Oil and Gas and Energy

Oil and gas and energy are an important part of the Canadian economy. The cost of energy, the development of renewable energy sources, and the need to reduce greenhouse gas emissions are becoming increasingly important to all Canadians.

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) is committed to engaging Aboriginal peoples and northern communities in strategies to develop knowledge, capacity and tools to improve access to renewable energy sources; especially in remote communities.

Through our special operating agency, Indian Oil and Gas Canada (IOGC), we are ensuring equitable production, fair prices and proper collection of royalties for oil and gas production on reserve lands.

Indian Oil and Gas Canada

Indian Oil and Gas Canada (IOGC) is a special operating agency with an Executive Director who reports to the Assistant Deputy Minister of Lands and Economic Development at AANDC. IOGC is responsible for carrying out the legal obligations of the federal government related to the management of oil and gas resources on First Nation lands, and to support First Nation initiatives for managing and controlling their oil and gas resources.

IOGC operates under the authority of the Indian Oil and Gas Act and the Indian Oil and Gas Regulations, 1995. The Indian Oil and Gas Act was amended in 2009. The amendments will help to ensure environmental protection of First Nation lands, increase regulatory compliance, and facilitate the collection of royalties and other monetary compensation due, as well as modernize outdated regulations and provide greater certainty for all stakeholders. Work is proceeding on new regulations under the new Act. Once the regulations are finalized the new Act will come into force. This will create a modern up-to-date system for regulation of oil and gas production on reserve lands.

IOGC represents more than 50 First Nations with oil and gas agreements in the provinces of British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba. In the last five years IOGC has collected over $1 billion from oil and gas activities on behalf of First Nations.

First Nations Oil and Gas and Moneys Management Act

The First Nations Oil and Gas and Moneys Management Act (FNOGMMA) was developed through a collaborative effort by the federal government, Siksika, Blood Tribe and White Bear First Nations. This federal legislation provides First Nations with the option to manage their reserve oil and gas resources currently managed on their behalf by Canada and also provides First Nations with the option of managing moneys currently held in trust for them by Canada. First Nations can choose to opt into either part of FNOGMMA, or both. It is not necessary to have oil and gas resources for First Nations interested in the moneys management component of FNOGMMA.

Future options for participation under the FNOGMMA are currently being explored by AANDC. If you would like further information on the oil and gas option, please contact Indian Oil and Gas Canada. Learn more about the moneys option here.

What Information is Available?

For further information contact:

Indian Oil and Gas Canada
Suite 100, 9911 Chiila Boulevard
Calgary, Alberta T2W 6H6
Telephone: 403-292-5625
Facsimile: 403-292-5618
E-mail: ContactIOGC@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

You may also be interested in:

Pétrole, gaz et énergie

Le pétrole, le gaz et l'énergie sont des composantes importantes de l'économie canadienne. Le coût de l'énergie, l'exploitation de sources d'énergie renouvelable et la nécessité de réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre sont des questions de plus en plus importantes pour tous les Canadiens.

Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) est déterminé à favoriser la participation des Autochtones et des collectivités du Nord à l'élaboration de stratégies pour développer les connaissances et les capacités et élaborer des outils offrant un meilleur accès à des sources d'énergie renouvelable, surtout dans les collectivités éloignées.

Par l'entremise de notre organisme de service spécial, Pétrole et gaz des Indiens du Canada (PGIC), nous assurons une production équitable, des prix justes et la perception adéquate des redevances liées à la production de pétrole et de gaz sur les terres des réserves indiennes.

Pétrole et gaz des Indiens du Canada

Pétrole et gaz des Indiens du Canada (PGIC) est un organisme de service spécial, dont le directeur exécutif relève du sous-ministre adjoint du Secteur des terres et du développement économique d'AANC. PGIC a la responsabilité d'exécuter les obligations juridiques du gouvernement en ce qui concerne la gestion des ressources pétrolières et gazières tirées des terres des Premières Nations et d'appuyer les initiatives de gestion et de contrôle de ces ressources par les Premières Nations.

PGIC est assujetti à la Loi sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes et au Règlement de 1995 sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes. La Loi sur le pétrole et le gaz des terres indiennes a été modifiée en 2009. Ces modifications aideront à assurer la protection environnementale sur les terres des Premières Nations ainsi qu'une plus grande conformité à la réglementation, et à faciliter la perception des redevances et autres indemnités pécuniaires dues, de même qu'à moderniser des règlements désuets et à apporter plus de certitude pour tous les intervenants. La rédaction de nouveaux règlements découlant de la nouvelle version de la Loi est en cours. La nouvelle version de la Loi entrera en vigueur lorsque les règlements seront finalisés. Cette législation constituera un système moderne, actualisé, pour réglementer la production du pétrole et du gaz sur les terres de réserve.

PGIC représente plus de 50 Premières Nations signataires d'accords relatifs au pétrole et au gaz, en Colombie-Britannique, en Alberta, en Saskatchewan et au Manitoba. Au cours des cinq dernières années, PGIC a perçu au nom des Premières Nations plus d'un milliard de dollars résultant des activités pétrolières et gazières.

Loi sur la gestion du pétrole et du gaz et des fonds des Premières Nations

La Loi sur la gestion du pétrole et du gaz et des fonds des Premières Nations (LGPGFPN) a été élaborée en collaboration, par le gouvernement fédéral, la Nation de Siksika, la tribu des Blood et les Premières Nations de White Bear. Cette loi fédérale offre aux Premières Nations l'option de gérer les ressources pétrolières et gazières de leurs réserves, lesquelles sont actuellement gérées en leur nom par le Canada, ainsi que l'option de gérer les fonds que le Canada détient actuellement en fiducie à leur nom. Les Premières Nations peuvent choisir d'adhérer à l'une ou l'autre partie de la LGPGFPN ou aux deux. Les Premières Nations intéressées ne sont pas tenues d'avoir elles-mêmes des ressources pétrolières et gazières pour adhérer à la composante de gestion monétaire de la LGPGFPN.

AANC envisage la possibilité d'offrir d'autres options de participation à la LGPGFPN. Pour obtenir plus d'information sur l'option relative au pétrole et au gaz, veuillez communiquer avec Pétrole et gaz des Indiens du Canada. Pour en apprendre davantage au sujet de l'option monétaire ici.

Coordonnées

Pétrole et gaz des Indiens du Canada

9911, boulevard Chiila, bureau 100
Calgary (Alberta) T2W 6H6
Téléphone : 403-292-5625
Télécopieur : 403-292-5618
Courriel : ContactIOGC@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Liens connexes

Date de modification :