Contaminated Sites Management Policy

 

Author : Indian and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC)
Date : Effective Date: August 20, 2002

PREAMBLE

The Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) Contaminated Sites Management Policy provides an appropriate level of direction in order to meet the requirements of the Treasury Board while supporting the principles of the Sustainable Development Strategy. The policy will serve as an integral component of AANDC's environmental management regimes.

PURPOSE

This policy is intended to provide guidance for the management [Note 1] of contaminated sites located on reserve lands, on federal lands north of the 60th parallel, and on any other lands under AANDC's custodial responsibility.

POLICY OBJECTIVES

AANDC will contribute to a safer, healthier, sustainable environment for First Nations, Inuit, and northerners by striving to preserve and enhance the ecological integrity of the environment through the implementation of this Contaminated Sites Management Policy.

The following are the objectives of the policy:

  1. to meet federal and departmental policy requirements and legal obligations regarding the management of contaminated sites;
  2. to require that, where a suspected contaminated site has been identified, the site be assessed in a timely, consistent and cost effective manner;
  3. to provide a scientifically valid, risk management based framework for setting priorities, planning, implementing and reporting on the management of contaminated sites;
  4. to remediate, based on approved resource levels, all National Classification System (NCS) Class 1 contaminated sites in the North, and Class 1 and 2 contaminated sites on reserve, on a priority basis, unless it can be demonstrated that for a specific site an alternative form of management is appropriate;
  5. to promote the social and economic benefits that may accrue to First Nations, Inuit and northerners when carrying out activities required by this policy; and
  6. to promote the federal "polluter pay" principle.

POLICY STATEMENT

AANDC is committed to managing contaminated sites in a cost-effective and consistent manner, to reduce and eliminate, where possible, risk to human and environmental health and liability associated with contaminated sites.

AANDC will:

  • manage contaminated sites by following the Treasury Board Federal Contaminated Sites Management Policy, and by applying the Contaminated Sites Management Working Group's (CSMWG) "Federal Approach to Contaminated Sites" and its recommended guidelines and standards - including those from the Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment (CCME) and the Canadian Standards Association (CSA);
  • apply the following criteria in determining the priority for managing contaminated sites:
    • human health and safety;
    • legal and claims obligations;
    • significant impacts on the environment; and
    • concerns of First Nations, Inuit, northerners and other stakeholders.
  • work collaboratively with First Nations, Inuit, northerners and other entities to manage contaminated sites located on reserve lands, on federal lands north of the 60th parallel, and on any other lands under AANDC's custodial responsibility.
  • manage its current and future policies and programs in order to prevent future liabilities to the Crown from the creation of new contaminated sites.
  • follow the federal "polluter pays" principle.

GUIDING PRINCIPLES

In order to meet the above objectives, the following principles will be adopted when carrying out this policy:

  • AANDC will incorporate provisions into its permits, leases, agreements and other instruments requiring that the private sector, First Nations, Inuit and northerners make every reasonable effort to avoid contaminating the environment in the course of carrying out their operations and activities and holding third parties liable for contamination that they cause on reserve lands, on federal lands north of the 60th parallel, and on any other lands under AANDC's custodial responsibility.
  • AANDC will ensure the assessment of all actual or potentially contaminated sites on reserve lands, on federal lands north of the 60th parallel, and on any other lands under AANDC's custodial responsibility, based on available resources.
  • AANDC will promote the pollution prevention and polluter pay principles in all of its regulatory interventions or decisions and will develop policies and guidelines to support this policy position in other development initiatives.
  • AANDC will promote First Nation, Inuit and northerner participation and partnership in the identification, assessment, decision-making and remediation/risk management processes relating to contaminated sites.
  • AANDC will plan, where appropriate, the scale and pace of remediation/risk management in keeping with the First Nation, Inuit and northerner capacity to be involved.
  • AANDC will incorporate economic opportunities, to the extent possible, for First Nations, Inuit and northerners in the management and remediation of contaminated sites.

APPLICATION

This policy applies to federal government employees (as defined under the Public Service Employment Act) and any other parties engaged by the Government of Canada for the express purpose of undertaking the contaminated sites activities contemplated under this policy.

The details on the implementation of the policy will be set out in respective operational directives of the Northern Affairs Program (NAP), the Indian and Inuit Affairs Program (IIAP) and the Administration Program ( AP ). Operational directives will make the appropriate links between this policy , the departmental long-term capital plan and the capital management regime. The directives will ensure the integration of health and safety priorities within the programs.

ACCOUNTABILITY

Overall accountability for the implementation of this policy rests with the Assistant Deputy Minister of the Northern Affairs Program and the Assistant Deputy Minister of Land and Trust Services. Specific responsibilities related to the implementation of the policy will be detailed within management regimes of the respective program areas.

REFERENCES

  • Treasury Board (TB) Federal Contaminated Sites and Solid Waste Landfills Inventory Policy - July 1, 2000

  • Treasury Board Real Property Environment Policy - June 1, 1998

  • Treasury Board Federal Contaminated Sites Management Policy - June 6, 2002[Note 2].

  • Draft Guideline on Liabilities and Contingent Liabilities Related to Federal Contaminated Sites - November 2000

  • Policy on Accounting for Costs and Liabilities Related to Contaminated Sites - June 6, 2002

  • A Federal Approach to Contaminated Sites (CSMWG, 2000)

  • CCME Guidance Document on the Management of Contaminated Sites in Canada (CCME, 1997)

  • CCME Canadian Environmental Quality Guidelines (CCME, 1999)

  • CCME National Classification System for Contaminated Sites (NCS) (1992)

  • CAN/CSA Z 768 Phase I Environmental Site Assessment (CSA, 1994)

  • CAN/CSA Z769 Phase II Environmental Site Assessment (CSA, 1998)

  • CCME A Framework for Ecological Risk Assessment: General Guidance (1996)

  • Various CCME Soil and Water Quality Guidelines.

DEFINITIONS

Abandoned or Orphaned Site: a site where the person or corporation that created the contaminated site is unknown or out of business and the site is on federal crown land or Canada Lands (e.g. reserve land).

Background Concentration: the concentration of a chemical substance occurring in media removed from the influence of industrial activity at a specific site and in an area considered to be relatively unaffected by industrial activity.

Contaminant: any physical, chemical, biological or radiological substances in air, soil or water that has an adverse effect. Any chemical substance who concentration exceeds background concentrations or which is not naturally occurring in the environment.

Contamination: the introduction into soil, air or water of a chemical, organic or radioactive material or live organism that will adversely affect the quality of that medium.

contaminated site: a site at which substances occur at concentrations: (1) above background levels and pose, or are likely to pose an immediate or long-term hazard to human health and the environment or (2) exceed levels specified in policies and regulations.

Contingent Liability: an existing condition or situation involving uncertainty as to possible gain or loss to an organization that will ultimately be resolved when one or more future events occur or fail to occur. Resolution of the uncertainty may confirm the acquisition of an asset or the reduction of a liability or the loss or impairment of an asset or the incurrence of a liability.

Liability: obligations arising from past transactions or events, the settlement of which may result in the transfer or use of assets, or the provision of services or other economic benefits in the future.

Real Property: Any right, interest or benefit in land, and includes mines, minerals, and improvements on, above or below the surface of the land.

Risk Assessment: The scientific examination of the nature and magnitude of risk to define the effects on both human and other receptors of the exposure to contaminant(s).

Risk-Based Approach: An approach based on a detailed evaluation of hazard and exposure potential at a particular site. Risk assessment is an important tool to use where, for example, national criteria do not exist for a contaminant, where clean-up to guideline-based criteria is not feasible for the targeted land use, where guideline based objectives do not seem appropriate given the site specific conditions, where significant or sensitive receptors of concern have been identified or where there is significant public concern, as determined by the lead agency.

Risk Management: The selection and implementation of a strategy of control of risk, followed by monitoring and evaluation of the effectiveness of that strategy. Risk management may include direct remedial actions or other strategies that reduce the probability, intensity, frequency or duration of the exposure to contamination. The latter may include institutional controls such as zoning designations, land use restrictions, or orders. The decision to select a particular strategy may involve considering the information obtained from a risk assessment. Implementation typically involves a commitment of resources and communication with affected parties. Monitoring and evaluation may include environmental sampling, post-remedial surveillance, protective epidemiology, and analysis of new health risk information, as well as ensuring compliance.

Site-Specific Remediation Objectives: The process of applying environmental quality guidelines at the site level to establish remediation or clean-up targets for the site. Site-specific remediation objectives may be adopted from existing guidelines (generic criteria), modified from existing guidelines, or developed using a risk assessment approach.

Waste Site: A site where materials have been deposited (e.g. garbage, vehicles, hazardous materials) or where hazards exist (e.g. open adit). A waste site may or may not be a contaminated site.


Footnotes:

  1. Throughout this policy the term "management of a contaminated site" refers to the process of identifying, assessing, remediating and/or risk managing and monitoring a contaminated site. Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment (CCME) (return to source paragraph)
  2. This policy requires that departments prepare a contaminated sites management plan that is updated annually. (return to source paragraph)

Politique de gestion des sites contaminés

auteur : Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada (AINC)
date : Date d'entrée en vigueur: 20 août 2002

PRÉAMBULE

La Politique de gestion des sites contaminés des Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) constitue une orientation permettant de répondre aux exigences du Conseil du Trésor tout en appuyant les principes de la Stratégie de développement durable. La politique fera partie intégrante des régimes de gestion environnementale d'AADNC.

BUT

Cette politique a pour but d'encadrer la gestion [Note 1] des sites contaminés se trouvant sur les réserves, sur les terres fédérales au nord du 60e parallèle, ainsi que sur de nombreuses autres terres sous la responsabilité d'AADNC.

OBJECTIFS DE LA POLITIQUE

AADNC contribuera à rendre plus sûr, plus sain et plus durable l'environnement des Premières nations, des Inuits et des peuples nordiques en s'efforçant de préserver et d'accroître l'intégrité écologique de l'environnement par la mise en application de sa Politique de gestion des sites contaminés.

Voici quels sont les objectifs de cette politique:

  1. Répondre aux exigences politiques et aux obligations juridiques du fédéral et du ministère en matière de gestion des sites contaminés.
  2. Lorsqu'on a identifié un site qu'on croit contaminé, exiger qu'on en fasse l'évaluation de façon rapide, consistante et rentable.
  3. Offrir un cadre de gestion des risques scientifiquement éprouvé afin de fixer les priorités et procéder à la planification, l'exécution des règlements et la production de rapports en matière de gestion des sites contaminés.
  4. Basé sur les niveaux de ressources disponibles, éliminer dans le Nord les sites contaminés de classe 1 selon le système national de classification (SNC), et éliminer par ordre de priorité sur les réserves les sites contaminés de classes 1 et 2 à moins qu'on puisse prouver pour un site donné qu'une autre forme de gestion est appropriée.
  5. Faire connaître les avantages sociaux et économiques pouvant être dévolus aux Premières nations, aux Inuits et aux peuples nordiques lorsqu'ils s'adonnent aux activités exigées dans le cadre de cette politique.
  6. Promouvoir le principe du "pollueur-payeur" en vigueur au fédéral.

ÉNONCÉ DE POLITIQUE

AADNC s'engage à gérer les sites contaminés de façon rentable et consistante afin de réduire et d'éliminer, dans la mesure du possible, les risques pour la santé humaine et l'environnement, ainsi que la responsabilité inhérente aux sites contaminés.

AADNC:

  • Assurera la gestion des sites contaminés selon la Politique de gestion des sites contaminés du Conseil du Trésor et en adoptant les règles prescrites dans le document intitulé "Approche fédérale en matière de sites contaminés" du Groupe de travail sur la gestion des sites contaminés, ainsi que ses directives et ses normes - dont celles du Conseil canadien des ministres de l'Environnement (CCME) et de l'Association canadienne de normalisation (ACNOR);
  • Mettra en application les critères suivants lorsque viendra le temps de définir les priorités en matière de gestion des sites contaminés:
    • la santé et la sécurité humaines;
    • les obligations juridiques et les revendications ;
    • les impacts significatifs sur l'environnement; et
    • les inquiétudes des Premières nations, des peuples nordiques et des autres intervenants.
  • Collaborera avec les Premières nations, les Inuits, les peuples nordiques et les autres entités afin de gérer les sites contaminés situés sur les réserves, sur les terres fédérales au nord du 60e parallèle, 60eainsi que sur les autres territoires sous la responsabilité d'AADNC.
  • Gérera ses politiques et ses programmes actuels et futurs de façon à éviter que d'autres responsabilités incombent à la Couronne suite à l'apparition de nouveaux sites contaminés.
  • Mettra en pratique le principe du "pollueur-payeur" en vigueur au fédéral.

PRINCIPES DIRECTEURS

Pour réaliser ces objectifs, on adoptera les principes suivants lors de la mise en application de cette politique:

  • AADNC intégrera des dispositions à ses permis, ses baux, ses ententes et ses autres instruments pour exiger que le secteur privé, les Premières nations, les Inuits et les peuples nordiques déploient tous les efforts raisonnables pour éviter de contaminer l'environnement en s'adonnant à leurs opérations et activités et pour tenir les tiers responsables de toute contamination causée sur les réserves, sur les terres fédérales au nord du 60e parallèle et sur toute autre terre sous la responsabilité d'AADNC.
  • AADNC guarantie l'évaluation des sites possiblement contaminés sur les réserves, sur les terres fédérales au nord du 60e parallèle, ainsi que sur toute autre terre sous la responsabilité d'AADNC en se basant sur les ressources disponibles.
  • AADNC encouragera la prévention de la pollution et le principe du pollueur-payeur lors de toutes ses interventions d'exécution ou décisions et élaborera des politiques et des directives dans le but d'appuyer cette politique dans ses autres initiatives de développement.
  • AADNC encouragera la participation et le partenariat des Premières nations, des Inuits et des peuples nordiques lors de l'identification, l'évaluation, la prise de décisions, ainsi que les processus d'élimination et de gestion des risques en rapport avec les sites contaminés.
  • AADNC planifiera, le cas échéant, l'étendue et le rythme des mesures d'élimination/gestion des risques en fonction de la capacité d'implication des Premières nations, des Inuits et des peuples nordiques.
  • Dans la mesure du possible, AADNC fera profiter sur le plan économique les Premières nations, les Inuits et les peuples nordiques lors de la gestion et l'élimination des sites contaminés.

APPLICATION

Cette politique concerne les employés du gouvernement fédéral (tels que définis dans la Loi sur l'emploi dans la fonction publique) ainsi que les autres parties embauchées par le Gouvernement du Canada dans le but précis d'entreprendre des activités relatives aux sites contaminés dans le cadre de cette politique.

Les détails de la mise en application de cette politique apparaîtront dans les directives opérationnelles du Programme des Affaires du Nord (PAN), du Programme des affaires indiennes et inuits (PAII), ainsi que du Programme d'administration (PA). Les directives opérationelles feront les liens appropriés entre cette politique, le plan d'investissement à long terme du département et le régime de gestion d'investissement. Les directives guarantiront l'intégration des priorités de santé et sécurité dans les programmes.

RESPONSABILITÉ

La responsabilité pour la mise en application de cette politique demeure avec le sous-ministre adjoint du Programme des affaires du nord et le sous-ministre adjoint des Services fonciers et fiduciaires. Les responsabilités spécifiques reliées à l'application de cette politique seront détaillées dans les régimes de gestion des programmes respectifs.

RÉFÉRENCES

  • Politique du Conseil du Trésor (CT) sur le Répertoire fédéral des sites contaminés et des décharges de déchets solides - 1 Juillet 2000

  • Politique du Conseil du Trésor (CT) sur l'environnement relatif aux biens immobiliers - 1 juin 1998

  • Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur la gestion des sites contaminés fédéraux - 1 juillet 2002[Note 2].

  • Projet de principes directeurs sur le passif et le passif éventuel en rapport avec les sites contaminés fédéraux - Novembre 2000

  • Politique sur la comptabilité des coûts et du passif relatifs aux sites contaminés - 1 Juillet 2002

  • Une approche fédérale des sites contaminés (GTIGLC, 2000)

  • Document d'orientation du CCME sur la gestion des sites contaminés au Canada (CCME, 1997)

  • Recommandations canadiennes pour la qualité de l'environnement (CCME, 1999)

  • Système de classification national pour les sites contaminés (NCS)(1992)

  • CAN/ACNOR Z 768 Évaluation environnementale des sites, phase I (ACNOR, (1994)
  • CAN/ACNOR Z 769 Évaluation environnementale des sites, phase II (ACNOR, 1998)

  • Cadre pour l'évaluation du risque écotoxicologique: Orientation générale (1996).
  • Directives diverses du CCME en matière de qualité des sols et de l'eau.

DÉFINITIONS 

Biens immeubles : Tout droit, intérêt ou profit dans un terrain, incluant les mines, les minéraux et les améliorations sur, au-dessus ou sous la surface dudit terrain.

Concentration de base : Concentration d'une substance chimique retrouvée dans un médium retiré de l'influence de l'activité industrielle dans un site donné et dans un endroit considéré comme étant relativement à l'abri de l'activité industrielle.

Contaminant : Toute substance physique, chimique, biologique ou radiologique dans l'air, le sol ou l'eau produisant un effet néfaste. Toute substance chimique dont la concentration excède les concentrations de base ou qu'on ne retrouve pas à l'état naturel dans l'environnement.

Contamination : Introduction dans le sol, l'air ou l'eau d'une substance chimique, organique ou radioactive ou d'un organisme vivant ayant un effet néfaste sur la qualité de ce médium.

Décharge : Site où l'on a déposé des matières (comme des déchets, des véhicules, des matières dangereuses) ou présentant des risques (tel un canal de décharge ouvert). Une décharge peut ou non être un site contaminé.

Démarche axée sur le risque : Approche reposant sur une évaluation détaillée des risques et sur l'exposition possible dans un endroit donné. L'évaluation des risques constitue un outil indispensable lorsque, par exemple, il n'existe aucun critère national pour un contaminant, lorsqu'il est impossible de procéder à un nettoyage conformément aux directives dans le but d'utiliser le terrain aux fins visées, lorsque les objectifs basés sur les directives ne semblent pas appropriés en fonction de l'état du site, lorsqu'on a identifié des récepteurs importants ou sensibles et inquiétants ou lorsqu'on assiste à une inquiétude marquée au sein du public, selon l'agence responsable.

Évaluation des risques : Examen scientifique de la nature et de l'ampleur des risques afin d'en déterminer les effets sur l'homme et sur les autres récepteurs de cette exposition aux contaminants.

Gestion des risques : Sélection et mise en application d'une stratégie de limitation des risques, suivie d'une surveillance et d'une évaluation de l'efficacité de cette stratégie. La gestion des risques peut consister, entre autres, dans des mesures correctives directes ou d'autres stratégies capables de réduire la probabilité, l'intensité, la fréquence ou la durée de l'exposition à la contamination. Cette dernière peut inclure des contrôles institutionnels comme des indications de zonage, des restrictions quant à l'utilisation des terres ou des ordonnances. La décision de faire appel à une stratégie en particulier peut consister à tenir compte des renseignements obtenus lors d'une évaluation des risques. La mise en application consiste habituellement dans une affectation des ressources et la communication avec les parties concernées. La surveillance et l'évaluation peuvent comprendre un échantillonnage environnemental, une surveillance suite à la mesure corrective, une épidémiologie préventive, ainsi que l'analyse des nouveaux renseignements portant sur les risques pour la santé, et des efforts visant à en assurer la conformité.

Objectifs de correction particuliers au site : Mise en application des directives de qualité environnementale sur le site afin d'atteindre les objectifs de correction ou de nettoyage du site. On peut puiser ces objectifs dans les directives actuelles (critères génériques), en modifiant les directives actuelles ou les élaborer en faisant appel à une approche de gestion des risques.

Passif : Obligations découlant de transactions ou d'activités passées dont le règlement peut entraîner le transfert ou l'utilisation des actifs ou la prestation de services ou d'autres avantages économiques dans l'avenir.

Responsabilité éventuelle : Toute condition ou situation existante et impliquant une incertitude quant aux profits ou aux pertes éventuels d'une organisation dont on procédera éventuellement à la dissolution si un ou plusieurs des événements futurs se produisent ou non. L'élimination de cette incertitude peut confirmer l'acquisition d'un actif ou la réduction d'un passif ou encore, la baisse de valeur d'un actif ou l'acquisition d'un passif.

Site contaminé : Lieu où l'on retrouve des substances à des concentrations: (1) excédant les niveaux de base et constituant ou pouvant constituer immédiatement ou à long terme un risque pour la santé humaine et l'environnement ou (2) excédant les niveaux prescrits dans les politiques et les règlements.

Site désaffecté ou orphelin : Site dont la personne ou la société responsable de sa création est inconnue ou retirée des affaires alors que celui-ci se trouve sur une terre de la Couronne ou en territoire canadien (par exemple, sur une réserve).


Notes en bas de page :

  1. L'expression "gestion d'un site contaminé" telle qu'utilisée dans cette politique consiste dans l'identification, l'évaluation, l'élimination et/ou la gestion des risques et la surveillance d'un site contaminé. Conseil canadien des ministres de l'environnement (CCME). (retourner au paragraphe source)
  2. On exige en vertu de cette politique que les ministères préparent un plan de gestion des sites contaminés qui fera l'objet d'une mise à jour annuelle. (retourner au paragraphe source)