Social Programs

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) funds four social programs. It aims to assist First Nation individuals and communities to become more self-sufficient; protect individuals and families at risk of violence; provide prevention supports that allow individuals and families to better care for their children; and support greater participation in the labour market.

This program activity assists First Nations men, women and children in achieving greater independence and self-sufficiency in First Nations communities across Canada. It does so by flowing funds to First Nations, provincial representatives and others who provide on-reserve residents and Yukon First Nations with individual and family services that are developed and implemented in collaboration with partners.

These services help First Nation communities meet basic and special needs; support employability and attachment to the workforce; and ensure that individuals and families are safe. First Nations that are engaged in advancing their own development are better equipped to leverage opportunities made available by their communities and actively contribute to the broader Canadian economy and society.

INAC funds the delivery of four key social development programs in First Nation communities:

Additional Resources:

You may also be interested in:

Date modified:

Programmes sociaux

Quoi de neuf?

Les Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) finance quatre programmes sociaux. Ces programmes visent à aider les membres des Premières Nations et leurs collectivités à devenir plus autonomes, à protéger les personnes et les familles susceptibles d'être victimes de violence, à fournir du soutien à la prévention afin de permettre aux personnes et aux familles de mieux prendre soin de leurs enfants et à soutenir une participation accrue au marché du travail.

Cette activité de programme aide les hommes, les femmes et les enfants des Premières Nations à acquérir une plus grande indépendance et une plus grande autonomie dans les réserves, partout au Canada, en acheminant des fonds aux Premières Nations, aux représentants des provinces et à d'autres qui fournissent aux résidents des réserves et aux Premières Nations du Yukon des services individuels et familiaux conçus et mis en œuvre en collaboration avec des partenaires.

Ces services aident les collectivités des Premières Nations à répondre à des besoins essentiels et spéciaux; à soutenir l'employabilité et la participation au marché du travail; à assurer la sécurité des personnes et des familles. Les Premières Nations engagées dans la promotion de leur propre développement sont davantage en mesure d'optimiser les possibilités que leur collectivité leur offre et contribuent ainsi de façon active à l'ensemble de l'économie et de la société canadienne.

AANC finance la prestation de quatre programmes clés de développement social dans les collectivités des Premières Nations :

Ressources supplémentaires :

Autres liens d'intérêt :

Date de modification :