Rights Management

Managing the development of oil and gas resources for Canada's federal lands in the Northwest Territories, Nunavut and northern offshore is a federal responsibility. The Northern Oil and Gas Branch of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) is charged with this responsibility.

This management of the oil and gas resources is done in a manner that balances the northern and national interests in the context of Aboriginal land claims, promotes investment in the sustainable development of northern resources, and provides related information and advice. Above all, the department is committed to using resource development to uplift the skills of northerners and strengthen the economic base of northern communities.

Petroleum resource management on Canada's federal lands North of 60 degrees is exercised under two federal statutes: the Canada Petroleum Resources Act (CPRA) and the Canada Oil and Gas Operations Act (COGOA).

Other legislation concerning land use and environmental protection are fundamental to the sustainable development of oil and gas resources in the North. These aspects are managed by independent Boards set up pursuant to land claim agreements and (where these authorities are maintained) by the regional divisions of INAC in the Northwest Territories and Nunavut.

The Northern Oil and Gas Branch is responsible for the issuance and management of Exploration Licences, Significant Discovery Licences and Production Licences in the in the Northwest Territories, Nunavut and the northern offshore. The rights are issued pursuant to the Canada Petroleum Resources Act.

The following figure describes the steps of the rights management process:

In addition to the issuance and management of licences the Branch is responsible for maintaining a Public Registry of the oil and gas rights. This registry includes current and historic data associated with dispositions. Throughout the rights management process we work with other resource management partners to address environmental and social concerns associated with oil and gas rights management.

In accordance with the provisions of comprehensive land claim settlement agreements, the Department seeks the views and support of Aboriginal communities and organizations prior to rights issuance on the terms and conditions of the issuance and related matters. The Department is also working toward the departmental mandate of establishing measures that would meet the needs and provide economic opportunities for those areas without a land claim settlement, primarily in the southern Northwest Territories.

Date modified:

Gestion des droits

La gestion de l'exploitation des ressources pétrolières et gazières sur les terres fédérales dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, au Nunavut et la région extracôtière du Nord est de compétence fédérale, et la responsabilité en incombe à la Direction générale du pétrole et du gaz du Nord d'Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC).

Ces ressources sont gérées d'une manière qui concilie les intérêts du Nord et de l'ensemble du Canada dans le contexte des revendications territoriales des Autochtones, promeut les investissements dans le développement durable des ressources nordiques et offre de l'information et des conseils connexes. Le Ministère est avant tout résolu à mettre à profit l'exploitation des ressources pour renforcer les compétences des habitants du Nord ainsi que l'assise économique des collectivités nordiques.

Deux lois fédérales régissent la gestion des ressources pétrolières dans les terres fédérales au nord du 60e parallèle : la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures et la Loi sur les opérations pétrolières au Canada.

D'autres lois portant sur l'utilisation des terres et la protection de l'environnement sont essentielles au développement durable des ressources pétrolières et gazières du Nord. Des offices indépendants mis sur pied en vertu d'ententes sur les revendications territoriales ainsi que les régions des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et du Nunavut d'AANC (là où ces pouvoirs sont conférés) gèrent ces aspects.

La Direction générale du pétrole et du gaz du Nord est chargée de la délivrance et de la gestion des permis de prospection, des permis de découverte importante et des licences de production dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, au Nunavut et dans la région extracôtière du Nord. Les droits sont octroyés conformément à la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures.

Voici un schéma du processus de gestion des droits :

La Direction générale est également chargée de la tenue du registre public des droits pétroliers et gaziers qui contient des données courantes et historiques ainsi que les autorisations connexes. Elle s'associe également à d'autres partenaires de la gestion des ressources pour aborder les préoccupations environnementales et sociales soulevées par la gestion des droits pétroliers et gaziers.

Dans le respect des ententes sur les revendications territoriales globales, le Ministère sollicite l'avis et le soutien des collectivités et des organisations autochtones concernant les conditions des permis et les questions connexes avant de les délivrer. Il travaille aussi à s'acquitter de son mandat prévoyant la mise en place de mesures qui répondraient aux besoins et aux aspirations économiques des régions non visées par de telles ententes, surtout dans la région méridionale des Territoires du Nord-Ouest.

Date de modification :