ARCHIVED - Bids Sought on Four Mackenzie Delta Parcels

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Bulletin
Volume 6, Number 2
May 1999

Postings Received

Following a call to industry for nominations which closed April 16,1999, bids are now invited on four land parcels on Crown lands in the Mackenzie Delta region of Canada's Northwest Territories. Lands being offered total 293 451 hectares (725 133 acres).

The single bidding criterion is the dollar value of exploration in the first five year period of the nine year term. The terms and conditions for the licences include a single well drilling requirement in the first period of the licence. Competitive generic royalty rates apply.

This is opportunity for industry to bid on lands with high exploration potential close to major gas fields at Taglu and Niglintgak and several other gas and oil discoveries onshore the Mackenzie Delta. These parcels are strategically placed for future offshore oil and gas development in the Beaufort Sea.

Total discovered resources of the Mackenzie Delta region are currently estimated by Canada's National Energy Board at 1.01 billion barrels (1.61 x 1010 m3) of oil and 9 trillion cubic feet (2.55 x 1011 m3) of gas (mean values). The Geological Survey of Canada place potential estimates of undiscovered resources at 5.39 billion barrels and 53.3 trillion cubic feet. Natural gas from the Beaufort-Mackenzie Basin is hosted in high productivity Tertiary and Cretaceous sandstone reservoirs.

About half of discovered Mackenzie Delta fields contain wet gas with significant condensate fractions. (Condensate resources from onshore Mackenzie Delta fields are estimated At 66 million barrels/10.7 x 106 m3.) The gas is sulphur free. The region is currently an untapped producing region with potential for high output and long term deliverability. The volume and quality of the resource is likely to signify in North American gas supply equations early in the next millenium.

Licences issued in this round will run until September 2008, subject to drilling commitments being met.

Parcel Descriptions

Parcels 1 to 3 adjoin or surround twelve existing onshore discoveries retained under significant discovery licences. Earlier this year, the National Energy Board (NEB) published estimates of discovered resources in these discoveries totalling 2.8 trillion cubic feet of gas (79.0 x 109 m3) and 70 million barrels of oil (11.2 x 106 m3) at the mean. The largest discoveries are Taglu (mean marketable gas resources of 58.6 x 109 m3) and Niglintgak (13.6 x 109 m3). The largest oil pool is Unipkat, drilled by Shell in 1990 and estimated by the NEB to contain 34 million barrels of oil ( 5.5 x 106 m3).

Map of the Beaufort Sea - Mackenzie Delta Parcels

Parcel 1

(72 474 ha) includes North Point on Richards Island and shallow offshore areas immediately to the west. The parcel abuts significant discovery licences over oil discoveries at Ivik K-54 and J-26, and includes onshore areas of Richards Island between existing discoveries at Taglu and Mallik. Parcel 1 lies west and northwest of existing exploration licence 384 issued to Husky Oil in 1997 for a nine year term.

The Mallik site has been of recent interest as the location of an internationally backed scientific research program to investigate gas hydrates. A test well was drilled as an offset to the existing Mallik gas discovery which tested natural gas from a deeper conventional reservoir.

Parcel 2

(73 155 ha) configured in an east-west strip is contiguous with the southern boundary of parcel 1. It includes lands bordering the Middle Channel, one of the principal distributaries of the Mackenzie Delta.

The block envelopes significant discoveries at Kumak and Yaya (P-53,A-28), and abuts Shells Niglintgak (gas) and Unipkat (oil) discoveries. The lands adjoin EL384 to the east and the southeast corner touches Inuvialuit lands.

Parcel 3

(72 311 ha) adjoins parcel 2 to the south and Inuvialuit lands (surface and subsurface) of the Inuvik block to the east. Inuvialuit surface-owned lands are included within the parcel along its eastern margin. Parcel 3 surrounds the gas discovery at Titalik K-26 and adjoins significant discoveries at Reindeer (gas) and Unipkat (oil and gas).

Parcel 4

(75 511 ha) is the most southerly parcel offered. It lies in a relatively little drilled area of the southern Mackenzie Delta between the Inuvik and Aklavik land blocks (surface and subsurface mineral rights held by the Inuvialuit). The eastern margin of the parcel is about 10 kilometres from the gas development at Ikhil, scheduled to start flowing gas to Inuvik later this year. The south edge of the block is about equidistant from the towns of Aklavik and Inuvik. A fringe of Inuvialuit surface lands are included within the parcel.

Bids must be received in the form specified in the Call for Bids document by Noon Mountain time, on September 9, 1999.

For the parcel winners, consultation with Inuvialuit organizations and the communities of Aklavik and Inuvik will be necessary on matters ranging from access across Inuvialuit lands, to determining environmental sensitivities and to the implementation of northern benefits requirements.

Inuvialuit Claim

Bidders should note that the Inuvialuit are an important land owner in the immediate vicinity of the blocks offered. Bidders are advised to familiarize themselves with the Inuvialuit Final Agreement which describes the rights of the Inuvialuit within the Inuvialuit Settlement Region.

The Inuvialuit claim was accepted for negotiation on May 13, 1976, and the final agreement, signed in June 1984, was effective July 1984.

The settlement provided the Inuvialuit with approximately 91,000 square kilometres of land (of which 13,000 square kilometres includes mineral rights). It also includes wildlife harvesting rights, socio-economic initiatives, and participation in wildlife and environmental management.

Reminder

Our last Bulletin contained an article on the National Energy Board's recently released estimates of resources by discovery for the Mackenzie Delta/Beaufort sea region. Reference: National Energy Board, 1998. Probabilistic estimate of hydrocarbon volumes in the Mackenzie Delta and Beaufort Sea discoveries. This reference is available on the National Energy Board's web site

For More Information on this Call

Please contact us by phone, fax or e-mail: the Director: Fortierm@ainc-inac.gc.ca

Rights Issuance: Desjardinsm@ainc-inac.gc.ca

Rights Administrator: Boothg@ainc-inac.gc.ca for information re financial requirements.

Geological and/or technical information is available from the Sr. Petroleum Geologist Morrellg@ainc-inac.gc.ca

New and Improved

We are making changes to our website.

The changes are both aesthetic and informational. Completion of the update of the site is expected in the very near future.

For further information

Call or write the Northern Oil and Gas Directorate, Natural Resources and Environment Branch, Indian and Northern Affairs Canada

Ottawa, Ontario Canada K1A 0H4

(This is the mailing address)

Fax: (819) 953-5828

Telephone: (819) 997-0878

Comments

Comments on this Northern Oil and Gas Bulletin and suggestions for future issues are welcomed. Please call or write: Director, Northern Oil and Gas, at the above noted address.

Telephone: (819) 997-0878

Fax: (819) 953-5828

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Appel d'offres pour quatre parcelles sur le Delta du Mackenzie

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Bulletin
Volume 6, Numéro 2
Mai 1999

Désignations reçues

La demande de désignations s'est terminée le 16 avril 1999. Les désignations étant reçues, la Couronne est prête à lancer un appel d'offres pour quatre parcelles situées dans la région du delta du Mackenzie, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest du Canada. Les terres offertes s'étendent sur une superficie totale de 293 451 hectares (725 133 acres).

L'unique critère pour soumissionner est le montant en dollars qui sera dépensé en travaux d'exploration au cours des cinq premières années du permis (d'une durée de neuf ans). Les modalités et conditions d'octroi de permis comportent une unique exigence, soit celle de forer un puits d'exploration au cours de la première période du permis. Les taux de redevances génériques concurrentiels s'appliquent.

Il s'agit d'une occasion offerte à l'industrie de soumissionner des terres présentant un fort potentiel pour l'exploration à proximité de vastes champs de gaz naturel à Taglu et à Niglintgak et de plusieurs autres découvertes de gaz et de pétrole sur les terres du delta du Mackenzie. Ces parcelles sont situées dans des zones stratégiques permettant la mise en valeur ultérieure du gaz et du pétrole dans les zones extracôtières de la mer de Beaufort.

Selon les estimations de l'Office national de l'énergie (ONE) du Canada, les ressources totales découvertes dans la région du delta du Mackenzie sont actuellement de 1,01 milliard de barils (1,61 x 1010 m3) de pétrole et de 9 billions de pieds cubes (2,55 x 1011 m3) de gaz naturel (valeurs moyennes). La Commission géologique du Canada évalue les ressources potentielles non découvertes à 5,39 milliards de barils et à 53,3 billions de pieds cubes. Le gaz naturel du bassin de Beaufort-Mackenzie est situé dans les réservoirs gréseux à forte productivité du Tertiaire et du Crétacé.

Environ la moitié des champs du gaz naturel découverts dans le delta du Mackenzie contiennent d'importantes fractions de condensant. Les ressources en condensant sont estimées à 66 millions de barils (10,7 x 106 m3). Le gaz est exempt de souffre. Cette région présentement inexploitée offre des potentialités de rendements élevés ainsi que de productivité à long terme. Le volume et la qualité des ressources vont vraisemblablement jouer un rôle fondamental dans l'équation offre et demande de gaz en Amérique du Nord au début du prochain millénaire.

Les permis accordés dans le cadre de cette transaction seront valides jusqu'en septembre, 2008, à condition que les soumissionnaires respectent les engagements en matière de forage.

Descriptions des parcelles

Les parcelles 1 à 3 sont contiguës à douze dé couvertes sur la partie du delta terrestre, sélectionnées dans le cadre d'attestation de découverte importante, ou elles ceinturent ces douze découvertes. Plus tôt cette année, l'Office national de l'énergie a publié les estimations des ressources découvertes dans cette région; elles totalisent 2,8 billions de pieds cubes de gaz (79 x 109 m3) et 70 millions de barils de pétrole (11,2 x 106 m3) en moyenne. Les découvertes les plus importantes sont celles de Taglu (ressources moyennes commercialisables de gaz de 58,6 x 109 m3) et de Niglintgak (13,6 x 109 m3). Le gisement pétrolifère le plus gros est celui d'Unipkat, où un forage a été effectué par Shell en 1990 et qui, selon les estimations de l'Office national de l'énergie, renferme 34 millions de barils de pétrole ( 5,5 x 106 m3).

Carte de la Mer de Beaufort et Delta du Mackenzie

La parcelle 1

(72 474 ha) englobe la pointe North sur l'île Richards et les zones extracôtières peu profondes se trouvant directement à l'ouest. La parcelle est attenante à des attestations de découverte importantes aux puits Ivik K-54 et J-26, et comprend les régions côtières de l'île Richards qui s'étendent entre les découvertes actuelles à Taglu et à Mallik. Cette parcelle est située à l'ouest et au nord-ouest du permis de prospection 384 accordé à Husky Oil en 1997 pour une période de neuf ans.

Le site Mallik a été l'objet récemment d'activités intéressantes associées à un programme de recherche scientifique international destiné à l'étude des hydrates de gaz. On a foré un puits d'essai adjacent à la découverte de gaz Mallik. Le puits Mallik original a démontré l'existence du gaz naturel dans un réservoir classique plus profond.

La parcelle 2

(73 155 ha), en forme allongée de direction est-ouest, est adjacente à la bordure méridionale de la parcelle 1. Elle englobe les terres s'étendant en bordure du chenal Middle, l'un des principaux effluents du delta du Mackenzie. Le bloc renferme plusieurs découvertes importantes à Kumak et à Yaya (P-53,A-28) et est attenant aux découvertes de Shell à Niglintgak (gaz) et à Unipkat (pétrole). Les terres jouxtent le permis de prospection 384 à l'est et le coin sud-est touche aux terres des Inuvialuit.

La parcelle 3

(72 311 ha) est contiguë à la parcelle 2, au sud, et aux terres des Inuvialuit (surface et subsurface) situées dans le bloc d'Inuvik à l'est. Les terres des Inuvialuit (surface) s'étendent à l'intérieur de la bordure orientale de la parcelle 3 qui ceinture la découverte de gaz naturel au puits Titalik K-26 et jouxte les découvertes importantes de gaz à Reindeer et de pétrole et de gaz à Unipkat.

La parcelle 4

(75 511 ha) est la plus méridionale des parcelles offertes. Elle se trouve dans une région, qui a été l'objet de relativement peu de forages, située dans le sud du delta du Mackenzie, entre les blocs des terres d'Inuvik et d'Aklavik (dont les droits miniers de surface et de subsurface sont détenus par les Inuvialuit). La bordure orientale de la parcelle est à quelque 10 km de l'endroit où ont été effectués les travaux de mise en valeur du gaz naturel au puits Ikhil, qui devrait approvisionner Inuvik en gaz plus tard au cours de cette année. La bordure méridionale de ce bloc est à peu près équidistante des villes d'Aklavik et d'Inuvik. Une des bordures des terres de surface des Inuvialuit s'étend à l'intérieur de cette parcelle.

Les soumissions doivent être transmises en suivant les indications figurant dans le document de l'appel d'offres, avant midi, heure normale des Rocheuses, le 9 septembre 1999. Les adjudicataires devront consulter les organismes des Inuvialuit et les collectivités d'Aklavik et d'Inuvik sur diverses questions, allant de l'accès sur le territoire des Inuvialuit à la détermination de la polluosensitivité de l'environnement et des exigences en matière de retombées économiques.

Les revendications territoriales des Inuvialuit

Les soumissionnaires devront prendre en compte que les Inuvialuit possèdent de vastes étendues de terre dans le voisinage immédiat des blocs offerts. Ils devraient se familiariser avec la Convention définitive des Inuvialuit dans laquelle sont décrits les droits de ces derniers à l'intérieur de la région de leurs peuplements.

Les revendications territoriales des Inuvialuit ont été négociées le 13 mai 1976 et l'accord final, signé en juin 1984, est entré en vigueur en juillet 1984.

L'accord a octroyé aux Inuvialuit une superficie de quelque 91 000 km2 de terres (comprenant 13 000 km2 sur lesquels ils détiennent des droits miniers). Il vise également les droits d'exploitation des ressources fauniques, des initiatives socio-économiques et prévoit une participation à la gestion de la faune et de l'environnement.

Rappel

Notre dernier bulletin contient un article portant sur les dernières estimations, effectuées par l'Office national de l'énergie, des ressources découvertes dans la région du delta du Mackenzie et de la mer de Beaufort. Référence : Office national de l'énergie, 1998. Estimation probabiliste des volumes d'hydrocarbures dans les découvertes du delta du Mackenzie et de la mer de Beaufort. Vous pouvez consulter cette référence sur le site Web de l'Office national de l'énergie.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur le présent appel d'offres, veuillez nous appeler, ou nous envoyer une télécopie ou un courrier électronique aux adresses suivantes :

Directeur : Fortierm@ainc-inac.gc.ca

Émetteur des droits : Desjardinsm@ainc-inac.gc.ca

Pour obtenir des renseignements sur les besoins de financement, adressez-vous au gestionnaire des droits à l'adresse suivante : Boothg@ainc-inac.gc.ca

Les informations de nature géologique et/ou technique sont disponibles sur le site du géologue pétrolier principal : Morrellg@ainc-inac.gc.ca

Nouveautés et améliorations de notre site Web

Nous apportons présentement des modifications à notre site Web.

Les modifications sont de nature esthétique et informationnelle. La mise à jour du site devrait se terminer très prochainement.

Date de modification :