First Nations and Inuit Youth Employment Strategy

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC)'s First Nations and Inuit Youth Employment Strategy (FNIYES) supports initiatives to provide First Nations and Inuit youth with work experience, information about career options and opportunities to develop skills to help gain employment and develop careers.

Choose a topic:

About the First Nations and Inuit Youth Employment Strategy

The First Nations and Inuit Youth Employment Strategy is part of the Government of Canada's effort to enhancing Indigenous Canadians' education, participation in the labour market and economic success.

The FNIYES has an annual budget of $24 million. Since its launch in 1997, the FNIYES has provided close to 150,000 opportunities to First Nations and Inuit youth. More than 600 First Nations and Inuit communities design and implement projects each year.

The FNIYES helps First Nations and Inuit youth, between the ages of 15 and 30, who are ordinarily resident on-reserve or in recognized communities:

  • develop and enhance essential employability skills
  • get exposed to a variety of career options
  • understand the benefits of education as key to labour market participation
  • gain co-operative education work and study opportunities

INAC delivers two programs under the First Nations and Inuit Youth Employment Strategy:

  • the First Nations and Inuit Summer Work Experience Program supports initiatives to help First Nations and Inuit youth acquire skills, prepare for full-time employment and earn income to support post-secondary education, through summer work experience
  • the First Nations and Inuit Skills Link Program supports initiatives that help First Nations and Inuit youth acquire essential employability and job-related skills, and to learn about job and career options, to prepare for employment and career development

Government of Canada's Youth Employment Strategy

The FNIYES is a component of the Government of Canada's Youth Employment Strategy (YES) led by Employment and Social Development Canada. The YES was launched in 1997 to help youth enhance their employability skills while increasing the number of skilled young Canadians in the workforce.

Eleven federal government departments are involved in delivering YES initiatives.

INAC is responsible for employment and skills development under the YES for First Nations and Inuit youth.

Additional federal employment programs for youth

Employment resources

Date modified:

Stratégie d'emploi pour les jeunes Inuits et des Premières Nations

La Stratégie d'emploi d'Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) pour les jeunes Inuit et des Premières Nations permet de financer des initiatives visant à donner aux jeunes Inuit et aux jeunes des Premières Nations une expérience professionnelle, de l'information sur les perspectives de carrières et sur les possibilités d'acquérir des compétences pour les aider à obtenir un emploi et la réalisation d'une carrière.

Choisir un sujet :

À propos de la Stratégie d'emploi pour les jeunes Inuit et des Premières Nations

La Stratégie d'emploi pour les jeunes Inuit et ceux des Premières Nations (SEJIPN) s'inscrit dans l'objectif du gouvernement du Canada d'améliorer l'éducation des Canadiens et Canadiennes d'origine autochtone, leur participation au marché du travail et leur réussite économique.

La SEJIPN est assortie d'un budget annuel de 24 millions de dollars. Depuis l'adoption de cette stratégie en 1997, près de 150 000 possibilités ont été offertes aux jeunes Inuit et à ceux des Premières Nations. Plus de 600 collectivités inuites et des Premières nations conçoivent et réalisent des projets chaque année.

La Stratégie aide les jeunes Inuit et ceux des Premières Nations âgés de 15 à 30 ans qui résident habituellement dans une réserve ou dans une collectivité reconnue en:

Le ministère offre deux programmes dans le cadre de la Stratégie d'emploi pour les jeunes Inuit et des Premières Nations :

Stratégie emploi jeunesse du gouvernement du Canada

La Stratégie d'emploi pour les jeunes Inuit et des Premières Nations est une composante de la Stratégie emploi jeunesse du gouvernement du Canada que dirige Emploi et Développement Social Canada. La Stratégie emploi jeunesse fut lancée en 1997 avec pour objectif d'améliorer l'employabilité des jeunes tout en augmentant le nombre de jeunes Canadiens qualifiés au sein de la population active.

Onze ministères fédéraux gèrent des initiatives liées à la Stratégie emploi jeunesse.

AANC est chargé de l'emploi et du développement professionnel des jeunes Inuit et des Premières Nations dans la cadre de la Stratégie emploi jeunesse.

Autres programmes d'emploi fédéraux à l'intention des jeunes

Ressources en matière d'emploi

Date de modification :