First Nations and Inuit Skills Link Program

This program helps First Nation and Inuit youth acquire essential employment skills and learn about job and career options. It is one of two programs under the First Nations and Inuit Youth Employment Strategy (FNIYES).

Choose a topic:

About the program

The First Nations and Inuit Skills Link Program supports activities that assist young people in acquiring the essential skills that will help them gain employment, function well in the workplace, and learn about job and career options.

Activities may include career promotion, science and technology activities, co-operative education placements and internships and mentored work placements.

The program:

Funding is provided to eligible First Nation and Inuit governments, as well as organizations, schools and employers who then provide activities for First Nation and Inuit youth.

Who can apply?

For the second 2016 call for proposals:

  • First Nations and Inuit governments and organizations
  • First Nations schools or federal schools (only for cooperative education activities)
  • not-for-profit organizations
  • private sector employers

For previous calls for proposals:

  • First Nations and Inuit governments and organizations
  • First Nation schools or federal schools on-reserve

Organizations receiving funding through this program may also enter into agreements with private sector and not-for-profit organizations to support these activities.

Not-for-profit organizations and private sector employers may be eligible for direct funding for activities that provide opportunities for eligible First Nations and Inuit youth and fall within program guidelines. Not-for-profit organizations may be eligible to receive funding to cover up to 100% of eligible expenditures. Private sector employers may be eligible to receive funding to cover funding up to 50% of eligible expenditures.

Eligible youth participants

  • First Nations and Inuit youth aged 15 to 30 who are either:
    • ordinarily resident on reserve or in a recognized community (an approved settlement on Crown land)
    • Inuit who are residents in Canada, but who reside outside their territory, and are no longer eligible to be funded by their territory (proof of refusal is required)

Mentored work placements, including information and communication technology placements, are for youth who are not in school, or are unemployed or underemployed.

Ordinarily resident-on-reserve means that eligible youth live on-reserve, do not maintain a primary residence off-reserve, and may be temporarily off-reserve for the primary purpose of seeking education.

Co-operative education placements are for students in grades 7 to 12 (secondary 1 to secondary 5), enrolled in and attending a federal or band-operated school. For activities promoting careers and science and technology, youth may be younger than 15 years of age.

Deadline

The deadline to submit a proposal in the first round of applications was May 1, 2016.

The deadline to submit a proposal in the second round of applications was the end of fall 2016.

How to apply?

Applicants must submit detailed proposals for the activities to be undertaken over the course of the agreement and clearly state how the proposed activities will contribute to the objectives of this program.

Proposals must:

Proposals are reviewed and approved by the INAC regional office or the First Nations or Inuit organization managing the program for their member communities. More information is available in the First Nation and Inuit Youth Employment Strategy – Skills Link Program – National Program Guidelines 2016-2017.

For First Nations and Inuit communities, governments and organizations:

A sample proposal form is available. Applicants who have access to the INAC Services Portal should use the electronic form by opening a session on the portal. If you do not have access to the portal, please contact your INAC regional office to get access to the portal. For more information, e-mail education@aandc-aadnc.gc.ca or call 1-800-567-9604.

For not-for-profit organizations and private sector employers:

Please:

National science camps

The Skills Link Program also supports National Science Camps. Held annually, these camps offer a great opportunity to bring together First Nations and Inuit youth from across Canada. The week of activities is designed to promote interest in science and technology and encourage young people to consider a career in these fields.

The National Science Camps have been held in various regions across Canada.

Photographs from previous National Science Camps can be viewed here:

To find out about the next National Science Camp and how students are selected contact your INAC regional office.

Results

Date modified:

Programme connexion compétences à l’intention des Premières Nations et des Inuit

Ce Programme vise à aider les jeunes à acquérir des compétences essentielles qui leur permettront d'obtenir un emploi et de se renseigner sur les différentes possibilités de carrière. Il s'agit de l'un des deux programmes qui s'inscrivent dans la Stratégie d'emploi pour les jeunes Inuit et des Premières Nations.

Choisir un sujet :

À propos du programme

Le Programme connexion compétences à l'intention des Premières Nations et des Inuit vise à aider les jeunes à acquérir des compétences essentielles qui leur permettront d'obtenir un emploi, de bien s'adapter au milieu de travail et de se renseigner sur les différentes possibilités de carrière.

Les activités comprennent des activités de promotion professionnelles, scientifiques et technologiques, des placements en enseignement coopératif et des stages et des placements professionnels encadrés.

Le Programme :

Du financement est accordé aux gouvernements et aux organisations inuits et ceux des Premières Nations, aux écoles et aux employés admissibles qui peuvent ensuite offrir des activités aux jeunes des Premières Nations et aux jeunes Inuit.

Qui peut présenter une demande?

Pour le deuxième appel de propositions de 2016 :

  • gouvernements et organisations des Premières Nations et inuits
  • écoles des Premières Nations ou administrées par le gouvernement federal (seulement pour les activités d’enseignement coopératif)
  • organisations sans but lucratif
  • employeurs du secteur privé

Pour les appels de propositions précédents :

  • gouvernements et organisations des Premières Nations et Inuits
  • écoles des Premières Nations ou administrées par le gouvernement fédéral dans les réserves

Les organisations qui reçoivent du financement dans le cadre de ce Programme peuvent également conclure une entente avec le secteur privé et des organisations sans but lucratif afin d'appuyer ces activités.

Les organisations sans but lucratif et les employeurs du secteur privé peuvent être admissibles à du financement direct pour les activités qui permettent d'offrir des occasions d'emploi aux étudiants admissibles des Premières Nations et inuits et qui sont conformes aux lignes directrices du Programme. Les organisations sans but lucratif peuvent être admissibles à recevoir du financement pour couvrir jusqu'à 100 % des dépenses admissibles. Les employeurs du secteur privé peuvent être admissibles à recevoir du financement pour couvrir jusqu'à 50 % des dépenses admissibles.

Jeunes participants admissibles

  • Des jeunes des Premières Nations et des jeunes Inuit âgés de 15 à 30 ans :
    • qui habitent habituellement dans les réserves ou dans une collectivité reconnue (c'est-à-dire un établissement approuvé situé sur des terres de la Couronne) et
    • des jeunes Inuit qui sont résidants au Canada, mais qui habitent à l'extérieur de leur territoire, et qui ne sont plus admissibles au financement offert par leur territoire (preuve de refus obligatoire).

Les placements professionnels encadrés, y compris les placements aux Technologies de l'information et des communications visent les jeunes qui ne fréquentent pas l'école, ou sont en chômage ou sous-employés.

Pour être considéré comme résidant ordinairement dans une réserve, le jeune admissible doit habiter dans la réserve et ne pas maintenir une résidence permanente à l'extérieur. Il peut habiter temporairement à l'extérieur de la réserve si l'objectif premier est de fréquenter un établissement d'enseignement.

Les stages d'enseignement coopératif sont réservés aux élèves de la 7e à la 12e année (du 1er au 5e secondaire) qui sont inscrits dans une école administrée par le gouvernement fédéral ou une école administrée par une bande et qui fréquentent celle-ci. En ce qui concerne les activités de promotion et les activités de sciences et de technologie, les jeunes de 15 ans et moins sont admissibles.

Dates limites

La date limite pour la soumission d'une proposition dans la première ronde de demandes était le 1er mai 2016.

Les propositions pour la deuxième ronde de demandes devaient être soumises avant la fin de l'automne 2016.

Comment présenter une demande?

Les demandeurs doivent soumettre des propositions détaillées pour les activités qui seront entreprises dans le cadre de l'entente, et indiquer clairement comment les activités proposées contribueront à l'atteinte des objectifs et des résultats escomptés du programme.

Les propositions doivent :

Les propositions sont examinées et approuvées par le bureau régional d'Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada ou par l'organisme inuit ou des Premières Nations qui gère le programme pour ses collectivités membres.

La Stratégie d'emploi pour les jeunes Inuit et ceux des Premières Nations – Programme Connexion compétences – Lignes directrices nationales 2016-2017 offre de plus amples renseignements à ce sujet.

Pour les collectivités, les gouvernements et les organisations des Premières Nations et Inuits :

Un modèle de formulaire de proposition est mis à la disposition des demandeurs sur le portail des services d'AANC. Si vous n'avez pas accès au portail, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau d'AANC de votre région pour en obtenir l'accès. Pour plus d'information, communiquez avec nous par courriel à education@aandc-aadnc.gc.ca ou composez le 1-800-567-9604.

Pour les organisations sans but lucratif et les employeurs du secteur privé :

Camps scientifiques

Le Programme connexion compétences appuie également les camps scientifiques nationaux. Offerts chaque année, ces camps réunissent des jeunes Inuit et des jeunes des Premières Nations venus de partout au Canada pour une semaine d'activités dont l'objectif est de promouvoir l'intérêt pour les sciences et la technologie et les encourager à envisager une carrière dans l'un de ces domaines.

Les camps scientifiques nationaux ont eu lieu dans différentes régions du Canada.

Cliquez sur le lien ci-dessous pour voir des photos des camps scientifiques précédents :

Pour en savoir plus sur le prochain camp scientifique et sur le processus de sélection des étudiants, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau d'AANC de votre région.

Résultats

Date de modification :