High-Cost Special Education Program

Indigenous Services Canada (ISC)'s High-Cost Special Education Program helps eligible First Nations students with high-cost special needs to access quality programs and services that are culturally sensitive and reflective of generally accepted provincial or territorial standards.

A call for proposals for 2018-2019 is now open. Proposals will be accepted until May 15, 2018 at 11:59 p.m. Eastern Time.

Budget 2016 is investing $577.5 million over five years to support special needs education through the High-Cost Special Education Program. It will provide support for both direct services to students and indirect services that support them.

On this page

About the program

ISC supports First Nations students' special education needs through two programs:

  1. The Elementary and Secondary Education Program funds special education services for First Nations students identified as having mild to moderate learning disabilities. Funding is provided for programming, remedial instruction, clinical services and resource teacher staffing.
  2. The High-Cost Special Education Program funds band-operated schools for high-cost special education students assessed with moderate to profound learning disabilities. The program funding is student-specific and determined by a formula based on individual student requirements. It is used for direct service support in the form of personnel, adaptive materials and resource services.

The High-Cost Special Education Program consists of direct and indirect services. Direct services represent at least 75% of the available funding. These include a number of classroom and school-based services related to the education and support of students with high-cost special needs. Examples include:

Indirect services represent up to 25% of total High-Cost Special Education Program funding. Funding is provided to eligible First Nations recipients for the development of special education programs and services on the understanding that each First Nations student with special education needs is unique. Each student requires a customized program to meet their individual needs in order to best support their success. Examples include:

Who can apply?

Band councils, federal schools, provincial ministries of education, provincial school boards or districts, private education institutions and organizations designated by band councils.

Deadline

The deadline to submit funding requests is May 15, 2018.

How to apply?

Proposals are accepted through an annual call for proposals.

Eligible recipients must submit detailed requests for all the high-cost special education activities to be undertaken during the school year. Requests must clearly state how the proposed activities will further the objectives of the program and respond to students' high-cost special education needs and the expected results of the program.

The programs or services that are to be implemented or maintained during the school year must be comparable to the high-cost special educational programs and services that are currently offered by the provincial schools.

When submitting a request, please follow the High-Cost Special Education Program: National Program Guidelines 2018-2019.

All proposals will be assessed by ISC regional offices using these criteria.

For more information on submitting a request, please contact ISC by email at aadnc.education-education.aandc@canada.ca or by telephone at 1-800-567-9604 and ask to speak to an Education officer.

Assessment of a student's needs

In order to qualify for ISC's High-Cost Special Education Program funding, an Individual Education Plan (IEP) must be in place for a student with identified special education needs. Assessment costs are covered by ISC.

A teacher with appropriate training does a preliminary assessment and if a need is identified the student will be referred to a professional, such as a physician, speech or language specialist or an education psychologist for a formal assessment. The formal assessment is used in the development of a student's IEP.

The IEP will contain specific and measurable short-term and long-term education goals for the student. Teachers and professionals jointly develop these plans, ideally, in collaboration with parents, and depending on their age, the First Nations students themselves.

The IEP sets out the learning needs of a First Nations student and the types of high cost special education services that are required to achieve those goals.

Related links

Date modified:

Programme d’éducation spécialisée à coûts élevés

Le Programme d'éducation spécialisée à coûts élevés d'Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) vise à aider les élèves admissibles des Premières Nations qui ont des besoins spéciaux à coûts élevés à bénéficier de programmes et de services de qualité, culturellement adaptés et conformes aux normes provinciales ou territoriales généralement acceptées. 

Le budget de 2016 prévoit un investissement de 577,5 M$ sur cinq ans pour appuyer l'éducation des élèves ayant des besoins spéciaux par l'entremise du Programme d'éducation spécialisée à coûts élevés. Ce programme permettra d’appuyer la prestation de services d’aide directs et indirects aux élèves.

Choisir un sujet :

À propos du programme

AANC appuie les élèves des Premières Nations ayant des besoins éducatifs spéciaux au moyen de deux programmes :

  1. Le Programme d'éducation primaire et secondaire, qui finance les services offerts aux élèves des Premières Nations ayant des difficultés d'apprentissage de légères à modérées. Le financement accordé est axé sur la création de programmes, l'orthopédagogie, les services cliniques et la dotation en personnel enseignant.
  2. Le Programme d'éducation spécialisée à coûts élevés, qui aide les écoles administrées par des bandes à offrir des services spéciaux à coûts élevés aux élèves ayant des difficultés d'apprentissage de niveau modéré à sévère. Le financement accordé est spécifique à l'élève et déterminé par une formule qui tient compte des besoins individuels de l'élève. Ce financement est utilisé en appui aux services directs, que ce soit pour l'embauche de personnel, l'achat de matériel adapté ou la prestation de services en ressources.

Le Programme d'éducation spécialisée à coûts élevés comporte des services directs et indirects. Les services directs représentent au moins 75 % du financement disponible. Ils comprennent divers services, fournis en classe et à l'école, relatifs à l'éducation et au soutien de l'élève ayant des besoins spéciaux à coûts élevés. Voici quelques exemples :

Les services indirects représentent jusqu'à 25 % du financement total attribué au titre du Programme d'éducation spécialisée à coûts élevés. Le financement de services indirects est fourni aux bénéficiaires admissibles des Premières Nations pour la mise en place de programmes et services d'éducation spécialisée. Il repose sur la compréhension que chaque élève ayant des besoins éducatifs spéciaux est unique et requiert un programme sur mesure qui répond à ses besoins et favorise au mieux sa réussite. Voici quelques exemples :

Qui peut présenter une demande?

Les conseils de bande, les écoles fédérales, les ministères provinciaux de l'Éducation, les commissions scolaires provinciales ou districts provinciaux, les établissements d'enseignement privés et les organismes désignés par les conseils de bande sont admissibles au programme. 

Échéance

La date limite pour soumettre les demandes de financement est le 15 mai 2017.

Comment présenter une demande?

Les demandes sont recueillies dans le cadre d'un processus annuel d'appel de propositions.

Les demandeurs doivent soumettre des demandes détaillées pour toutes les activités liées aux besoins d'éducation spécialisée à coûts élevés qui seront entreprises pendant l'année scolaire, en énonçant clairement comment les activités proposées contribueront à l'atteinte des objectifs et des résultats escomptés du programme et répondront aux besoins d'éducation spécialisée à coûts élevés des élèves.

Les programmes ou services qui seront mis en œuvre ou maintenus pendant l'année scolaire doivent être comparables aux programmes et services d'éducation spécialisée à coûts élevés actuellement offerts dans les écoles de la province visée.

Pour présenter une demande, veuillez lire les directives publiées sur la page Programme d'éducation spéciale à coûts élevés : Lignes directrices nationales 2017-2018.

Toutes les propositions seront évaluées par les bureaux régionaux en fonction de ces critères.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la présentation d'une demande, veuillez communiquer avec AANC par courriel, à Education@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca, ou par téléphone, au 1-­800­-567-­9604 et demander à parler à un agent d'éducation.

Évaluation des besoins d'un élève

Pour être admissible à un financement au titre du Programme d'éducation spécialisée d'AANC, il faut qu'un plan d'enseignement individualisé (PEI) propre à l'élève ayant des besoins éducatifs spéciaux soit en place. Les coûts liés à l'évaluation sont assumés par AANC.

Un enseignant possédant la formation appropriée procède à une évaluation préliminaire, et si un besoin est cerné, l'élève est dirigé vers un professionnel comme un médecin, un orthophoniste ou un psychoéducateur qui procédera à une évaluation officielle. Celle-ci oriente l'élaboration du PEI de l'élève.

Le PEI doit contenir des objectifs d'éducation précis et mesurables pour l'élève, à court et à long terme. Les plans sont élaborés conjointement par les enseignants et les professionnels, idéalement en collaboration avec les parents et, selon son âge, avec l'élève.

Le PEI établit les besoins d'apprentissage d'un élève des Premières Nations et les types de services d'éducation spécialisée à coûts élevés nécessaires pour atteindre les objectifs fixés.

Liens connexes

Date de modification :