ARCHIVED - Beaufort Sea and Mackenzie Delta Open for Posting

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Bulletin
Volume 5, Number 1
January 1998

The Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development is inviting industry to select exploration acreage over some 100 million hectares (385,000 square miles) in the Mackenzie Delta, Beaufort Sea and western Arctic Islands.

The Call for Nominations opens at 9:00 a.m. on Monday February 2 and closes at 4:00 p.m. (Eastern Time) on Thursday April 9, 1998. Posted parcels will be included in a competitive call for bids scheduled to close in August 1998.

Paper copies are also available from the Northern Oil and Gas Directorate (819) 953-8722 or the Frontier Information Office of the National Energy Board in Calgary (403) 299-3112.

Map of the Beaufort Sea - Mackenzie Delta
Detailed Map of the Beaufort Sea - Mackenzie Delta

It is the tenth year in a row that this area has been opened to posting requests. The last exploration licences issued in this region were awarded to Husky and Gulf for two parcels in the Mackenzie Delta. The annual cycle of nominations meets the expectation of local communities and industry for a predictable planning environment which should assist in developing land acquisition, exploration and other business strategies.

Potential of Available Acreage

The Call for Nominations includes two highly prospective sedimentary basins with a proven record of discoveries. Most significant in terms of discovered resources and potential is the Beaufort-Mackenzie Basin underlying the Mackenzie Delta and adjacent offshore. Second in importance is the Sverdrup Basin in the Arctic Islands, the western portion of which lies within the Inuvialuit Settlement Region and is included in this Call. In addition, very large areas of the sparsely explored continental margin extend west from the Mackenzie Delta to the US border and east to the mainland adjacent to the Canadian Arctic Islands. Several sedimentary basins and sub-basins which are poorly explored or undrilled underlie this margin and others may yet be identified.

The Mackenzie Delta-Beaufort Sea basin has an excellent discovery record with 53 discoveries, including two major oilfields, three major gas and one major oil and gas field. A 1994 resource assessment by the Geological Survey of Canada (GSC) suggested that the prospects for doubling the number of discoveries in this size range are good, in both onshore and offshore exploration plays. (A major field contains oil resources from 100 to 500 million barrels / 15 to 80 million cubic metres or gas resources of 1 to 5 trillion cubic feet / 28 to 142 billion cubic metres).

Discovered resources in this basin total 332 billion cubic metres (10.7 trillion cubic feet) of gas, and 277 million cubic metres (1.74 billion barrels) of oil. The GSC also estimated regional endowment of recoverable resource in terms of resources of current interest. Using oil resources in pools exceeding 25 million barrels and gas pools larger than 100 billion cubic feet, the total resource of current interest was estimated at 4.4 billion barrels of oil in 50 pools and 28 tcf of gas in 65 pools. Of this, 3 billion barrels of oil and 17.2 tcf of gas remain to be discovered. (Geological Survey of Canada, 1994, Petroleum Resources of the Mackenzie Delta and Beaufort Sea, GSC Bulletin 474.)

This discovered inventory forms a basis for future projects to export both oil and gas from the Mackenzie Delta region to southern markets. Such export has been proposed in the past, most recently in 1989 for gas export from the Delta by a consortium of Esso, Shell and Gulf. Extension of the Mackenzie Valley oil pipeline some 600 km from Norman Wells to the Delta could tie in existing onshore oil discoveries and also the jewel of the shallow offshore -- the Amauligak field (300 million to 400 million barrels of oil and in excess of 2 tcf of gas).

The main question about these developments is "when?". Renewed exploration and discovery of additional reserves in the region over the life of new exploration licences issued as a result of this Call would advance the prospects of such a major development. So could perhaps recent reports suggesting that the cost of drilling in the Beaufort Sea has been brought down by large explorers on the U.S. side of the Beaufort.

Royalty Forms and Guidelines

Forms and guidelines to assist individuals (holders of a production licence or their representative) who are required by the Canada Petroleum Resources Act and the Frontier Lands Petroleum Royalty Regulations to pay royalties or provide related information are now available on our Internet website or from Marlene Desjardins (819) 953-8529.

Ikhil Development Project

If their project goes ahead as planned, the Inuvialuit Petroleum Corporation (IPC) could be supplying the town of Inuvik (population of about 3,000) with natural gas by the fall of 1999. The National Energy Board has approved the development plan submitted by IPC to develop the Ikhil gas field located approximately 50 km (30 miles) to the northwest of Inuvik. The reservoir, discovered by Gulf et al in 1986, is currently held by IPC.

IPC conducted an extensive testing program during the winter of 1997 which confirmed that the reservoir is capable of producing gas at very high rates; at current rates of consumption, the in-place gas reserves could supply all of Inuvik's heating and power needs for approximately 15 years.

In order to produce the natural gas, IPC plans to use the existing K-35 well and to drill two additional wells during the winter of 1997-1998. They also plan to construct a 150 mm (6 inch) diameter pipeline over approximately 50 km (30 miles) to the town site next winter.

This project displaces diesel as the principal fuel in this community. The project advances self-sufficiency by using local fuels and increasing local jobs and skills. It also reduces risk inherent with importing fuel and the move to natural gas will lower harmful atmospheric emissions. A key economic driver for the community and the Inuvialuit will be in local hands. Savings from cheaper local energy will strengthen the capacity of the region to meet the challenge of developing a sustainable economy.

Mallik Gas Hydrate Test

A new scientific test well is being drilled on Imperial Oil's Mallik L-38 discovery on Richards Island this winter. The main objective of this research program is to evaluate hydrate drilling/coring and completion technologies in sediments rich in gas hydrates. This project was conceived and funded by the Japanese National Oil Company with a view to developing hydrate resources offshore Japan. The well is operated by Japex and is targeted to a depth of 1,100 m with 350 m of continuous core. The Mackenzie Delta site was selected after a world-wide search as the best onshore test site for this research with the thickness of hydrates in the Mallik well exceeding 110 metres. Science advice on operational aspects will be provided by the Geological Survey of Canada on behalf of all scientific collaborators and GSC scientists will participate directly in the field work, drawing on expertise developed by the GSC in this field. Enquiries regarding this project should be directed to Scott Dallimore at the Geological Survey. (E-mail: dallimore@gsc.nrcan.gc.ca)

1996 Annual Report Available

Should you wish to receive a copy of the 1996 Northern Oil and Gas Annual Report, please contact Marlene Desjardins at (819) 953-8529 or visit our Web site.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Demande de désignations pour la mer de Beaufort et le delta du Mackenzie

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Bulletin
Volume 5, Numéro 1
janvier 1998

La ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien invite l'industrie à choisir des parcelles à des fins de prospection sur une superficie de quelque 100millions d'hectares (385 000 milles carrés) dans le delta du Mackenzie, la mer de Beaufort et l'ouest de l'archipel arctique.

Cette demande de désignations débute le lundi 2février à 9h et se termine le jeudi 9avril 1998 à 16h (heure normale de l'Est). Les parcelles désignées seront incluses dans un appel d'offres dont la date de clôture est prévue pour août 1998.

Il est également possible d'obtenir une version papier de ces documents auprès de la Direction de la gestion des ressources pétrolières et gazières du Nord, au numéro (819) 953-8722, ou du Bureau d'information sur les terres domaniales de l'Office national de l'énergie, à Calgary, au (403) 299-3112.

Carte principale de la mer de beaufort - delta du Mackenzie
Carte détaillée de la mer de beaufort - delta du Mackenzie

C'est la dixième année consécutive qu'il est possible de désigner des terres dans cette région. Les derniers permis de prospection délivrés dans cette région ont été accordés aux sociétés Husky et Gulf ; ils portaient sur deux parcelles du delta du Mackenzie. Le cycle annuel des désignations répond aux attentes des collectivités et de l'industrie, qui souhaitent un contexte de planification prévisible, permettant l'élaboration de stratégies d'acquisition de terres et de prospection, et d'autres stratégies commerciales.

Potentiel de prospection des terres offertes

La demande de désignations couvre deux bassins sédimentaires très prometteurs, où des découvertes ont déjà été effectuées. Le bassin Beaufort-Mackenzie, sous le delta du Mackenzie, et la zone extracôtière adjacente constituent le secteur le plus important, tant en raison des ressources découvertes que de son potentiel. Vient ensuite le bassin Sverdrup, dans l'archipel arctique, dont la partie occidentale se trouve dans la région touchée par la Convention des Inuvialuit, visée elle aussi par la demande de désignations. Le territoire offert englobe en outre de vastes portions peu explorées de la marge continentale; à l'ouest du delta du Mackenzie, qui s'étendent jusqu'à la frontière américaine, et à l'est, jusqu'à la masse continentale jouxtant l'archipel arctique canadien. Plusieurs bassins et sous-bassins sédimentaires peu prospectés ou non forés se trouvent sous cette marge et on pourrait en découvrir d'autres.

Il y a eu 53 découvertes dans le bassin Beaufort-Mackenzie, ce qui est excellent, notamment deux gisements pétrolifères, trois gisements gazifères et un gisement mixte, tous importants. En 1994, l'évaluation des ressources effectuée par la Commission géologique du Canada (CGC) a révélé q'il y a de bonnes chances que le nombre de découvertes de cet ordre de grandeur double, aussi bien dans les zones de prospection terrestres que marines (un gisement pétrolifère important renferme de 100 à 500 millions de barils ou de 15à 80 millions de mètres cubes de pétrole, et un gisement gazifère important, de un à cinq trillions de pieds cubes ou de 28à 142 milliards de mètres cubes de gaz).

Les ressources découvertes dans ce bassin totalisent 332 milliards de mètres cubes (10,7 trillions de pieds cubes) de gaz et 277 millions de mètres cubes (1,74 milliard de barils) de pétrole. La Commission a aussi fait une estimation de la richesse régionale en ressources récupérables en fonction des ressources d'intérêt immédiat. Compte tenu des gisements pétrolifères supérieurs à 25millions de barils et des gisements gazifères supérieurs à 100 milliards de pieds cubes, elle a évalué que le total des ressources d'intérêt immédiat correspond à 4,4 milliards de barils de pétrole, répartis entre 50 gisements, et à 28 trillions de pieds cubes de gaz, répartis dans 65 gisements. De ces ressources, trois milliards de barils de pétrole et 17,2 trillions de pieds cubes de gaz nont pas encore été découverts (Commission géologique du Canada, 1994, Ressources pétrolières dans la région du delta du Mackenzie et de la mer de Beaufort, Bulletin 474 de la CGC).

Cet ensemble de ressources découvertes est au coeur des projets futurs d'exportation de pétrole et de gaz de la région du delta du Mackenzie vers les marchés du sud. De tels projets ont déjà été proposés par le passé. Le dernier remonte à 1989 et visait l'exportation de gaz du delta par un consortium formé des sociétés Esso, Shell et Gulf. Le prolongement de l'oléoduc de la vallée du Mackenzie de quelque 600 km, de Norman Wells jusqu'au delta, permettrait de raccorder les découvertes actuelles de pétrole côtier et le joyau des gisements extracôtiers en eau peu profonde, le gisement Amauligak (d'une capacité de 300 à 400 millions de barils de pétrole et de plus de deux trillions de pieds cubes de gaz).

Le «moment de mise en valeur» de ces ressources demeure cependant la grande inconnue. La reprise des explorations et la découverte de réserves supplémentaires dans la région pendant la période de validité des nouveaux permis de prospection, octroyés à la suite de la présente demande de désignations, pourraient faire avancer les choses en ce qui concerne les mises en valeur importantes escomptées. Un autre facteur favorable à cet égard pourrait être l'information selon laquelle les coûts de forage dans la mer de Beaufort ont pu être abaissés par les prospecteurs importants oeuvrant dans le secteur américain de la mer de Beaufort.

Formulaires des redevances et lignes directrices

Il est maintenant possible d'obtenir sur l'Internet, à notre site Web, ou auprès de Marlene Desjardins au (819) 953-8529, les formulaires et les lignes directrices visant à aider les particuliers (détenteurs de permis de production ou leurs représentants) tenus en vertu de la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures et du Règlement sur les redevances relatives aux hydrocarbures provenant des terres domaniales de verser des redevances ou de fournir les renseignements connexes.

Projet de développement Ikhil

Si son projet va de l'avant comme prévu, la Inuvialuit Petroleum Corporation (IPC) pourrait approvisionner en gaz naturel la ville d'Inuvik (qui compte environ 3 000 habitants) à l'automne 1999. L'Office national de l'énergie a approuvé le plan de développement soumis par la IPC pour mettre en valeur le gisement gazifère Ikhil, situé à environ 50 km (30 milles) au nord-ouest d'Inuvik. Le réservoir en question, découvert en 1986 par la Gulf et d'autres sociétés, est détenu actuellement par la IPC.

Cette société a effectué au cours de l'hiver 1997 un programme d'essais important qui a confirmé que ce réservoir peut produire du gaz à des débits très élevés; avec les débits de consommation actuels, les réserves de gaz en place pourraient répondre à tous les besoins de chauffage et d'électricité d'Inuvik pendant environ 15 ans.

Afin de produire ce gaz naturel, la IPC prévoit utiliser le puits K-35 et forer deux puits supplémentaires au cours de l'hiver 1997-1998. Elle a aussi l'intention de construire un pipeline de 150 mm (6 po) de diamètre sur une distance d'environ 50 km (30 milles), jusqu'à la ville, l'hiver prochain.

Ce projet permettra de remplacer le gasoil utilisé comme carburant principal dans la collectivité, pour les génératrices. Il contribuera à accroître l'autosuffisance de la collectivité, grâce à l'utilisation d'un combustible local, et à hausser le nombre d'emplois et les compétences dans la localité. Le projet réduira également les risques inhérents à l'importation du combustible, et le passage au gaz naturel réduira également les émissions nocives dans l'atmosphère. Ainsi, un élément moteur important pour la collectivité et les Inuvialuit sur le plan économique se retrouvera entre les mains de la population locale. Les économies réalisées grâce au coût plus bas de l'énergie dans la localité augmenteront la capacité de la région de relever le défi du développement durable.

Essais sur l'hydrate de gaz au gisement Mallik

On fore actuellement un nouveau puits pour l'exécution d'assais scientifiques au puits de découverte Mallik L-38 de la société Esso Impérial, sur l'île Richards. Ce programme de recherche vise principalement à évaluer les techniques de forage ou de carottage, et de complétion de puits dans les sédiments riches en hydrate de gaz. Le projet a été conçu et financé par la Japanese National Oil Company dans l'optique d'une mise en valeur des ressources d'hydrate au large des côtes du Japon. Les travaux sur le puits sont réalisés par Japex et visent à atteindre une profondeur de 1 100 m, en prévoyant un carottage continu de 350 m. On a retenu ce site situé dans le delta du Mackenzie après avoir effectué des recherches dans le monde entier, car l'épaisseur des hydrates dans le cas du puits Mallik dépasse 110 m. La Commission géologique du Canada (CGC) fournira des conseils scientifiques sur les aspects opérationnels, au nom de tous les collaborateurs scientifiques; en outre, les scientifiques de la CGC participeront directement au travaux sur le terrain, grâce aux connaissances spécialisées déjà accumulées par la CGC en ce domaine. Pour les demandes de renseignements au sujet du projet, veuillez vous adresser à Scott Dallimore de la CGC, par courrier électronique, à l'adresse suivante: dallimore@gsc.nrcan.gc.ca

Rapport annuel de 1996

Si vous souhaitez obtenir un exemplaire du rapport annuel de 1996 sur les activités pétrolières et gazières dans le Nord, prière de communiquer avec Marlene Desjardins au (819) 953-8529 ou de consulter notre site Web.

Date de modification :