Northern Contaminated Sites Program

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) is responsible for most federal lands in the North.  Through the Northern Contaminated Sites Program (CSP), the Department manages a number of contaminated properties abandoned by their previous occupants. The contamination of these properties is the result of private sector mining and oil and gas activities and government military activity that occurred over a half a century ago, when environmental impacts were not fully understood.

The objective of the CSP is to manage contaminated sites in a cost-effective and consistent manner.  The program aims to reduce and eliminate, where possible, risks to human and environmental health, and liability associated with contaminated sites in the North. Priority is given to those sites posing the highest risks.

As a complement the CSP, the Department's Contaminated Sites Management Program (CSMP) and policy provide guidance for the management of contaminated sites located on reserve lands, on federal lands north of the 60th parallel and on any other lands under AANDC's custodial responsibility.

What Information is Available?

You may also be interested in

Programme des sites contaminés du Nord

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) est responsable de la plupart des terres fédérales dans le Nord. Par l'intermédiaire du Programme des sites contaminés du Nord (PSC), le Ministère gère un certain nombre de propriétés contaminées abandonnées par leurs occupants précédents. La contamination de ces propriétés résulte d'activités minières, pétrolières et gazières du secteur privé et d'opérations militaires du gouvernement ayant eu lieu il y a plus de cinquante ans, bien avant que l'on saisisse l'ampleur des répercussions sur l'environnement.

L'objectif du PSC est de gérer les sites contaminés de façon rentable et cohérente. Le programme vise à réduire et à éliminer, dans la mesure du possible, les risques pour la santé humaine et l'environnement, ainsi que la responsabilité inhérente aux sites contaminés dans le Nord. On accorde la priorité aux sites qui présentent les risques les plus élevés.

En complément au PSC, le Programme de gestion des sites contaminés (PGSC) et la Politique de gestion des sites contaminés du Ministère donnent des lignes directrices pour la gestion de sites contaminés situés sur les terres de réserve, sur les terres fédérales situées au nord du 60e parallèle, ainsi que sur toute autre terre relevant de la responsabilité d'AADNC.

Renseignements disponibles

Autres liens d'intérêt :