Process, Roles and Responsibilities

Step 1: Project Identification and Proposal

The process set out in the First Nations Commercial and Industrial Development Act (FNCIDA) requires a serious commitment from the participating First Nation. The process has been described as “front loaded” because much of the work required happens in the beginning stages. In this first step, called the project identification step, the work falls mostly to the First Nation proposing the project. Completing most of the proposal work in the beginning helps to reduce the overall time required for the process and ensures that the expectations of all stakeholders are properly managed.

This step involves developing a formal written proposal and providing documentation as set out by AANDC, as well as securing a Band Council Resolution (BCR) requesting the development of regulations under FNCIDA.

The tasks to be completed during this step are:

  • The First Nation identifies an industrial or commercial project that needs regulations to advance, and for which regulations under FNCIDA are possible.
  • The First Nation, the AANDC Regional Office and other key stakeholders (e.g., outside investors) engage in initial exploratory discussions. The aim of the discussions is to determine if further analysis is needed to establish project eligibility under FNCIDA (see Step 2 for the list of 5 questions that form the criteria for using FNCIDA).
  • The First Nation prepares the required documentation, seeks to build the necessary skills and capacity to complete the process and secures community support.
  • The First Nation passes a Band Council Resolution supporting the development of regulations under FNCIDA.

The project proposal sets out all project information supporting the application, including:

  1. A general description of the project;
  2. A legal description of the land that will be used;
  3. Confirmation that the land is reserve land, or that it is proposed as an addition to reserve (ATR) with an indication of the current stage of the approval process;
  4. A description of how the proposed lands will be used;
  5. A general proposal for key lease issues (e.g. term, rent, royalties, licenses);
  6. An identification of any possible contentious issues;
  7. Information on potential project risks, including potential loss of economic opportunities should the project not proceed;
  8. An evaluation of the existing or desired regulatory framework;
  9. A confirmation of community support or a timeline to obtain it;
  10. An indication of provincial readiness to negotiate;
  11. A proposed timeline; and
  12. An analysis of the economic and other benefits.

 

Tips on Building Community Support

Building support for commercial or industrial project begins at the community level. It is likely that the project will have a lasting impact on the community – be it new economic development opportunities, greater autonomy or a higher standard of living. The more extensive and significant the impact of the project, the better it is to have broad and lasting support from members of the First Nation. There are many ways the community can express its support. Some are required by FNCIDA (such as the Band Council Resolution) and others are optional but beneficial. These optional but recommended expressions of support include, but are not limited, to:

  • Petitions to the Band Council in support of the project, which can form part of the documentation submitted to AANDC as part of the proposal.

    TIP: Circulate the petition at local community events. Organize a town hall meeting with representatives of the groups involved in the proposal. Have a table by the entrance where people can sign the petition once they have heard the reasons why the project would benefit the community.

    TIP: Contact local radio stations and encourage them to interview supporters of the project. During the interview, mention the petition and how people can sign up.
  • A letter writing campaign. These could be from community leaders, religious leaders, prominent business people, past Band leaders and other political leaders.

    TIP: Write letters of support to elected representatives, such as the local members of the federal and provincial parliaments, as well as the Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada

    TIP: Looking beyond the First Nation, consider having other stakeholders, people, groups that might be impacted by the project write letters of support. This could include investors and developers involved in the project, as well as nearby businesses and adjacent municipalities.

    TIP: Consider developing a communication kit that could be left with people or groups that you would like to write letters in support of the project. A kit could include a sample letter of support, a backgrounder with pertinent information (who will benefit and how, and why the project is important for the community).







Step 2: Project Review and Selection

The second step, Project Review and Selection, starts when the AANDC Regional Office receives the Band Council Resolution requesting the development of regulations under FNCIDA, the formal written proposal and the appropriate supporting documentation. Most of the tasks required during this step are to be completed by AANDC with help from the First Nation. AANDC may request additional information or clarification from the First Nation, as it assesses and evaluates the submission.

At this stage, the First Nation will be in a position to work with the relevant AANDC Regional Office to complete a legal risk assessment and cost-benefit analysis, identifying the cost of developing regulations and the potential for loss of economic development opportunities if the project does not proceed. The First Nation will also work with the AANDC Regional Office to evaluate the proposal based on established criteria set out in this section. Essentially, AANDC undertakes a thorough evaluation that includes a detailed review of the project, its regulatory needs, the feasibility of using FNCIDA, the level of community support, the risks inherent in the project and an analysis of costs and benefits.

The criteria that AANDC uses when reviewing a formal proposal to develop regulations under FNCIDA can be summarized by the following questions. If the answer to each of these questions is yes, then the project qualifies in principle for FNCIDA.

  1. Do the lands involved in the project meet all requirements (legal, policy, etc) so that AANDC is able to issue land tenure?
  2. Is there currently a lack of regulations to deal with environmental or health and safety issues, regardless of the degree of possible impact?
  3. If there is a lack of existing regulations, is it preventing economic development and is there no other regulatory regime that could be used to implement the project?
  4. Have all other alternatives for regulating the project, including the Indian Act, been considered and ruled out, and is using FNCIDA the only possible approach?
  5. Is the province supportive in principle of the project and will it be willing to play a role in the administration and enforcement of the regulations that would be developed under FNCIDA?

This step concludes when AANDC decides whether or not to proceed to the next step – the negotiation and drafting stage – and whether or not to allocate resources to developing the regulations.

Spot Check: The Roles and Responsibilities of
AANDC Regional Offices

Project recommendations and successful delivery of an approved project are the overall responsibility of the AANDC Regional Director General where the project is located. For each project, the Regional Director General will assign a dedicated AANDC regional project manager who will be responsible for the preparation of project documentation. This documentation includes:

  • Project proposal and supporting analysis recommending project approval; and
  • Project plans and a quarterly report on results, issues and risks.

Acting under the authority of the Regional Director General – and working collaboratively with the First Nation, investors, the province and the federal Department of Justice – the AANDC regional project manager will be responsible for:

  • Managing the negotiation, drafting and completion of the three key documents:

    1. Regulations;
    2. Tripartite agreement; and
    3. Land tenure instruments.

  • Coordinating activities with the FNCIDA Project Management Office.

During the Administration, Monitoring and Enforcement step, regions will be responsible for:

  • The ongoing oversight of regulations, tripartite agreements and land tenure instruments; and
  • Engaging the Chair of the Major Projects Steering Committee to seek approval and funding to amend the regulations and/or tripartite agreements as needed.









Step 3: Negotiation and Drafting

This step starts once AANDC has given its approval for the project proposal. Once approval is granted, detailed project work plans can be developed.

These plans set out :

  • The resources required to implement the project
  • A list of key milestones
  • Plans for engaging stakeholders (who, when and how)
  • Strategies for risk management, and
  • Timelines.

Throughout this step, there will be close communication and consultation between the Government of Canada, the First Nation and the provincial government. This is required to develop the three important project-specific documents: the regulations; the tripartite agreement between the Government of Canada, the First Nation and the provincial government; and the land tenure instruments.


1.  A tripartite agreement is
signed by the Government of
Canada, the provincial government
and the First Nation.

In depth: AANDC will be preparing guidelines and a template that will help the Government of Canada, the First Nation and the provincial government negotiate a tripartite agreement. The guidelines will outline the tools for establishing effective working relations with provincial governments and First Nations and compliance with Orders in Council, including the roles of signing authorities and program authorities.

The template for tripartite agreements includes:

  • A project description;
  • The project's technical requirements and processes;
  • The responsibilities of all parties to the agreement;
  • The key performance indicators
  • A dispute-resolution process;
  • The prosecution arrangements;
  • A framework for operational management, including administration, monitoring and enforcement;
  • The project's costs and resources; and
  • Other items as required by the specific project.


2. The Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada and Cabinet approve the regulations.

In depth: The regulations are prepared by AANDC in consultation with the First Nation. The package - including the regulations, a communication plan, a Regulatory Impact Analysis Statement, and a briefing note - is submitted to Cabinet for consideration. Communication with the First Nation will continue throughout the various stages of the regulatory development process.

This step concludes when the lease and tripartite agreement are executed and the regulations come into force.




Spot Check: The tripartite agreement process
for FNCIDA projects

FNCIDA enables the Government of Canada - in response to a request by a First Nation - to adopt federal regulations for a particular project on reserve lands. These regulations will, to a large extent, replicate the provincial regulatory regime. Since provinces have the necessary expertise, given their responsibilities for private sector economic development, FNCIDA provides for the province to carry out monitoring and enforcement of the new regulatory regime on behalf of the federal government. In these cases, an agreement will be required between the Government of Canada, the provincial government and the First Nation to govern the monitoring and enforcement of the regulations by provincial officials.

Requirements under FNCIDA

According to subsection 5(b) of the Act, a tripartite agreement must be concluded by all parties before making regulations under FNCIDA: "Regulations may not be made… in respect of undertakings on reserve lands of a first nation unless… the regulations specify a provincial official by whom, or body by which, a power may be exercised or a duty must be performed, and an agreement has been concluded between the Minister, the province and the council of the first nation for the administration and enforcement of the regulations by that official or body."

Signature of the tripartite agreement

The requirement that an agreement be concluded by all parties before making regulations does not imply that the agreement must be signed by all parties when proposing regulations under FNCIDA. A letter from the provincial government, signed by an Assistant Deputy Minister, Deputy Minister or Minister, showing support for provincial monitoring and enforcement of the proposed regulations is sufficient to complete Step 3. This would allow for the regulatory package to be published in the Canada Gazette, Part 1. The formal tripartite agreement must be signed before starting the approval process for the making of the regulations by the federal Treasury Board, a committee of Cabinet responsible for reviewing all federal regulations, and publication in the Canada Gazette, Part 2.

Approval process for the regulations and agreement

The approval process for the tripartite agreement is similar to the approval process for regulations made under FNCIDA. The only significant difference is that the regulations package is submitted to Cabinet for consideration.








Step 4: Administration, Monitoring and Enforcement

Once the lease and tripartite agreement have been executed and the regulations are in force, Step 4 begins. This step deals with the ongoing administration, monitoring and enforcement of regulations, agreements and land tenure instruments during the life of the project. This includes the construction of facilities and infrastructure and other project operations. Ultimately, it also includes the decommissioning of the project facilities and the reclamation of the lands used in the project.

Based on the tripartite agreement, and any other agreements or contracts signed, monitoring and enforcement required under the regulations will be done by the provincial government. Provincial governments have a lot of experience in the administration, monitoring and enforcement of off-reserve industrial activities. Carrying out these tasks on the reserve in a way agreed to by the First Nation and the Government of Canada is a natural extension of their work. Because of the provincial government's expertise, their role in administering, monitoring and enforcing the regulatory regime will improve both operational efficiency and transparency, and reduce costs.

Issues arising during the Administration, Monitoring and Enforcement step may necessitate negotiation and drafting of amendments to the regulations and/or tripartite agreement. In such cases, as with the project approval process, approval and allocation of resources would be required. Step 3, the Negotiation and Drafting step, would apply to any such amendments.

TIP: In some cases, provincial governments may charge "fees for service" for acquiring a license or permit related to regulating off-reserve projects. Fees for on-reserve projects will be similar to those off the reserve. Under FNCIDA, fees for services collected by provincial bodies under FNCIDA regulations would not be considered public monies under the Financial Administration Act and would therefore not flow through the Consolidated Revenue Fund. This would enable the fees to flow directly to the provincial body, if that arrangement was negotiated.

TIP: Cost estimates and funding arrangements can only reasonably be determined once there is a clear understanding of the obligations to be enforced and the anticipated benefits resulting from each project.

Processus, rôles et responsabilités

Étape 1 : Identification du projet et proposition

Le processus établi dans la Loi sur le développement commercial et industriel des Premières nations (LDCIPN) requiert un engagement sérieux de la Première nation participante. Le processus a été qualifié d'intense dans sa phase initiale, car une grande partie du travail exigé est effectué dès les premiers stades. Dans la première étape – l'identification du projet –, le travail revient surtout à la Première nation qui propose le projet. L'exécution de la plupart des tâches liées à l'élaboration de la proposition dès le début aide à réduire le délai nécessaire au processus et garantit que les attentes de toutes les parties intéressées sont correctement gérées.

Cette étape comporte la rédaction d'une proposition officielle et la production des documents nécessaires, selon les exigences d'AADNC, ainsi que l'obtention d'une résolution du conseil de bande (RCB) demandant l'élaboration d'un règlement en vertu de la LDCIPN.

Les tâches à exécuter à cette étape sont les suivantes :

  • La Première nation désigne un projet industriel ou commercial qui requiert un règlement pour progresser et pour lequel il est possible de produire un règlement en vertu de la LDCIPN.
  • La Première nation, le bureau régional d'AADNC et d'autres principales parties intéressées (p. ex. investisseurs de l'extérieur) amorcent des discussions exploratoires. Le but de ces discussions est d'établir si d'autres analyses sont nécessaires pour établir l'admissibilité du projet aux termes de la LDCIPN (voir à l'étape 2 la liste des cinq questions constituant le critère pour utiliser la LDCIPN).
  • La Première nation prépare les documents nécessaires, s'emploie à regrouper les compétences et les capacités requises pour compléter le processus et s'assure de l'appui communautaire.
  • La Première nation adopte une résolution du conseil de bande appuyant l'élaboration d'un règlement en vertu de la LDCIPN.

La proposition de projet fournit toute l'information relative au projet en appui à la demande, notamment :

  1. une description générale du projet;
  2. une description officielle du terrain qui sera utilisé;
  3. la confirmation que ce terrain constitue une terre de réserve ou qu'il est proposé comme ajout à la réserve, avec indication de l'étape actuelle du processus d'approbation;
  4. une description de la façon dont les terres du projet seront utilisées;
  5. une proposition générale sur les principales questions relatives au bail (p. ex. durée, loyer, redevances, permis);
  6. une indication des questions qui pourraient être litigieuses;
  7. de l'information sur les risques possibles du projet, y compris la perte potentielle d'occasions économiques si le projet ne devait pas se réaliser;
  8. une évaluation du cadre de réglementation existant ou souhaité;
  9. une confirmation de l'appui communautaire ou d'un échéancier pour l'obtenir;
  10. une indication de la disposition de la province à négocier;
  11. un projet de calendrier, et
  12. une analyse des avantages économiques et autres.

 

Conseils pour susciter l'appui communautaire

L'appui à un projet commercial ou industriel commence au niveau de la collectivité. Il est probable que le projet aura des répercussions durables sur la collectivité, soit en termes de développement économique, d'une plus grande autonomie ou d'une augmentation du niveau de vie. Plus le projet aura des répercussions importantes et de longue durée, plus il sera souhaitable d'obtenir un appui large et durable auprès des membres de la Première nation. La collectivité peut manifester son appui de différentes façons. Certaines sont requises par la LDCIPN (comme la résolution du conseil de bande); d'autres sont facultatives mais souhaitables. Ces expressions d'appui facultatives mais souhaitables comprennent, entre autres :

  • Des pétitions favorables au projet adressées au conseil de bande, qui peuvent compter parmi les documents joints à la proposition présentée à AADNC.

    CONSEIL : Faites circuler la pétition à l'occasion d'activités communautaires. Organisez une assemblée publique avec des représentants des groupes participant à la proposition. Disposez une table à l'entrée, où les gens pourront signer la pétition après avoir entendu les avantages que le projet pourrait apporter à la collectivité.

    CONSEIL : Communiquez avec les stations de radio locales et encouragez-les à interroger des gens qui appuient le projet. Au cours de l'entrevue, mentionnez la pétition et indiquez comment les gens peuvent la signer.
  • Une campagne d'envoi de lettres. Les lettres pourraient être rédigées par des dirigeants communautaires ou religieux, des gens d'affaires connus, d'anciens dirigeants de la bande ou d'autres dirigeants politiques.

    CONSEIL : Envoyez des lettres d'appui aux élus, comme les députés fédéraux et provinciaux locaux ainsi que le ministre des Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada.

    CONSEIL : En dehors de la Première nation, vous pourriez demander à d'autres parties intéressées, personnes ou groupes pouvant être touchés par le projet d'envoyer des lettres d'appui. Ces personnes pourraient comprendre des investisseurs ou des promoteurs participant au projet ainsi que des entreprises et des municipalités avoisinantes.

    CONSEIL : Vous pourriez constituer une trousse d'information à l'intention de gens ou de groupes que vous voulez inviter à écrire une lettre d'appui. La trousse pourrait comprendre une lettre d'appui type et un document fournissant de l'information pertinente (comment et pour qui le projet sera avantageux et pourquoi il est important pour la collectivité).







Étape 2 : Étude et sélection du projet

La deuxième étape, Étude et sélection du projet, commence lorsque le bureau régional d'AADNC reçoit la résolution du conseil de bande demandant l'élaboration d'un règlement en vertu de la LDCIPN, la proposition officielle et les pièces à l'appui. La plupart des tâches requises à cette étape sont exécutées par AADNC avec l'aide de la Première nation. AADNC peut demander des renseignements additionnels ou des précisions à la Première nation dans son évaluation du projet.

À cette étape, la Première nation sera en mesure d'effectuer une évaluation du risque juridique et une analyse coûts‑avantages en collaboration avec le bureau régional d'AADNC concerné, établissant les coûts associés à l'élaboration du règlement ainsi que les occasions économiques qui pourraient être perdues si le projet ne devait pas se réaliser. De plus, la Première nation évaluera la proposition par rapport aux critères établis dans la présente section, en collaboration avec le bureau régional d'AADNC. Essentiellement, AADNC effectue une évaluation approfondie comprenant une étude détaillée du projet, ses exigences réglementaires, la faisabilité de recourir à la LDCIPN, le degré d'appui communautaire, les risques inhérents au projet ainsi qu'une analyse coûts-avantages.

Les critères utilisés par AADNC dans l'examen de la proposition officielle d'élaborer un règlement en vertu de la LDCIPN peuvent être résumés par les questions suivantes. Si la réponse à chacune de ces questions est affirmative, le projet est admissible en principe à la LDCIPN.

  1. Les terres visées par le projet satisfont-elles à toutes les exigences (conditions juridiques, politiques, etc.), permettant ainsi à AADNC de produire les instruments du régime foncier?
  2. Y a-t-il actuellement absence de règlements abordant les questions d'environnement, de santé ou de sécurité, sans égard à l'ampleur des effets possibles?
  3. Les règlements existants font-ils défaut et empêchent-ils le développement économique, alors qu'il n'existe pas d'autre régime de réglementation pouvant permettre la réalisation du projet?
  4. Est-ce que toutes les autres possibilités de réglementer le projet, y compris la Loi sur les Indiens, ont été examinées et exclues, la LDCIPN constituant la seule approche possible?
  5. La province appuie-t-elle en principe le projet et sera-t-elle prête à jouer un rôle dans l'administration et l'application du règlement élaboré en vertu de la LDCIPN?

Cette étape s'achève lorsque AADNC décide de passer ou non à la prochaine étape – Négociation et rédaction – et d'affecter des ressources à l'élaboration du règlement.

Quelques précisions : Rôles et responsabilités des bureaux régionaux d'AADNC

Les recommandations relatives à un projet et la bonne marche d'un projet approuvé sont la responsabilité générale du directeur général de la région d'AADNC où est mené le projet. Le directeur général régional désigne un gestionnaire régional pour chaque projet, qui assurera la préparation des documents relatifs au projet, c'est-à-dire :

  • la  proposition de projet et l'analyse qui en recommande l'approbation;
  • les plans de projet et un rapport trimestriel sur les résultats, les questions et les risques.

Sous la responsabilité du directeur général régional et en collaboration avec les investisseurs de la Première nation, la province et le ministère fédéral de la Justice, le gestionnaire de projet régional :

  • gère la négociation, la rédaction et la production des trois documents essentiels :
    1. règlement
    2. accord tripartite
    3. instruments du régime foncier

  • coordonne les activités avec le bureau de gestion de projet de la LDCIPN.

À l'étape de l'administration, de la surveillance et de l'application, les régions :

  • assurent la supervision continue du règlement, des accords tripartites et des instruments du régime foncier;
  • demandent au président du Comité directeur des grands projets de solliciter l'autorisation et le soutien financier nécessaires pour modifier le règlement ou les accords tripartites, au besoin.







Étape 3 : Négociation et rédaction

Cette étape débute après qu'AADNC a approuvé la proposition de projet. Il est alors possible d'élaborer des plans de projets détaillés.

Ces plans établissent :

  • les ressources nécessaires à l'exécution du projet;
  • une liste des principales étapes du projet;
  • les mesures prévues pour susciter la participation des parties intéressées (qui, quand et comment);
  • les stratégies de gestion du risque;
  • les échéanciers.

Tout au long de cette étape, le gouvernement du Canada, la Première nation et le gouvernement provincial demeurent en communication étroite et se consultent fréquemment. Cette condition est importante pour l'élaboration des trois documents propres au projet : le règlement, l'accord tripartite entre le gouvernement du Canada, la Première nation et le gouvernement provincial et les instruments du régime foncier.


1.  Un accord tripartite est signé par le gouvernement du Canada, le gouvernement provincial et la Première nation.

Plus précisément : AADNC élaborera des lignes directrices et un modèle qui aideront le gouvernement du Canada, la Première nation et le gouvernement provincial à négocier un accord tripartite. Les lignes directrices énonceront les outils permettant d'établir des relations de travail efficaces avec les gouvernements provinciaux et les Premières nations et d'assurer l'observation des décrets, y compris les rôles des signataires autorisés et des responsables de programme.

Le modèle d'accord tripartite comprend :

  • une description du projet;
  • les exigences techniques et les processus du projet;
  • les responsabilités de toutes les parties à l'accord;
  • les principaux indicateurs de rendement;
  • les mécanismes de reddition de comptes;
  • un processus de règlement des différends;
  • les dispositions relatives aux poursuites;
  • un cadre de gestion opérationnelle comprenant l'administration, la surveillance et l'application;
  • les coûts et les ressources liés au projet;
  • d'autres aspects propres au projet.


2.  Le ministre d'Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada et le Cabinet approuvent le règlement.

Plus précisément : Le règlement est préparé par AADNC en collaboration avec la Première nation. Le dossier – qui comprend le règlement, un plan de communication, un résumé de l'étude d'impact de la réglementation et une note d'information – est soumis au Cabinet. Les communications avec la Première nation se poursuivent tout au long des différentes étapes du processus d'élaboration du règlement.



3.  Les instruments du régime foncier nécessaires sont en place.

Plus précisément : Les instruments du régime foncier sont des accords ayant force exécutoire comme des baux, des permis et des licences qui établissent comment et par qui les terres visées par un projet seront utilisées.



Cette étape s'achève lorsque le bail et l'accord tripartite sont passés et que le règlement entre en vigueur.




Quelques précisions : Le processus de l'accord tripartite pour les projets menés en vertu de la LDCIPN

La LDCIPN permet au gouvernement du  Canada – en réponse à une demande d'une Première nation – d'adopter des règlements fédéraux au regard d'un projet particulier mené sur des terres de réserve. Dans une large mesure, ces règlements sont un calque du régime provincial. Puisque les provinces possèdent les connaissances spécialisées nécessaires, compte tenu de leurs responsabilités à l'égard du développement économique du secteur privé, la LDCIPN prévoit que la province assurera la surveillance et l'application du nouveau régime de réglementation au nom du gouvernement fédéral. Dans ce cas, un accord devra être conclu entre le gouvernement du Canada, le gouvernement provincial et la Première nation en vue de régir la surveillance et l'application du règlement par les représentants provinciaux.

Prescriptions de la LDCIPN

Selon l'alinéa 5(b) de la Loi, un accord tripartite doit être conclu entre toutes les parties avant qu'un règlement puisse être pris en vertu de la LDCIPN : « La prise d'un règlement [dans le cas d'une entreprise exploitée sur  des terres de réserve] est subordonnée aux conditions préalables suivantes : […] b) dans le cas d'un règlement conférant des attributions à des fonctionnaires ou organismes provinciaux, le ministre, la province et le conseil de la première nation concluent un accord au sujet de la mise en œuvre et du contrôle d'application du règlement par ces fonctionnaires ou organismes. »

Signature de l'accord tripartite

La conclusion d'un accord par toutes les parties comme condition préalable à la prise d'un règlement ne signifie pas que cet accord doit avoir été signé par toutes les parties au moment de proposer le règlement en vertu de la LDCIPN. Une lettre du gouvernement provincial, signée par un sous-ministre adjoint, un sous‑ministre ou un ministre et signifiant l'acceptation par la province du rôle de surveillance et d'application du règlement proposé, suffit à satisfaire aux exigences de l'étape 3. Cette condition permet la publication des documents règlementaires dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie 1. L'accord tripartite officiel doit être signé avant le début du processus d'approbation relatif à l'élaboration du règlement par le Conseil du Trésor fédéral et un comité du Cabinet chargé d'étudier tous les règlements fédéraux, et la publication dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie 2.

Processus d'approbation du règlement et de l'accord

Le processus d'approbation de l'accord tripartite est semblable au processus d'approbation du règlement pris en vertu de la LDCIPN. La seule différence significative est que les documents relatifs au règlement sont soumis au Cabinet.








Étape 4 : Administration, surveillance et application

L'étape 4 commence après que la convention de bail et l'accord tripartite ont été passés et que le règlement est entré en vigueur. Cette étape concerne l'administration, la surveillance et l'application continues du règlement, des accords et des instruments du régime foncier tout au long de la durée du projet. Elle comprend aussi la construction des installations et de l'infrastructure et d'autres activités liées à l'exploitation du projet. À terme, cette étape comprend aussi le démantèlement des installations relatives au projet et la réclamation des terres utilisées.

Conformément à l'accord tripartite, et aux autres accords ou contrats qui auront pu être signés, les fonctions de surveillance et d'application exigées par le règlement seront assurées par le gouvernement provincial.

Les gouvernements provinciaux ont une grande expérience des fonctions d'administration, de surveillance et d'application liées aux activités industrielles hors réserve. L'exécution de ces tâches dans une réserve selon des modalités convenues par la Première nation et le gouvernement du Canada est une extension naturelle de leur travail. En raison de ces connaissances spécialisées des gouvernements provinciaux, leur rôle d'administrer, de surveiller et d'appliquer le régime de réglementation améliorera l'efficacité opérationnelle et la transparence tout en réduisant les coûts.

Les problèmes pouvant surgir à l'étape de l'administration, de la surveillance et de l'application pourront nécessiter la négociation et la rédaction de modifications au règlement ou à l'accord tripartite, auquel cas des ressources devront être approuvées et y être affectées, comme pour le processus d'approbation du projet. L'étape 3 – Négociation et rédaction – s'appliquera à ces modifications.

CONSEIL : Dans certains cas, les gouvernements provinciaux pourront imposer des « droits de service » pour la délivrance d'une licence ou d'un permis relatif à la réglementation d'un projet mené hors réserve. Les droits à payer pour les projets menés dans une réserve seront comparables aux droits payables pour les projets hors réserve. Aux termes de la LDCIPN, les droits de service perçus par des organismes provinciaux au regard de règlements pris en vertu de la LDCIPN ne seront pas considérés comme des fonds publics au sens de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et ne seront donc pas versés au Trésor. Ces droits pourront donc être versés directement à l'organisme provincial, si un tel arrangement a été négocié.

CONSEIL : Les estimations de coût et les ententes de financement ne pourront raisonnablement être établies qu'après que les obligations à faire respecter et les avantages attendus de chaque projet auront été bien compris.