Contaminated Sites Management and Governance

Overall responsibility for the Contaminated Sites Program (CSP) rests with the Deputy Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) and the Assistant Deputy Minister of the Northern Affairs Program (NAP). Key decisions are supported through a committee process in four separate bodies. The figure bellow illustrates the roles and relationships of the principle governing bodies.

The Management Committee (MC) is responsible for resource allocation for multi-year projects for the entire department. It approves the funding for CSP. The key corporate governance body in the CSP is the Northern Management Committee (NMC). Chaired by the Assistant Deputy Minister (ADM) of Northern Affairs and comprising regional and sector Directors General and Directors, this committee brings together senior operational and financial executives. The NMC approves and provides funding for an annual contaminated sites workplan. The NAP Contaminated Sites Management Steering Committee (CSMSC) is chaired by the Director General, Natural Resources and Environment with all NAP Regional Director Generals as contributing members. CSMSC provides overall direction to the Program and oversees implementation of approved projects. The NAP Contaminated Sites Management Working Team (CSMWT) is chaired by the CSP Manager, and consists of all Regional Program Managers and Project Managers.

The CSP is a decentralized program, implemented in the three Northern Regions located in each of the three territories. Primary front line responsibility for Program implementation rests with the Regions. Headquarters supports the Regions by providing program management support and strategic direction. Headquarters also provides regular progress reports on implementation and management, monitors optimal delivery and management of the CSP and participates in regular audits and evaluations.

Box #1 with words Management Committee, Box #2 with Northern Management Committee Box #3 with NAP Contaminated Sites Management Steering Committee and Box #4 with NAP Contaminated Sites Management working Team

Gestion et régie des sites contaminés

La responsabilité générale du Programme des sites contaminés du Nord (PSC) incombe au sous-ministre d'Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) et au sous-ministre adjoint du Programme des affaires du Nord (PAN). La prise de décisions d'importance s'effectue en comité par quatre instances distinctes. À la figure ci-dessous, on présente les rôles et responsabilités des principales instances dirigeantes.

Le Comité de gestion (CG) est responsable de l'attribution des ressources pour les projets pluriannuels de l'ensemble du Ministère. Il approuve le financement du PSC. Le Comité de gestion du Nord (CGN) constitue la principale instance dirigeante du PSC. Le Comité, qui est présidé par le sous-ministre adjoint du Programme des affaires du Nord et formé de directeurs et de directeurs généraux régionaux et sectoriels, regroupe des dirigeants financiers et opérationnels. Le CGN se charge d'approuver et de financer le plan de travail annuel sur les sites contaminés. Présidé par le directeur général, Ressources naturelles et environnement, le Comité directeur pour la gestion des sites contaminés (CDGSC) a comme membres adhérents tous les directeurs généraux régionaux du PAN. Ce Comité se charge de l'orientation générale du Programme et de la supervision de la mise en ouvre des projets approuvés. L'Équipe de travail sur la gestion des lieux contaminés(ETGLC) du PAN est présidée par le gestionnaire du PSC et se compose de tous les gestionnaires régionaux de programme et de projet.

Le PSC est un programme décentralisé mis en ouvre dans les trois régions du Nord de chacun des trois territoires. Les régions ont la responsabilité de première ligne pour la réalisation du Programme et reçoivent de l'administration centrale (AC) une orientation stratégique et du soutien pour la gestion du PSC. En outre, l'AC produit régulièrement des rapports d'étape sur la mise en ouvre et la gestion, veille à la gestion et à la prestation optimales du PSC et participe à des vérifications et à des évaluations périodiques.

Boîte #1 Comité de gestion - Boîte #2 Comité de gestion du Nord Boîte #3 Comité directeur pour la gestion des sites contaminés du PAN, Boîte #4 Équipe de travail sur la gestion des sites contaminés du PAN