ARCHIVED - Part A - Proposed Terms and Conditions - Specific to the 2009-2010 Arctic Islands of Nunavut Call for Bids

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

(To be read in conjunction with Part B)

Closing date: to be announced

The Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development hereby calls for the submission of bids in respect of (______) parcels comprising the following lands located in the area of the Arctic Islands of Nunavut:

PARCEL ( hectares )
Issuance Fee = $  

Latitude

Longitude

Portion

PARCEL(S) DESCRIPTION AND MAP WILL BE INSERTED


1. Acceptance and Agreement

- Canada Petroleum Resources Act s.s. 24.1

Any submission of a bid in response to a call for bids shall be made on the understanding that the terms and conditions as contained herein are accepted and agreed to by the bidder. Such understanding shall include the acceptance of and agreement with the terms and conditions contained within the form of the Exploration Licence and with the Benefits Statement of Principles.

2. Exploration Licence

- Canada Petroleum Resources Act s.s. 14.3 (a)

Any exploration licence which may result from a call for bids will be issued pursuant to the Canada Petroleum Resources Act, R.S., 1985, c. 36, 2nd supplement, or legislation made in amendment thereof or in substitution therefore and any regulations made thereunder from time to time.

Term

- Canada Petroleum Resources Act s.s. 14.3 (c)

The term for exploration licences issued from the 2010 Arctic Islands of Nunavut Call for Bids will be nine (9) years consisting of two consecutive periods of six (6) years and three (3) years.

3. Submission of Bids

- Canada Petroleum Resources Act s.s. 14.3 (e), (f)

Sealed bids must be delivered, either by registered mail or in person, to the following address prior to NOON, Mountain Time on date specified:

Compliance Information Analyst
National Energy Board
Frontier Information Office
444 Seventh Avenue S.W.
CALGARY AB T2P 0X8

Each bid submitted in response to a call must be addressed to the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development and be in double sealed envelopes bearing no corporate identification. The outer envelope should be clearly marked with the date and call name, i.e. 2010 Arctic Islands of Nunavut Call for Bids. The inner envelope(s) should be clearly marked with the date, call name and parcel number, i.e. 2010 Arctic Islands of Nunavut Call for Bids – Parcel No. __.

Individuals or companies submitting more than one bid may place all bids in a single outer envelope.

View the Bid Submission Form

To be accepted, bids must be accompanied by separate financial instruments in respect of the issuance fee (clause 6 of Part B) and of the Bid Deposit (clause 10 (a) of Part B).


For sections 4-16, please refer to the Part B: General Terms and Conditions of a Call for Bids North of 60°


17. Related Requirements

The exercise of petroleum exploration rights may be subject to specific terms and conditions relating to the environment, and must comply with requirements under Land Claims and for northern benefits.

Land Claims Requirements

The lands available for posting are located within the Nunavut Settlement area. Successful bidders shall adhere to the terms of the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement  reached with the Inuit.

Article 27.1.2 of the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement states:

"Prior to the initial exercise of rights in respect of exploration, development or production of petroleum on Crown lands in the Nunavut Settlement Area, and in order to prepare a benefits plan for the approval of the appropriate regulatory authority, the proponent shall consult the Designated Inuit Organization, and Government shall consult the Designated Inuit Organization, in respect to those matters listed in Schedule 27-1."

Schedule 27-1 lists matters considered appropriate for consultation; including:

Conditions Relating to the Environment

Operators wishing to carry out activities as a result of this process will be required to comply with all federal environmental requirements defined in the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement as well as those stemming from the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, the Canada Oil and Gas Operations Act, the Territorial Lands Act, the Arctic Waters Pollution Prevention Act, the Migratory Birds Convention Act, the Species at Risk Act, the Fisheries Act, the Canadian Environmental Protection Act and other applicable legislation.

Some areas on the map attached are of particular environmental importance. They have been identified to alert potential nominators that additional operating terms and conditions may be applied at the activity stage. For example, the work season may be restricted to those months when the proposed type of activity will not have a significant impact on sensitive fish and marine habitats, mammals, birds or other species. In addition, extra conditions may be imposed relating to drilling fluids and waste discharges, and site specific environmental protection plans may be required prior to the commencement of activity. These environmental protection plans would describe the necessary procedures the operator would take to minimize any environmental impacts to a particular species in the region.

Specific environmental information has been provided by Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated and marine and wildlife specialists, such as Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Environment Canada and the Government of Nunavut. Additional information is incorporated from the North Baffin Regional Land Use Plan 2000. Please note that this Plan is in the process of being updated. The Canadian Wildlife Service advises that the Ivory Gull has been listed by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife of Canada (COSEWIC) as "Endangered", and the Ross's Gull was recently listed as "Threatened" under the Species at Risk Act. In addition, the Red Knot, a medium-sized shorebird which nests in the region, is listed as "Special Concern". Information on all of the species at risk in this region can be found at www.sararegistry.gc.ca . The Canadian Wildlife Service has extensive information on known breeding locations in the high Arctic, and proponents should contact its Iqaluit office at (867) 975-4633 for further information.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada encourages operators to contact its Iqaluit office at (867) 979-8010 for fisheries and mammal sensitivity information in the Nunavut area.

Polar Bears and Peary Caribou inhabit the High Arctic Islands. Polar Bears are listed as "Special Concern" by COSEWIC, while the Peary Caribou are listed as "Endangered" by the Government of Canada. Management of bears and caribou is a territorial responsibility, and thus proponents should contact the Government of Nunavut, Department of Environment for information on important locations for these species.

Industry should be aware that the North Baffin Regional Land Use Plan 2000, developed by the Nunavut Planning Commission with the Inuit of Nunavut, the Government of Nunavut and with Indian and Northern Affairs Canada; is a helpful source of land use information. Any oil and gas related proposals should conform with the North Baffin Regional Land Use Plan 2000. Please note that this Plan is in the process of being updated.

Northern Benefits Requirements

The successful bidder shall adhere to the Northern Benefits Requirements Associated with New Exploration Programs which is attached or available by request or by downloading from the Northern Oil and Gas Branch website.

Benefits Plans

Prior to the initial exercise of rights in respect of exploration, development or production of petroleum on Crown lands in the Nunavut Settlement Area; the successful bidder must submit a benefits plan to the Minister for approval. In this regard the proponents are referred to the requirements in Section 5.2 of the Canada Oil and Gas Operations Act, Section 21 of the Canada Petroleum Resources Act and Article 27.1.2 of the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement.

The benefits plan must provide Northerners and northern businesses with full and fair access to training, employment and business opportunities in accordance with the benefits principles.

In addition, the benefits plan should reflect the consultations between the parties on all matters listed in schedule 27-1 of the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement. In particular, there must be provisions in the benefits plan to ensure that Inuit have access to training and employment opportunities and to facilitate their participation in the supply of goods and services. The provisions should be commensurate with the scale and duration of the proposed work and the capacity and interests of Inuit and Inuit owned businesses.

When a benefits plan is based on several proposed activities, some of which could change depending upon the results of initial work, the plan should be updated periodically. The update, which need not be lengthy, may be provided as part of an annual report or separately.

Further Information and Contacts

For more information on this call, the rights issuance process or the resource management regime, please contact:

Lucie St-Jean
Rights Administrator / Registrar
Oil and Gas Management Directorate
Northern Oil and Gas Branch
Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development
15/25 Eddy Street, 10th Floor
OTTAWA ON  K1A 0H4
Tel: (819) 997-0048
Fax: (819) 953‑5828
E-mail: Lucie.StJean@ainc-inac.gc.ca

Ursula Beddoes
Manager, Land Tenure
Oil and Gas Management Directorate
Northern Oil and Gas Branch
Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development
15/25 Eddy Street, 10th Floor
OTTAWA ON  K1A 0H4
Tel: (819) 934-9392
Fax: (819) 953‑5828
E-mail: Ursula.Beddoes@ainc-inac.gc.ca

For more information on Northern Oil and Gas, refer to our website.

Any geological and well information with respect to the lands or area which is available for public disclosure may be obtained from:

Data Coordinator
National Energy Board
Exploration and Production
444 Seventh Avenue SW
CALGARY AB T2P 0X8
Tel: (403) 292‑4800; Fax: (403) 292‑5876

Nunavut Contact List

* Primary Contact -Designated Inuit Organization

Regional Inuit Associations

Please note that Designated Inuit Organization may have compiled a comprehensive list of Inuit firms, together with information on goods and services which they would be in a position to furnish. This list has been compiled for purposes of government contracts but may be considered for oil and gas activity when consulting, pursuant to article 27.1.2.

Return to 2009-2010 Arctic Islands of Nunavut Call for Nominations

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Partie A - Modalités et conditions proposées spécifique à l’appel d’offres de 2009-2010 pour la région de l'archipel arctique du Nunavut

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

(À lire en parallèle avec la partie B)

Date de clôture à être annoncé

Par les présentes, le ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien lance une invitation pour la présentation d'offres à l'égard de (_____) parcelle(s) comprenant les terres suivantes sises dans la région de la Partie centrale de la vallée du Mackenzie :

PARCELLE ( hectares )
Frais de délivrance de permis : _____ $  

Latitude

Longitude

Portion

LES DONNÉES DE LA (DES) PARCELLE(S) AINSI QUE LA CARTE SERONT INSÉRÉES


1. Acceptation et entente

- Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures, art. 24.1

Il est entendu qu'en soumettant une offre à la suite d'un appel d'offres, le soumissionnaire accepte les conditions contenues dans l'appel d'offres, notamment celles contenues dans le formulaire de demande de Permis de prospection et la Déclaration de principes concernant les retombées économiques.

2. Permis de prospection

- Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures, art. 14.3 (a)

Tout permis de prospection accordé à la suite du présent appel d'offres sera délivré conformément à la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures (LFH), L.R., 1985, ch. 36, 2e supplément, ou à toute loi modifiant la LFH ou la remplaçant et à tout règlement adopté ultérieurement en vertu de la LFH.

Période de validité

- Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures, art. 14.3 (c)

Les permis de prospection délivrés dans le cadre de l'appel d'offres 2010 dans l'archipel arctique du Nunavut sont valides pour neuf (9) ans divisés en deux périodes consécutives de six (6) et trois (3) ans respectivement.

3. Présentation des offres

- Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures, art. 14.3 (e), (f)

Les offres sous pli cacheté doivent être livrées par poste prioritaire ou en personne à l'adresse suivante avant MIDI, heure des Rocheuses, date de clôture à être annoncée dans l'appel d'offres :

Analyste, Renseignements sur la conformité
Office national de l'énergie
Bureau d'information sur les terres domaniales
444, 7e Avenue, sud-ouest
CALGARY AB T2P 0X8

Chaque offre soumise à la suite du présent appel doit être présentée au ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien dans deux enveloppes cachetées ne portant aucune identification de l'expéditeur. L'enveloppe extérieure doit porter clairement la mention : Appel d'offres de 2010 dans l'archipel arctique du Nunavut. Toutes les enveloppes intérieures doivent porter clairement la mention : Appel d'offres de 2010 dans l'archipel arctique du Nunavut : offre pour la parcelle no. __.

Les particuliers ou les sociétés qui présentent plus d'une offre peuvent les soumettre toutes dans une même enveloppe extérieure.

Consultez le formulaire de soumission.

Pour être acceptées, les offres doivent être accompagnées d'instruments financiers distincts pour les frais de délivrance du permis (article 6 de la Partie B) et du dépôt de soumission (article 10 (a) de la Partie B).


Pour les sections 4 à 16, veuillez vous référer à la Partie B des Modalités et conditions générales de l'appel d'offres au nord du 60e parallèle.


17. Exigences connexes

L'exercice de droits d'exploration pétrolière peut être subordonné à des conditions précises relatives à l'environnement; et doit se conformer aux revendications territoriales ainsi qu'aux exigences en matière de retombées économiques dans le Nord.

Exigences liées aux revendications territoriales

Les terres pouvant faire l'objet d'une désignation sont situées dans la région visée par l'entente sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut. Les soumissionnaires retenus devront respecter les modalités de l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut  conclu avec les Inuit.

Le chapitre 27.1.2 de l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut stipule :

« Avant l'exercice initial des droits de prospection, de mise en valeur ou de production relatifs aux hydrocarbures sur des terres de la Couronne situées dans la région du Nunavut, et afin de préparer un plan de retombées économiques devant être soumis à l'approbation de l'autorité de réglementation compétente, le promoteur et le Gouvernement consultent l'organisation inuit désignée à l'égard des question énumérées à l'annexe 27-1. »

L'annexe 27-1 énumère des questions considérées pertinentes pour la consultation; notamment :

Conditions relatives à l'environnement

Les exploitants qui désirent entreprendre des travaux à la suite de l'appel d'offres seront tenus de respecter toutes les exigences fédérales en matière d'environnement énoncées dans l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut, ainsi que dans la Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale, la Loi sur les opérations pétrolières au Canada, la Loi sur les terres territoriales, la Loi sur la prévention de la pollution des eaux arctiques, la Loi sur la convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs, la Loi sur les espèces en péril, la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement et toute autre loi applicable.

Certaines régions identifiées sur la carte ci-jointe présentent des caractéristiques environnementales d'importance. Ces régions sont reconnues pour indiquer aux soumissionnaires susceptibles d'être retenus que d'autres modalités et conditions opérationnelles peuvent être imposées lors des travaux. À titre d'exemple, la saison des travaux peut être limitée aux mois pendant lesquels les activités proposées n'auront pas une grande incidence sur les habitats sensibles des espèces halieutiques et marines, les mammifères, les oiseaux ou les autres espèces. De plus, des conditions supplémentaires peuvent être imposées concernant les fluides et les débris de forage; et des plans de protection de l'environnement visant un endroit précis peuvent être exigés avant le début des travaux. Ces plans de protection de l'environnement devraient décrire les mesures que l'exploitant serait tenu de prendre pour minimiser tout effet négatif sur une espèce particulière à la région.

Des renseignements précis sur l'environnement nous ont été fournis par la Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated et des spécialistes de la faune marine et terrestre; notamment de Pêches et Océans Canada, d'Environnement Canada et du gouvernement du Nunavut. D'autres renseignements sont tirés du Plan d'aménagement de la région nord de l'île de Baffin de 2000. Veuillez noter que ce Plan est en cour de révision. Le Service canadien de la faune avise que le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC), conformément à la Loi sur les espèces en péril, juge la mouette blanche « en voie de disparition » et la mouette rosée comme étant une « espèce menacée ». En outre, le bécasseau maubèche, un oiseau de rivage de taille moyenne qui niche dans la région, est répertorié comme « espèce préoccupante ». Des renseignements sur toutes les espèces à risque dans cette région peuvent être trouvés à www.sararegistry.gc.ca. Le Service canadien de la faune a de nombreuses informations sur les sites de reproduction connus dans le haut Arctique, et les promoteurs devraient communiquer avec leur bureau d'Iqaluit ((867) 975-4633) pour de plus amples informations.

Pêches et Océans Canada encourage les exploitants à communiquer avec leur bureau d'Iqaluit au (867) 979 - 8010 pour des informations relatives aux sensibilités des pêcheries et des mammifères dans la région du Nunavut.

L'ours blanc et le caribou de Peary vivent dans les îles de l'Extrême-Arctique. Les ours polaires sont indiqués comme «espèce préoccupante» par le COSEPAC, tandis que le caribou de Peary est classé comme «en danger» par le gouvernement du Canada. La gestion des ours et des caribous est une responsabilité territoriale, et donc les promoteurs doivent contacter le gouvernement du Nunavut (ministère de l'Environnement) pour des informations sur les endroits importants pour ces espèces.

L'industrie doit savoir que le Plan d'aménagement de la région nord de l'île de Baffin de 2000, élaboré par la Commission d'aménagement du Nunavut avec les Inuit du Nunavut, le gouvernement du Nunavut et le ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien; est une source d'informations utiles sur l'aménagement du territoire. Toute proposition relative au pétrole ou au gaz doit être conforme au Plan d'aménagement de la région nord de l'île de Baffin de 2000. Veuillez noter que ce Plan est en cour de révision.

Exigences en matière de retombées économiques dans le Nord

L'adjudicataire se conformera aux Exigences en matière de retombées économiques dans le Nord découlant des nouveaux programmes de prospection dont on trouvera les grandes lignes dans la pièce jointe.  On peut également télécharger le document à partir du site Web de la Direction générale du pétrole et du gaz du Nord.

Plan de retombées économiques

Avant l'exercice initial de droits de prospection, de mise en valeur ou de production relatifs aux hydrocarbures sur des terres de la Couronne situées dans la région du Nunavut, le promoteur doit soumettre un plan de retombées économiques pour l'approbation du ministre. À ces fins, le promoteur doit se référer aux exigences de l'article 5.2 de la Loi sur les opérations pétrolière au Canada, l'article 21 de la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures et le chapitre 27.1.2 de l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut.

Le plan de retombées économiques doit assurer à la population et aux entreprises du Nord le plein accès, en toute équité, à des possibilités de formation, d'emploi et d'affaires, conformément aux principes relatifs aux retombées économiques énoncées dans la pièce jointe.

De plus, le plan de retombées économiques doit refléter les consultations tenues entre les parties sur toutes les questions dont la liste figure à l'annexe 27-1 de l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut. En particulier, le plan de retombées économiques doit comprendre des dispositions visant à assurer que les Inuit aient accès à des possibilités de formation et d'emploi et à faciliter leur participation à l'approvisionnement en biens et services. Le plan de retombées économiques doit être proportionné à l'ampleur et à la durée des travaux proposés ainsi qu'à la capacité et aux intérêts des Inuit et des entreprises Inuit.

Lorsqu'un plan de retombées économiques est fondé sur plusieurs activités proposées dont certaines pourraient changer selon les résultats du travail initial, le plan doit être mis à jour périodiquement. La mise à jour, qui peut être courte, peut être intégrée à un rapport annuel ou peut être présentée séparément.

Information supplémentaire et contacts

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur le présent appel d'offres, le processus d'attribution des droits ou le régime de gestion des ressources naturelles, s'adresser à :

Lucie St-Jean
Administrateur des Droits / Régistraire
Direction générale du pétrole et du gaz du Nord
Ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien
OTTAWA ON  K1A 0H4
Téléphone : (819) 997-0048
Télécopieur : (819) 953-5828;
Courriel : Lucie.StJean@ainc-inac.gc.ca

Ursula Beddoes
Gestionnaire, Régime foncier
Direction générale du pétrole et du gaz du Nord
Ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien
OTTAWA ON  K1A 0H4
Téléphone : (819) 997-0877
Télécopieur : (819) 953-5828;
Courriel : Ursula.Beddoes@ainc-inac.gc.ca

Pour de plus amples informations sur Pétrole et gaz du Nord, veuillez consulter notre site Web.

Pour obtenir des renseignements sur la géologie et les puits des terres visées ou des environs :

Coordonnatrice des données
Office national de l'énergie
Exploration et production
444 – 7ième Avenue S.O.
CALGARY AB  T2P 0X8
Téléphone : (403) 292-4800
Télécopieur : (403) 292-5876

Liste des contacts du Nunavut

* Contact primaire - Organisation inuite désignée

Regional Inuit Associations

Veuillez prendre note que l'Organisation Inuit désignée peut avoir rédigé une liste de compagnies Inuit, ainsi que des informations sur les biens et services que ces organismes sont en mesure de délivrer. Cette liste a été rédigée aux fins de contrats gouvernementaux mais peut être utilisée pour des activités gazières et pétrolières lors des consultations, conformément à l'article 27.1.2 de l'entente.

Retourner au l'archipel arctique du Nunavut demande de désignation 2009-2010

Date de modification :