Excerpts from the Sahtu Dene and Metis Comprehensive Land Claim Agreement

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

(These excerpts are provided as information only; they are not a substitute for consulting the Final Agreement  .)

22.1.3 Before any oil and gas exploration takes place, the person proposing to explore and the Sahtu Tribal Council* shall consult on the exercise of the person's exploration rights with respect to the matters listed in (a) to (h) below. Similar consultations shall be held before the exercise of a developer's rights to develop or produce.

(a) environmental impact of the activity and mitigative measures;
(b) impact on wildlife harvesting and mitigative measures;
(c) location of camps and facilities and other related site specific planning concerns;
(d) maintenance of public order including liquor and drug control;
(e) employment of participants, business opportunities and contracts, training orientation and counselling for employees who are participants, working conditions and terms of employment;
(f) expansion or termination of activities;
(g) a process for future consultations; and
(h) any other matter of importance to the participants or the person.

Such consultations are not intended to result in any obligations in addition to those required by legislation.

22.2 Interim Measures

22.2.1 (a) Prior to the transfer of jurisdiction described in 22.1.6 [Canada-N.W.T. Northern Accord] any person who proposes to explore for, develop or produce oil and gas on Sahtu lands described in 19.1.2(a) [where the Sahtu are surface owner] shall, in addition to any other obligations under this agreement, submit a benefits plan to the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development for approval.

(b) The Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development may require that the benefits plan in (a) contain provisions to ensure access to training and employment opportunities and to facilitate participation by the participants [the Sahtu] in the supply of goods and services.

(c) Any person who proposes to explore for, develop or produce oil and gas on Sahtu lands described in 19.1.2(a) shall consult the Sahtu Tribal Council* prior to the submission and during the implementation of the benefits plan.

*The rights granted to the Sahtu Tribal Council pursuant to clauses 22.1.3.and 22.2.1 have been assigned to various corporations. The following are the communities in the Sahtu and corporations that must be consulted on activities near these communities.

Fort Good Hope

Yamoga Lands Corporation
P.O. Box 18
Fort Good Hope NT X0E 0H0

Fort Good Hope Metis Local #54 Land Corporation
General Delivery
Fort Good Hope NT X0E 0Y0

Phone: (867) 598-2519
Fax: (867) 598-2437

Phone: (867) 598-2404
fax: (867) 598-2024

Colville Lake

Ayoni Keh Land Corporation
P.O. Box 43
Colville Lake, NT X0E 1L0

Phone: (867) 709-2700
Fax: (867) 709-2717

Norman Wells

Ernie McDonald Land Corporation
P.O. Box 69
Norman Wells, NT X0E 0V0

Phone (867) 587-2455
Fax: (867) 587-2455

Tulita

Tulita Land Corporation
P.O. Box 63
Tulita, NT X0E 0K0

Fort Norman Metis Land Corporation
P.O. Box 36
Tulita, NT X0E 0K0

Phone: (867) 588-3341
Fax: (867) 588-3613

Phone: (867) 588-3201
Fax: (867) 588-3806

Déline

Déline Land Corporation
P.O. Box 158
Déline, NT X0E 0G0

Phone: (867) 589-3151
Fax: (867) 589-4208

Extraits de l'entente sur la revendication territoriale globale des Dénés et Métis du Sahtu

(Ces extraits sont fournis à titre d'information uniquement; il faut consulter l'entente définitive  .)

22.1.3 Avant le début de toute activité d'exploration pétrolière et gazière, la personne qui propose d'exercer cette activité et le Conseil Tribal du Sahtu doivent se consulter au sujet de l'exercice des droits d'exploration de cette personne et discuter des questions énumérées aux alinéas a) à h). Des consultations analogues doivent avoir lieu avant l'exercice, par un promoteur, de ses droits en matière de mise en valeur ou de production :

a. les répercussions sur l'environnement de l'activité concernée et les mesures d'atténuation;

b. les répercussions sur la récolte d'animaux sauvages, et les mesures d'atténuation;

c. l'emplacement des camps et des installations, ainsi que les autres questions de planification au site concerné;

d. le maintien de l'ordre, notamment le contrôle de la consommation des drogues et de l'alcool;

e. les emplois, les occasions d'affaires et les marchés offerts aux participants, l'orientation et le counselling en matière de formation offert aux employés qui sont les participants, les conditions de travail et d'emploi;

f. l'expansion ou la cessation des activités;

g. le processus en vue des consultations futures;

h. les autres questions d'importance pour les participants ou pour les personnes concernées.

Ces consultations n'ont pas pour effet de créer d'autres obligations que celles prévues par la législation applicable.

22.2 Dispositions transitoires

22.2.1
a. Avant le transfert de compétence visé à l'article 22.1.6 [Entente entre le Canada et les Territoires du Nord-Ouest sur le Nord], quiconque projette d'exercer des activités d'exploration, de mise en valeur ou de production à l'égard du pétrole et du gaz dans les terres du Sahtu, décrites à l'alinéa 19.1.2a) doit, outre les autres obligations relevant de la présente entente, soumettre un plan des avantages à l'approbation du ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien.

b. Le ministre des Affaires indienne et du Nord canadien peut exiger que le plan des avantages évoqué à l'alinéa a) comporte des dispositions visant à assurer l'accès aux occasions de formation et d'emploi, ainsi qu'à faciliter la participation. par les participants [du Sahtu] à la fourniture de biens et de services.

c. Quiconque projette d'exercer des activités d'exploration, de mise en valeur ou de production à l'égard du pétrole et du gaz dans les terres du Sahtu décrites à l'alinéa 19.1.2a) est tenu de consulter le Conseil tribal avant de soumettre le plan des avantages et lors de sa mise en oeuvre.

Lorsqu'il s'agit de planifier des activités dans ces régions revendiquées, les sociétés sont tenues de se familiariser avec les dispositions des Ententes sur la revendication territoriale globale pertinentes et d'entrer rapidement en contact avec l'organisation désignée Métis et des Dénés du Sahtu la plus près de la zone d'exploration proposée.

Fort Good Hope

Yamoga Lands Corporation
C.P. 18
Fort Good Hope (T.-N.-O.) X0E 0H0

Fort Good Hope Metis Local #54 Land Corporation
General Delivery
Fort Good Hope(T.-N.-O.) . X0E 0Y0

téléphone: (867) 598-2519
télécopieur: (867) 598-2437

téléphone: (867) 598-2404
télécopieur: (867) 598-2024

Colville Lake

Ayoni Keh Land Corporation
C.P. 43
Colville Lake, (T.-N.-O.) X0E 1L0

téléphone: (867) 709-2700
télécopieur: (867) 709-2717

Norman Wells

Ernie McDonald Land Corporation
C.P. 69
Norman Wells, (T.-N.-O.) X0E 0V0

téléphone (867) 587-2455
télécopieur: (867) 587-2455

Tulita

Tulita Land Corporation
C.P. 63
Tulita, (T.-N.-O.) X0E 0K0

Fort Norman Metis Land Corporation

C.P. 36
Tulita, (T.-N.-O.) . X0E 0K0

téléphone: (867) 588-3341
télécopieur: (867) 588-3613

téléphone: (867) 588-3201
télécopieur: (867) 588-3806

Déline

Déline Land Corporation
C.P. 158
Déline, (T.-N.-O.) X0E 0G0

téléphone: (867) 589-3151
télécopieur: (867) 589-4208