Le complexe récifal est nappé du shale riche en matières organiques de Canol qui constitue, sur le sommet et les côtés, une enveloppe pour d'éventuels pièges à hydrocarbures ainsi qu'une roche mère à proximité étroite de la roche réservoir potentielle.

Sont aussi ouvertes à désignation de grandes étendues au sud et au nord-est de la collectivité de Colville Lake. Les 12 puits de prospection forés dans les collines Colville entre le milieu des années 70 et le milieu des années 80 ont révélé trois découvertes de gaz et un sérieux indice de gaz qui contiendraient un volume combiné récupérable de 11,4 milliards de mètres cubes (400 x 109 pieds cube). Ces découvertes ont été faites dans le grès basal d'âge cambrien (grès de Mount Clarke), roche réservoir d'étendue régionale qui repose sous une épaisse séquence de carbonates et d'évaporites plus récents. Les études sur la roche mère de la partie cambrienne indiquent aussi la présence possible de pétroles contemporains

Nouvelles conditions et modalités

Dans un effort pour normaliser les conditions et modalités dans l'ensemble de la vallée centrale du Mackenzie, nous avons apporté les modifications suivantes aux conditions et modalités de la demande de désignations et de l'appel d'offres.

Demande de désignations

Durée normalisée de 8 ans; taille maximale de 6 étendues quadrillées par bloc.
Les permis de prospection seront valables pendant 8 ans dans l'ensemble de la zone désignée et viseront un bloc maximal de six étendues quadrillées (environ 132 000 ha). Dans les demandes antérieures, la durée et la taille des blocs variaient selon qu'il s'agissait de la zone de prospection B (sud de Fort Good Hope et près du Mackenzie) ou de la zone A (nord de Fort Good Hope et loin du fleuve).

Appel d'offres

Dépôt de garantie d'exécution
Des instruments financiers négociables approuvés d'avance tel une lettre de crédit ou un billet à ordre accompagné d'une lettre de garantie bancaire peuvent maintenant servir de dépôt de garantie d'exécution, tout comme une traite bancaire, un mandat ou un chèque visé.

Droits de délivrance des permis
Les droits de délivrance doivent maintenant être acquittés au moyen d'un chèque séparé, joint à la soumission.

Dépenses admissibles
Au cours des quatre premières années du permis, les dépenses de prospection servent à débiter le dépôt de garantie d'exécution du détenteur du permis. Comme seulement 25 % de la soumission est garanti par un dépôt, les dépenses de prospection sont créditées dans la même proportion (une dépense de 4 $ diminue le dépôt de garantie de 1 $). Durant la deuxième période, les quatre années suivantes, les dépenses de prospection réduisent les loyers applicables à parité.

Les taux pour les travaux de prospection sont indiqués sous la rubrique «Dépenses admissibles» du document sur les appels d'offres. Ils visent à refléter assez fidèlement le coût des travaux. Même s'il est peu probable qu'ils correspondent aux taux réels payés par l'entreprise, leur rôle est de constituer un étalon pratique de mesure pour la préparation des soumissions des entreprises et de faciliter l'évaluation des soumissions par le gouvernement et les collectivités en prévision de travaux futurs. Les taux sont révisés périodiquement en fonction des dépenses réelles des années antérieures et de sondages menés auprès des membres de l'industrie par l'Association canadienne des producteurs pétroliers.

Cette année, les prospecteurs devraient noter que les taux pour l'acquisition de données sismiques 2D ont été augmentés sur recommandation de l'ACPP. De plus, des dispositions ont été prises pour les participations à des levés et des relevés groupés dans la mesure où ces derniers sont pertinents à l'évaluation d'un permis.

Retombées économiques dans le Nord

Les exigences en matiere de retombées économiques dans le Nord se rapportent aux régimes de gestion des ressources et de réglementation. Dans le cas du régime de gestion des ressources, l'Énoncé de principes concernant les retombées économiques dont ilest question dans le document sur les appel d'offres, constitue une obligation contractée qui alors du dépôt d'une soumisssion gagnante. L'obligation incombe aux titulaires du permis de prospection qui doivent, de plus, s'assurer que leurs sous-traitants respectent les principes eu égard à toute sous- traitance.

Dans le cas du régime de réglementation, un Régime d'avantages est exigé pour tout travail ou toute activité en vertu de l'article 5.2 de la Loi sur les opérations pétrolières au Canada qui est aussi citée dans l'article 21 de la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures. L'obligation d'un Régime d'avantages peut être levée, ce qui a normalement été le cas pour des travaux de nature transitoire ou de courte durée. Toutefois, les prospecteurs devraient prendre note que pour tous travaux nécessitant un accès aux terres Sahtu ou Gwich'in, un Régime d'avantages sera exigé pour toute activieé importante.

Pour toute information sur la portée des régimes d'avantages, s'adresser à Walter Isotalo, Agent de relations avec l'industrie, au (819)994-0348.

Déclarations de principes concernant les retombés économiques

Les sociétés ayant des activités de prospection dans les terres domaniales de la mer de Beaufort ou du delta du Mackenzie sont tenues de suivre les principes énoncés ci-dessous.

Il est entendu qu'il faut tenir compte de la nature et de la durée des travaux prévus pour déterminer à quel point les sociétés peuvent appliquer les principes en matière de retombées économiques.

Retombées industrielles

La société s'engage à obtenir ses biens et services de façon juste et concurrentielle. Elle doit appuyer et favoriser l'expansion de l'entreprise régionale en choisissant ses fournisseurs suivant des critères de rapport qualité-prix, de concurrence et de retombées possibles pour les localités de la région. Elle doit aussi fournir toute l'information pertinente aux fournisseurs possibles. Dans le cadre de sa politique générale d'acquisition, la société réalisera ses activités de façon à en tirer le maximum de retombées à court et à long termes pour le Nord. Pour ce faire, elle devra traiter les entreprises nordiques de façon juste et concurrentielle,comme des fournisseurs à part entière.

La société s'engage à collaborer avec les localités de la région et les organismes gouvernementaux en vue de trouver de nouvelles possibilités d'exploitation commerciale.

La société s'engage à faire en sorte que ses entrepreneurs respectent les principes ci-dessus, chaque fois qu'ils ont recours à la sous-traitance.

Recrutement et formation

La société s'engage à appliquer les principes d'équité et de justice dans l'emploi et les occasions de formation, conformément àla Charte canadienne des droits et libertés. Cet engagement favorisera une plus grande égalité d'accès à l'emploi et permettra d'éviter les pratiques d'emploi qui bloquent l'accès aux postes disponibles. La société donnera priorité aux personnes qualifiées habitant dans la région.

La société s'engage à collaborer avec les localités de la région et les organismes gouvernementaux en vue de trouver de nouvelles possibilités d'emploi et de formation.

La société s'engage à faire en sorte que ses entrepreneurs respectent les principes ci-dessus chaque fois qu'une possibilité d'embauche ou de formation se présente.

Consultation

La société s'engage à fournir toute l'information pertinente au sujet de ses programmes de prospection, à tous les individus, groupes ou collectivités intéressés dans la région.En échangeant des renseignements utiles lorsque l'occasion se présente,la société sera en mesure d'évaluer les possibilités qu'offre la région en matière d'expansion économique et d'emploi.

Indemnisation

La société doit verser une indemnisation juste et équitable,conforme aux politiques en vigueur sur le territoire, aux personnes qui pratiquent la chasse, le trappage et la pêche, lorsqu'il est démontré que les travaux liés au programme de prospection ont des effets négatifs sur leurs activités.

Rapport annuel

La société doit soumettre un rapport annuel dans les six mois suivant la date de clôture de la saison opérationnelle.

Le rapport devrait présenter les renseignements suivants :

  1. une brève description des travaux prévus,
  2. le coût total du programme (valeur totale des produits et services acquis, total des salaires directs et des mois de travail direct),
  3. total des salaires directs versés par la collectivité du Nord,
  4. total des mois de travail direct pour la collectivité régionale,
  5. nombre d'habitants du Nord engagés pour chaque élément du programme (levés sismiques, forage, soutien et construction),
  6. valeur totale des produits et services acquis dans chaque localité du Nord, et brève description des produits et services acquis dans chaque localité,
  7. liste des consultations entreprises,
  8. brève description des programmes qui pourraient être mis en oeuvre au cours de la prochaine saison opérationnelle.

Les rapports annuels doivent être envoyés à l'adresse suivante :

Le directeur, Direction du pétrole et du gaz du Nord
Ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0H4

Date de modification :