Treaty Land Entitlement

Find out about the Treaty Land Entitlement process and settlement agreements in Canada.

Treaty Land Entitlement process

First Nations who did not receive all the land they were entitled to under treaties signed by the Crown and First Nations, can file a Treaty Land Entitlement (TLE) claim with the Government of Canada. TLE settlement agreements are negotiated between First Nations and the Government of Canada, typically with the participation of provincial/territorial governments. The federal government must adhere to treaty obligations to provide the promised amount of reserve land to treaty First Nations.

Generally, a TLE settlement agreement specifies an amount of land that a First Nation may either purchase on a willing buyer-willing seller basis, or select from unoccupied Crown land, or both in some cases, within an agreed to acquisition or selection area.

Once purchased or selected, the First Nation may submit a proposal to the Government of Canada for the land to be added to the First Nation's reserve under the Additions to Reserve process.

As of August 2016, some 90 percent of TLE transactions take place in Manitoba and Saskatchewan. The fulfilment of TLE agreements assists in building partnerships and encourages economic development on reserves and in surrounding communities.

Related links

Date modified:

Droits fonciers issus de traités

Apprenez-en davantage sur le processus des droits fonciers issus des traités et sur les accords de règlement au Canada.

Processus des droits fonciers issus de traités

Les Premières Nations qui n'ont pas reçu toutes les terres auxquelles elles avaient droit aux termes de traités historiques signés par la Couronne et les Premières Nations peuvent présenter une revendication relative aux droits fonciers issus d'un traité (DFIT) auprès du gouvernement du Canada. Les accords de règlement sur les DFIT sont négociés entre les Premières Nations et le gouvernement du Canada, généralement avec la participation des gouvernements provinciaux ou territoriaux. Le gouvernement fédéral doit respecter ses obligations issues des traités, notamment celle de fournir la superficie promise de terres de réserve aux Premières Nations signataires de traités.

Règle générale, un accord de règlement sur des DFIT précise la superficie des terres qu'une Première Nation peut acheter selon le principe de vente de gré à gré, ou qu'elle peut choisir à partir de terres inoccupées de la Couronne, ou les deux dans certains cas, dans une zone de sélection ou d'acquisition convenue entre les parties.

Une fois les terres achetées ou choisies, la Première Nation doit soumettre une proposition au gouvernement du Canada pour que ces terres soient ajoutées à la réserve de la Première Nation selon le processus d'Ajouts aux réserves.

En date d'août 2016, environ 90 % des transactions fondées sur des DFIT se font au Manitoba et en Saskatchewan. L'application des accords liés aux DFIT aide à établir des partenariats et à promouvoir le développement économique dans les réserves et les collectivités voisines.

Liens connexes

Date de modification :