Surveys

Land surveys are essential to the effective management and development of lands because they provide an orderly and systematic identification of parcels of land. In a survey, land is divided into sections (parcels) that are measured and mapped. The result is a legal description of land that can be referred to when issuing interests in land.  The organization of land into parcels also helps to plan how infrastructure should be built and where different types of development will occur.

The Indian Act   and the Canada Lands Surveys Act   set out the responsibilities for surveys on reserve lands. The Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada plans and authorizes surveys of reserve lands.  The Minister of Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) is responsible for carrying out surveys upon the request of any federal department. The Canada Lands Surveys Act further requires the Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development to approve a plan of survey on reserve lands.

AANDC employees support the registration of legal interests (First Nations and non-First Nations) in the three lands registries administered by AANDC, and ensure that the statutory duties for the survey of reserve lands are carried out in accordance with the Indian Act and the Canada Lands Surveys Act by:

  • ensuring that surveys of First Nation lands match the information about interests in land recorded in the land registries managed by AANDC;
  • setting criteria for survey project funding, with NRCan and individual First Nations;
  • allocating survey funds to regions and tracking funded surveying projects/activities;
  • reviewing legal land descriptions to ensure that they meet registry requirements and are compatible with previously registered interests;
  • reviewing legal land description reports prepared under the First Nations Land Management Act defining the extent of reserve lands;
  • providing advisory and research services to departmental officials and external parties resulting from interpretations of land descriptions and titles found in historical records;
  • providing ministerial approval for official survey plans.

Renewing the Parcel Fabric on First Nations Reserves

On many First Nations reserves, there is a disconnect between the informal parcels being recognized in actual practice and the formal parcels that have been officially surveyed and registered.  The resulting confusion over who has rights to the land can delay or prevent the establishment of utility services or the construction of buildings, and impede economic development.

The Surveyor General of Canada Lands is now examining possible solutions through a pilot project at five First Nation communities. Information will be gathered and creative solutions generated that meet the needs of the pilot communities.  The project will then develop recommendations on how to improve the parcel fabric in a cost-effective and timely way that supports economic development on reserve. The project also links with land use planning initiatives.


You may also be interested in:

Arpentage

L'arpentage des terres est essentiel pour une gestion et une mise en valeur efficaces des terres, car il permet une identification méthodique et systématique des parcelles de terre. Lors d'un arpentage, les terres sont divisées en sections (parcelles) qui sont mesurées et cartographiées. Le résultat est une description légale des terres à laquelle il peut être fait référence lors de l'octroi de droits sur des terres. L'organisation des terres en parcelles permet également de planifier la façon dont l'infrastructure doit être construite et l'emplacement de divers types de développement.

La Loi sur les Indiens   et la Loi sur l'arpentage des terres du Canada   définissent les responsabilités en matière d'arpentage dans les terres de réserve. Le ministre des Affaires autochtones et du développement du Nord canadien planifie et autorise l'arpentage des terres de réserve. Le ministre des Ressources naturelles Canada (RNCan) est responsable de l'exécution de l'arpentage à la demande de ministères fédéraux. La Loi sur l'arpentage des terres du Canada prévoit que le ministre des Affaires autochtones et du développement du Nord canadien approuve un plan d'arpentage des terres de réserve.

Les employés d'AADNC soutiennent l'enregistrement des intérêts juridiques (Premières Nations ou non) dans les trois registres administrés par AADNC et veillent à ce que l'exécution des obligations légales en matière d'arpentage des terres de réserve soit conforme aux dispositions de la Loi sur les Indiens et de la Loi sur l'arpentage des terres du Canada en effectuant les tâches suivantes :

  • Veiller à ce que l'arpentage des terres des Premières Nations corresponde aux renseignements concernant les droits sur les terres enregistrés dans les registres des terres tenus par AADNC.
  • Fixer des critères pour le financement de projets d'arpentage, avec RNCan et les diverses Premières Nations.
  • Attribuer des fonds d'arpentage aux régions et effectuer un suivi des projets ou activités d'arpentage financés.
  • Examiner les descriptions légales des terres pour veiller à ce qu'elles correspondent aux exigences d'enregistrement et soient compatibles avec les droits précédemment enregistrés.
  • Examiner les rapports sur la description légale des terres produits en vertu de la Loi sur la gestion des terres des premières nations définissant l'étendue des terres de réserve.
  • Fournir des services de conseils et de recherche aux représentants ministériels et aux parties de l'extérieur concernant l'interprétation des descriptions des terres et des titres trouvés dans les archives.
  • Fournir l'approbation ministérielle pour les plans officiels d'arpentage.

Renouvellement cadastral dans les réserves des Premières Nations

Dans de nombreuses réserves des Premières Nations, on constate un flou entre les parcelles officieuses, reconnues dans la pratique, et les parcelles officielles qui ont été officiellement arpentées et enregistrées. Il en résulte une confusion quant à qui dispose des droits sur les terres concernées, ce qui peut retarder ou empêcher l'installation de services publics ou la construction d'immeubles et ainsi entraver le développement économique.

L'arpenteur en chef des terres du Canada étudie des solutions possibles par le biais d'un projet pilote dans cinq collectivités des Premières Nations. Il recueillera des renseignements et proposera des solutions créatives qui répondent aux besoins des collectivités pilotes. Le projet mènera ensuite à la formulation de recommandations sur la façon d'améliorer le cadastre d'une façon rentable et opportune qui appuie le développement économique dans les réserves. Ce projet fait également un lien avec les initiatives d'aménagement des terres.


Autres liens d'intérêt