ARCHIVED - Beaufort Sea and Mackenzie Delta News

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Bulletin
Volume 6, Number 1
February 1999

Beaufort Sea and Mackenzie Delta Open for Posting

The Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development is inviting industry to select exploration acreage over 105 million hectares (407 000 square miles) in the Mackenzie Delta, Beaufort Sea and western Arctic Islands.

The Mackenzie Delta-Beaufort Sea basin has an excellent discovery record with 53 discoveries, including one major oil and gas field at Amauligak, three major gas fields (Taglu, Parsons and Issungnak) and one major oil discovery (Adlartok). A 1994 resource assessment by the Geological Survey of Canada (GSC) suggested that the prospects for doubling the number of discoveries in this size range are good, in both onshore and offshore exploration plays. (A major field contains oil resources from 100 to 500 million barrels / 15 to 80 million cubic metres or gas resources of 1 to 5 trillion cubic feet / 28 to 142 billion cubic metres).

The Call for Nominations opens at 9:00 a.m. on Monday February 22 and closes at 4:00 p.m. (Eastern Time) on Friday April 16, 1999. Nominations will be considered for inclusion in a Call for Bids tentatively scheduled to be issued in May'99. The annual cycle of nominations meets the expectation of northerners and industry for a predictable planning environment which should assist in developing land acquisition, exploration and business strategies.

Beaufort Sea/Mackenzie Delta Pool Study Released

The National Energy Board recently released estimates of resources by discovery for the Mackenzie Delta/Beaufort sea region. This is the first published listing of resources for all 53 significant discoveries made in the region. The discoveries date from West Atkinson in 1970 to Unipkat and South Isserk in 1990. The study provides key statistical information for companies interested in exploring this region and a public reference for proposals on the future development of oil and gas from the Mackenzie Delta and Beaufort Sea.

The study quotes discovered resources in terms of probabilities of occurrence. The mean may be regarded as the NEB's best estimate of discovered resources in each discovery. Resources at probabilities of 95% (conservative or low-side) and 5% (speculative or up-side potential) are also quoted. The spread between the 95% and 5% values is an indication of the level of confidence in the information available for each discovery. Confidence is usually greater and the spread in estimates correspondingly less for fields with several wells such as Amauligak. For fields which are single well discoveries, or which have complex geology or are poorly defined by seismic mapping, the spread is much greater (e.g. Koakoak).

In 1989, the NEB released reasons for decision for issuing licences to export gas from the Mackenzie Delta/Beaufort Sea region to the United States. The export licences expire on October 31, 2000, unless exports have commenced. The new study utilized 3D seismic information over the Taglu, Niglintgak and Kumak fields onshore Mackenzie Delta which was not available at that time. The NEB recognizes that in light of interpretations of these data, discovered resources in certain fields are lower than quoted in this decision. The NEB study also quotes a statistical summation of discovered resources. The study estimates a mean value for oil of 1.01 billion barrels (1.61 x 1010 m3). For gas the mean value is 9 trillion cubic feet (2.55 x 1011 m3).

A study by the GSC published in 1994 estimated discovered resources in aggregate terms and also potential resources. In terms of discovered resources, the new totals reflect more recent information and a review of field parameters. In this earlier study, the mean value for the discovered oil resource was 1.744 billion barrels and 11.74 trillion cubic feet of gas with additional potential of 5.39 billion barrels and 53.3 trillion cubic feet were also identified.

The new NEB study slightly reduces discovered gas resources. The more significant reduction in discovered oil reflects the assigning by the NEB team of greater uncertainty to extrapolating across the extent of discoveries from single discovery wells. This greater caution tends to affect projected oil recovery more so than gas. (Gas is much more mobile in the reservoir and typically has much higher recovery factors over a lower range.)

In the case of Amauligak, the largest oil field discovered to date, the study quotes a mean resource of 227 million barrels (3.66 x 107 m3) and a gas resource larger than previously estimated.

(Reference: National Energy Board, 1998. Probabilistic estimate of hydrocarbon volumes in the Mackenzie Delta and Beaufort Sea discoveries; this reference is available on the NEB web site:www.neb.gc.ca).

Inuvik Gas Project

The Inuvik gas project will develop gas resources in the 1983 Ikhil K-35 discovery in the Mackenzie Delta, 50 km north of the town of Inuvik. Construction of the pipeline began in January1999. The gas distribution system in Inuvik is scheduled to be built this spring and summer and is expected to be commissioned next Fall. Gas will also be used for electric power generation.

The developers expect that the project will generate 200 person-years of employment over the next 20 years, and deliver substantial savings in heating and power costs to residents. The move to local natural gas supplies over imported diesel fuel is expected to diversify and strengthen the local economy, train and develop local technical expertise, and reduce greenhouse gas emissions.

The partners in the Inuvik Gas Project are making strong efforts to keep the community informed on progress. The project team comprises Inuvialuit Petroleum Corporation, AltaGas Services Ltd. and Enbridge Inc.

The partners issued their first community newsletter in November entitled 'Northern Pipeline'. Lyle Neiss is general manager for the Inuvik Gas Project and can be reached at 867-777-7026.

Update on Gas Hydrate Research

The Mallik 2L-38 gas hydrate research well was successfully drilled to 1150m depth in February and March, 1998 at a site in the Mackenzie Delta where gas hydrates had been previously identified by Imperial Oil Ltd. The project was carried out under a cooperative agreement between the Japan National Oil Company (JNOC) and Geological Survey of Canada (GSC), with the Japan Petroleum Exploration Company (JAPEX) acting as the operator of the well. Scientific studies at the Mallik site have been led by the GSC with participation by JAPEX, the U.S. Geological Survey, the National Research Council of Canada, U.S. Department of Energy and a number of other institutes.

Preliminary results were released in November in a series of technical papers given at an international gas hydrate symposium in Chiba, Japan. Over 150m of hydrate-bearing sediments are described within an inter-bedded sequence of unconsolidated sands and mudstones. Quantitative estimates from core studies and geophysical techniques indicate variable hydrate concentrations. In porous sandy sediments gas hydrate saturation ranged up to 70% but in the finer grained mudstones examined the saturation fells below 15%. Scientists are continuing to investigate the origins of the methane gas and the effect of porosity on gas hydrate formation.

A summary of scientific results will be released as a GSC Bulletin in early summer, 1999. Further information on the project can be found at a GSC Web Site.

Although the focus of new drilling now shifts to offshore Japan, the Mackenzie Delta hydrate deposits and the Mallik well are now a proven field laboratory for research into gas hydrate.

Future research programs involving international partners are likely to emerge from accelerating research and technological development.

News Elsewhere - New Regulatory Boards in Mackenzie Valley

Following the passage of the Mackenzie Valley Resource Management Act (MVRMA), new resource management boards are up and running in the Gwich'in and Sahtu settlement regions, and the Mackenzie Valley Environmental Impact Review Board is active throughout the Mackenzie Valley. Part IV of the MVRMA establishing the Mackenzie Valley Land and Water Board is expected during 1999. Given start up of a new regulatory regime, oil and gas companies operating in all parts of the Mackenzie Valley are advised to allow as much time as is practical for full consultation with local communities and for obtaining regulatory approvals for land use and water.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Demande de désignations pour la mer de Beaufort et le delta du Mackenzie

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Bulletin
Volume 6, Numéro 1
Février 1999

Demande de désignations pour la mer de Beaufort et le delta du Mackenzie

La ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien invite le secteur privé à choisir des parcelles à des fins de prospection sur une superficie de 105 millions d'hectares (407 000 milles carrés) dans le delta du Mackenzie, la mer de Beaufort et l'ouest de l'archipel arctique.

Le bilan des découvertes dans le bassin Beaufort-Mackenzie est excellent; on compte notamment deux gisements pétrolifères, trois gisements gazifères et un gisement mixte, tous importants. L'évaluation des ressources effectuée en 1994 par la Commission géologique du Canada (CGC) a révélé qu'il y a de fortes chances que soit doublé le nombre de découvertes de cet ordre de grandeur, aussi bien dans les zones de prospection terrestres que marines. Un gisement pétrolifère important renferme de 15 à 80 x 106 m3 (100 à 500 millions de barils) de pétrole, et un gisement gazifère important de 28 à 142 x 109 m3 de gaz (un à cinq trillions de pieds cubes).

La présente demande de désignation débute le lundi 22 février à 9 heures et se termine le vendredi 16 avril 1999 à 16 heures (heure normale de l'Est). Les parcelles désignées seront incluses dans un appel d'offres dont la date de clôture est prévue provisoirement pour mai 1999. Le cycle annuel des désignations répond aux attentes des collectivités et du secteur privé, lesquels souhaitent un contexte de planification prévisible permettant l'élaboration de stratégies d'acquisition de terres et de prospection et d'autres stratégies commerciales.

Diffusion de l'étude sur le gisement Beaufort-Mackenzie

L'Office national de l'énergie a récemment diffusé des estimations des ressources selon les découvertes pour la région Beaufort-Mackenzie. Il s'agit de la première liste publiée des ressources des 53 découvertes importantes faites dans la région. Ces découvertes s'échelonnent à partir de celle de West Atkinson, réalisée en 1970, à celles d'Unipkat et de South Isserk, en 1990. L'étude fournit des informations statistiques essentielles pour les sociétés désireuses d'explorer cette région ainsi qu'une source de références publiques pour des propositions sur le développement pétrolier et gazier futur dans le delta du Mackenzie et la mer de Beaufort.

L'étude décrit les ressources découvertes en termes de probabilités d'occurrence. La probabilité moyenne peut être considérée comme la meilleure estimation par l'ONE des ressources réelles dans chaque découverte. Les ressources avec des probabilités de 95 % (potentiel conservateur ou minimal) et de 5 % (potentiel spéculatif ou maximal) sont également données. L'écart entre les valeurs à 95 % et 5 % fournit une indication du niveau de confiance dans les informations disponibles sur chaque découverte. Les champs renfermant plusieurs puits, par exemple celui d'Amauligak, présentent généralement un niveau de confiance plus élevé et un écart dans les estimations proportionnellement plus faible. Dans le cas des champs à découverte d'un puits unique, à géologie complexe ou mal définis par la cartographie sismique, l'écart est beaucoup plus important (p. ex., Koakoak).

En 1989, l'ONE a rendu publics ses motifs pour sa décision de délivrer un permis permettant d'exporter du gaz de la région Beaufort-Mackenzie vers les États-Unis. Ce permis d'exportation expire le 31 octobre 2000 (si les exportations n'ont pas commencées). La nouvelle étude utilise des informations sismiques tridimensionnelles non disponibles à l'époque sur les champs de Taglu, Niglintgak et Kumak dans la partie terrestre du delta du Mackenzie. L'ONE reconnaît qu'à la lumière de l'interprétation de ces données, les ressources découvertes dans certains de ces champs sont inférieures à celles citées dans la décision. L'étude de l'ONE fait également état d'une sommation statistique des ressources découvertes. Selon l'étude, l'estimation d'une valeur moyenne pour le pétrole se chiffre à 1,61 x 1010 m3 (1,01 milliard de barils). Dans le cas du gaz, la valeur moyenne s'élève à 2,55 x 1011 m3 (9 trillions de pieds cubes).

Une étude de la CGC publiée en 1994 contient des estimations des ressources découvertes globales ainsi que des ressources potentielles. En termes de ressources découvertes, les nouveaux totaux tiennent compte d'informations plus récentes et d'une révision des paramètres du gisement. Selon cette étude antérieure, la valeur moyenne des ressources découvertes en pétrole se chiffrait à 1,744 milliard de barils et à 11,74 trillions de pieds cubes de gaz, des ressources potentielles supplémentaires de 5,39 milliards de barils et de 53,3 trillions de pieds cubes ayant également été identifiées.

La nouvelle étude de l'ONE fait état d'une légère réduction des ressources découvertes de gaz. La réduction plus accusée du pétrole traduit le fait que l'ONE attribue une plus grande incertitude à l'extrapolation à l'ensemble d'un champs entier à partir d'un puits de découverte uniques. Cette prudence accrue tend à se répercuter plutôt sur le taux de récupération projeté du pétrole que sur celui du gaz. (Le gaz est beaucoup plus mobile dans le réservoir et présente en général des taux de récupération beaucoup plus élevés en présence de faibles quantités). Dans le cas d'Amauligak, le plus vaste champ pétrolifère découvert à ce jour, l'étude fait état d'une ressource médiane de 3,66 x 107 m3 (227 millions de barils). Une ressource gazière plus importante qu'estimée précédemment y déplace en effet une certaine quantité de pétrole hors du réservoir. [Référence : Office national de l'énergie, 1998. Probabilistic estimate of hydrocarbon volumes in the Mackenzie Delta and Beaufort Sea Discoveries (Estimation probabiliste des volumes d'hydrocarbures des découvertes dans le delta du Mackenzie et la mer de Beaufort)].

Projet gazier d'Inuvik

Le projet gazier d'Inuvik prévoit le développement de ressources de gaz à la découverte «Ikhil K-35» (1983) dans le delta du Mackenzie, à 50 km au nord d'Inuvik. La construction du pipeline a commencé en janvier 1999. On s'attend à ce que le système de distribution du gaz à Inuvik soit construit ce printemps et cet été et à ce qu'il soit mis en service l'automne prochain. Le gaz sera également utilisé pour la production d'électricité.

Selon les prévisions des promoteurs, le projet créera 200 années-personnes d'emploi pendant les 20 prochaines années et permettra aux résidents de réaliser des économies substantielles quant au coût du chauffage et de l'énergie. On s'attend à ce que le passage à un approvisionnement local en gaz naturel en remplacement d'un combustible diesel importé permette de diversifier et de renforcer l'économie locale, de former et de développer l'expertise technique locale et de réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre.

Les partenaires du Projet gazier d'Inuvik consacrent beaucoup d'efforts à informer la communauté sur les progrès réalisés. L'équipe de projet comprend les sociétés Inuvialuit Petroleum Corporation, AltaGas Services Ltd. et Enbridge Inc. Les partenaires ont diffusé en novembre leur premier bulletin communautaire intitulé « Northern Pipeline ». Le directeur général du Projet gazier d'Inuvik est Lyle Neiss, qu'on peut joindre au 867-777-7026.

Mise à jour sur les recherches sur les hydrates de gaz

Le puits de recherche sur les hydrates de gaz «Mallik 2L-38» a été foré avec succès en février et mars 1998 jusqu'à une profondeur de 1 150 m sur un site du delta du Mackenzie où des hydrates de gaz avaient antérieurement été identifiés par la société Imperial Oil Ltd. Ce projet a été réalisé dans le cadre d'un accord de collaboration entre la Japan National Oil Company (JNOC) et la Commission géologique du Canada (CGC), la Japan Petroleum Exploration Company (JAPEX) agissant comme opérateur du puits. Les études scientifiques au site de Mallik ont été réalisées par la CGC avec la participation de JAPEX, du U.S. Geological Survey, du Conseil national de recherches du Canada, du U.S. Department of Energy et de diverses autres institutions.

Les résultats préliminaires ont été rendus publics en novembre dans une série d'allocutions de nature technique présentées à l'occasion d'un symposium international sur les hydrates de gaz tenu à Chiba, au Japon. Plus de 150 m de sédiments renfermant des hydrates ont été décrits au sein d'une séquence interstratifée de sables et de mudstones non consolidés. Les estimations quantitatives réalisées à partir d'études sur les carottages et de techniques géophysiques indiquent la présence de concentrations variables d'hydrates. Dans les sédiments sablonneux poreux la saturation en hydrates de gaz atteint 70 %, mais dans les mudstones à grains plus fins examinés la saturation diminue à moins de 15 %. Les scientifiques poursuivent leur étude sur les origines du méthane et sur les effets de la porosité sur la formation des hydrates de gaz.

Un résumé des résultats scientifiques sera diffusé sous forme de bulletin de la CGC au début de l'été 1999. Des informations supplémentaires sur le projet sont disponibles sur le site Web.

Bien que le centre d'intérêt des nouveaux travaux de forage se déplace au Japon extracôtier, les dépôts d'hydrates du delta du Mackenzie et le puits Mallik constituent désormais un laboratoire de terrain éprouvé pour les recherches sur les hydrates de gaz. Les programmes de recherche de l'avenir mettant en jeu des partenaires internationaux émergeront vraisemblablement de recherches et d'un développement accélérés.

Autres nouvelles - gestion de ressources dans la vallée du Mackenzie

Suite à l'adoption de la Loi sur la gestion des ressources de la vallée du Mackenzie [MVRMA (LGRVM)], de nouvelles commissions de gestion des ressources sont à l'oeuvre dans les régions de peuplement de Gwich'in et de Sahtu; en outre, le Comité d'examen des impacts environnementaux dans la vallée du Mackenzie oeuvre activement dans l'ensemble de la vallée du Mackenzie. L'achèvement de la Partie IV du LGRVM mettant sur pied la Commission des sols et des eaux de la vallée du Mackenzie est attendu au cours de l'année 1999. Étant donnée la mise en vigueur d'un nouveau régime de réglementation, il est conseillé aux sociétés pétrolières et gazières actives dans toutes les parties de la vallée du Mackenzie de prévoir le temps nécessaire en pratique à des consultations suivies avec les communautés locales et à l'obtention des approbations réglementaires relatives à l'utilisation des sols et des eaux.

Date de modification :