Family Violence Prevention Program

The 2017-2018 call for proposals for prevention activities off-reserve is now closed. The deadline to submit a proposal was March 10, 2017 at 11:59 pm Eastern Time.

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC)'s Family Violence Prevention Program (FVPP) supports the day-to-day operations of 41 shelters, as well as funding for community-driven proposals for family violence prevention projects on and off reserve.

Budget 2016 announced, beginning in 2016-2017:

Choose a topic:

About the program

The goal of the FVPP is to improve the safety and security of Indigenous women, children and families. INAC has made women, children and families a priority. The FVPP is one of four Social Development Programs funded by INAC.

The FVPP has two components:

Shelters serving First Nations communities across Canada provide a vital place of refuge for women and their children, help them escape situations of violence and provide education and support to prevent future violence.

The FVPP supports activities that increase awareness of family violence and provide families and communities with the tools to address violence such as treatment and intervention, culturally sensitive services (elder and traditional teachings), awareness and self-development projects. Over 300 family violence prevention projects are supported each year.

The FVPP also provides core funding to the National Aboriginal Circle Against Family Violence to act as a national coordinator by supporting shelters and their staff through training forums, prevention activities, research and collaboration with key partners.

The FVPP has an annual budget of $31.74 million on an ongoing basis to support shelters and family violence prevention activities on- and off-reserve.

Between 2006 and 2014, the department invested $261.1 million in the FVPP – providing shelter services for more than 24,290 children and 27,514 women and funding more than 2,800 prevention and awareness activities in Indigenous communities. Some 329 First Nations communities (55%) are served by the 41 INAC-funded shelters.

The Government of Canada takes the issue of violence against Indigenous women very seriously and will continue to work in partnership with provincial and territorial governments, Indigenous Peoples, and other stakeholders to develop effective and appropriate solutions. The FVPP is part of Government of Canada efforts to end violence against women and girls and stop family violence.

For more information on Government of Canada initiatives to end violence against Indigenous women and girls, consult:

Who can apply?

Eligible applicants Shelter operations Prevention projects
Chiefs and Councils of First Nation bands recognized by the Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada Yes Yes
Tribal Councils Yes Yes
Provinces Yes N/A
Yukon Territory Yes N/A
First Nations authority, board, committee or other entity approved by Chief and Council Yes Yes
Incorporated shelters Yes Yes
First Nation Child and Family Services (FNCFS) Agencies or Societies Yes Yes
Indigenous communities and organizations N/A Yes
Non-Indigenous communities and organizations (mandate include services for First Nations, Inuit and/or Métis) N/A Yes

Deadlines

Shelters receive annual operational funding on an ongoing basis in April of each year.

There was a new call for proposals for off-reserve projects with a deadline of March 10, 2017 at 11:59 p.m. Eastern Time.

How to apply?

Prevention activities on-reserve

In some regions, First Nation regional boards are authorized by Chiefs to administer prevention funds by collecting, reviewing and approving proposals for projects. The First Nation regional boards also take on a strategic visioning and coordinating role by targeting specific needs (e.g. annual youth conference) in the area of family violence.

More information is also available in the National Social Programs Manual (currently being updated). To find out more, please contact your INAC regional office.

INAC-funded shelters wishing to apply for prevention funding should contact their INAC regional office.

Prevention activities off-reserve (proposal-based)

The 2017-2018 call for proposals is now closed. The deadline to submit a proposal was March 10, 2017 at 11:59 p.m. Eastern Time.

The 2016-2017 call for proposals is now closed.

For any questions relating to prevention activities off-reserve, please send an email to PPVF-FVPP@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca.

Success stories

Related links

Date modified:

Programme pour la prévention de la violence familiale

L’appel de propositions de 2017-2018 pour des activités de prévention hors réserve est maintenant lancé. La date limite pour la soumission des propositions est le 10 mars 2017, à 23 h 59 (heure de l’Est).

Le programme pour la prévention de la violence familiale (PPVF) d'Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) soutient 41 refuges dans leurs activités courantes, ainsi que le financement de propositions pour des projets de prévention de la violence familiale pour les collectivités vivant à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur des réserves.

Le Budget de 2016 prévoit, à compter de 2016-2017 :

Choisir un sujet :

À propos du programme

Le programme a pour but d'améliorer la protection et la sécurité des femmes, des filles et des familles autochtones, lesquelles constituent une priorité pour AANC. Le programme est l'un de quatre programmes sociaux financés par le Ministère.

Le programme comporte deux volets :

Les refuges desservant les collectivités des Premières Nations dans tout le Canada offrent un lieu de refuge essentiel pour les femmes et leurs enfants et leur permettent de fuir les situations de violence. Ils offrent aussi des services d'éducation et de soutien visant à prévenir les situations de violence.

Le PPVF appuie les activités de sensibilisation à la violence familiale et fournit aux familles et aux collectivités des outils pour faire face aux situations de violence, tels que les traitements et les interventions, les services adaptés sur le plan culturel (enseignements des aînés et traditionnels), la sensibilisation et les projets d’autoperfectionnement. Plus de 300 projets de prévention de la violence familiale sont appuyés chaque année.

Le programme offre aussi un financement de base au Cercle national autochtone contre la violence familiale pour l'aider à assurer la coordination nationale en soutenant les refuges et leurs employés au moyen de forums de formation et d'activités de prévention, ainsi que par la recherche et la collaboration auprès des partenaires clés.

Le PPVF compte sur un budget annuel de 31,74 millions de dollars de façon permanente pour soutenir les refuges et les activités de prévention de la violence familiale à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur des réserves.

Entre 2006 et 2014, le Ministère a investi 261,1 millions de dollars dans le PPVF – en offrant des services d'hébergement à plus de 24 290 enfants et 27 514 femmes, et un financement pour plus de 2 800 activités de prévention et de sensibilisation dans des collectivités autochtones. Quelque 329 collectivités des Premières Nations (55 %) sont desservies par les 41 refuges financés par AANC.

Le gouvernement du Canada prend très au sérieux le problème de la violence faite aux femmes autochtones et continuera à chercher des solutions efficaces et appropriées, en collaboration avec les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, les Autochtones et d'autres intervenants. Le programme fait partie des mesures prises par le gouvernement du Canada pour mettre un terme à la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles et à la violence familiale.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les initiatives du gouvernement du Canada pour mettre fin à la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles autochtones, consultez :

Qui peut présenter une demande?

Demandeurs admissibles Activités des refuges Projets de prévention
Chefs et conseils de bandes des Premières Nations reconnues par la ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada Oui Oui
Conseils tribaux Oui Oui
Provinces Oui s.o.
Territoire du Yukon Oui s.o.
Autorités des Premières Nations, conseils, comités ou autres entités approuvés par le chef et le conseil Oui Oui
Refuges enregistrés Oui Oui
Organismes ou sociétés de services à l'enfance et à la famille des Premières Nations Oui Oui
Collectivités et organisations autochtones s.o. Oui
Collectivités et organisations non autochtones (mandat inclut les services aux Premières Nations, aux Inuit et/ou aux Métis) s.o. Oui

Date limite

Les refuges admissibles reçoivent un financement sur une base continue en avril de chaque année.

Il y a un nouvel appel de propositions de projets hors réserve qui prendra fin le 10 mars 2017, à 23 h 59 (heure de l'Est).

Comment présenter une demande?

Activités de prévention dans les réserves

Dans certaines régions, les conseils régionaux des Premières Nations ont l'autorisation de leur chef d'administrer les fonds dédiés à la prévention. À cette fin, ils recueillent, révisent et approuvent les propositions de projets. Les conseils régionaux des Premières Nations exercent également un rôle de vision stratégique et de coordination en ciblant les besoins particuliers (comme une conférence annuelle des jeunes) dans le domaine de la violence familiale.

Le Manuel national des programmes sociaux (en cours de révision) offre un complément d'information à ce sujet. Pour de plus amples renseignements, communiquez avec votre bureau régional d'AANC.

Les refuges financés par AANC qui veulent présenter une demande pour des activités de prévention doivent communiquer avec leur bureau régional d'AANC.

Activités de prévention hors réserve (axées sur les propositions)

L'appel de propositions pour 2017-2018 est maintenant lancé. La date limite pour soumettre une proposition est le 10 mars 2017, à 23 h 59 (heure de l'Est).

L'appel de propositions de 2016-2017 est maintenant fermé.

Pour toute question concernant les activités de prévention hors réserve, veuillez envoyer un message à l'adresse courriel PPVF-FVPP@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca.

Histoires de réussite

Liens connexes

Date de modification :