Excerpts from the Gwich'in Comprehensive Land Claim Agreement

(These excerpts are provided as information only; they are not a substitute for consulting the Final Agreement  .)

21.l.3 Before any oil and gas exploration takes place, the person proposing to explore and the Gwich'in Tribal Council shall consult on the exercise of the person's exploration rights with respect to the matters listed in (a) to (h) below. Similar consultations shall be held before the exercise of a developer's rights to develop or produce:

(a) environmental impact of the activity and mitigative measures;
(b) impact on wildlife harvesting and mitigative measures;
(c) location of camps and facilities and other related site specific planning concerns;
(d) maintenance of public order including liquor and drug control;
(e) Gwich'in employment, business opportunities and contracts, training orientation and counselling for Gwich'in employees, working conditions and terms of employment;
(f) expansion or termination of activities;
(g) a process for future consultations; and
(h) any other matter of importance to the Gwich'in or the person.

Such consultations are not intended to result in any obligations in addition to those required by legislation.

21.2 Interim Measures

21.2.1 (a) Prior to the transfer of jurisdiction described in 21.1.6 [Canada-N.W.T. Northern Accord] any person who proposes to explore for, develop or produce oil and gas on Gwich'in lands described in 18.1.2(a) [where the Gwich'in are surface owner] shall, in addition to any other obligations under this agreement, submit a benefits plan to the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development for approval.

(b) The Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development may require that the benefits plan in (a) contain provisions to ensure access to training and employment opportunities and to facilitate participation by the Gwich'in in the supply of goods and services.

(c) Any person who proposes to explore for, develop or produce oil and gas on Gwich'in lands described in 18.1.2(a) shall consult the Gwich'in Tribal Council prior to the submission and during the implementation of the benefits plan.

For more information regarding the terms and requirements arising out of the Gwich'in land claim settlement agreement, please contact:

President
Gwich'in Tribal Council
P.O. Box 1509
INUVIK NWT X0E 0T0
phone: (867) 777-4869 fax: (867) 777-4538

Extraits de l'entente sur la revendication territoriale globale des Gwich'in

(Ces extraits sont fournis à titre d'information uniquement; il faut consulter l'entente définitive   .)

21.1.3 Avant le début de toute activité d'exploration pétrolière et gazière, la personne qui propose d'exercer cette activité et le Conseil Tribal des Gwich'in doivent se consulter au sujet de l'exercice des droits d'exploration de cette personne et discuter des questions énumérées aux alinéas a) à h). Des consultations analogues doivent avoir lieu avant l'exercice par un promoteur de ses droits en matière de mise en valeur ou de production :

a. les répercussions sur l'environnement de l'activité concernée et les mesures d'atténuation;

b. les répercussions sur les récoltes d'animaux sauvages, et les mesures d'atténuation;

c. l'emplacement des camps et des installations, ainsi que les autres questions de planification au site concerné;

d. le maintien de l'ordre, notamment le contrôle de la consommation des drogues et de l'alcool;

e. les emplois, les occasions d'affaires et les marchés offerts aux Gwich'in, l'orientation et le counselling en matière de formation offert aux employés Gwich'in, les conditions de travail et d'emploi;

f. l'expansion ou la cessation des activités;

g. le processus en vue des consultations futures;

h. les autres questions d'importance pour les Gwich'in ou pour les personnes concernées.

Ces consultations n'ont pas pour effet de créer d'autres obligations que celles prévues par la législation applicable.

21.2 Dispositions transitoires

21.2.1

a. Avant le transfert de compétence visé à l'article 21.1.6 [Entente entre le Canada et les Territoires du Nord-Ouest sur le Nord], quiconque projette d'exercer des activités d'exploration, de mise en valeur ou de production à l'égard du pétrole et du gaz dans les terres des Gwich'in, décrites à l'alinéa 18.1.2 a) [là où les Gwich'in sont des propriétaires fonciers] doit, outre les autres obligations relevant de la présente entente, soumettre un plan des avantages à l'approbation du ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien.

b. Le ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien peut exiger que le plan des avantages visé à l'alinéa a) comporte des dispositions visant à assurer l'accès aux occasions de formation et d'emploi, ainsi qu'à faciliter la participation des Gwich'in à la fourniture de biens et de services.

c. Quiconque projette d'exercer des activités d'exploration, de mise en valeur ou de production à l'égard du pétrole et du gaz dans les terres des Gwich'in décrites à l'alinéa 18.1.2 a) devra consulter le Conseil Tribal des Gwich'in avant de soumettre le plan des avantages et lors de sa mise en oeuvre.

Pour obtenir de plus amples informations en ce qui concerne les modalités et les exigences résultant de l'entente sur la revendication territoriale globale des Gwich'in, veuillez communiquer avec :

Président
Conseil Tribal des Gwich'in
C.P. 1509
INUVIK (T.-N.-O.) X0E 0T0
téléphone : (867) 777-4869
télécopieur : (867) 777-4538