Fifty per cent Aboriginal Hiring Strategy

This strategy is the result of a Letter of Understanding between INAC (now known as Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada) and the Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs to achieve a majority Aboriginal representation, equitably distributed throughout all groups and levels, including Executive level in the department.

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada plays an important role in promoting increased Aboriginal representation in the Public Service of Canada.

Background

In 1994, the Honorable Minister Ron Irwin announced INAC's (now known as Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada) commitment to fill 50 per cent of the department's vacancies with Aboriginal peoples. The department's commitment to this goal is directly related to the business of INAC (now known as Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada) and the continued focus on achieving self-government for First Nations. INAC (now known as Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada) has committed to a workforce that is culturally sensitive and representative of its Aboriginal partners.

In 1995, INAC (now known as Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada) developed the Employment Equity Recruitment Plan which outlined the department's plans to increase Aboriginal representation through a 50 per cent Aboriginal hiring strategy.

This plan was further strengthened on November 22, 1996 when a Letter of Understanding was signed between the Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs and INAC (now known as Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada). In this letter of agreement the 50 per cent hiring strategy was addressed as follows:

"In view of its unique mandate and its special relationship with First Nations, the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development has a long term objective of having a majority of DIAND employees with Aboriginal ancestry. The Department will make every reasonable effort to reach an objective of a 50 per cent hiring share for Aboriginal peoples until the department meets its objective. The Department undertakes to make every effort to ensure that Aboriginals are equitably represented across all occupational groups and levels in the department, including management positions."

Indigenous Recruitment and Retention Framework

In December 2016, INAC has adopted a new Indigenous Recruitment and Retention Framework which focusses on three major themes: measures to promote Indigenous hiring, increasing outreach activities and measures to retain Indigenous employees.

The Framework aims to support departmental priorities, including:

Employment strategy within staffing practices

In order to facilitate hiring and increase the department's Aboriginal workforce, integrated planning of human resources and recruitment initiatives undertaken within current staffing activities are encouraged.

External and internal employment opportunity advertisements include information to the effect that the department may consider its employment equity objectives as current and/or future organizational needs either at the time of pre-screening or when appointing candidates from one of the employment equity groups, especially for Aboriginal candidates. Therefore, specific statements have been developed and are included on all INAC's employment opportunity advertisements for external staffing processes as well as internal staffing processes.

Furthermore, asset qualifications can also be used in order to help the department achieve its objectives in terms of hiring employment equity group members, particularly Aboriginal people. Targeted selection processes only opened to Aboriginal peoples can also be conducted.

Through these practices, hiring managers can contribute to increasing Aboriginal representation. This employment strategy supports INAC's commitments to establish a workforce that reflects the cultural differences and is representative of its Aboriginal partners.

Date modified:

Stratégie d'emploi 50 pour cent autochtone

Cette stratégie est le résultat d'une Lettre de compréhension entre AINC (aujourd’hui appelé AANC) et l'Assemblée des Chefs du Manitoba pour atteindre une majorité d'une représentation Autochtones, équitablement distribué à travers tous les groupes et tous les niveaux, y compris le Cadre dans le ministère.

Les Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada jouent un rôle important dans la promotion de l'accroissement de l'effectif autochtone au sein de la fonction publique du Canada.

Contexte

En 1994, l'honorable Ron Irwin, alors ministre, a annoncé l'engagement d'AINC (aujourd’hui appelé AANC) à accorder 50 pour cent des postes vacants à des Autochtones. Cet engagement est directement lié aux affaires d'AINC (aujourd’hui appelé AANC) et à ses efforts permanents en vue d'assurer l'autonomie gouvernementale pour les Premières nations. AINC (aujourd’hui appelé AANC) s'est engagé à établir un effectif qui tient compte des différences culturelles et qui est représentatif de ses partenaires autochtones.

En 1995, AINC (aujourd’hui appelé AANC) a mis sur pied le Plan de recrutement d'équité en emploi qui trace les grandes lignes des plans ministériels visant à accroître la représentation des Autochtones par l'entremise d'une stratégie d'emploi 50 pour cent autochtone.

Ce plan a été renforcé davantage le 22 novembre 1996 lorsque l'Assemblée des chefs du Manitoba et AINC (aujourd’hui appelé AANC) ont signé une lettre d'accord concernant la stratégie d'emploi 50 pour cent autochtone :

« Compte tenu de son mandat unique et de sa relation particulière avec les Premières nations, le ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien s'est fixé un objectif à long terme qui consiste à engager une majorité d'employés d'ascendance autochtone. Le Ministère fera tous les efforts raisonnables pour que les Autochtones représentent 50 pour cent des employés recrutés. Il s'engage également à faire tout en son possible pour veiller à ce que les Autochtones soient équitablement représentés dans tous les groupes et les niveaux professionnels au sein du Ministère, y compris dans des postes de cadre. »

Cadre de recrutement et de maintien en poste des personnes autochtones

AANC a adopté, en décembre 2016, un nouveau Cadre de recrutement et de maintien en poste des personnes autochtones axé sur trois thèmes majeurs : des mesures pour promouvoir le recrutement autochtone, l’accroissement des activités de sensibilisation externe et des mesures pour favoriser le maintien en poste des employés autochtones.

Le Cadre vise à soutenir la réalisation des priorités ministérielles, notamment en :

Stratégie d'emploi inscrite dans les pratiques de dotation

Dans le but de faciliter l'embauche et d'accroître l'effectif autochtone au sein du Ministère, la planification intégrée des ressources humaines ainsi que des initiatives de recrutement menées dans le cadre des activités courantes de dotation sont favorisées.

Les affichages pour des processus de sélection externes et internes contiennent des informations à l'effet que le Ministère peut considérer ses objectifs d'équité en matière d'emploi comme un besoin organisationnel actuel et/ou futur au moment de la présélection ou de la nomination de candidats provenant des groupes d'équité en matière d'emploi, notamment pour les candidats autochtones. Ainsi, certains messages ont été élaborés et apparaissent sur tous les affichages lors des processus de sélection externes ainsi que lors de processus de sélection internes d'AANC.

De plus, les qualifications constituant un atout peuvent être utilisées afin d'aider le Ministère à atteindre ses objectifs sur le plan de l'embauche des groupes désignés, particulièrement les personnes autochtones. Des processus de sélection ciblés exclusivement aux personnes autochtones peuvent également être menés.

Ces pratiques permettent aux gestionnaires d'embauche de contribuer à l'accroissement de la représentation autochtone. Cette stratégie d'emploi appuie les engagements d'AANC à établir un effectif qui tient compte des différences culturelles et qui est représentatif de ses partenaires autochtones.

Date de modification :