Water

Access to safe drinking water, the effective treatment of wastewater and the protection of sources of drinking water on First Nation lands is a priority for the Government of Canada. First Nations should expect, as do all Canadians, access to safe, clean and reliable drinking water.

Our government and First Nations have a shared goal of supporting First Nation communities in providing access to safe, clean and reliable drinking water.

The Government of Canada continues to support a comprehensive plan to improve drinking water and wastewater systems on First Nation lands founded on four pillars: enforceable standards and protocols; infrastructure investments; enhanced capacity building and operator training; and, protection of public health.

Standards, Guidelines and the Safe Drinking Water for First Nations Act

AANDC has established water and wastewater protocols to help ensure that residents on First Nation lands enjoy standards of health and safety comparable to other Canadians. Standards are necessary to maintain water quality and to protect the substantial investments in First Nation water and wastewater systems. For more information on standards, protocols, please visit Standards, Guidelines and the Safe Drinking Water for First Nations Act.

While all provinces and territories have regulations governing drinking water and wastewater management, there are no regulations governing this on First Nation lands. AANDC protocols and standards are not supported by enforceable regulations. Federal regulations are a vital step toward ensuring residents on First Nation lands have similar health and safety protections for drinking water as other Canadians.

The Safe Drinking Water for First Nations Act (the Act) came into force on November 1, 2013. The Act enables the Federal Government to work together with First Nations, their technical experts, and other stakeholders to develop enforceable federal regulations that will better ensure access to safe, clean, and reliable drinking water, the effective treatment of wastewater, and the protection of sources of drinking water on First Nation lands. Regulations will be developed concurrently on a region-by-region basis. For more information on the development of the regulations, please visit the Safe Drinking Water for First Nations Act page.

Investments in Infrastructure

Between 2006 and 2014, the Government has invested approximately $3 billion in water and wastewater infrastructure and related public health activities to support First Nation communities in managing their water and wastewater systems. Also, on February 17, 2014 Economic Action Plan 2014 committed to the continued implementation of the First Nations Water and Wastewater Action Plan with an additional $323.4 million over two years to improve water and wastewater infrastructure in First Nation communities.

First Nations also invest in water and wastewater systems and activities through own source revenues and various other government sources at the local, provincial and federal level. The investments are steadily improving water services in First Nation communities.

For more information on AANDC's water and wastewater infrastructure investments, please visit Infrastructure Investments in First Nations Water and Wastewater Systems.

Capacity and Training

AANDC supports First Nations in building capacity to operate, monitor, and maintain their drinking water systems and wastewater systems. Through initiatives such as the Circuit Rider Training program, the number of First Nations operators who are certified or in-training toward certification is steadily increasing.

For more information on how AANDC helps support First Nations in acquiring training and building capacity, please visit Capacity and Training.

Protection of Public Health

Health Canada supports First Nations communities south of 60° in ensuring that drinking water is monitored pursuant to the Guidelines for Canadian Drinking Water Quality. Health Canada provides public health advice on-reserve and funds and trains Community-Based Water Quality Monitors.

What Information is Available?

L'eau

Le Budget de 2016 annonce :

  • 1,8 milliard de dollars sur cinq ans, à compter de 2016-2017, pour améliorer l'infrastructure d'approvisionnement en eau potable et de traitement des eaux usées dans les réserves, afin de répondre aux besoins en matière de santé et de sécurité, de veiller à l'exploitation et à l'entretien adéquats des installations et de mettre fin aux avis à long terme concernant la qualité de l'eau potable dans les réserves.

L'accès à de l'eau potable, le traitement efficace des eaux usées et la protection des sources d'eau potable sur les terres des Premières Nations est une priorité pour le gouvernement du Canada. Les Premières Nations, comme tous les Canadiens, doivent avoir accès à une source fiable d'eau potable propre et salubre.

Le gouvernement du Canada et les Premières Nations ont pour objectif commun d'aider les collectivités des Premières Nations à s'approvisionner en eau potable salubre et fiable.

Le plan global pour améliorer les systèmes de traitement des eaux usées et d'approvisionnement en eau potable sur les terres des Premières Nations se fonde sur quatre piliers :

  • établissement de normes et de protocoles exécutoires
  • investissements dans l'infrastructure
  • amélioration du développement des capacités et de la formation des opérateurs
  • protection de la santé publique

Procédure ayant trait aux avis concernant la qualité de l'eau potable dans les communautés des Premières nations au sud du 60e parallèle

Obtenez plus de renseignements sur la Procédure ayant trait aux avis concernant la qualité de l'eau potable dans les communautés des Premières nations au sud du 60e parallèle sur le site Web de Santé Canada, et consultez ce tableau infographique des principaux elements.

Normes, lignes directrices et Loi sur la salubrité de l'eau potable des Premières Nations

AANC a conçu des protocoles sur l'eau potable et les eaux usées afin que les résidants sur les terres des Premières Nations jouissent de normes en matière de santé et de sécurité comparables à celles qui s'appliquent aux autres Canadiens. Des normes sont essentielles pour maintenir la qualité de l'eau et protéger les investissements considérables dans les systèmes d'eau potable et de traitement des eaux usées des Premières Nations. Pour obtenir plus d'information sur les normes et les protocoles, consultez Normes et lignes directrices et la Loi sur la salubrité de l'eau potable des Premières Nations.

Bien qu'il existe des règlements sur la gestion de l'eau potable et des eaux usées dans l'ensemble des provinces et des territoires, aucun règlement ne s'applique sur les terres des Premières Nations. Les normes et les protocoles d'AANC ne sont pas appuyés par des règles exécutoires. Il est essentiel de mettre en place des règles fédérales pour faire en sorte que les résidants sur les terres des Premières Nations aient des protections semblables à celles dont jouissent les autres Canadiens en matière de santé et de sécurité de l'eau potable.

La Loi sur la salubrité de l'eau potable des Premières Nations est entrée en vigueur le 1er novembre 2013. La Loi permet au gouvernement fédéral de travailler avec les Premières Nations, leurs experts techniques et d'autres intervenants afin de créer des règles fédérales exécutoires qui garantiront un meilleur accès à une eau potable salubre et fiable, un traitement efficace des eaux usées et la protection des sources d'eau potable sur les terres des Premières Nations. Des règles seront élaborées en parallèle pour chaque région.

Investissements antérieurs dans l'infrastructure

Entre 2006 et 2014, le gouvernement du Canada a investi environ 3 milliards de dollars dans l'infrastructure de l'eau potable et des eaux usées et dans les activités de santé publique connexes, afin d'aider les Premières Nations à gérer leurs systèmes d'aqueduc et d'égout.

Les Premières Nations investissent aussi dans leurs systèmes d'eau potable et d'eaux usées et dans les activités connexes grâce à leurs propres sources de revenus ou à d'autres sources gouvernementales à l'échelle locale, provinciale et fédérale. Ces investissements améliorent constamment l'efficacité des services d'eau et d'eaux usées dans les collectivités des Premières Nations.

Capacité et formation

AANC appuie les efforts des Premières Nations pour renforcer la capacité de leurs collectivités à exploiter, surveiller et entretenir leurs réseaux d'eau potable et d'eaux usées. Des projets comme le Programme de formation itinérante se traduisent par une augmentation constante du nombre d'opérateurs des Premières Nations qui sont certifiés ou qui suivent une formation pour obtenir leur certification.

Protection de la santé publique

Santé Canada appuie les collectivités des Premières Nations au sud du 60e parallèle en veillant à ce que la qualité de l'eau potable fasse l'objet d'un suivi aux termes des Recommandations pour la qualité de l'eau potable au Canada. Santé Canada fournit des conseils sur la santé publique dans les réserves, en plus de financer et de former des surveillants de la qualité de l'eau pour les collectivités.

Renseignements disponibles

Date de modification :