ARCHIVED - 2009-2010 Arctic Islands of Nunavut Call for Nominations

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

The Call for Nominations in the Arctic Islands of Nunavut closed February 25, 2010.
No nominations were received.

1. Call for Nominations

The Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development hereby calls for the submission of nominations for Frontier Lands, as defined in the Canada Petroleum Resources Act, located in the Central Mackenzie Valley of the Northwest Territories. A map is attached for reference.

Lands currently under licence which revert to Crown reserve status during the course of this call for nominations may also be posted. Please refer to our registry activities. This site will list any changes to licences, such as surrenders and terminations, and is updated frequently.

Posting requests received at the latest on February 25, 2010, by 4 p.m., E.T. will be considered by the Minister for inclusion in a call for bids, tentatively scheduled to be issued early March 2010 pursuant to Section 14 of the Canada Petroleum Resources Act. Proposed terms and conditions of the proposed call for bids are attached for information.

2. Content of Posting Requests

All posting requests must be described in accordance with the Guidelines for Posting Parcels North of Latitude 60° N. Each tract posted shall comprise laterally or diagonally contiguous blocks.

The maximum size of any posting request between latitude 75°N and latitude 78°N is eight (8) grids.

The block size north of latitude 78°N should not exceed 216,080 hectares in area (which is equivalent to eight (8) grids at 75°N).

A Posting Request Form is attached and should accompany the request.

3. Submission of Posting Requests

All requests should be submitted by fax at the latest on February 25, 2010 by 4 p.m. E.T. Each request should be addressed as follows:

Arctic Islands of Nunavut Request for Posting
Closing February 25, 2010
Attention: Oil and Gas Management
Northern Oil and Gas Branch
FAX: (819) 953-5828

Requesters are advised to give prior notice of their intent to submit a fax by calling (819) 997-0048 or (819) 997-0877 immediately prior to transmission. Telephone confirmation will be provided, if requested, upon receipt of the fax. Only the fax copy is necessary; original copies are not required.

All submissions received will become property of the Crown and will not be returned.

All information concerning nominations will remain confidential.

4. Priority of Posting

Priority of posting will be determined by order of receipt. Time of receipt will be that recorded by the fax machine of the Oil and Gas Management Directorate in Gatineau.

In case of overlapping requests, the first to be received will have priority. The second requester will be informed of the area remaining in the request which does not overlap a prior nomination. The second requester will be required to state whether they would like to maintain their posting on the remaining lands or withdraw the request.

5. Specific Considerations

5.1 Land Claim Requirements

The lands available for posting are located within the Nunavut Settlement area. Successful bidders shall adhere to the terms of the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement  reached with the Inuit. Interested parties are advised to obtain a copy of the agreement.

5.2 Environmental Considerations

Operators wishing to carry out activities as a result of this process will be required to comply with all federal environmental requirements defined in the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement as well as those stemming from the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, the Canada Oil and Gas Operations Act, the Territorial Lands Act, the Arctic Waters Pollution Prevention Act, the Migratory Birds Convention Act, the Species at Risk Act, the Fisheries Act, the Canadian Environmental Protection Act and other applicable legislation.

Some areas on the map attached are of particular environmental importance. They have been identified to alert potential nominators that additional operating terms and conditions may be applied at the activity stage. For example, the work season may be restricted to those months when the proposed type of activity will not have a significant impact on sensitive fish and marine habitats, mammals, birds or other species. In addition, extra conditions may be imposed relating to drilling fluids and waste discharges, and site specific environmental protection plans may be required prior to the commencement of activity. These environmental protection plans would describe the necessary procedures the operator would take to minimize any environmental impacts to a particular species in the region.

Specific environmental information has been provided by Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated and marine and wildlife specialists, such as Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Environment Canada and the Government of Nunavut. Additional information is incorporated from the North Baffin Regional Land Use Plan 2000. Please note that this Plan is in the process of being updated. The Canadian Wildlife Service advises that the Ivory Gull has been listed by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife of Canada (COSEWIC) as "Endangered", and the Ross's Gull was recently listed as "Threatened" under the Species at Risk Act. In addition, the Red Knot, a medium-sized shorebird which nests in the region, is listed as "Special Concern". Information on all of the species at risk in this region can be found at www.sararegistry.gc.ca . The Canadian Wildlife Service has extensive information on known breeding locations in the high Arctic, and proponents should contact its Iqaluit office at (867) 975-4633 for further information.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada encourages operators to contact its Iqaluit office at (867) 979-8010 for fisheries and mammal sensitivity information in the Nunavut area.

Polar Bears and Peary Caribou inhabit the High Arctic Islands. Polar Bears are listed as "Special Concern" by COSEWIC, while the Peary Caribou are listed as "Endangered" by the Government of Canada. Management of bears and caribou is a territorial responsibility, and thus proponents should contact the Government of Nunavut, Department of Environment for information on important locations for these species.

Industry should be aware that the North Baffin Regional Land Use Plan 2000, developed by the Nunavut Planning Commission with the Inuit of Nunavut, the Government of Nunavut and with Indian and Northern Affairs Canada; is a helpful source of land use information.  Any oil and gas related proposals should conform with the North Baffin Regional Land Use Plan 2000. Please note that this Plan is in the process of being updated.

6. Resulting Call for Bids

The individual or company that requested the posting of a parcel(s) is also expected to submit a bid(s) in the call for bids. The Minister reserves the right to refuse future posting requests by that individual or company if a bid is not submitted.

The Minister will take into account all nominations in developing a call for bids but may modify nominations to configure a bid block following consultation with the nominee.

The Minister is not obliged to proceed with a call for bids for any lands posted.

Return to 2009-2010 Arctic Island of Nunavut Call for Nominations

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Demande de désignations 2009-2010 pour l'archipel arctique du Nunavut

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

La demande de désignation pour la région de la l'Archipel arctique de Nunavut a pris fin le 25 février 2010.
Aucune demande n'a été présentée.

1. Demande de désignations

Le ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien demande par la présente que l'on soumette des désignations à l'égard des terres domaniales, telles que définies par la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures, situées dans l'archipel arctique du Nunavut. Une carte est jointe à titre de référence.

Les terres actuellement visées par des permis et qui reprennent le statut de réserve de la Couronne au cours de la période visée par la demande de désignations sont aussi admissibles. Veuillez vous référer aux activités mensuelles du bureau d'enregistrement; ce site énumère les changements survenus dans un permis; tels que les cessations et abandons de terres. Ce site est mis à jour de façon régulière.

Les demandes de désignations reçues au plus tard le 25 février 2010 à 16 h (HNE) seront étudiées par le ministre en vue d'une inclusion dans un appel d'offres qui devrait être lancé au début de mars 2010 conformément à l'article 14 de la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures. Les modalités et conditions du projet d'appel d'offres sont jointes à titre informatif.

2. Contenu des demandes de désignations

Toutes les demandes de désignations doivent être formulées conformément aux Lignes directrices concernant la désignation de parcelles au nord de la latitude 60° nord. Chaque parcelle désignée doit être constituée de blocs latéralement ou diagonalement adjacents.

La taille maximale de toute étendue désignée entre le 75 e parallèle et le 78 e parallèle est huit (8) étendues quadrillées.

La taille de parcelle au nord du 78 e parallèle, ne devrait pas dépasser 216 080 hectares dans la zone (ce qui équivaut à huit (8) étendues quadrillées au 75e parallèle).

Un formulaire de désignation devrait accompagner toute demande.

3. Présentation de demandes de désignations

Toutes les demandes doivent être présentées par télécopieur au plus tard le 25 février 2010 à 16 h (HNE). Les demandes doivent être adressées comme suit :

Demande de désignation dans l'Archipel arctique du Nunavut
se clôturant le 25 février 2010

À l'attention de : Gestion des ressources pétrolières et gazières
Direction générale du pétrole et du gaz du Nord
TÉLÉCOPIEUR : (819) 953-5828

Les intéressés sont priés de composer soit le (819) 997-0048 ou le (819) 997-0877 immédiatement avant de procéder à l'envoi de leur message par télécopieur afin de l'annoncer. Si vous le désirez, la réception du message peut vous être confirmée par téléphone. La copie reçue par télécopieur suffit; aucun original n'est nécessaire.

Les demandes reçues deviennent propriété de la Couronne et ne sont pas retournées à l'expéditeur. Tous les renseignements sur les désignations sont confidentiels.

4. Priorité de désignation

La priorité sera établie suivant l'ordre de réception (moment enregistré par le télécopieur de la Direction générale du pétrole et du gaz du Nord à Gatineau).

Si deux demandes se recoupent, la priorité sera accordée à la première reçue. On indiquera au deuxième soumissionnaire les zones inscrites sur sa demande qui ne recoupent aucune zone déjà désignée. La deuxième personne devra dire si elle désire maintenir sa demande de désignations pour les terres qui restent ou la retirer.

5. Conditions spéciales

5.1 Exigences relatives aux revendications territoriales

Les terres pouvant faire l'objet d'une désignation sont situées dans la région visée par l'entente sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut. Les soumissionnaires retenus devront respecter les modalités de l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut conclu avec les Inuit. On conseille aux parties intéressées de se procurer un exemplaire de l'accord.

5.2 Considérations environnementales

Les exploitants qui désirent entreprendre des travaux à la suite de l'appel d'offres seront tenus de respecter toutes les exigences fédérales en matière d'environnement énoncées dans l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut, ainsi que dans la Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale, la Loi sur les opérations pétrolières au Canada, la Loi sur les terres territoriales, la Loi sur la prévention de la pollution des eaux arctiques, la Loi sur la convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs, la Loi sur les espèces en péril, la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement et toute autre loi applicable.
Certaines régions identifiées sur la carte ci-jointe présentent des caractéristiques environnementales d'importance. Ces régions sont reconnues pour indiquer aux soumissionnaires susceptibles d'être retenus que d'autres modalités et conditions opérationnelles peuvent être imposées lors des travaux. À titre d'exemple, la saison des travaux peut être limitée aux mois pendant lesquels les activités proposées n'auront pas une grande incidence sur les habitats sensibles des espèces halieutiques et marines, les mammifères, les oiseaux ou les autres espèces. De plus, des conditions supplémentaires peuvent être imposées concernant les fluides et les débris de forage; et des plans de protection de l'environnement visant un endroit précis peuvent être exigés avant le début des travaux. Ces plans de protection de l'environnement devraient décrire les mesures que l'exploitant serait tenu de prendre pour minimiser tout effet négatif sur une espèce particulière à la région.

Des renseignements précis sur l'environnement nous ont été fournis par la Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated et des spécialistes de la faune marine et terrestre; notamment de Pêches et Océans Canada, d'Environnement Canada et du gouvernement du Nunavut. D'autres renseignements sont tirés du Plan d'aménagement de la région nord de l'île de Baffin de 2000. Veuillez noter que ce Plan est en cour de révision. Le Service canadien de la faune avise que le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC), conformément à la Loi sur les espèces en péril, juge la mouette blanche « en voie de disparition » et la mouette rosée comme étant une « espèce menacée ». En outre, le bécasseau maubèche, un oiseau de rivage de taille moyenne qui niche dans la région, est répertorié comme « espèce préoccupante ». Des renseignements sur toutes les espèces à risque dans cette région peuvent être trouvés à www.sararegistry.gc.ca. Le Service canadien de la faune a de nombreuses informations sur les sites de reproduction connus dans le haut Arctique ; les promoteurs devraient communiquer avec leur bureau d'Iqaluit ((867) 975-4633) pour de plus amples informations.

Pêches et Océans Canada encourage les exploitants à communiquer avec leur bureau d'Iqaluit au (867) 979-8010 pour des informations relatives aux sensibilités des pêcheries et des mammifères dans la région du Nunavut.

6. Appel d'offres

Tout particulier ou toute société qui demande la désignation de parcelles devrait aussi présenter une ou plusieurs offres en réponse à l'appel d'offres. Le ministre se réserve le droit d'écarter les demandes de désignations futures de ce particulier ou de cette société si aucune offre n'est présentée.

Le ministre considérera toutes les demandes de désignations en vue d'une inclusion dans un appel d'offres mais, afin d'établir une plus grande étendue, il pourra modifier les désignations, suivant sa consultation avec le particulier ou la société ayant fait la demande.

Le ministre n'est pas tenu de lancer un appel d'offres pour les terres désignées.

Retourner au l'archipel arctique du Nunavut demande de désignation 2009-2010

Date de modification :