Exploration Licence Template

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Table of Contents


Exploration Licence # _________________

THIS LICENCE is effective as of the ___________________________________

ISSUED BY THE MINISTER OF INDIAN AFFAIRS AND NORTHERN DEVELOPMENT (hereinafter called the "Minister"),

TO THE INTEREST OWNER, ______________________________________

WHEREAS the Minister is empowered pursuant to the Act to issue an Exploration Licence (hereinafter called the "Licence") relating to the Lands;

AND WHEREAS the Minister has selected the bid submitted by _______________ as the winning bid in respect of parcel No. ___ posted in the ______________Call for Bids;

AND WHEREAS, in submitting such a bid, _______________ has agreed to the terms and conditions of this Licence;

NOW THEREFORE this Licence is issued upon the following terms and conditions:

1. Interpretation

(a) In this Licence, including all Schedules annexed hereto, unless the context requires otherwise:

i."Act" means the Canada Petroleum Resources Act;

ii."Operations Act" means the Canada Oil and Gas Operations Act;

iii."Lands" means the frontier lands described in Schedule I or such portion thereof that remains subject to this Licence from time to time;

iv."Period" means a segment or portion of the term described in Schedule III or, if no period is described therein, means the entire term of this Licence;

v."Regulations" means any and all regulations now made or that may be made at any time under the authority of the Act or the Operations Act, and any Acts passed in substitution therefor.

(b) All words and phrases used in this Licence have the meaning given by the Act, the Operations Act, or the Regulations

(c) This Licence is issued under and subject to the Act, the Operations Act, and any Act passed in substitution therefor, the Regulations and the provisions of any other Act of Canada and regulations made thereunder that relate to or affect this Licence and the Act. The Regulations and such other Act and other regulations shall be deemed to be incorporated into this Licence as though specifically enumerated herein.

(d) The following Schedules are attached and made part of this Licence: Schedule I -Lands Schedule II -Ownership Schedule III -Term and Conditions Schedule IV -Representative(s) and Addresses for Service

2. Rights

(a) Subject to the Act and the Operations Act, this Licence confers, with respect to the frontier lands to which this Licence applies, i.the right to explore for, and the exclusive right to drill and test for, petroleum; ii.the exclusive right to develop those frontier lands in order to produce petroleum; and iii.the exclusive right, subject to compliance with the other provisions of the Act, to obtain a production licence.

(b) This Licence shall be held by the interest holders as to the Lands, in the shares as set forth and described in Schedule II, or as amended from time to time.

(c) The rights under this Licence are subject to the right of any other licence holder to enter on and use the area subject to this Licence to the extent necessary to enable that other licence holder to exercice the rights under that other licence.

3. Term

Subject to the Act, the term of this Licence is as set out in Schedule III.

4. Annual Rentals

(a) Rentals, if any, shall be levied annually at the rate set forth in Schedule III.

(b) Rentals, if levied, shall be paid in advance, in respect of the Lands. The payment of rentals may be secured by cheque, promissory note, letter of credit or other negotiable financial instrument in a form satisfactory to the Minister.

(c) Rentals paid shall be refunded annually at the rate set forth in Schedule III.

5. Indemnity

(a) It is a condition of this Licence that the interest holders shall, in respect of that portion of the Lands to which such interest holder's share relates, at all times, jointly and severally, indemnify and save harmless Canada from and against all claims, demands, loss, costs, damages, actions, suits or other proceedings by whomsoever made, sustained, brought or prosecuted, in any manner based upon, occasioned by, or attributable to, anything done or omitted to be done by, through, or under, or with the consent of the interest owner, or an interest holder, notwithstanding any agreement or arrangement entered into by an interest owner or interest holder which does or may result in the transfer, assignment or other disposition of the interest or share therein, in the fulfilment of the terms and conditions made herein or in the exercise of the rights or obligations contained herein.

(b) For greater certainty, interest holders in this Licence who do not hold shares with respect to that portion of the lands in relation to which a claim, demand, loss, cost, damage, action,suit or other proceeding arises are not liable to indemnify Canada under subparagraph(1).

(c) For the purposes of subparagraphs (1) and (2), "Canada" shall not include a Crown corporation.

(d) This clause shall survive this Exploration Licence and will be incorporated into any Significant Discovery Licence and Production Licence that arises therefrom.

6. Liability

(a) An interest holder shall be liable under the provisions of this Licence, the Act, the Operations Act and the Regulations for all claims, demands, loss, costs, damages, actions, suits or other proceedings in respect of any work or activity conducted, or caused to be conducted, by, through, or under, or with the consent of such interest holder. Any transfer, assignment, or other disposition of the interest, or of a share therein, shall not have the effect of discontinuing such liability in respect of such work or activity, related to the interest, or share therein, so disposed, that was conducted before that transfer, assignment, or other disposition was registered pursuant to the Act and Regulations. For greater certainty, liability, as aforesaid, does not relate to any work or activity conducted after such party ceases to be an interest holder in this Licence.

(b) This clause shall survive this Exploration Licence and will be incorporated into any Significant Discovery Licence and Production Licence that arises therefrom.

7. Successors and Assigns

Subject to paragraph 6, this Licence enures to the benefit of and is binding on the Minister and the interest owner and their respective heirs, administrators, successors and assigns.

8. Notice

Any notice, communication or statement required under the Act or the Operations Act shall be served on the designated person, on behalf of the Minister or on the interest owner, as the case may be, by personal delivery, or by fax at that address specified in Schedule IV here of, or such other addresses as may be designated from time to time by the Minister or the interest owner, as the case may be.

9. Waiver and Relief

Where the Minister is satisfied that the Licence requirements as described under clause 2 of Schedule III cannot be executed within the time periods or to the extent provided therein, the Minister may, subject to the Act, grant an extension or extensions thereof in writing, provided always that the Minister is also satisfied that the failure to execute the above requirements is for reasons beyond the reasonable control of the interest owner, and that the interest owner continues to diligently pursue a remedy for such situation.

10. Representative

Unless otherwise designated in the prescribed manner, for the purpose of this Licence the representative or representatives, as the case may be, of the interest owner shall be as specified in Schedule IV.

11. Agreement

The issuance of this Licence by the Minister and acceptance thereof by the interest owner constitutes agreement between the interest owner and the Minister as to the terms and conditions contained herein.

ISSUED at Ottawa, this __________ day of ________________, _______.


_______________________________
WITNESS

_______________________________
MINISTER of Indian Affairs and Northern Development




Schedules for the Exploration Licence

Schedule I

Lands

LATITUDE-LONGITUDE PORTION

AREA: HECTARES

Schedule II

Ownership

LATITUDE\LONGITUDE PORTION INTEREST HOLDER(S) SHARE (%)

Canada Petroleum Resources Act (section 85)
Where an interest holder of an interest or any share therein enters into an agreement or arrangement that is or may result in a transfer, assignment or other disposition of the interest or any share therein, the interest holder shall give notice of the agreement or arrangement to the Minister, together with a copy of the agreement or arrangement or, if the Minister approves, a summary of its terms and conditions or, on the request of the Minister, a copy of the agreement or arrangement.

To comply with this requirement please use Summary Form 15-Notification of an Agreement/Arrangement that is or m ay result in a Transfer.

Schedule III

Terms and Conditions

1.TERM - as per the call for bids.

2.WORK PROGRAM - as per the call for bids.

3.TERMINATION AND EXPIRY - as per the call for bids

4.WORK DEPOSIT - as per the call for bids

5.RENTALS - as per the call for bids

6.ALLOWABLE EXPENDITURES - as per the call for bids

Schedule IV

Representative(s) and Addresses for Service

Modèle d'un permis de prospection

Table des matières


Permis de Prospection No. ______________________

CE PERMIS entre en vigueur le, ________________________________

IL EST ÉMIS PAR LE MINISTRE DES AFFAIRES INDIENNES ET DU NORD CANADIEN (ci-après appelé "Ministre"), représentée par le ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien (ci-après appelé "Ministre")

AU TITULAIRE DU TITRE,

ATTENDU QUE le Ministre est habilité par la Loi à délivrer un Permis de Prospection (ci-après appelé "Permis") concernant les Terres;

ATTENDU QUE le Ministre a retenu l'offre de la société _______________ comme étant la meilleure offre pour la parcelle no _______________ offerte en vertu de l'appel d'offre de _______________;

ATTENDU QUE la société _______________, en déposant une telle offre, accepte les modalités énoncées dans ce Permis de Prospection;

C'EST POURQUOI ce permis est délivré selon les modalités énoncées ci-après:

1. Interprétation

(a) Dans ce Permis et dans ses annexes, les mots suivants ont les sens décrits ci-après, sauf lorsque le contexte le veut autrement:

i."Loi" désigne la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures;

ii."Loi sur les opérations" désigne la Loi sur les opérations pétrolières au Canada;

iii."Terres" désigne les terres domaniales décrites à l'annexe I ou une partie de ces terres à laquelle ce Permis s'applique de temps à autre;

iv."Période" désigne un segment ou une portion de la durée décrite à l'annexe III ou, si aucune période n'y est décrite, la durée complète de ce Permis.

v."Règlement" désigne n'importe quel ou la totalité des règlements pris actuellement ou susceptibles d'être pris à tout moment sous le régime de la Loi ou de la Loi sur les opérations et sous toute loi remplaçant celles-ci.

(b) Tous les mots et toutes les locutions qui composent le libellé de ce Permis ont le sens que leur donnent la Loi, la Loi sur les opérations ou les règlements.

(c) Ce Permis est formulé en vertu des lois et règlements connexes suivants, auxquels il est assujetti: la Loi, la Loi sur les opérations, et toute loi remplaçant celles-ci et les dispositions de toute autre loi du Canada, y compris leurs règlements d'application, concernant ou touchant ce Permis et la Loi. Les Règlements et les autres lois et règlements seront considérés comme faisant partie de ce Permis comme s'ils y étaient énumérés spécifiquement.

(d) Les annexes suivantes font intégrante de ce Permis:

Annexe I-Terres
Annexe II-Propriété
Annexe III-Durée et modalités
Annexe IV-Représentant(s) et adresses aux fins de service

2. Droits

(a) Sous réserve des dispositions de la Loi et de la Loi sur les opérations, ce Permis confère, à l'égard des terres domaniales auxquelles ce Permis s'applique,

i.le droit d'y prospecter et le droit exclusif d'y effectuer des forages ou des essais pour chercher des hydrocarbures;

ii.le droit exclusif de les aménager en vue de la production d'hydrocarbures; et

iii.à condition de se conformer à la Loi, le droit exclusif d'obtenir une licence de production.

(b) Ce Permis relatif aux Terres est octroyé aux indivisaires selon les fractions énumérées et décrites à l'annexe II, lesquelles pourront être modifiées de temps à autre.

(c) Les droits conférés par ce permis à l'égard des terres visées par ledit permis sont assujettis au droit d'accès et d'utilisation que quelqu'autre titulaire de permis nécessiterait pour lui permettre d'exercer les droits relatifs à son propre permis.

3. Période de validité

En vertu de la Loi, la période de validité est décrite à l'annexe III.

4. Loyers annuels

(a) Les loyers, s'il y a lieu, seront perçus annuellement selon les taux énoncés à l'annexe III.

(b) S'ils sont perçus, les loyers à l'égard des Terres seront payés annuellement à l'avance. Ils peuvent être réglés par chèque, par billet à ordre, lettre de crédit out tout autre instrument financier négociable préparé à la satisfaction du Ministre.

(c) Les loyers qui ont été payés seront remboursés annuellement selon les taux énoncés à l'annexe III.

5. Indemnisation

(a) Une des conditions de délivrance de ce Permis est que les indivisaires doivent, à l'égard de la partie des Terres visées par la partie du titre de chaque indivisaire, dans tous les cas, conjointement et individuellement, indemniser et exempter le Canada de la totalité des réclamations, des exigences, des pertes, des coûts, des dommages, des actions, des poursuites civiles ou autres, faits ou subits de n'importe quelle manière en raison de toute action exécutée ou omise par le titulaire ou un indivisaire, par son entremise ou sous sa direction ou avec son consentement, nonobstant tout accord ou arrangement conclu par un titulaire ou un indivisaire et donnant lieu ou pouvant donner lieu au transfert, à la cession ou à toute autre disposition du titre ou fraction du titre dans l'accomplissement des modalités énoncées dans la présente ou dans l'exercice des droits ou des responsabilités contenus dans la présente.

(b) Pour prévenir ambiguïté, les indivisaires bénéficiaires de ce Permis qui ne détiennent aucune fraction dans la partie des Terres à laquelle des réclamations, des demandes, des pertes, des coûts, des dommages, des actions, des poursuites civiles ou autres sont liés, ne sont pas tenus d'indemniser le Canada en vertu du paragraphe (1).

(c) Aux fins des paragraphes (1) et (2), "Canada" ne comprend pas les sociétés de la Couronne.

(d) Ce paragraphe continuera d'exister et sera incorporé à toute Attestation de Découverte Importante et toute Licence de production attribuée en vertu du présent Permis de Prospection.

6. Responsabilités

(a) En vertu des dispositions de ce Permis, de la Loi, de la Loi sur les opérations et des Règlements, un indivisaire est responsable de la totalité des réclamations, des exigences, des pertes, des coûts, des dommages, des actions, des poursuites civiles ou autres survenus en raison de tout travail ou de toute activité effectué par ledit indivisaire ou à sa demande, par son entremise, sous sa direction ou avec son consentement. Tout transfert, toute cession ou toute autre disposition du titre ou d'une fraction du titre n'aura pas pour effet d'annuler cette responsabilité à l'égard desdits travaux ou activités qui ont été accomplis avant que ce transfert, cette cession ou cette autre disposition n'ait été enregistré en vertu de la Loi et des Règlements. Pour prévenir toute ambiguïté, la responsabilité susmentionnée n'est liée à aucun travail ou activité accomplis après que cet indivisaire cesse d'être un indivisaire engagé dans ce Permis.

(b) Ce paragraphe continuera d'exister et sera incorporé à toute Attestation de Découverte Importante et toute Licence de production attribuée en vertu du présent Permis de Prospection.

7. Successeurs et ayant droits

Sous réserve de l'article 6, ce Permis profite, tout en les engageant, au Ministre et au titulaire du titre ainsi qu'à leurs héritiers, administrateurs, successeurs et ayant droits respectifs.

8. Avis

Tout avis, communication ou déclaration qui doit être fait en vertu de la Loi ou de la Loi sur les opérations doit être fait à la personne désignée, au nom du Ministre ou du titulaire du titre, selon le cas, par livraison personnelle ou par télécopieur à l'adresse précisée à l'annexe IV de la présente, ou aux autres adresses qui pourront être prescrites de temps à autre par le Ministre ou le titulaire du titre, selon le cas.

9. Dispense

Si, de l'avis du Ministre, les exigences du Permis décrites à la clause 2 de l'annexe III ne peuvent être respectées dans les délais ou selon les conditions prévues, le Ministre peut, sous réserve de la Loi, accorder une, ou, au besoin, plusieurs prolongations par écrit à condition, cependant, que le Ministre soit convaincu que le titulaire du titre n'a pu observer les exigences pour des raisons indépendantes de sa volonté et qu'il poursuivra avec diligence ses efforts pour remédier à la situation.

10. Représentant

Aux fins de ce Permis, le représentant ou les représentants, selon le cas, du titulaire du titre sont ceux qui sont énumérés à l'annexe IV, à moins d'indication contraire faite de la manière prescrite.

11. Entente

La délivrance de ce Permis par le Ministre et son acceptation par le titulaire du titre constituent l'entente conclue par le titulaire du titre et le Ministre au sujet des modalités énoncées dans la présente.

_______________________________
SIGNATURE

DÉLIVRÉ à Ottawa, ce __________ jour de__________ _______.

_______________________________
TÉMOIN

_______________________________
MINISTRE des affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien




Les annexes pour le permis de prospection

Annexe I

Titres

LATITUDE-LONGITUDE PARTIE DES TERRES

SUPERFICIE: HECTARES

Annexe II

Propriété

LAT./LONG. PARTIE DES TERRES INDIVISAIRE(S) FRACTION, EN %

Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures (85).
Le titulaire ou l'indivisaire qui conclut un accord donnant lieu ou qui est susceptible de donner lieu à un transfert, à une cession ou à toute autre forme d'aliénation d'un titre ou d'une fraction est tenu d'en aviser le ministre et de lui en transmettre un double ou, sur autorisation du ministre, un résumé des conditions ou, si le ministre le demande, un double de l'accord.

Afin de satisfaire cette exigence, veuillez s'il vous plaît utiliser le Formulaire 15 concernant l'annonce d'une entente ou d'un arrangement qui pourrait donner lieu à un transfert.

Annexe III

Modalités et Conditions

1. PÉRIODE DE VALIDITÉ - selon l'appel d'offres

2. PROGRAMME DE TRAVAIL - selon l'appel d'offres

3. CESSATIONS ET EXPIRATIONS - selon l'appel d'offres

4. DÉPÔT RELATIF AUX TRAVAUX - selon l'appel d'offres

5. LOYERS - selon l'appel d'offres

6. DÉPENSES ADMISSIBLES - selon l'appel d'offres

Annexe IV

Représentant(s) et adresses de service