ARCHIVED - 2003 Central Mackenzie Valley Call for Bids

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Bulletin
Volume 10, Number 1
January 2003

Bids Invited

The Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development is inviting bids for petroleum exploration rights on one parcel of land in the Central Mackenzie Valley region of the Northwest Territories. The parcel covers approximately 79 668 hectares of land.

The parcel is identified on the attached map and is formally described in the Call for Bids document using the Frontier Lands Grid System.

The Call for Bids closes at noon Mountain Time, on May 27, 2003.

Terms and Conditions

Terms and conditions of the Call for Bids are described in the official call document, the 2003Central Mackenzie Valley Call for Bids, available at the Frontier Information Office of the National Energy Board at 444-7th Avenue S.W. in Calgary, Alberta and posted on the Northern Oil and Gas Website.

The bid selection criterion remains the total amount of money that the bidder proposes to spend doing exploratory work on the parcel during period 1 of the term of the exploration licence. A deposit of 25% of the bid amount must be submitted with the bid.

The term of an exploration licence issued for the parcel is eight years consisting of two consecutive periods of four years each. The drilling of a well during period 1 of the term qualifies the licence holder to retain the licence for period 2, whether or not the total amount bid has been spent. Any excess bid deposit will be forfeit. A drilling deposit of $1 million may be submitted before the end of the first period to obtain a one-year period of grace to commence the required well. The deposit is refundable on drilling the well.

Calls for Nominations Close

No nominations were received for the Arctic Islands of Nunavut Call for Nominations which closed on January 15, 2003; nor were there any nominations received for the Beaufort Sea/Mackenzie Delta Call which closed on January 7, 2003.

Modification to the administration of Allowable Expenditures

The Allowable Expenditure provisions of exploration licences are necessitated by the work expenditure criterion by which winning bids for exploration lands are selected. These bids represent the total amount of money that the bidder proposes to spend doing exploratory work on the (licence) lands during Period 1 of the term of the exploration licence. The Schedule of Allowable Expenditures attached to each exploration licence describes how the cost of exploratory work of different categories may be claimed and approved. Until 2002, this has generally been through application of set rates applicable to different types of activity.

During 2002, a Task Force comprising the Northern Oil and Gas Directorate (NOGD), and members of the Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers (CAPP) with specific experience and interest in petroleum exploration North of 60, examined ways to improve the administration of allowable expenditures. The consensus of the Task Force was that expenditures should be claimed on the basis of actual cost (the 'at cost' approach) rather than use predetermined rates.

NOGD have moved to the 'at cost' approach for the recent calls for nominations. Guidance Notes have been developed to assist the implementation of the new approach and are available from the Northern Oil and Gas Directorate.

For More Information on Calls for Nominations and/or Bids please contact us:

by phone: (819) 997-0877
or by fax: (819) 953-5828
or via e-mail to the Director:
Fortierm@ainc-inac.gc.ca
or via e-mail to Rights Issuance:
Desjardinsm@ainc-inac.gc.ca

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Appel d'offres 2003 dans la région centrale de la vallée du Mackenzie

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Bulletin
Volume 10, Numéro 1
December 2003

Invitation à soumissionner

Le ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien lance un appel d'offres pour des droits d'exploration pétrolière totalisant environ 79 668 hectares répartis sur une parcelle de terre située dans la région centrale de la vallée du Mackenzie, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest.

Cette parcelle, qui est indiquée sur la carte ci-jointe, est officiellement décrite dans le document d'appel d'offres à l'aide du système de quadrillage des terres domaniales.

L'appel d'offres prend fin le 27 mai 2003 à midi, heure normale des Rocheuses.

Conditions

Les conditions de l'appel d'offres sont décrites dans le document officiel intitulé Appel d'offres 2003 dans la région centrale de la vallée du Mackenzie, offert au Bureau d'information sur les terres domaniales de l'Office national de l'énergie, 444, 7e avenue S.-O., Calgary (Alberta) et affiché sur le site Web de Pétrole et gaz du Nord.

Le principal critère de sélection des offres demeure le montant total que le soumissionnaire propose de dépenser pour les travaux d'exploration sur la parcelle en question au cours de la première période de validité du permis d'exploration. Chaque soumission doit être accompagnée d'un dépôt représentant 25 p. 100 de l'offre.

Un permis délivré pour la parcelle est valide pendant huit années divisées en deux périodes consécutives de quatre (4) ans chacune.. Le forage d'un puits au cours de la première période de validité du permis permet au détenteur de conserver le permis pour la deuxième période, qu'il ait ou non dépensé le montant total de l'offre. L'excédent du dépôt sera perdu. Le détenteur d'un permis peut remettre un dépôt de forage d'un million de dollars avant la fin de la première période pour obtenir un an de grâce en vue d'entreprendre le forage du puits exigé. Ce dépôt est remboursable une fois le puits foré.

Fin des demandes de désignation

Aucune désignation n'a été reçue à la suite de la Demande de désignations visant l'archipel arctique du Nunavut, qui prenait fin le 15 janvier 2003; et aucune désignation n'a été reçue pour la Demande visant la région de la mer de Beaufort et du delta du Mackenzie qui prenait fin le 7 janvier 2003.

Modification de la gestion des dépenses admissibles

Les dispositions des permis de prospection concernant les dépenses admissibles découlent du critère de l'offre d'exécution des travaux, par lequel on sélectionne les soumissions gagnantes pour les terres à explorer. Ces soumissions représentent le montant total que le soumissionnaire propose de dépenser en travaux d'exploration sur les terres au cours de la première période de validité. Le tableau des dépenses admissibles associé à chaque permis de prospection décrit la façon dont les coûts des travaux d'exploration de différentes catégories peuvent être réclamés et approuvés. Jusqu'en 2002, on se référait habituellement à des taux fixes applicables à différents types d'activités.

En 2002, un groupe de travail, formé d'employés de la Direction du pétrole et du gaz du Nord (DPGN), de l'Association canadienne des producteurs pétroliers (ACPP) et de membres de l'ACPP possédant une expérience précise en matière d'exploration pétrolière au nord du 60e parallèle et un vif intérêt à cet égard, a cherché des moyens d'améliorer la gestion des dépenses admissibles. Les membres du groupe de travail s'entendent sur le fait que le montant des dépenses doit être réclamé en fonction du coût réel (méthode du « prix coûtant ») plutôt que de taux prédéterminés.

La DPGN a adopté la méthode du « prix coûtant » dans le cadre de récentes demandes de désignation. On a élaboré des lignes directrices pour faciliter la mise en ouvre de la nouvelle méthode. Vous pouvez vous les procurer auprès de la DPGN.

Pour plus de renseignementsp sur les appels de demandes de désignations ou les appels d'offres, veuillez communiquer avec nous :
par téléphone / télécopieur : (819) 997-0877 / 953-5828
ou par courrier électronique,
en vous adressant au directeur : Fortierm@ainc-inac.gc.ca
ou au sujet de l'octroi de droits : Desjardinsm@ainc-inac.gc.ca

Date de modification :