Contaminated Sites Management Program

Program:

The Indian and Inuit Affairs Program (IIAP) of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC), has provided financial assistance to assess and remediate environmentally contaminated sites on reserve lands and other lands under its custodial responsibility since 1992. These sites are being managed under the department's Contaminated Sites Management Program (CSMP) to determine the location and severity of contaminated sites on inhabited reserves. When these sites pose a risk to human and environmental health and safety, they are remediated on a priority basis. The program helps meet the legal obligations of AANDC under applicable federal and provincial legislation.

Program History / Background:

The CSMP is a multi-phased national initiative to identify and document environmental problems on over 800 inhabited reserves. This effort began in June 1992 under the Environmental Issues Inventory and Remediation Plan (EIIRP) until 2003 when the CSMP was initiated to continue the assessment and remediation of contaminated sites on reserve lands. The increased focus of the CSMP on the remediation of contaminated sites will help to improve the living conditions on reserves and reduce crown liabilities.

The key stakeholders are AANDC (as a trustee of Crown lands and assets on reserves with responsibility for administering the Indian Act) and First Nations (as occupants of the reserves and as individual certificate of possession holders). Secondary stakeholders include other federal departments, namely Environment Canada, Fisheries and Oceans, and Health Canada. These departments are responsible for ensuring compliance with legislation under their jurisdiction which affects Crown lands. Provincial ministries and municipalities are stakeholders in that they are responsible for preventing pollution and contamination within their jurisdictions and on federal Crown lands, which includes reserves and lands adjacent to reserve lands. (Provincial environmental laws, regulations and standards vary and do not generally apply on reserves.) The Canadian public and special interest groups also become involved as stakeholders.

Description of Operations:

In order to maintain an accurate and up to date list of contaminated sites, a contaminated sites module was developed in the Environmental Stewardship Strategy Information Management System (ESSIMS). ESSIMS is a multi-component information management system developed and maintained by the department, dealing with on reserve environmental issues with extensive cross checking among its component sub-systems. The contaminated sites module is a valuable tool that stores information on all identified contaminated sites on reserves. It is integral to the management and tracking of contaminated sites management processes as well as providing data for reporting requirements. The responsibility of the site by site management of contaminated sites and the accuracy of the associated data in ESSIMS is the responsibility of the regions.

To determine the extent and severity of any contaminated site in terms of its overall risk, the regions use the National Classification System for Contaminated Sites. AANDC will continue to manage contaminated sites following federal government policies, guidelines and standards - including those from the Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment and the Canadian Standards Association.

Additional Information

Programme de gestion des sites contaminés

Programme :

Le Programme des affaires indiennes et inuites (PAII) d'Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) fournit depuis 1992 une aide financière afin d'évaluer et d'assainir les sites des terres des réserves et des autres terres confiées à sa garde, dont l'environnement est contaminé. Ces sites sont gérés dans la cadre du Programme de gestion des sites contaminés (PGSC) du Ministère, qui sert à déterminer les lieux de ces sites dans les réserves habitées et la gravité de cette contamination. Lorsque ces sites posent un risque pour la santé humaine et pour l'environnement, on prend de façon prioritaire des mesures correctives à leur égard. Ce programme aide AADNC à remplir ses obligations légales en vertu de la législation fédérale et provinciale applicable.

Historique et contexte du programme :

Le Programme de gestion des sites contaminés (PGSC) est une initiative nationale comportant des étapes multiples, qui vise à identifier et documenter les problèmes environnementaux dans plus de 800 réserves habitées. Cet effort a été amorcé en juin 1992 à l'aide du Répertoire des problèmes environnementaux et du plan d'assainissement (RPEPA) et s'est poursuivi jusqu'en 2003, moment du lancement du PGSC pour poursuivre l'évaluation et l'assainissement des sites contaminés des terres des réserves. Le fait d'insister davantage dans le cadre du programme sur l'assainissement de ces sites aidera à améliorer les conditions de vie dans les réserves et à réduire les responsabilités de la Couronne.

Les principaux intervenants sont AADNC (à titre de fiduciaire des terres publiques et des biens des réserves, à qui il incombe d'administrer la Loi sur les Indiens) et les Premières nations (à titre d'occupants des réserves et de détenteurs des certificats individuels de possession). On trouve au nombre des intervenants secondaires certains autres ministères fédéraux, notamment Environnement Canada, Pêches et Océans Canada, et Santé Canada. Ces ministères sont chargés d'assurer le respect de la législation relevant de leur compétence qui a une incidence sur les terres publiques. Les ministères provinciaux et les municipalités sont aussi des intervenants du fait qu'ils ont la responsabilité de prévenir la pollution et la contamination sur leurs territoires et sur les terres publiques fédérales, qui incluent les réserves et les terres adjacentes à celles-ci. (Toutefois, les lois, normes et règlements provinciaux sur l'environnement varient et ne s'appliquent pas en général dans les réserves.) Le public canadien et les groupes d'intérêt apportent aussi leur participation à titre d'intervenants.

Description des opérations :

Afin de tenir une liste exacte et à jour des sites contaminés, on a élaboré un module des sites contaminés dans le Système de gestion de l'information sur la Stratégie de gérance de l'environnement (SGISGE). Il s'agit d'un système à composantes multiples de gestion de l'information, élaboré et tenu par le Ministère, qui traite des questions environnementales des réserves et permet des contre-vérifications étendues entre les différents sous-systèmes qui le composent. Le module des sites contaminés est un outil précieux qui emmagasine des renseignements sur tous les sites contaminés identifiés dans les réserves. Il fait partie intégrante des processus de gestion et de suivi des sites contaminés et fournit des données pour répondre aux besoins de rapport. C'est aux régions qu'incombe la responsabilité de gérer les différents sites contaminés et d'assurer l'exactitude des données connexes contenues dans le SGISGE.

Afin de déterminer l'étendue et la gravité de tout site contaminé quant au risque qu'il pose, les régions utilisent le Système national de classification des lieux contaminés. AADNC continuera à gérer ces sites selon les politiques, les lignes directrices et les normes du gouvernement fédéral - notamment celles provenant du Conseil canadien des ministres de l'Environnement et de l'Association canadienne de normalisation.

L'information supplementaire