Lands

There are more than 3 million hectares of reserve land across Canada. The land base of First Nations continues to increase as land claims are settled and implemented and lands are added to reserves as part of Canada's commitment to addressing historical injustices.

The Government of Canada recognizes the cultural, historical, social, political and spiritual aspects of land. At the same time, economic development of First Nations' substantial and growing land and natural resource base can greatly improve the well-being and quality of life for Aboriginal people in Canada.

Laws and regulations, such as the Indian Act, and deficits in community and institutional capacity are impediments to developing the land and natural resource base.

The Government of Canada will work with Aboriginal people in Canada and other partners to remove legislative and regulatory barriers to economic development, provide Aboriginal Canadians with greater access to and control of their lands, build greater capacity in economic development institutions and support commercial infrastructure.

The outcome will be opportunity ready Aboriginal communities that have stable, efficient and predictable investment climates attractive to business and investors.

Indigenous and Nortehern Affairs Canada (INAC) and First Nations work together to increase First Nation involvement in management of their lands and natural resources. As a result, strong partnerships among First Nations, governments and the private sector are emerging to bring opportunities for prosperity and a more promising future for First Nations and all Canadians.

First Nations' land base is growing.  More than 3.5 million hectares in Canada are now First Nations' lands. The Land Base Statistics document provides statistics, including Indian Act land, land under the FNLM regime, and Self-Governing First Nations' land.

What Information is Available?

In this section, find information on how INAC works in partnership with First Nations on land management, including:

For questions related to lands, contact the INAC regional office nearest you. To find INAC personnel working in lands and economic development at INAC headquarters in Ottawa, use the Government Electronic Services Directory.

Online Tools:

Related links

Date modified:

Terres

Les terres de réserve couvrent actuellement plus de 3 millions d'hectares au Canada. L'assise territoriale des Premières nations continue d'augmenter avec le règlement des revendications territoriales et la mise en œuvre des accords de règlement, et des terres s'ajoutent aussi aux réserves depuis que le Canada s'est engagé à réparer les injustices du passé.

Le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît les aspects culturels, historiques, sociaux, politiques et spirituels du territoire. En même temps, le bien-être et la qualité de vie des Autochtones au Canada pourraient être grandement améliorés par le développement économique des terres et des ressources naturelles des Premières Nations, dont l'assise territoriale est déjà considérable et va en s'accroissant.

Les lois et les règlements, par exemple la Loi sur les Indiens, et les lacunes des capacités communautaires et institutionnelles sont des entraves au développement des assises territoriales et base de ressources naturelles.

Le gouvernement due Canada collaborera avec les Canadiens autochtones et les autres partenaires, pour supprimer les obstacles législatifs et réglementaires au développement économique, offrir aux Canadiens autochtones un meilleur accès aux terres et un meilleur contrôle des terres, renforcer la capacité des institutions de développement économique et soutenir l'infrastructure commerciale.

Le résultat sera des collectivités autochtones prêtes aux possibilités qui ont un climat d'investissement stable, efficient et prévisible attrayant pour les entreprise et les investisseurs.

Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) collabore avec les Premières Nations en vue d'augmenter leur participation à la gestion de leurs terres et de leurs ressources naturelles. Cette situation donne lieu à de solides partenariats entre les Premières Nations, les gouvernements et le secteur privé, qui offrent aux Premières Nations et à toute la population canadienne des occasions de prospérer et la promesse d'un avenir meilleur.

L'assise territoriale des Premières Nations croît. Plus de 3,5 millions d'hectares au Canada appartiennent maintenant aux Premières Nations. Le document Statistiques concernant l'assise territoriale fournit des statistiques, notamment sur les terres détenues en vertu de la Loi sur les Indiens, les terres assujetties au régime de gestion des terres des Premières Nations et les terres des Premières Nations autonomes.

Renseignements disponibles

Dans cette section, vous trouverez de l'information sur la manière dont AANC collabore avec les Premières Nations à la gestion des terres, notamment :

Pour les questions relatives aux terres, communiquez avec le bureau régional d'AANC le plus près de chez vous.

Pour communiquer avec des employés d'AANC qui travaillent dans le domaine des terres et du développement économique à l'administration centrale d'AANC, à Ottawa, utilisez les Services d'annuaires gouvernementaux électroniques.

Outils en ligne :

Liens connexes

Date de modification :