Glossary of Terms

Band

A band is a body of Indians for whose collective use and benefit lands have been set apart or money is held by the Crown, or declared to be a band for the purposes of the Indian Act. A band may also be known as a First Nation. Each band has its own governing band council, usually consisting of one chief and several councillors. Community members choose the chief and councillors by election. The members of a band generally share common values, traditions and practices rooted in their ancestral heritage.

Band Council

This is the governing body for a band. It usually consists of a chief and councillors, who are elected for two or three-year terms (as established by the Indian Act or band custom) to carry out band business, which may include education; water, sewer and fire services; by-laws; community buildings; schools; roads; and other community businesses and services.

Canada Gazette

The Canada Gazette is the Government of Canada's "official newspaper" where the federal government publishes new laws and regulations, proposed regulations, decisions of administrative boards and an assortment of government notices. Private sector notices required by law to be published to inform the public also appear in the Canada Gazette.

Part I contains all public notices, official appointments and proposed regulations from the federal government, as well as other public notices from the private sector that are required to be published by a federal statute or by regulations. Part I is published every Saturday. Part II contains all regulations that have been enacted as well as other classes of statutory instruments, such as orders in council, orders and proclamations. Only government departments and agencies publish in Part II. Part II is published every other Wednesday.

Come into force

This term – usually referring to laws, regulations, policies, contracts, or agreements – describes how and when a legal document becomes effective.

Land Tenure Instruments

Land tenure instruments are binding legal agreements such as leases, permits and licences that spell out how the project lands will be used and by whom.

Regulatory Gap

A “regulatory gap” is the absence of adequate laws (including regulations and monitoring and enforcement systems) to govern an activity. Regulatory gaps occur on reserve lands where there is an absence of appropriate laws, applicable on reserve, to govern complex commercial or industrial activities.

A regulatory gap creates uncertainty respecting process, time and costs associated with a project, and can divert potential investors from First Nation reserve lands to off-reserve jurisdictions where an established and familiar regulatory framework exists.

Reserve

A reserve is a tract of land, the legal title to which is held by the Crown, set apart for the use and benefit of an Indian band. Some bands have more than one reserve.

Stakeholders

A group or set of individuals that has an interest in an issue, decision or outcome.  For example, a private sector business looking to create a commercial interest on a First Nation reserve is a stakeholder in advancing that project. The neighbouring municipality that would have to deal with the increased traffic to the reserve as a result of that project would also be a stakeholder. Stakeholders do not necessarily have a legal claim or basis to support their interest but may have moral influence over others, for example because of their experience, knowledge or relations.

Glossaire

bande

Groupe d'Indiens au profit duquel des terres ont été réservées ou dont l'argent est détenu par la Couronne ou qui a été désigné comme bande aux termes de la Loi sur les Indiens. Une bande peut aussi être appelée Première nation. Chaque bande possède son propre conseil de bande, qui joue un rôle de direction et qui est généralement formé d'un chef et de plusieurs conseillers. Le chef et les conseillers sont élus par les membres de la collectivité. Les membres de la bande partagent généralement des valeurs, des traditions et des pratiques issues de leur patrimoine ancestral.

conseil de bande

Le conseil de bande est l'organisme administrateur de la bande. Il est généralement composé d'un chef et de conseillers élus pour un mandat de deux ou trois ans (en vertu de la Loi sur les Indiens ou de la coutume de la bande) afin de s'occuper des affaires de la bande, notamment l'éducation, les services d'égouts et d'approvisionnement en eau, les services de protection contre les incendies, les règlements administratifs, les édifices communautaires, les écoles et les routes ainsi que d'autres services ou affaires communautaires.

entrée en vigueur

Ce terme, qui concerne généralement les lois, les règlements, les politiques, les contrats ou les accords, décrit comment et quand un document juridique prend effet.

Gazette du Canada

La Gazette du Canada est le « journal officiel » du gouvernement du Canada. On y publie les nouvelles lois et les nouveaux règlements, les projets de règlements, les décisions de conseils administratifs et divers avis gouvernementaux. Des avis issus du secteur privé qui, en vertu d'une loi ou d'un règlement, doivent être publiés dans le but d'informer le public y sont aussi publiés.

La Partie I contient tous les avis publics, les nominations officielles et les projets de règlements issus du gouvernement fédéral ainsi que divers avis publics issus du secteur privé, qui doivent être publiés en vertu d'une loi fédérale ou d'un règlement fédéral. La Partie I est publiée tous les samedis. La Partie II contient tous les règlements adoptés et certains textes réglementaires d'autres catégories comme les décrets en conseil, les décrets et les proclamations. Seuls les avis des ministères et des organismes du gouvernement y sont publiés. La Partie II est publiée tous les deux mercredis.

instruments du régime foncier

Les instruments du régime foncier sont des ententes ayant force exécutoire comme des baux, des permis et des licences qui établissent comment et par qui les terres visées par un projet seront utilisées.

parties intéressées

Groupe ou ensemble de personnes ayant un intérêt dans une question, une décision ou un résultat. Par exemple, une entreprise privée désireuse de créer un intérêt commercial dans une réserve d'une Première nation est une partie intéressée dans la promotion de ce projet. La municipalité voisine qui devrait composer avec l'augmentation de la circulation vers la réserve en raison du projet serait aussi une partie intéressée. Les parties intéressées n'appuient pas nécessairement leur intérêt sur une réclamation ou un fondement juridiques, mais peuvent avoir une influence morale sur d'autres parties, en raison par exemple de leur expérience, de leurs connaissances ou de leurs relations.

réserve

Une réserve est une terre qui a été mise de côté par la Couronne pour l'usage et le bénéfice d'une bande. Certaines bandes ont plus d'une réserve.

vide réglementaire

Un vide réglementaire est l'absence de lois adéquates (y compris les règlements ainsi que les systèmes de surveillance et d'application de la loi) permettant de régir une activité. Des vides réglementaires surviennent dans les terres des réserves en l'absence de lois adéquates, applicables dans la réserve, qui permettraient de régir des activités commerciales et industrielles complexes.

Un vide réglementaire est source d'incertitude au regard du processus, des délais et des coûts associés à un projet et peut détourner des investisseurs potentiels des terres des réserves des Premières nations vers des territoires hors réserve où est appliqué un cadre de réglementation établi et connu.