ARCHIVED - Beaufort Sea and Mackenzie Delta Open for Posting

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Bulletin
Volume 4, Number 1
January 1997

Call for Nominations

The Northern Oil and Gas Directorate is inviting industry to select exploration acreage over some 100 million hectares (385,000 square miles) in the Mackenzie Delta, Beaufort Sea and western Arctic Islands. This call includes acreage formerly held under Exploration Licence 358 located immediately north of the Amauligak production licence.

The Call for Nominations opens at 9:00 a.m. on Monday January 20 and closes at 4:00 p.m. (Eastern Time) on Friday April 4, 1997. Posted parcels will be included in a competitive call for bids scheduled to close in August 1997.

Interested parties may download the call document and map from our Internet World Wide Web site. Paper copies are also available from the Northern Oil and Gas Directorate (819) 994-1606 or the Frontier Information Office of the National Energy Board in Calgary (403) 299-3112.

It is the ninth year in a row that this area has been opened to posting requests. The annual cycle of nominations meets the expectation of local communities and industry for a predictable planning environment which should assist in developing land acquisition, exploration and other business strategies.

Mackenzie Delta - New Licences

On January 6, 1997, the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development announced the issuance of two new oil and gas exploration licences in the Mackenzie Delta (see ELs 384 and 385 on attached map).

Husky Oil Operations Ltd. and Gulf Canada Resources Limited received the licences in exchange for the surrender of 21 former permits in the Cape Bathurst region of the NWT in accordance with subsection 17.1(b) of the Canada Petroleum Resources Act. These former permits were on land for which the Inuvialuit received title, including subsurface mineral rights, under paragraph 7(1)(a)(ii) of the Inuvialuit Final Agreement.

The land exchange was concluded with the support of the Inuvialuit and the Government of the Northwest Territories and allowed Canada to honour its
commitments under the Inuvialuit Final Agreement as well as Husky's and Gulf's exploration rights.

Ikhil Gas for Inuvik?

The Town of Inuvik (population of about 3 000) in the Mackenzie Delta is located close to over a billion barrels of discovered oil resources and 10 trillion cubic feet of gas. Yet diesel fuel transported by rail and barge from Edmonton is used to generate power for this community. The Inuvialuit Petroleum Corporation is starting operations this winter which may change this. They plan to test and, if satisfactory flows are demonstrated, to produce gas from a 1986 discovery drilled by Gulf Canada Resources Limited some 50 km north of Inuvik.

Gas has already been drill-stem tested in the Ikhil K-35 well at 1125 metres at rates of 3.5 Mcf/day. IPC and their consultant, North of 60 Engineering Ltd, have made a preliminary estimate of recoverable gas at between 18.2 billion and 40.5 billion cubic feet (0.52 billion to 1.15 billion cubic metres). If these estimates are confirmed as reserves and the project gets the green light, the Ikhil pool could supply the needs of the community for some 25 years.

Operations to open and test the existing well are expected to begin later this winter. Following this evaluation, the company may submit a development plan for regulatory review.

Discovered Resources of the Mackenzie Delta and Beaufort Sea

The National Energy Board will be releasing estimates of resources by discovered pool in the Mackenzie Delta and Beaufort Sea in early Spring 1997. These estimates are based on probabilistic analysis of information from discovery and any delineation wells, reinforced by regional knowledge of variation in key reservoir parameters. This will be the first time that the Board has issued pool-specific estimates of resources in the Mackenzie-Beaufort Basin. This information will assist companies in assessing the likely potential of future discoveries.

Exploration Potential of Lands Offered

The Call for Nominations includes two highly prospective sedimentary basins with a proven record of discoveries. Most significant in terms of discovered resources and potential is the Beaufort-Mackenzie Basin underlying the Mackenzie Delta and adjacent offshore. Second in importance is the Sverdrup Basin in the Arctic Islands, the western portion of which lies within the Inuvialuit Settlement Region and is included in this Call. In addition, very large areas of the sparsely explored continental margin extend west from the Mackenzie Delta to the US border and east to the mainland adjacent to the Canadian Arctic Islands. Several sedimentary basins and sub-basins which are poorly explored or undrilled underlie this margin and others may yet be identified.

The Mackenzie Delta-Beaufort Sea Basin has an excellent discovery record with 53 discoveries, including two major oilfields, three major gas fields and one major oil and gas field. (A major field contains oil resources from 100 million to 500 million barrels / 15 to 80 x 106 cubic metres or gas resources of 1 trillion to 5 trillion cubic feet / 28 to 141 x 109 cubic metres).

Discovered resources in this basin total 300 x 109 cubic metres (10.7 trillion cubic feet) of gas, and 212 x 106 cubic metres (1310 million barrels) of oil. A 1994 resource assessment by the Geological Survey of Canada suggested that the prospects for doubling the number of discoveries in this size range are good, in both onshore and offshore exploration plays. It estimated regional endowment of recoverable resource in terms of resources of current interest. Using oil resources in pools exceeding 25 million barrels and gas pools larger than 100 billion cubic feet, the total resource of current interest was estimated at 4.4 billion barrels of oil in 50 pools and 28 tcf of gas in 65 pools. Of this, 3 billion barrels of oil and 17.2 tcf of gas remain to be discovered. (Geological Survey of Canada, 1994, Petroleum Resources of the Mackenzie Delta and Beaufort Sea, GSC Bulletin 474.)

The discovered inventory forms a basis for future projects to export both oil and gas from the Mackenzie Delta region to southern markets. Such export has been proposed in the past, most recently in 1989 for gas export from the Delta by a consortium of Esso, Shell and Gulf. Extension of the Mackenzie Valley oil pipeline some 600 km from Norman Wells to the Delta could tie in existing onshore oil discoveries and also the jewel of the shallow offshore -- the Amauligak field (300 million to 400 million barrels of oil and in excess of 2 tcf of gas). The main question about these developments is "when?". Renewed exploration and discovery of additional reserves in the region over the life of new exploration licences issued as a result of this Call would advance the prospects of such a major development.

Primer on Northern Benefits

In the North, benefit requirements are associated with three sources: the Canada Petroleum Resources Act which provides for the establishment of terms and conditions in Calls for Bids pursuant to subsection 14.3, the Land Claim Settlement Legislation (chapters 21 and 22 dealing with Subsurface Resources in the Gwich'in and Sahtu Final Agreements, respectively, and section 10 of the Inuvialuit Final Agreement dealing with Participation Agreements), and the Canada Oil and Gas Operations Act (subsection 5.2). Their application varies with the ownership of the surface and subsurface at the location of the exploration rights as follows:

Crown Surface - Crown Subsurface: at the exploration stage, a company's commitment to follow the "Benefits Statement of Principles" associated with the Call for Bids may be deemed to fulfill the Canada Oil and Gas Operations Act's "Benefits Plan" requirements. Indeed, the "Benefits Statement of Principles" constitutes an obligation which is contracted upon submission of a winning bid. The obligation rests with the holders of the exploration licence who, in turn, are committed to ensuring that their contractors follow the Principles with respect to all subcontracting opportunities. At the development stage, in order to fulfill the Canada Oil and Gas Operations Act's requirements, a "Benefits Plan" must be submitted for Ministerial approval for any formal proposal to develop an oil or gas discovery for production.

Gwich'in or Sahtu Surface - Crown Subsurface: a "Benefits Plan" must be submitted for Ministerial approval, pursuant to the Canada Oil and Gas Operations Act for all significant oil and gas operations, i.e., for activities at and beyon d the seismic exploration stage.

Inuvialuit Surface - Crown Subsurface: companies must have concluded a "Participation Agreement" with the Inuvialuit as defined in section 10 of the Inuvialuit Final Agreement, prior to exercising their right of access for the purposes of exploration, development and production activities. The Canada Oil and Gas Operations Act's "Benefits Plan" requirement can be met with a "cooperation agreement" under subsection 16.(12) of the Inuvialuit Final Agreement.

Aboriginal Surface - Aboriginal Subsurface: all terms and conditions associated with the tenure of the lands must be negotiated with the Aboriginal land owner.

Toll reduction - Norman Wells pipeline

On Dec. 18, 1996 Interprovincial Pipe Line (NW) Ltd. filed an application with the National Energy Board for interim tolls for 1997 on the oil pipeline from Norman Wells. The reduction for shipments to Zama would be 17%, from $34.71 to $28.81 per cubic metre.

Central Mackenzie Call for Bids

Please note that bidding closes at noon on May 1, 1997, for the eleven parcels in the Central Mackenzie Valley. Copies of the Call for Bids are available from our Internet Web site or by contacting the Northern Oil and Gas Directorate or the Frontier Information Office of the NEB.

Educational Seminar on the CPRA

The Northern Oil and Gas Directorate will be presenting a full-day seminar on the "Management of Oil and Gas Resources in Canada's North" on March 13, 1997. The seminar will be held at the Metropolitan Centre, in Calgary, and is sponsored by the Canadian Association of Petroleum Landmen. For registration, please contact Denise at the CAPL office at (403) 237-6635.

1995 Annual Report Available

For a copy of the 1995 Northern Oil and Gas Annual Report, please contact Marlene Desjardins at (819) 953-8529.

Web Sites of Interest

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Demande de désignations pour la mer de Beaufort et le delta du Mackenzie

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Bulletin
Volume 4, numéro 1
Janvier 1997

Demande de désignations

La Direction de la gestion des ressources pétrolières et gazières du Nord invite l'industrie à désigner des parcelles à des fins de prospection sur une superficie de quelque 100 millions d'hectares (385 000 milles carrés) dans le delta du Mackenzie, la mer de Beaufort et l'ouest de l'archipel arctique. Cette demande inclut les terres auparavant détenues en vertu du permis de prospection 358 situé immédiatement au nord du permis de production d'Amauligak.

La demande de désignations débute le lundi 20 janvier à 9 h et se termine le vendredi 4 avril 1997 à 16 h (heure de l'Est). Les parcelles désignées feront l'objet d'un appel d'offres dont la date de clôture est prévue pour août 1997.

Les intéressés trouveront la version électronique de la demande et de la carte s'y rapportant dans notre page d'accueil sur notre site Web de l'Internet. Il est également possible d'obtenir une version papier de ces documents en téléphonant à la Direction de la gestion des ressources pétrolières et gazières du Nord au (819) 994-1606, ou au Bureau d'information sur les terres domaniales de l'Office national de l'énergie, à Calgary , au (403) 299-3112.

C'est la neuvième année consécutive où il est possible de désigner des terres dans cette région. Le cycle annuel répond aux besoins des collectivités et des entreprises de la région, qui souhaitent un environnement de planification prévisible, permettant d'élaborer des stratégies d'acquisition foncière, de prospection ainsi que d'autres stratégies commerciales.

Nouveaux permis dans le delta du Mackenzie

Le 6 janvier 1997, le ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien a annoncé l'octroi de deux nouveaux permis de prospection pétrolière et gazière dans la région du delta du Mackenzie (se rapporter aux permis de prospection 384 et 385 sur la carte ci-jointe).

Husky Oil Operations Ltd. et Ressources Gulf Canada Limitée ont reçu ces permis contre l'abandon de 21 anciens permis dans la région du cap Bathurst des T. N.-O., conformément à l'alinéa 17(1)(b) de la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures (LFH). Ces permis se trouvaient sur des terres dont les titres ont été remis en 1984 aux Inuvialuit, notamment les droits du sous-sol, en vertu du sous-alinéa 7(1)(a)(ii) de la Convention définitive des Inuvialuit.

L'échange de terrains a reçu l'appui des Inuvialuit et du gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et a permis au Canada de respecter ses engagements en vertu de la Convention définitive des Inuvialuit et les droits de prospection de Husky et de Gulf.

Gaz d'Ikhil pour Inuvik?

La ville d'Inuvik (environ 3000 habitants), dans le delta du Mackenzie, est située à proximité de ressources découvertes évaluées à plus de 1 x 109 de barils de pétrole et 10 x 1012 de pieds cubes de gaz. Pourtant, la collectivité doit faire transporter du diesel par train et par barge d'Edmonton pour subvenir à ses besoins en énergie. La Inuvialuit Petroleum Corporation (IPC) pourrait faire changer la situation en entreprenant ses activités cet hiver. L'entreprise compte faire des tests et, si elle obtient des débits suffisants, elle prévoit exploiter le gisement de gaz découvert en 1986 par Ressources Gulf Canada Limitée, à environ 50 km au nord d'Inuvik.

Le gaz a déjà fait l'objet d'essais aux tiges dans le puits Ikhil K-35, à 1125 mètres de profondeur, et les débits étaient de 3,5 x 106 de pieds cube par jour. IPC et ses ingénieurs-conseils, North of 60 Engineering Ltd., estiment le volume de gaz récupérable à 0,52 - 1,15 x 109 de mètres cubes. Si ces prévisions sont confirmées et que le projet reçoive le feu vert, le bassin d'Ikhil pourrait subvenir aux besoins de la collectivité pendant 25 ans environ.

Les activités en vue d'ouvrir et de tester le puits existant devraient débuter plus tard cet hiver. Une fois l'évaluation terminée, IPC décidera si elle désire présenter un plan de mise en valeur qui donnerait lieu à un examen réglementaire.

Ressources découvertes dans le delta du Mackenzie et la mer de Beaufort

Au début du printemps 1997, l'Office national de l'énergie publiera des prévisions des ressources par gisement découvert pour le delta du Mackenzie et la mer de Beaufort. Ces prévisions sont fondées sur l'analyse probabilistique des données de découvertes et des puits de délimitation, appuyée par la connaissance des variations des principaux paramètres des réservoirs dans la région. Ce sera la première fois que l'ONE publie des prévisions des ressources par gisement pour le bassin Mackenzie-mer de Beaufort. Ces données permettront aux entreprises d'évaluer le potentiel probable des découvertes futures.

Potentiel de prospection des terres offertes

La demande de désignations couvre deux bassins sédimentaires très prometteurs, où des découvertes ont déjà été effectuées. Le bassin de Beaufort-Mackenzie, sous le delta du Mackenzie et la zone extracôtière adjacente, est le plus important, tant en raison des ressources découvertes que de son potentiel. Vient ensuite le bassin de Sverdrup, dans l'archipel arctique, dont la partie occidentale se trouve dans la région visée par la Convention des Inuvialuit. La demande de désignations englobe en outre de vastes portions peu explorées de la marge continentale; à l'ouest du delta du Mackenzie, elles s'étendent jusqu'à la frontière américaine et à l'est, jusqu'à la masse continentale jouxtant l'archipel arctique canadien. Plusieurs bassins et sous-bassins sédimentaires peu prospectés ou non forés se trouvent sous cette marge et on pourrait en découvrir d'autres.

Il y a eu 53 découvertes dans le bassin de Beaufort-Mackenzie, ce qui est excellent, dont deux champs pétroliers, trois champs gaziers et un champ mixte, tous importants. Par champ important, on entend un champ pétrolier qui renferme entre 15 et 80 x 106 de mètres cubes, ou un champ gazier qui compte entre 28 et 141 x 109 de mètres cube. Les ressources découvertes dans ce bassin s'élèvent à 300 x 109 de mètres cube de gaz et 212 millions de mètres cube de pétrole.

En 1994, la Commission géologique du Canada a effectué une évaluation des ressources qui révélait qu'il y a de bonnes chances que le nombre de découvertes de cet ordre de grandeur double, aussi bien dans les zones d'exploration terrestres que marines. La Commission estime la richesse régionale en ressources récupérables en termes de ressources d'intérêt immédiat. Elle a tenu compte des gisements pétroliers supérieurs à 25 x 106 de barils et des gisements gaziers supérieurs à 100 x 1012 de pieds cube, et a évalué que le total des ressources d'intérêt immédiat correspond à 4,4 x 109 de barils de pétrole, répartis entre 50 gisements et à 28 x 1012 de gaz, répartis dans 65 gisements. De ces nombres, 3 x 109 de barils de pétrole et 17,2 x 1012 de gaz n'ont pas encore été découverts. (Commission géologique du Canada, 1994, Ressources pétrolières dans la région du delta du Mackenzie et de la mer de Beaufort, Bulletin 474 de la CGC.)

Cet ensemble de ressources découvertes est au coeur des futurs projets d'exportation de pétrole et de gaz de la région du delta du Mackenzie vers les marchés du sud. De tels projets ont déjà été proposés. Le dernier remonte à 1989 et visait l'exportation de gaz du delta par un consortium formé des sociétés Esso, Shell et Gulf. Le prolongement de l'oléoduc de la vallée du Mackenzie à 600 km de Norman Wells permettrait de relier les découvertes actuelles de pétrole côtier et le joyau des gisements extracôtiers peu profonds, le champ d'Amauligak (de 300 à 400 x 106 de barils de pétrole et plus de 2 x 1012 de pieds cube de gaz). Le moment de la mise en valeur de ces projets demeure cependant la grande inconnue. Ils pourraient aboutir plus tôt que prévu s'il y avait de nouveaux travaux de prospection et si on découvrait des réserves supplémentaires dans la région pendant la période de validité des nouveaux permis de prospection qui seront octroyés à la suite de la présente demande.

Renseignements concernant les retombées pour le Nord

Dans le Nord, les exigences en matière de retombées se retrouvent dans trois textes législatifs : la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures, qui prévoit au paragraphe 14(3) l'établissement de modalités dans les appels d'offres, la législation sur le règlement des revendications territoriales (les chapitres 21 et 22 qui traitent des ressources souterraines dans les conventions définitives des Gwich'in et des Sahtu, respectivement, et l'article 10 de la Convention définitive des Inuvialuit qui porte sur les ententes de participation) et la Loi sur les opérations pétrolières au Canada (paragraphe 5.2). L'application de ces textes varie de la façon suivante, dépendant de qui est propriétaire de la surface et du sous-sol à l'endroit visé par les droits de prospection :

Surface et sous-sol appartenant à la Couronne : au stade de la prospection, si une entreprise s'est engagée à respecter l'énoncé de principes relatif aux "exigences en matière de retombées économiques dans le Nord" qui figure dans l'appel d'offres, elle est réputée satisfaire aux exigences concernant le plan de retombées économiques prévu dans la Loi sur les opérations pétrolières au Canada. De fait, l'énoncé de principes relatif aux "exigences en matière de retombées économiques dans le Nord" devient une obligation pour le soumissionnaire gagnant. En sont responsables les détenteurs du permis de prospection qui, à leur tour, doivent voir à ce que les sous-traitants qu'ils embauchent respectent ces principes dans tous leurs contrats de sous-traitance. Au stade de la mise en valeur, pour se conformer aux exigences de la Loi sur les opérations pétrolières au Canada, il faut faire approuver par le ministre un plan de retombées économiques pour toute proposition officielle de mise en valeur d'une découverte gazière ou pétrolière.

Surface appartenant aux Gwich'in ou aux populations du Sahtu et sous-sol appartenant à la Couronne : Conformément à la Loi sur les opérations pétrolières au Canada, il faut faire approuver par le ministre un plan de retombées économiques pour toutes les activités pétrolières et gazières importantes, c'est-à-dire pour toutes les activités à partir du stade de la prospection sismique.

Surface appartenant aux Inuvialuit et sous-sol appartenant à la Couronne : Les entreprises doivent avoir conclu un accord de participation avec les Inuvialuit, comme il est prévu à l'article 10 de la Convention définitive des Inuvialuit, avant d'exercer leurs droits d'accès à des fins de prospection, de mise en valeur et de production. Elles peuvent se conformer à l'exigence concernant le plan de retombées économiques prévu dans la Loi sur les opérations pétrolières au Canada en signant un accord de coopération en vertu du paragraphe 16(12) de la Convention définitive des Inuvialuit.

Surface et sous-sol appartenant aux Autochtones : Toutes les modalités concernant l'occupation des terres doivent être négociées avec le propriétaire foncier autochtone.

Oléoduc de Norman Wells - réduction des tarifs

Le 18 décembre 1996, la société Interprovincial Pipe Line (NW) Ltd. a déposé une demande de tarifs intérimaires relative à l'oléoduc de Norman Wells. La réduction pourrait être de l'ordre de 17% pour le transport jusqu'à Zama, faisant passer les tarifs de 34,71$ à 28,81$ par mètre cube.

Appel d'offres pour le centre de la vallée du Mackenzie

Veuillez prendre note que la clôture de l'appel d'offres concernant les onze parcelles dans le centre de la vallée du Mackenzie sera à midi le ler mai 1997. Un exemplaire de l'appel d'offres se trouve sur notre site Web; on peut aussi l'obtenir de la Direction de la gestion des ressources pétrolières et gazières du Nord, ou du Bureau d'information sur les terres domaniales de l'Office national de l'énergie.

Atelier de formation sur la LFH

La Direction de la gestion des ressources pétrolières et gazières du Nord organise un atelier d'une journée sur la «Gestion des ressources pétrolières et gazières dans le Nord canadien», qui se tiendra le 13 mars 1997 au Metropolitan Centre, à Calgary. L'atelier est parrainé par la Canadian Association of Petroleum Landmen (CAPL). Pour s'inscrire, il faut communiquer avec Denise au bureau de la CAPL, au (403) 237-6635.

Rapport annuel de 1995

Pour obtenir un exemplaire du rapport annuel de 1995 de la Direction de la gestion des ressources pétrolières et gazières du Nord, veuillez communiquer avec Marlene Desjardins, au (819) 953-8529.

Sites Web à noter

Date de modification :