First Nations Commercial and Industrial Development Act

The Regulatory Gap

Increasingly, First Nations across Canada are developing plans for complex commercial and industrial development projects. A lack of adequate regulations for such development on reserve land leads to regulatory uncertainty that can discourage investment in such large projects and hinder economic development.

The First Nations Commercial and Industrial Development Act (FNCIDA)

The First Nations Commercial and Industrial Development Act (FNCIDA) was introduced in the House of Commons on November 2, 2005, and came into force on April 1, 2006. This legislation was needed to close the regulatory gap on reserves and allow complex commercial and industrial projects to proceed.

FNCIDA allows the federal government to produce regulations for complex commercial and industrial development projects on reserves. The Act essentially provides for the adoption of regulations on reserve that are compatible with those off reserve. This compatibility with existing provincial regulations increases certainty for the public and developers while minimizing costs.

Federal regulations are only made under FNCIDA at the request of participating First Nations. The regulations are project-specific, developed in cooperation with the First Nation and the relevant province, and are limited to the particular lands described in the project.

These regulations allow the government to delegate monitoring and enforcement of the new regulatory regime to the province via an agreement between the federal government, the First Nation and the province.

This First Nation-led legislative initiative was developed in cooperation with five partnering First Nations: Squamish Nation of British Columbia; Fort McKay First Nation and Tsuu T'ina Nation of Alberta; Carry the Kettle First Nation of Saskatchewan and Fort William First Nation of Ontario. All five partnering First Nations passed Band Council Resolutions in support of the legislative initiative, and some have advanced plans for various commercial or industrial projects using FNCIDA, including a wood fibre optimization plant in Fort William and a land title and strata property regulatory regime project in Squamish.

In 2010, FNCIDA was amended by Bill C-24, the First Nations Certainty of Land Title Act. The amendments to FNCIDA allow on-reserve commercial real estate projects to benefit from greater certainty of title. The amendments will allow First Nations to request that their on-reserve commercial real estate projects benefit from a property rights regime, including a land title system and title assurance fund, identical to the provincial regime off the reserve. The certainty of land title granted by such a regime would increase investor confidence, making the value of the property comparable with similar developments off the reserve. The Squamish Nation, a strong supporter of the legislation, is already taking advantage of the changes, with plans to build condominium units on reserve land in West Vancouver.

Benefits

FNCIDA opens up many opportunities for economic development projects that will generate prosperity for First Nations and create much needed jobs.

Investors will have greater certainty about the regulations involved in developing major commercial or industrial projects on reserve, improving First Nations' prospects for attracting major capital investment. First Nations will benefit from a greater potential rate of return from their investments and from increased employment and business opportunities on their reserves. Provinces benefit from uniformity of regulations concerning major commercial and industrial development within their borders. Major commercial and industrial projects on reserve will be appropriately regulated to address health, safety and environmental considerations.

By providing for regulatory certainty, FNCIDA is helping to more effectively balance economic development with environmental protection and social policy goals, promoting the sustainable use of reserve lands and resources for future generations. Also, major commercial and industrial projects contribute to the economy of the surrounding region, increasing employment, generating tax revenue and benefitting all Canadians.

What Information is Available

If you are interested in FNCIDA and would like further information, please contact the Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada regional office closest to you or call 1-800-567-9604.

Loi sur le développement commercial et industriel des Premières nations

Le vide réglementaire

De plus en plus, les Premières Nations au Canada envisagent la mise sur pied de projets commerciaux et industriels d'envergure. L'absence de réglementation adéquate régissant de tels projets sur les terres de réserve suscite l'incertitude sur le plan réglementaire et risque de décourager les investisseurs et de freiner le développement économique dans les réserves.

La Loi sur le développement commercial et industriel des Premières nations (LDCIPN)

La Loi sur le développement commercial et industriel des Premières nations (LDCIPN) a été présentée à la Chambre des communes le 2 novembre 2005 et est entrée en vigueur le 1er avril 2006. Cette loi était nécessaire pour combler le vide réglementaire dans les réserves et y permettre la mise en œuvre de projets commerciaux et industriels d'envergure.

Cette mesure législative dirigée par les Premières nations est le fruit d'un travail de collaboration avec cinq Premières nations partenaires : la Nation Squamish (Colombie-Britannique), la Première nation de Fort McKay et la Nation Tsuu T'ina (Alberta), la Première nation Carry the Kettle (Saskatchewan) et la Première nation de Fort William (Ontario). Toutes les Premières nations partenaires ont adopté une résolution du conseil de bande appuyant cette mesure législative. Certaines d'entre elles ont avancé différents projets commerciaux ou industriels s'appuyant sur la La LDCIPN, notamment l'établissement d'une usine de mise en valeur de la fibre ligneuse à Fort William et un projet de régime de réglementation des titres fonciers et de la propriété condominiale à Squamish.

La LDCIPN permet au gouvernement fédéral de prendre des règlements régissant les projets commerciaux et industriels d'envergure dans les réserves. Essentiellement, cette loi prévoit l'adoption de règlements applicables dans les réserves qui sont compatibles avec ceux qui s'appliquent hors réserve. Cette compatibilité procure une plus grande certitude au public et aux promoteurs, tout en réduisant les coûts.

Des règlements fédéraux ne sont pris en vertu de la LDCIPN qu'à la demande des Premières nations participantes. Les règlements sont élaborés pour chaque projet, en collaboration avec la Première nation et la province concernées, et ne s'appliquent qu'aux terres décrites dans le projet.

Ces règlements permettent au gouvernement de conclure un accord avec la Première nation et la province concernées, en vertu duquel la province assure la surveillance et l'application du nouveau régime de réglementation.

En 2010, la Loi sur le développement commercial et industriel des premières nations (LDCIPN) a été modifiée par le projet de loi C-24, Loi sur la certitude des titres fonciers des premières Nations (LCTFPN). Les modifications apportées à la LDCIPN offrent aux projets immobiliers commerciaux une plus grande certitude du titre dans les réserves. Elles permettront aux Premières Nations de demander que leurs projets immobiliers commerciaux dans les réserves s'accompagnent d'un régime de droits de propriété comprenant un régime d'enregistrement des titres fonciers et un fonds d'assurance des titres. Ce régime sera identique au régime provincial applicable à l'extérieur des réserves. La certitude des titres fonciers qu'apportera ce régime rehaussera la confiance des investisseurs, ce qui accroîtra la valeur des propriétés à un niveau comparable à celui de projets semblables à l'extérieur des réserves. La Nation des Squamish, en faveur de la Loi, tire déjà profit de ces modifications, puisqu'elle prévoit la construction de logements en copropriété sur les terres de réserve de West Vancouver.

Avantages

Loi sur le développement commercial et industriel des premières nations offre de nombreuses occasions de réaliser de grands projets de développement économique industriels et commerciaux qui contribueront à la prospérité des Premières Nations et créeront des emplois dont les collectivités ont grandement besoin.

Les investisseurs jouissant d'une plus certitude concernant la réglementation des grands projets commerciaux ou industriels dans les réserves, les Premières nations auront de meilleures possibilités d'attirer d'importants investissements. Elles pourront espérer obtenir un meilleur taux de rendement de leurs investissements et bénéficieront de plus grandes possibilités de création d'emplois et d'entreprises dans les réserves. Les provinces bénéficieront d'une réglementation uniforme des grands projets industriels et commerciaux dans l'ensemble de leur territoire. Les grands projets commerciaux et industriels dans les réserves seront adéquatement réglementés de manière à traiter des questions de santé, de sécurité et d'environnement.

En procurant une plus grande certitude en matière de réglementation, la LDCIPN contribue à mieux équilibrer les objectifs de développement économique, de protection de l'environnement et de politiques sociales, favorisant ainsi l'utilisation durable des terres et des ressources des réserves pour les prochaines générations. De plus, les grands projets commerciaux et industriels stimulent l'économie des régions avoisinantes, créent de l'emploi et accroissent les recettes fiscales.

Renseignements disponibles?

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la LDCIPN, communiquez avec votre bureau régional d'Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada ou composez le 1-800-567-9604.