Calculating Royalty

Royalty rates for frontier lands are specified in the Frontier Lands Petroleum Royalty Regulations . Royalty is payable by each individual interest holder of a production licence in a project. Interest holders are required to submit monthly royalty returns and pay a royalty on their monthly production. For detailed instructions on how royalty is calculated, please refer to the submission guides for the monthly royalty return and monthly production and cost statement.

Payout status is key in determining royalty rates. Payout is a measure of when an interest holder has recovered the cost of their initial investment in a project, including a specified return allowance. Prior to "project payout", royalties of 1% of gross revenues are payable for the first 18 months of production, increasing by 1% every 18 months to a maximum of five percent. After recovery of initial investment (i.e. payout) royalty is the greater of 5% of gross revenues or 30% of net revenues.

Project Life Cycle

The following chart highlights the royalty life cycle of a project:


Project Life Cycle

The 1%-5% royalty rate is charged in the pre-payout phase of a project. Once the project reaches payout, the royalty rate becomes either 30% of net or 5% of gross revenues - whichever is greater.



Pre-production Licence Costs

For the purposes of computing project payout, costs incurred prior to project commencement are indexed to inflation from the date they were incurred to the date of project commencement

Payout Status

Payout is reached the first month in which the interest holder's cumulative gross revenues from a project are equal to or greater than the interest holder's cumulative costs for that project.

Cumulative costs include allowed capital costs, allowed operating costs, 1% capital cost adjustment, 10% operating cost adjustment, royalty paid, and a return allowance.

Return Allowance

The return allowance is calculated for every month following project commencement up to, but not including, the month of payout. The return allowance is generally equal to 10% plus the long-term bond rate applied to the interest holder's payout balance.

Gross Revenues

Gross revenues of an interest holder in a project are the revenues in a month from petroleum produced from project lands less allowed gas processing and transportation allowances.

Net Revenues

Net revenues of an interest holder in a project are equal to gross revenues for the month minus the aggregate of allowed capital costs, allowed operating costs, 1% capital cost adjustment, and 10% operating cost adjustment.

Calcul des redevances

Les taux de redevances sont précisés dans le Règlement sur les redevances relatives aux hydrocarbures provenant des terres domaniales . Tous les indivisaires d'une licence de production liée à un projet doivent verser des redevances. Les indivisaires sont tenus de soumettre une déclaration de redevances mensuelle et de payer une redevance sur leur production mensuelle.

L'état de recouvrement est l'élément de base pour déterminer le taux de redevances. Le recouvrement est atteint lorsque le montant de l'investissement initial dans un projet est récupéré par l'indivisaire, y compris une allocation de rendement précise. Avant l'atteinte du recouvrement des coûts d'un projet, des redevances totalisant 1 pour cent des revenus bruts sont payables pour les 18 premiers mois de la production. Les redevances augmentent ensuite de 1 pour cent après chaque période de 18 mois jusqu'à concurrence de 5 pour cent. Lorsque l'investissement initial a été récupéré (c.-à-d. le recouvrement), les redevances correspondent à la plus élevée de ces deux options : 5 pour cent des revenus bruts ou 30 pour cent des revenus nets.

Cycle de vie du projet

Le diagramme suivant illustre le cycle de vie des redevances liées à un projet :


Project Life Cycle

Un taux de redevances de 1 % à 5 % est perçu durant la phase de recouvrement d'un projet. Une fois le recouvrement atteint, le taux de redevances passe à 30 % des revenus nets ou 5 % des revenus bruts, selon le plus élevé des deux montants.

Coûts avant la délivrance de la licence

Aux fins du calcul du recouvrement des coûts d'un projet, les coûts engagés avant le début du projet sont indexés à l'inflation à partir de la date à laquelle ils ont été engagés jusqu'à la date de démarrage du projet.

État de recouvrement

Le recouvrement est atteint le premier mois au cours duquel les revenus bruts cumulatifs de l'indivisaire sont égaux ou supérieurs aux coûts cumulatifs de l'indivisaire pour ce projet. 

Les coûts cumulatifs incluent les coûts en capital déductibles, les frais d'exploitation déductibles, le rajustement des coûts en capital de 1 pour cent, le rajustement des frais d'exploitation de 10 pour cent, les redevances payées et une allocation de rendement.

Allocation de rendement

L'allocation de rendement est calculée pour chaque mois à compter du mois au cours duquel tombe la date de démarrage du projet jusqu'au mois qui précède le mois de recouvrement de l'investissement initial. L'allocation de rendement est généralement égale à 10 pour cent plus le taux des obligations à long terme du gouvernement appliqué aux redevances à verser de l'indivisaire.

Revenus bruts

Les revenus bruts d'un indivisaire sont les revenus mensuels provenant d'hydrocarbures produits sur les terres domaniales moins les allocations pour le traitement du gaz et pour le transport.

Revenus nets

Les revenus nets d'un indivisaire sont les revenus mensuels bruts moins le montant global des coûts en capital déductibles, des frais d'exploitation déductibles, le rajustement des coûts en capital de 1 pour cent et le rajustement des frais d'exploitation de 10 pour cent.