Definition and Types of Adaptation

Learn about ProActive Adaptation - longterm strategic response vs Reactive Adaptation - immediate response, Vulnerability, Adaptive Capacity.

What is Adaptation?

Climate change poses some challenges for Canada's Aboriginal and northern communities. Our response to climate change is measured in terms of adaptation. Adaptation is how we respond to (or prepare for) climate change, in order to reduce the negative impacts and take advantage of positive impacts. Our ability to make these adjustments is called adaptive capacity. Some communities demonstrate incredible resilience through their ability to absorb disruptions caused by climate change, to make adjustments and still retain their functionality, structure and identity. Our response to climate change is affected by our vulnerability, our ability to cope with negative impacts.

Some examples of adaptation to climate change in the North:

  • Develop alternative sources of food such as greenhouse gardens
  • Install screens in windows to allow air flow and reduce insects
  • Improve survival skills to travel in dangerous weather
  • Construct all-weather roads where possible
  • Share resources and information about risks and solutions
  • Increase the variety of energy sources including small scale systems
  • Learn more about the possible impacts and changes

Types of Adaptation

There are two main types of adaptation to climate change. Reactive adaptation is our immediate response to climate change. This type of adaptation is often used to regain stability. It is sometimes not the best response when our past understanding doesn't correspond to current environmental and socio-economic conditions.

Proactive adaptation is more likely to reduce the long-term damage, risk and vulnerability due to climate change. Proactive adaptation involves long-term decision making which improves our ability to cope with future climate change. Periodic assessment and risk management strategies help make this response the most effective.

Définition et types d'adaptation

Informez-vous sur l'adaptation proactive - la réaction stratégique à long terme vs l'adaptation réactionnelle - réaction immédiate, vulnérabilité, capacité d'adaptation.

Qu'est-ce que l'adaptation?

Les Autochtones du Canada et les communautés du Nord sont aux prises avec la problématique du changement climatique. Notre capacité d'adaptation nous permet de mesurer l'efficacité de notre réaction au changement climatique. La capacité d'adaptation correspond aux moyens que nous utilisons pour réagir ou pour nous préparer au changement climatique afin d'en diminuer les impacts négatifs et de tirer profit des impacts positifs. Notre capacité d'apporter des changements s'appelle la " capacité d'adaptation ". Certaines communautés font preuve de beaucoup de résilience puisqu'elles sont capables de composer avec les perturbations dues au changement climatique, de s'adapter et de conserver leur structure et leur identité tout en demeurant fonctionnelles.

Parmi les adaptations au changement climatique dans le Nord figurent les suivantes :

  • développement de nouvelles sources de nourriture comme les jardins en serre;
  • installations de moustiquaires aux fenêtres pour permettre une circulation d'air tout en bloquant les insectes;
  • amélioration des techniques de survie lors des déplacements par mauvais temps;
  • construction de routes permanentes lorsque c'est possible;
  • mise en commun de ressources et d'informations sur les risques et les solutions;
  • diversification des sources d'énergie, dont des systèmes à petite échelle;
  • enrichissement des connaissances sur les impacts et changements possibles.

Types d'adaptation

Il y a deux grands types d'adaptation au changement climatique. L'adaptation réactionnelle est notre réaction immédiate au changement climatique. Ce type d'adaptation est souvent utilisé pour revenir aux conditions actuelles. Ce n'est pas toujours la meilleure manière de réagir puisque notre compréhension des conditions passées ne correspond pas aux conditions environnementales et socio-économiques actuelles.

L'adaptation proactive devrait engendrer une diminution des risques et des dommages à long terme causés par le changement climatique. Elle fait intervenir un processus décisionnel à long terme qui nous permettra de mieux composer avec le changement climatique à venir. Cette approche est la plus efficace puisqu'elle comporte des stratégies de gestion du risque et des évaluations périodiques.