ARCHIVED - Nominations Invited for the Arctic Islands of Nunavut

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Bulletin
Volume 7, Number 6
December 2000

Call for Nominations Launched

This will be the first Crown initiative to issue oil and gas exploration rights in Nunavut's short history. The Nunavut Tungavik Inc. (NTI) and officials of the government of Nunavut have been consulted by departmental officials. This first right issuance process has been a while in the making but all concur that the time is right to re-open Nunavut for oil and gas exploration investment. As with the Beaufort Sea/Mackenzie Delta area of the western Arctic, the department plans to make this an annual event.

The Call for Nominations opens at 9:00 a.m. on December 7, 2000 and will remain open for approximately two months, closing at 4:00 p.m.on January 29, 2001. A call for bids for exploration licences to explore for oil and gas on any nominated land may be anticipated for sometime in February 2001 should nominations be received. The proposed terms and conditions for a Call for Bids will be posted on our website or available by contacting our offices.

The outer boundaries of the Call area are indicated on the attached map (pdf). The call area is equivalent to half the area of the province of Alberta. A copy of the map is available on our Web site or by contacting our offices.

High Potential for Further Discoveries

Discovered oil and gas in the Arctic Islands represents five percent and 15 percent respectively of the remaining Canadian discovered recoverable resources in Canada (Source National Energy Board-1999). Recent estimates place the total resource (discovered plus potential) at 10% and 23% respectively of Canada's remaining resources of conventional crude oil and natural gas.

Although much of southern Nunavut is underlain by ancient rocks of the Canadian Shield, the far northern and offshore basins with thicker and younger sedimentary rocks have a greater oil and gas potential. Most northerly of Canada's exploration regions, the Arctic Islands overlie one of Canada's largest petroliferous basins. Exploration activity has been extensive, but sparsely distributed across this huge region. Nevertheless, the 160 wells drilled to date have discovered gas resources of over 14 trillion cubic feet. Two of the largest undeveloped gas fields in Canada are in the Arctic Islands.

The call area includes the full extent of the Sverdrup Basin in Nunavut. Nineteen discoveries were made in this Basin between 1969 and 1985, including a major gas field at Drake Point and the Bent Horn oil field. Bent Horn produced light crude for eleven years between 1985 and 1996.

Drilling success has been remarkable with one discovery for every six wells drilled in the Sverdrup Basin itself. There is high potential for further discoveries of both oil and gas, offshore and onshore. New exploration, production and transportation technologies encourage the evaluation of new exploration ventures and may cause the development potential of existing discoveries to be re-examined.

Nunavut Tungavik Inc. Support

"We fully support the development of Nunavut's petroleum resources and are very pleased that the first Call for Nominations after the signing of the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement is about to go ahead" said James Eetoolook, First Vice-President of Nunavut Tunngavik Inc., the Inuit organization responsible for implementing the Agreement. Under the Agreement, Inuit have a role in ensuring that resource development will be done in a way that respects the environment and the values of Inuit as well as providing long-lasting benefits. We look forward to working with the petroleum companies and government in developing Nunavut's great petroleum potential."

Excerpts from the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement relating to the exercise of petroleum rights, article 27.1.2, would be included in any Call for Bids for information purposes only. Anyone interested may obtain a copy from the Nunavut Tungavik Inc website (Web site not available in English).

Nunavut Government Endorsement

Olayuk Akesuk, the Minister of Sustainable Development for the Government of Nunavut has said, "This call for nominations marks the start of a new era of exploration in one of Canada's largest and least explored sedimentary basins.

Minister Akesuk adds, "The Government of Nunavut looks forward to working with industry, Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated and the Federal Government in the careful and responsible exploration and development of oil and gas resources for the benefit of the people of Nunavut and Canada. We are very excited and pleased with this first step."

For More Information on Calls for Nominations and/or Bids please contact us:
by phone / fax: (819) 997-0877/ 953-5828
or via e-mail to
the Director: Fortierm@ainc-inac.gc.ca
or Rights Issuance: Desjardinsm@ainc-inac.gc.ca

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Appel de demandes de désignation pour l'archipel Arctique du Nunavut

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Bulletin
Volume 7, Numéro 6
Décembre 2000

Lancement de l'appel de demandes de désignations

Il s'agit de la première initiative de la Couronne en vue d'octroyer des droits d'exploration du pétrole et du gaz de la courte histoire du Nunavut. Les représentants du ministère ont consulté la Nunavut Tunngavik Inc. (NTI) et des représentants du gouvernement du Nunavut à ce sujet. Il a fallu quelque temps pour mettre au point ce premier processus d'octroi de droits, mais tous s'accordent à dire que le moment est venu de rouvrir le Nunavut aux investissements relatifs au pétrole et au gaz. Comme pour la région de la mer de Beaufort et du delta du Mackenzie, dans la région ouest de l'Arctique, le ministère a l'intention de faire un appel de demandes de désignations pour l'archipel Arctique du Nunavut à chaque année.

L'appel de demandes de désignation sera en vigueur pendant deux mois environ, à partir de 9 heures le 7 décembre 2000 jusqu'à 16 heures le 29 janvier 2001. On prévoit un appel d'offres en février 2001, si le ministère reçoit des demandes de désignation, en vue de l'attribution de licences d'exploration relatives au pétrole et au gaz sur toute terre qui aura été désignée. Les modalités proposées relativement à un appel d'offres seront affichées sur notre site Web; on pourra également les obtenir en communiquant avec le personnel de nos bureaux.

Les limites extérieures de la région visée par cet appel de demandes de désignation sont indiquées sur la carte (pdf) ci-jointe. La région visée équivaut à la moitié de la surface de la province de l'Alberta. Cette carte se trouve aussi sur notre site Web et on peut en obtenir un exemplaire en communiquant avec le personnel de nos bureaux.

Potentiel élevé de nouvelles découvertes

Le pétrole et le gaz découverts dans l'archipel de l'Arctique représentent respectivement 5 p. 100 et 15 p. 100 des ressources récupérables découvertes restantes au Canada (source: Office national de l'énergie, 1999). Des estimations récentes chiffrent les ressources totales (découvertes et potentielles) à 10 p. 100 et 23 p. 100 respectivement des ressources restantes en pétrole brut classique et en gaz naturel.

Malgré le fait qu'une grande partie de la région sud du Nunavut fait partie du Bouclier canadien, une formation rocheuse très ancienne, les bassins situés au large et à l'extrême nord sont constitués de roches sédimentaires plus épaisses et plus jeunes et présentent un potentiel plus important pour la découverte de pétrole et de gaz. L'archipel Arctique, la région la plus septentrionale du Canada se prêtant à l'exploration, recouvre un des plus grands bassins pétrolifères au Canada. Il s'y est fait beaucoup d'activités d'exploration, mais celles-ci étaient clairsemées dans cette immense région. Néanmoins, les 160 puits forés jusqu'à présent ont permis la découverte de ressources gazières de plus de 14 trillions de pieds cubes. Deux des plus grands champs de gaz naturel au Canada sont situés dans l'archipel Arctique.

La région visée par l'appel de demandes de désignation comprend l'ensemble du bassin de Sverdrup au Nunavut. Dix-neuf découvertes ont été faites dans ce bassin de 1969 à 1985, y compris un champ de gaz de première importance et le champ de pétrole « Bent Horn ». Celui-ci a produit du brut léger pendant onze ans, de 1985 à 1996.

Le taux de succès en matière de forage est remarquable, soit une découverte par six puits forés dans le bassin de Sverdrup proprement dit. Le potentiel en pétrole et en gaz est élevé et les nouvelles découvertes sont probables, au large comme sur les parties terrestres du bassin. Les nouvelles technologies d'exploration, de production et de transport encouragent l'évaluation de nouveaux projets d'exploration et pourraient entraîner le réexamen du potentiel de mise en valeur des découvertes effectuées jusqu'à présent.

Appui de la Nunavut Tungavik Inc.

« Nous appuyons pleinement la mise en valeur des ressources pétrolières du Nunavut et nous sommes très heureux de ce premier appel de demandes de désignation depuis la signature de l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut », a déclaré M. James Eetoolook, premier vice-président de Nunavut Tunngavik Inc., l'organisation inuite chargée de la mise en oeuvre de l'Accord. « En vertu de l'Accord, de poursuivre M. Eetoolook, les Inuits sont chargés de veiller à ce que la mise en valeur des ressources se fasse dans le respect de l'environnement et des valeurs inuites et à ce qu'il en découle des avantages durables. Nous avons hâte de collaborer avec les sociétés pétrolières et le gouvernement pour exploiter le formidable potentiel pétrolier du Nunavut. »

Un extrait de l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut portant sur l'exercice des droits relatifs aux hydrocarbures, l'article 27.1.2, serait inclus dans un éventuel appel d'offres, à des fins d'information seulement. On peut consulter l'Accord (en anglais) sur le site Web de la Nunavut Tungavik Inc (site web non disponible en français).

Appui du gouvernement du Nunavut

cet appel de demandes de désignation marque le début d'une nouvelle ère d'exploration dans l'un des plus grands bassins sédimentaires au Canada et l'un des moins explorés. »

« Le gouvernement du Nunavut est impatient de collaborer avec l'industrie, la Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated et le gouvernement fédéral en vue de l'exploration et de la mise en valeur prudentes et responsables des ressources pétrolières et gazières dans l'intérêt de la population du Nunavut et du Canada, ajoute-t-il. Nous sommes très enthousiastes et ce premier pas nous réjouit. »

Pour plus de renseignements sur les appels de demandes de désignations ou les appels d'offres, veuillez communiquer avec nous :
par téléphone / télécopieur : (819) 997-0877 / 953-5828
ou par courrier électronique,
en vous adressant au directeur : Fortierm@ainc-inac.gc.ca
ou au sujet de l'octroi de droits : Desjardinsm@ainc-inac.gc.ca

Date de modification :