Rights Administration

The management of oil and gas North of 60°, includes the ongoing administration of interests issued.

Registry

Under the Canada Petroleum Resources Act, the Department is required to establish and maintain a registration system which, under the direction of the Registrar, will allow for the registration and retrieval of information respecting "interests" and "instruments" as defined by the Act and the Frontier Lands Registration Regulations.

The Registry consists of a depository for the interests and instruments registered and the title abstract that reflects the history of the title with all registered transactions identified. Registry activities can be viewed in the monthly registry activity report. A number of other related documents are noted on the abstract, both required under the legislation such as appointment of representatives as well as corporate name changes and amalgamations noted.

To assist in ensuring that the Registry accurately reflects the dispositions of oil and gas rights, documents to be submitted to effect changes are available under Registration Documentation.

We do not undertake "searches" of the oil and gas dispositions (PL's, SDL's and EL's) in the North. All registered and deposited records are available to the public (for a fee) to search title or obtain information about the ownership of real property. Abstracts are available upon written request (letter, fax or e-mail.). Certified true copies will be provided by mail.

Administration

The administration of oil and gas rights includes the managing of the Lands Administration System (LAS) which is our day to day status provider.

LAS provides for both the administering of land information as well as financial matter relating to the exploration conducted under exploration licences issued as a result of a Call for Bids. Work expenditure bid deposits (for Period 1 of the term) and rental deposits (refundable during Period 2), are held by the department during the term of an exploration licence (EL). As companies explore for oil and gas they submit claims for allowable expenditures in accordance with established guidelines.

Related links

Date modified:

Gestion des droits

La gestion des ressources pétrolières et gazières au nord du 60e parallèle comprend l’administration permanente des intérêts attribués.

Registre

Aux termes de la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures, le Ministère doit constituer et tenir à jour un registre qui, sous la direction du registraire, assurera l’enregistrement et la récupération de l’information sur les « titres » et les « actes » tels que définis par la Loi et le Règlement sur l’enregistrement des titres relatifs aux terres domaniales.

Le registre contient les titres et les actes enregistrés et le résumé de titre décrivant toutes les transactions enregistrées. Les activités du registre peuvent être consultées dans les rapports d'activités mensuelles du Bureau d'enregistrement. Le résumé contient des documents connexes qui, comme celui-ci, sont exigés par la Loi, entre autres les nominations de représentants, les changements de dénomination sociale et les amalgamations de sociétés.

Afin que le registre indique clairement les décisions relatives aux droits pétroliers et gaziers, les documents envoyés pour l’entrée en vigueur des changements figurent sous Documents d’enregistrement.

Nous n’effectuons pas de recherches sur les décisions relatives aux droits pétroliers et gaziers (permis de prospection, attestation de découverte importante, licence de production) dans le Nord. Les dossiers enregistrés et entreposés sont des documents que le public peut consulter moyennant des frais pour faire des recherches ou obtenir de l’information sur le propriétaire d’un bien immobilier. On peut obtenir les résumés en présentant une demande par lettre ou télécopieur. Les copies certifiées conformes sont envoyées par courrier.

 

Administration

L’administration des droits pétroliers et gaziers comprend la gestion du Système d’administration des terres (SAT), qui contient des renseignements à jour sur le statut des terres.

Le SAT est utilisé pour l’administration de l’information sur les terres et des questions financières concernant les activités de prospection menées en vertu des permis délivrés à la suite d’un appel d’offres. Le Ministère conserve les dépôts de soumission pour les dépenses relatives aux travaux (pour la première période de la durée) et les dépôts de location (remboursables pendant la deuxième période) pendant la durée du permis de prospection. Durant les travaux, les entreprises présentent des demandes de remboursement des dépenses admissibles conformément aux lignes directrices.

Date de modification :