Mining and Minerals

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada has a statutory authority and responsibilities with regard to mines and minerals as defined in legislation. Historically and geographically the mining regimes are separated as South of 60 and North of 60 as provincial, territorial and federal regulatory frameworks and mineral rights vary across the country.

South of 60

The Indian Act and the Indian Mining Regulations provide for disposition of reserve minerals. Some Federal-Provincial mineral agreements may affect the administration of minerals on First Nations reserve lands and the benefits from their disposition. The development of surface materials, such as sand and gravel is governed by policy and the Guidelines for Unconsolidated Non-Metallic Substances on Reserve Lands that offer direction for the taking, disposition and removal of such minerals, providing for informed decisions and planning strategies. In carrying out its fiduciary obligations AANDC is generally providing a climate that enables First nations to develop and manage their own mineral resources by assisting them to maximize the benefits, ensuring prudent and safe mining management and promoting good environmental stewardship.

AANDC and its regional offices assist the First Nations with developing the instruments used for mineral disposition in the form of permits and leases specifying the terms, conditions and legal contractual obligations for all parties. Regional summaries of the 1990 Mineral Resource Potential of Indian Reserve Lands report, as well as the national summary, explain the mineral potential on reserve lands in each province and territory.

For more information, please contact AANDC's Public Inquiries Contact Centre.

North of 60

Crown lands in Nunavut and the Northwest Territories are managed pursuant to the Territorial Lands Act and its related Regulations. In the northern territories sub-surface lands include hard-rock minerals, precious gems and coal. The rights to these materials are administered through the Nunavut Mining Regulation, the Northwest Territories Mining Regulations and the Territorial Coal Regulations. There is a distinction between sub-surface minerals and surface mineral substances that have specific purposes such as carving stone and building materials. These special use surface minerals are administered through the Territorial Quarry Regulations.

Starting from April 1, 2014, land and resource management responsibilities in the Northwest Territories will be devolved to the Government of the Northwest Territories. The new territorial mining regulations are expected to substantially mirror the federal mining regulations. However, the federal Northwest Territories Mining Regulations will continue to apply to certain specific parcels of lands in the Northwest Territories. These lands are listed in Schedule 4 of the Northwest Territories Devolution Agreement

For more information, visit Mining & Minerals in Nunavut and on Crown Lands under the Administration of AANDC in the Northwest Territories.

You may also be interested in:

Mines et minéraux

La loi confère à Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada des pouvoirs et des responsabilités définis sur les mines et les minéraux. Vu la variété des cadres réglementaires et des droits miniers provinciaux, territoriaux et fédéraux, les régimes miniers canadiens sont séparés historiquement et géographiquement entre le sud et le nord du 60e parallèle.

Sud du 60e parallèle

La Loi sur les Indiens et le Règlement sur l'exploitation minière dans les réserves indiennes prescrivent le mode d'exploitation des minéraux des réserves. Certains accords fédéraux-provinciaux sur les minéraux peuvent influer sur l'administration de ces minéraux dans les terres de réserve des Premières Nations, de même que sur les avantages découlant de leur exploitation. Le développement de matériaux de surface, tels que le sable et le gravier est régie par la politique et les lignes directrices pour les substances non consolidées non métalliques sur des terres de réserve qui offrent direction pour la prise, la disposition et l'enlèvement de ces minéraux, prévoyant des décisions et des stratégies de planification. Dans l'exécution de ses obligations fiduciaires, AANC instaure un climat qui permet généralement aux Premières Nations d'exploiter et de gérer leurs propres ressources minérales, c'est-à-dire qu'il les aide à en optimiser les avantages, à assurer une gestion minière prudente et sécuritaire et à favoriser une saine gestion de l'environnement.

AANC et ses bureaux régionaux aident les Premières Nations à créer les instruments qui régissent l'exploitation des minéraux sous forme de permis et de baux qui fixent les modalités et les obligations contractuelles de chacune des parties. Des rapports régionaux relevant du rapport de 1990 intitulé Potentiel minéral des terres de réserve, de même que le résumé national, expliquent le potentiel minéral des terres de réserve dans chaque province et territoire.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, communiquez avec le Centre de contacts de renseignements du public d'AANC.

Nord du 60e parallèle

Au Nunavut et dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, les terres publiques sont gérées suivant la Loi sur les terres territoriales et les règlements connexes. La définition du sous-sol, dans les territoires du Nord, englobe des minéraux solides, des pierres précieuses et de la houille (charbon). Les droits sur ces matières sont gérés conformément au Règlement sur l'exploitation minière au Nunavut, au Règlement sur l'exploitation minière dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et au Règlement territorial sur la houille. Une distinction est faite entre les minéraux du sous-sol et les substances minérales de surface exploitées à des fins particulières, comme la pierre à sculpter et les matériaux de construction. Ces dernières substances sont administrées en application du Règlement sur l'exploitation de carrières territoriales.

Dès le 1er avril 2014, la responsabilité de la gestion des terres et des ressources dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest sera transférée au gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Le nouveau règlement territorial sur les mines devrait se fonder en grande partie sur le règlement fédéral sur l'exploitation minière. Cependant, le Règlement sur l’exploitation minière dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest continuera de s’appliquer à certaines parties de terres précises dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Les terres sont énumérées à l'annexe 4 de l'Entente sur le transfert de responsabilités aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest (site Web non disponible en français).

Liens connexes

Date de modification :