Geo-Economic Layer Development

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

The geo-economic layers are based on qualitative ranking. Three layers were developed as follows:

Petroleum Potential

Petroleum potential was ranked using the following qualitative scale. It is based on the presence of known oil and gas discoveries, and, in the absence of discoveries, on the inferred presence of geological factors favourable to oil and gas accumulation. This is approach has been used previously by the Geological Survey of Canada in making general assessments of petroleum potential (e.g. Jefferson C.W., R.F.J. Scoates and D.R.Smith,, 1988. Evaluation of the regional non-renewable resource potential of Banks Island and Northwestern Victoria Islands, Arctic Canada. Geological Survey of Canada Open File 1695.)

Rank 1. VERY LOW POTENTIAL. Geological Environment is unfavourable. There are no known petroleum occurrences are known and a very low probability that undiscovered accumulations are present.

Rank 2 LOW. Some aspects of the geological environment may be favourable but are limited in extent. Few if any occurrences are known and there is a low probability that undiscovered accumulations are present.

Rank 3. MODERATE. Geological environment is favourable. Occurrences may or may not be known and the presence of undiscovered accumulations is possible.

Rank 4. HIGH. Geological environment is very favourable. Occurrences are commonly present but significant accumulations may not be known. Presence of undiscovered accumulations is very likely.

Rank 5. VERY HIGH POTENTIAL. Geological environment is very favourable. Significant accumulations are known.

These rankings are assigned to each grid area covered by the PEMT.

Note that quantitative estimates of petroleum potential are available for some areas covered by the PEMT. For reasons of consistency across the Arctic, and recognizing that a quantitative approach is not necessary for the purposes of this tool, qualitative assessment based on expert judgement is preferred.

Geological Uncertainty

Large areas of the Arctic have seen little exploration for oil and gas. Consequently, there can be considerable uncertainty as to whether oil and gas accumulations are present and to their potential size. An exploratory well is the most direct way to collect subsurface information and to prove the presence or absence of an accumulation or favourable geological factors. Proximity of a well is therefore taken as a proxy for uncertainty. A simple uncertainty ranking was developed using distance from a well as a measure of overall uncertainty as follows:

Rank 1. VERY LOW UNCERTAINTY. Grid has one or more exploratory wells within it.

Rank 2. LOW. The grid is within 25 km of an exploratory well.

Rank 3. MODERATE. The grid is between 25 and 75 km from an exploratory well.

Rank 4. HIGH. The grid is between 75 and 100 km from an exploratory well.

Rank 5. VERY HIGH UNCERTAINTY. The grid is further than 100 km from an exploratory well.

Economics of Development

Not currently available.

Élaboration de la couche géo-économique

Les couches géoéconomiques s'appuient sur un classement qualitatif. Trois couches ont été élaborées d'après les catégories suivantes :

Potentiel en ressources pétrolières

Le potentiel en ressources pétrolières a été classé selon l'échelle qualitative qui suit. Il se fonde sur la présence de gisements connus de pétrole et de gaz et, en l'absence de découvertes, sur la présence présumée de facteurs géologiques propices à l'accumulation de pétrole et de gaz. Cette méthode a déjà été utilisée par la Commission géologique du Canada dans le cadre d'évaluations générales du potentiel en ressources pétrolières (par ex., Jefferson C.W., R.F.J. Scoates et D.R.Smith, 1988. Evaluation of the regional non-renewable resource potential of Banks Island and Northwestern Victoria Islands, Arctic Canada. Commission géologique du Canada, dossier public 1695.)

Classe 1. POTENTIEL TRÈS FAIBLE. Le milieu géologique n'est pas favorable. Il n'existe aucune occurrence de pétrole connue et la probabilité que des accumulations non découvertes soient présentes est très faible.

Classe 2. FAIBLE. Certains éléments du milieu géologique peuvent être favorables, mais sont d'une étendue limitée. Les occurrences connues sont peu nombreuses, voire totalement absentes, et la probabilité que des accumulations non découvertes soient présentes est faible.

Classe 3. MODÉRÉ. Le milieu géologique est favorable. Des occurrences peuvent être connues ou non et la présence d'accumulations non découvertes est possible.

Classe 4. ÉLEVÉ. Le milieu géologique est très favorable. Des occurrences sont généralement présentes, mais des accumulations importantes ne sont pas nécessairement connues. La présence d'accumulations non découvertes est très probable.

Classe 5. POTENTIEL TRÈS ÉLEVÉ. Le milieu géologique est très favorable. Des accumulations importantes sont reconnues.

L'échelle précédente permet de classer chacune des zones de la grille où s'applique l'outil de gestion de l'environnement et des ressources pétrolières (OGERP).

Il faut remarquer que les estimations quantitatives du potentiel en ressources pétrolières sont disponibles pour certaines zones auxquelles s'applique l'OGERP. Pour des raisons de cohérence dans l'Arctique, tout en reconnaissant qu'une méthode quantitative n'est pas nécessaire aux fins de cet outil, une évaluation qualitative fondée sur un jugement d'experts est préférable.

Incertitude en matière de géologie

De grandes zones de l'Arctique ont été peu explorées à la recherche de pétrole et de gaz. Par conséquent, l'incertitude peut être considérable quant à la présence et à l'ampleur des accumulations de pétrole et de gaz. Un forage d'exploration représente la méthode la plus directe pour recueillir de l'information sous la surface et démontrer la présence ou l'absence d'une accumulation ou de facteurs géologiques favorables. Un puits situé à proximité peut ainsi servir d'indicateur pour l'incertitude. Un classement simple de l'incertitude a été élaboré en utilisant la distance à un puits comme mesure de l'incertitude globale, de la façon suivante :

Classe 1. INCERTITUDE TRÈS FAIBLE. La grille renferme un ou plusieurs puits d'exploration.

Classe 2. FAIBLE. La grille se situe à moins de 25 km d'un puits d'exploration.

Classe 3. MODÉRÉE. La grille se situe entre 25 et 75 km d'un puits d'exploration.

Classe 4. ÉLEVÉE. La grille se situe entre 75 et 100 km d'un puits d'exploration.

Classe 5. INCERTITUDE TRÈS ÉLEVÉE. La grille se situe à plus de 100 km d'un puits d'exploration.

Aspects économiques de la mise en valeur

Non disponible actuellement.