Reports - Canada

Table of contents

1.0  Purpose

The purpose of this national summary is to provide an overview and analysis of the data contained in the Indian mineral inventory completed March 31 1990.

2.0 The Inventory

The inventory comprises 45 volumes including approximately 18,000 pages and 10,000 maps. The "Mineral Resource Potential of Indian Reserve Lands" report was completed to the Stage I (Literature Search) level for each Indian reserve in Canada. A Stage I inventory is defined as a review and record of all available material on the geology, geophysics, geochemistry, economic geology, and mineral operations of a reserve and its surrounding area. The minerals under discussion are grouped under five main headings: metallic, non-metallic, aggregate, water and peat.

2.1  The Regional Inventories

The "Mineral Resource Potential of Indian Reserves Lands" report was compiled according to the geographic boundaries of the provinces and territories and not according to the boundaries of the 9 DIAND regions. The rationale is that the inventory is a geographic or geologic database not an administrative manual. A database and a "User's Guide" have been developed to assist users in understanding and utilizing the information contained in the inventory.

3.0  The Indian Reserve Land Base in Canada

The inventory comprises geoscientific information on 2267 Indian reserves. Total land base of these 2267 reserves is approximately 2.6 million hectares or 0.2 percent of the total land area of Canada.

The table below summarizes the Indian reserve and land statistics contained in the inventory:

Region BANDS RESERVES LAND BASE (ha) AVE AREA (ha)
Atlantic 32 68 29,561.6 434
Quebec 26 31 77,131.5 2488
Ontario 113 189 709,985.8 3756
Manitoba 53 104 214,803.7 2065
Sask. 69 143 616,815.9 4313
Alberta 40 100 668,880.1 6688
B.C. 200 1606 353,324.2 217
NWT 1 2 562.1 281
Yukon 7 24 499.6 83
TOTALS 551 2267 2,671,564.5 1176

4.0  The Mineral Inventory Database

For each Indian reserve contained in the inventory, a computer data record sheet has been prepared which captures up to 51 descriptive items of information summarizing the geographical and mineral characteristics. This record of mineral potential and current activities on reserves can be aggregated to a band, regional or national level for statistical evaluation.

The following is a summary of information contained in the inventory for a preliminary evaluation of the Indian mineral resource potential in Canada. Two systems of rating have been developed to provide means to assess mineral potential: an individual commodity rating and an overall reserve rating. Each addresses a different perspective of potential and when used together aid in accurately assessing a realistic mineral potential for a reserve.

4.1  Overall Ratings

A 3-point scale (low-moderate-good) rates the mineral potential for economic development of each reserve as a whole. Factors which affect this rating are: size of the reserve; quantity and quality of the minerals; location with respect to markets, transportation, access; value and type of commodity; social and cultural barriers to mining on certain lands and areas; marketability of a commodity at any given time, etc.

A moderate or good rating implies that some indication of mineral potential is present. More geoscientific work on such reserves is indicated to validate the preliminary assessment and determine whether a specific reserve can be proven to have a mineable deposit.

Reserves have been rated for their mineral resource potential as follows:

Region Overall Rating
  LOW MODERATE GOOD
Atlantic 46 19 3
Quebec 19 9 3
Ontario 82 69 38
Manitoba 65 27 12
Sask. 87 47 9
Alberta 73 20 7
B.C. 1194 356 56
NWT 1 1 0
Yukon 15 5 4
CANADA 1582 553 132

4.2  Commodity Ratings With Potential

A total of 3276 mineral occurrences on reserves have been identified from all five commodity or mineral types (metallic, non-metallic, aggregate, peat and water). The list comprises nearly 120 different minerals and commodities.

The commodity rating is an evaluation, on a clearly defined scale from 1 (very low) to 5 (very high), of the potential of a mineral or commodity as an economic opportunity in terms of its geology, type, location, marketability, etc., based on the available information. Since it is impossible to determine the likelihood of a mine for a given mineral occurrence, the scale is structured to measure the sum of the favourable evidence as an indicator of the potential. This view is valid when one understands that merely the search for minerals (exploration) is an economic opportunity for bands in light of the very low chance of locating a mine. This estimate is based on data collected from many sources and considers a wide area surrounding the reserves. A known mineral occurrence on a reserve with poor geological characteristics may be given a low rating, conversely a commodity as yet unproven to be on reserve may be rated very highly based on evidence of an adjacent deposit off-reserve.

In order to gauge more accurately the existing opportunities in minerals, the following analysis examines those reserves with commodities rated at 3, 4 or 5 on the scale of one to five (where one is very low potential and 5 is very high):

  • The number of reserves possessing at least one commodity, rated at 3 or greater, is 317. These 317 reserves share a total of 596 commodity occurrences.
  • Of the 596 occurrences, 265 (44%) are metallic minerals; 331 (56%) are non-metallic, aggregate, or other minerals/mineral types.
  • Of the approximately 537 bands identified in the inventory, 210 are highlighted as having significant mineral potential (greater than 3 on the commodity scale of 1 to 5).

4.3  Reserves at the Exploration Phase

The search for minerals and their exploitation can be considered in three phases: exploration, development and production. The exploration phase groups the myriad activities which are necessary in the detection, evaluation and measurement of deposits of minerals.

The mineral inventory report is the equivalent of Exploration Phase Stage I (literature search), which has been completed. The number of reserves in all Regions which have undergone some form of subsequent exploration activity beyond Stage I is:

Exploration Stage Non-Metallic Metallic Aggregate Peat Water
Stage II - Reconnaissance 80 52 219 7 19
Stage III - Testing 58 38 185 3 10
Stage IV - Drilling 24 15 30 0 0
Stage V - Feasibility 7 9 21 1 0
ALL STAGES 169 113 455 11 29

4.4  Reserves at the Development Phase

This phase is the step in the progression between exploration and production of a specific mineral deposit where the land and orebody is prepared for the actual mining operations. Activities may range from tree cutting, fencing, and stripping of topsoil to detailed drilling programs, shaft and adit sinking, open pit excavations, etc.

Many reserves have experienced some form of development work related to their mineral resources. Some of those have been proven to have little or no mineral potential as a result of information derived from such work, or work was discontinued due to outside influences such as company failures or dropping markets.

The number of reserves deemed to have had some activity at the development phase is as follows:

Region Metallic Non-metallic Aggregate Water Peat
Atlantic 0 0 0 0 0
Quebec 0 1 0 0 0
Ontario 7 0 0 0 0
Manitoba 0 0 1 0 0
Sask. 1 0 4 0 0
Alberta 0 4 7 0 0
B.C. 16 16 44 0 0
NWT 0 0 0 0 0
Yukon 0 0 0 0 0
CANADA 24 21 56 0 0

4.5  Reserves at the Production Phase

Production phase refers to the actual extraction of material or mineral by any mining process, past or present, which is stockpiled, used on or sold off-reserve.

The number of reserves at the production phase is listed below. These figures consider any form of extraction of minerals for sale on or off reserve and includes cases of production of materials with a low commodity rating. It is noteworthy that many small gravel pits operate for local use (roads, construction, etc.) and are not included in this database.

Region Metallic Non-metallic Aggregate Water Peat
Atlantic 0 0 0 1 1
Quebec 0 0 0 0 1
Ontario 0 2 28 0 0
Manitoba 1 1 7 0 0
Sask. 1 0 0 7 0
Alberta 0 5 12 0 0
B.C. 11 13 49 0 0
NWT 0 0 0 0 0
Yukon 0 0 0 0 0
CANADA 13 21 113 1 2

5.0  Key Indian Mineral Facts

The inventory records 3276 separate mineral occurrences on the 2267 Indian reserves.

Of 3276 mineral occurrences, 596 are considered to be of significant interest (rated 3 or greater on a scale of 1 to 5), 265 for metallic and 331 for non-metallic minerals.

Nationally, 317 Indian reserves have one or more mineral commodity rated at 3 or greater on the scale of from 1 to 5.

Since 1900, 609 reserves have undergone some level of exploration activity for non-metallic minerals at Stages II to V.

Mineral production from mining in some form is known to have occurred on 150 Indian reserves. Actual figures for revenues, royalties and volumes of production are available only for only those most recent permits where monitoring has been possible.

Rating all 2267 Indian reserves' characteristics and mineral potential overall, 553 reserves are considered to have moderate potential for mineral development, 132 are considered to have good, or the highest rating overall.

44% of Indian reserves in Ontario are located within the Greenstone Belt, which alone accounted for approximately $7B worth of mineral production in 1989.

6.0  Mineral Surrenders

The Indian Lands Registry indicates that 136 reserves have surrendered their minerals. Generally, sand and gravel, stone, peat and water do not require a surrender, whereas metallic substances such as gold, silver, copper, lead and zinc do. In Canada, minerals have frequently been combined with petroleum, oil and gas in a broad general form of surrender.

Different federal/provincial regimes affect the surrender of minerals because of outstanding mineral ownership issues. Where the ownership is claimed by a province, the minerals may revert to the province when they are surrendered. In these provinces, this issue is a strong disincentive for affected bands considering mineral development on their lands.

Surrenders are also unpopular because of the reluctance that bands have to participate in "surrenders" with the unpopular connotations associated with that word. The scarcity of mineral developments requiring surrenders is due to such factors as poor knowledge base, confusion and disincentives relating to ownership of the mineral rights, and a lack of a means or mechanisms to effectively take advantage of mineral opportunities as they arise.

7.0  Mineral Permits and Leases on Indian Lands

The Indian Lands Registry has recorded 564 mineral related permits, leases and/or agreements since record keeping was begun. Of these, approximately 80 were for non-metallic minerals, 2 for metallic minerals, 346 for aggregates and 139 did not state the commodity type (some incorporating more than one type of minerals).

Regional breakdown for mineral permits, leases and/or agreements is as follows:

Region Number
Atlantic 20
Quebec 13
Ontario 182
Manitoba 16
Sask. 25
Alberta 63
B.C. 245
NWT 0
Yukon 0
CANADA 564

Since 1985, 47 Permits or Leases have been issued for the development of mineral resources on Indian reserves, 43 in western Canada. In 1989 and 1990 there were 6 and 2 respectively. Up to 6 more Permits are in negotiation or planning at any given time.

As illustrated in the above diagram, when averaged on a national basis 72% of mineral agreements are undertaken by the private sector, 14% by provincial governments, 6% by municipalities, 3% by bands, and federal organizations participated in only 1% of agreements. Three percent of the total number of registry entries were undetermined.

7.1  Mineral Revenues

At the present time there are 16 current or outstanding Permits or Leases for the exploration or sale and removal of mineral products from Indian reserves in Canada. Fifteen of these identify aggregate or non-metallic minerals as the commodity in question and one identifies a metallic mineral (uranium).

The royalties paid to Indian bands by companies providing financial statements for these 16 Permits and Leases over their entire terms up to the date of this report is $2,592,311.40. A further $1,236,599.00 is estimated for which financial statements were not available, for a total of $3,834,910.4.

8.0  Indian Bands and the Mining Industry

While development of mineral resources on Indian lands holds the potential to create many jobs in the future, a source of employment which must be tapped is with private sector mining activities off reserve.

52 reserves are situated within 10 kilometres of the 385 principle industrial mineral and metallic mineral mines. Approximately 802 reserves (36%) are situated within 50 kilometres (an easy commuting distance) of those same 385 principle industrial mineral and metallic mineral mines. These mines each employ on national average 479 workers for a total of nearly 182,000 direct jobs. Using the Employment Equity figure of 2.8 percent approximately 5100 of these jobs should be held by Natives . This figure is low when one considers the true nature of the typical remote mining community with comparatively higher local native populations. Presently approximately 2600 natives are employed by the mines based on a 1986 figure.

9.0  Conclusion

Half of all Indian bands in this country could benefit from the economic development opportunities resulting from the exploration and development of mineral resources on or near their lands. These opportunities may be translated in terms of income from permits and leases, joint ventures, spin-off businesses such as trucking, catering or prospecting, self or full time employment, new training initiatives and career development.

Total mineral exploration expenditures in Canada was between $750 and $850 million in 1990. This sector has the potential to be a major contributor to the economic growth of First Nations.

October 1991

Date modified:

Rapports - Canada

Table des matières

1.0  Objet

Le présent résumé national a pour objet d'offrir une vue d'ensemble et une analyse des données que contient l'inventaire des minéraux indiens, achevé le 31 mars 1990.

2.0 L'inventaire

Cet inventaire comporte 45 volumes, soit environ 18 000 pages et 10 000 cartes. Le rapport intitulé «Potentiel minéral des terres de réserve» est l'aboutissement de l'Étape I (recherche de la documentation), portant sur toutes les réserves indiennes au Canada. On définit un inventaire d'étape I comme l'examen et l'enregistrement de toute la documentation disponible sur l'exploitation géologique, géophysique, géochimique, géologique économique et minérale d'une réserve et de ses environs. Les minéraux s'inscrivent dans cinq grandes catégories : métallique, non métallique, agrégat, eau et tourbe; ou en trouvera une définition à l'Annexe 1.

2.1  Inventaires régionaux

Le rapport intitulé «Potentiel minéral des terres de réserve» est dressé en fonction des limites géographiques des provinces et territoires, et non de celles des 9 régions du MAINC, car on estime que l'inventaire est une base de données géographiques et géologiques, et non un manuel administratif. Nous avons créé une basse de données et un «Guide de l'usager» pour aider les usagers à comprendre les informations que renferme l'inventaire, et à les utiliser.

3.0  Superficie des terres indiennes au Canada

L'inventaire comporte des données géoscientifiques sur 2 267 réserves indiennes, dont la superficie s'élève à environ 2,6 millions d'hectares, soit 0,2 p. 100 de la superficie terrestre du Canada.

Voici un tableau résumant les statistiques sur les réserves et terres indiennes dont traite l'inventaire:

RÉGION BANDES RÉSERVES SUPERFICIE (ha) SUPERFICIE MOY. (ha)
Atlantique 32 68 29,561.6 434
Québec 26 31 77,131.5 2488
Ontario 113 189 709,985.8 3756
Manitoba 53 104 214,803.7 2065
Sask. 69 143 616,815.9 4313
Alberta 40 100 668,880.1 6688
C.-B. 200 1606 353,324.2 217
T.N.-O 1 2 562.1 281
Yukon 7 24 499.6 83
TOTALS 551 2267 2,671,564.5 1176

4.0  Base de données sur l'inventaire de minéraux

Une feuille de données informatiques, préparée pour chaque réserve dans l'inventaire, fournit jusqu'à 51 éléments descriptifs résumant les caractéristiques géographiques et minérales. Ces données sur le potentiel minéral et l'activité actuelle des réserves peuvent être rapportées à chaque bande, aux régions et à la nation, à des fins d'évaluation statistique.

Suit un sommaire des informations que renferme l'inventaire en vue d'une évaluation préliminaire du potentiel des ressources minérales au Canada. On a élaboré deux systèmes pour coter le minéral potentiel: une cote individuelle par type de produit, et une cote globale pour la réserve. Chacune traite du potentiel sous un angle différent, de sorte qu'ensemble elles permettent d'évaluer précisément et de façon réaliste le potentiel minéral d'une réserve.

4.1  Cote d'évaluation globale

Le potentiel de mise en valeur des minéraux dans l'ensemble d'une réserve est coté selon une échelle à 3 niveaux: faible, moyen et fort. Les facteurs suivants entrent en jeu: importance de la réserve; quantité et qualité des minéraux: emplacement relativement aux marchés; transports; voies d'accès; type et valeur des produits; entraves sociales et culturelles à l'exploitation minière dans certains secteurs et terres; facilité d'écoulement d'une marchandise à un moment donné; etc.

Une cote moyenne ou forte signale qu'il existe un potentiel minéral; il faut alors poursuivre les études géoscientifiques dans la réserve, afin de valider l'évaluation préliminaire et de déterminer s'il est possible d'établir qu'une réserve recèle des gisements de minéraux.

Voici comment se répartissent les cotes des réserves:

Région Nombre de réserves
  Faible Moyen Bon
Atlantique 46 19 3
Québec 19 9 3
Ontario 82 69 38
Manitoba 65 27 12
Sask. 87 47 9
Alberta 73 20 7
C.-B. 1194 356 56
T.N.-O 1 1 0
Yukon 15 5 4
Totaux 1582 553 132

4.2  Cote d'évaluation des produits, avec leur potentiel

On a détecté un total de 3 276 gisements de minéraux dans les réserves pour les cinq types de produits ou de minéraux (métalliques, non métalliques, agrégats, tourbe et eau). La liste comporte près de 120 minéraux et produits différents.

La cote évalue, selon une échelle précise de 1 (très faible) à 5 (très élevé), le potentiel économique d'un minéral ou d'un produit, sous plusieurs angles: géologie, type, emplacement, valeur marchande, etc., selon les renseignements disponibles. Comme il est impossible de déterminer les possibilités d'une exploitation minière pour un gisement de minéraux, l'échelle est structurée de manière que l'ensemble des preuves favorables fournisse une indication du potentiel. Cette méthode se justifie si l'on songe que même la recherche de minéraux (exploration) constitue une occasion économique pour les bandes, vu qu'il est rare qu'une mine en résulte. L'évaluation se fonde sur des données recueillies à des sources multiples, et porte sur un vaste secteur tout autour des réserves. Un gisement connu dans une réserve peut être mal coté en raison de facteurs géologiques, tandis qu'un produit peut être très bien coté, malgré qu'aucune preuve de sa présence dans la réserve ne soit faite, parce qu'un gisement adjacent semble exister le long de la réserve.

L'analyse ci-dessous, qui à évaluer précisément le potentiel des minéraux, porte sur les réserves cotées 3,4 ou 5 sur une échelle de 1 à 5 (1 = très faible, 5 = très élevé):

  • On compte 317 réserves renfermant au moins un produit coté 3 ou plus, pour un total de 596 gisements.

  • De ces 596 gisements, 265 (44 %) sont des minéraux métalliques, et 331 (56 %) des minéraux non métalliques, des agrégats, ou d'autres minéraux ou types de minéraux.

  • Des 537 bandes environ comprises dans l'inventaire, 210 auraient un important potentiel minéral, c'est-à-dire de plus de 3 sur l'échelle de 1 à 5.

4.3  Réserves au stade de l'exploration

On peut considérer que la recherche de minéraux, ainsi que leur exploitation, comporte trois stades: exploration, mise en valeur, production. Le stade exploratoire regroupe les milliers d'actes qui servent à détecter les gisements de minéraux, à les évaluer et à les mesurer.

Le rapport sur l'inventaire des minéraux est l'équivalent de l'Étape I du stade d'exploration (recherche dans la documentation), qui est achevé. Voici le nombre de réserves, dans l'ensemble des régions, où l'on observe une exploration, sous une forme ou une autre, qui dépasse le cadre de l'Étape I:

Étape d'exploration Non métallique Métallique Agrégats Tourbe Eau
Étape II - Reconnaissance 80 52 219 7 19
Étape III - Test 58 38 185 3 10
Étape IV - Forage 24 15 30 0 0
Étape V - Faisabilité 7 9 21 1 0
Totaux 169 113 455 11 29

4.4  Réserves au stade de la mise en valeur

Dans cette étape intermédiaire entre l'exploration et la production d'un gisement minéral, la terre et la masse minérale sont apprêtées en vue de l'exploitation minière (abattage des arbres, clôture, décapage du mort-terrain, exécution de programmes détaillés de forage, creusement de puits et de galeries d'accès, excavations à ciel ouvert, etc.).

Les ressources minérales dans beaucoup de réserves ont fait l'objet d'une mise en valeur, sous une forme ou une autre. L'information qu'on en a retiré a parfois permis d'établir que le potentiel minéral était faible ou nul; parfois, les travaux ont cessé en raison de facteurs externes (faillite d'une entreprise, chute des cours).

Voici le nombre de réserves qui auraient fait l'objet d'une mise en valeur:

Région Métallique Non métallique Agrégats Eau Tourbe
Atlantique 0 0 0 0 0
Québec 0 1 0 0 0
Ontario 7 0 0 0 0
Manitoba 0 0 1 0 0
Sask. 1 0 4 0 0
Alberta 0 4 7 0 0
C.-B. 16 16 44 0 0
T.N.-O 0 0 0 0 0
Yukon 0 0 0 0 0
Totaux 24 21 56 0 0

4.5  Réserves au stade de la production

Le stade de production désigne l'extraction passée ou présente, par n'importe qu'elle méthode, de matières ou de minéraux qui sont ensuite stockés, utilisés ou vendus hors de la réserve.

On indique ci-dessous le nombre de réserves qui en sont à l'étape de la production. Sont comprises dans ces chiffres toutes les formes d'extraction de minéraux en vue de la vente dans les réserves ou hors d'elles, y compris des minéraux dont la cote d'évaluation est faible. À noter que les réserves comptent déjà beaucoup de petites carrières de gravier à usage local (routes, construction, etc.) dont cette base de données ne rend pas compte.

Région Métallique Non métallique Agrégats Eau Tourbe
Atlantique 0 0 0 1 1
Québec 0 0 0 0 1
Ontario 0 2 28 0 0
Manitoba 1 1 7 0 0
Sask. 1 0 0 7 0
Alberta 0 5 12 0 0
C.-B. 11 13 49 0 0
T.N.-O 0 0 0 0 0
Yukon 0 0 0 0 0
Totaux 13 21 113 1 2

5.0  Faits clés sur les minéraux dans les réserves indiennes

L'inventaire répertorie 3276 occurrences minérales distinctes dans 2267 réserves indiennes.

Des 3276 occurrences minérales, 596 présentent un intérêt significatif (cotées 3 ou plus sur une échelle de 1 à 5), 265 étant des occurrences de minéraux métalliques et 331 des occurrences de minéraux non métalliques.

À l'échelle nationale, 317 réserves indiennes recèlent un ou plusieurs minéraux cotés à au moins 3 sur l'échelle de 1 à 5.

Depuis 1900, 609 réserves ont été quelque peu explorées pour les minéraux non métalliques aux Étapes II à V.

Il y a eu production de minéraux dans 150 réserves indiennes. Les chiffres réels pour les recettes, les redevances et les volumes de production ne sont connus que pour les réserves ayant obtenu un permis d'exploitation récemment et où il a été possible d'exercer un suivi.

Lorsqu'on évalue les caractéristiques et le potentiel minéral des 2267 réserves indiennes, 553 réserves offrent un potentiel minéral moyen, 132 un bon potentiel ou la cote globale la plus élevée.

En Ontario, 44 % des réserves indiennes sont situées dans la ceinture de roches vertes, qui à elle seule a produit des minéraux d'une valeur de quelque sept milliards de dollars en 1989.

6.0  Cession des minéraux

Le Registre des terres indiennes indique que 136 réserves ont cédé leurs minéraux. En général, le sable et le gravier, la pierre, la tourbe et l'eau ne nécessitent pas de cession contrairement aux substances métalliques comme l'or, l'argent, le cuivre, le plomb et le zinc. Au Canada, les minéraux ont été souvent combinés au pétrole et au gaz dans le cadre général d'une cession.

Différents régimes fédéraux et provinciaux s'appliquent à la cession des minéraux à cause de questions en litige sur la propriété des minéraux. Lorsque le droit de propriété est revendiqué par une province, les minéraux peuvent retourner à la province lorsqu'ils sont cédés. Dans ces provinces, une telle situation s'avère une contre-incitation réelle pour les bandes concernées qui envisagent de mettre en valeur des réserves minérales sur leurs terres.

Les cessions sont également impopulaires étant donné la répugnance des bandes à devoir participer à des «cessions», surtout à cause de la connotation négative liée à ce mot. La rareté des exploitations minières nécessitant des cessions est due à certains facteurs comme le peu de connaissances sur le sujet, la confusion et les contre-incitations que représentent la propriété de droits miniers et le manque de moyens ou de mécanismes pour tirer avantage des possibilités de mise en valeur qui se présentent.

7.0  Permis et baux pour des minéraux sur les terres indiennes

Le Registre des terres indiennes a enregistré 564 permis, baux ou accords sur les minéraux depuis sa création; 80 environ portaient sur des minéraux non métalliques, 2 sur des minéraux métalliques et 346 sur des agrégats; 139 ne précisaient pas le type de produit (certains incorporant plus d'un type de minéraux).

Voici la ventilation des permis, baux ou accords sur les minéraux, par région:

Région Numéro
Atlantic 20
Quebec 13
Ontario 182
Manitoba 16
Sask. 25
Alberta 63
B.C. 245
NWT 0
Yukon 0
Canada 564

TOTAL 564 Depuis 1985, on a délivré 47 permis ou baux (dont 43 dans l'ouest du Canada) pour la mise en valeur des ressources minérales dans les réserves indiennes. En 1989 et 1990, on en comptait 6 et 2 respectivement. On compte à tout moment jusqu'à 6 permis en cours de négociation ou de planification.

Si l'on prend la moyenne nationale, tel qu'illustré ci-dessus, 72 % des accords miniers sont conclus par le secteur privé, 14 % par les gouvernements provinciaux, 6 % par les municipalités et 3 % par les bandes, les organismes fédéraux ne participant qu'à 1 % des accords (3 p. 100 du total des inscriptions sont d'origine indéterminée).

7.1   Recettes sur les minéraux

À l'heure actuelle, 16 permis ou baux sont en vigueur pour l'exploration ou la vente et la sortie de produits minéraux de réserves indiennes au Canada. Dans 15 cas, le minéral exploité est un granulat ou un minéral non métallique, et dans le dernier cas, un minéral métallique.

Les redevances versées aux bandes indiennes par les sociétés qui produisent des états financiers relativement à ces 16 permis et baux jusqu'à leur échéance à la date du présent rapport est de 2 592 311,40 $. S'ajoute une somme supplémentaire de 1 236 599,00 $ pour lesquels est estimée sans avoir accès aux états financiers, pour un total de 3 834 910,40 $.

8.0  Les bandes indiennes et l'industrie minière

La mise en valeur des ressources minérales sur les terres indiennes promet de créer beaucoup d'emplois, mais il ne faut pas négliger les emplois que créerait éventuellement l'activité minière du secteur privé hors des réserves.

Cinquante-deux réserves se trouvent dans les 10 kilomètres des 385 principales mines de minéraux industriels et métalliques; environ 802 réserves (36 %) sont situées dans les 50 kilomètres de ces mêmes 385 mines, distance qu'un travailleur pourrait facilement couvrir. Les mines emploient en moyenne 479 travailleurs, soit un total de près de 182 000 emplois directs. Si l'on applique le critère d'Équité dans l'emploi (2,8 p. 100), les autochtones devraient occuper environ 5 100 de ces postes. Ce chiffre est bas si l'on songe à la composition typique des collectivités minières éloignées, qui contiennent un plus fort pourcentage d'autochtones. Selon des statistiques de 1986, 2 600 autochtones travaillent actuellement dans les mines.

9.0  Conclusion

La moitié des bandes canadiennes pourraient bénéficier des occasions de développement économique qu'offre la mise en valeur des ressources minérales sur leurs terres, ou à côté; ces occasions revêtent la forme de redevances pour les permis et baux, d'entreprises en participation, d'emplois secondaires (tels le transport par camion, le ravitaillement ou la prospection), d'emplois indépendants ou à temps plein, de nouvelles initiatives de formation et de perfectionnement de carrière.

En 1990, les dépenses sur l'exploration des minéraux au Canada se sont chiffrées entre 750 et 850 millions de dollars. Ce secteur pourrait éventuellement contribuer énormément à la croissance économique des premières nations.

3 mai 1991

Date de modification :