The North

The North is 2/5 of Canada's land mass. With world-class mineral, oil and gas deposits, the North is a place of incredible economic opportunity. The Government of Canada is committed to ensuring that Northerners and all Canadians benefit from the tremendous natural resource potential of the region.

The North is also on the front line of climate change impacts and adaptation. Strong environmental protection is an essential component of sustainable development and an important way that Canada exercises its sovereignty in the North. The Government of Canada is taking concrete action to protect and conserve the unique environment and wildlife of the Arctic.

AANDC's role

AANDC supports northern Canadians in their efforts to improve social and economic well-being to develop healthier, more sustainable communities and to participate more fully in Canada's political, social and economic development. AANDC's mandate in the North is significant and far-reaching including resource, land and environmental management responsibilities. AANDC leads federal efforts and coordinates partnerships under Canada's Northern Strategy, which informs AANDC's key priorities for the department's work in the North.

Find out more

Le Nord

Le Nord couvre les 2/5 des terres émergées du Canada. Avec ses importants gisements de minéraux et ses réserves de pétrole et de gaz, le Nord offre des possibilités économiques incroyables. Le gouvernement du Canada est déterminé à veiller à ce que les gens du Nord et tous les Canadiens profitent du potentiel des ressources naturelles de la région.

Le Nord est aussi la première région à subir les effets des changements climatiques et à devoir s'adapter. Une solide protection environnementale est un élément essentiel du développement durable et une manière importante, pour le Canada, d'exercer sa souveraineté dans le Nord. Le gouvernement du Canada prend des mesures concrètes pour protéger et préserver l'environnement et la faune uniques de l'Arctique.

Le rôle d'AADNC

AADNC appuie les efforts que font les Canadiens vivant dans le Nord pour améliorer leur bien-être économique et social, pour bâtir des collectivités plus saines et durables et pour participer davantage au développement politique, social et économique du Canada. Le mandat du ministère dans le Nord est significatif et vaste et comprend des responsabilités liées à la gestion environnementale des ressources et des terres. AADNC guide les efforts que déploie le gouvernement fédéral et coordonne les partenariats dans le cadre de la Stratégie pour le Nord du Canada, laquelle énumère les priorités clés pour les travaux que le ministère mène dans le Nord.

Pour en savoir plus