Lands and Economic Development Services Program

It is well documented that lands and natural resources are among the most valuable assets held by First Nations and Inuit communities, and that their effective and sustainable use is critical for economic development, building partnerships with industry and maintaining strong relationships with other communities. Guiding federal efforts in advancing Aboriginal participation in the economy is the Federal Framework for Aboriginal Economic Development. The Framework has taken the approach that Government can assist in creating the conditions for Aboriginal economic development, but it cannot do it alone.

The Government has taken steps to unlock the economic potential of First Nations and Inuit lands through legislation and program reforms that allow communities to take greater control over land management.

In many cases, the land of a First Nation may be attractive for a major resource development initiative, but the community has yet to define land regulations and land laws to provide developers with the confidence to make investments.

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) helps Aboriginal communities address these, and other issues, through the Lands and Economic Development Services Program (LEDSP).

The Lands and Economic Development Services Program helps Aboriginal communities address these and other issues to ensure that the community can effectively build and manage economic development activities. The Program has four components:

  • It provides funding allocations to First Nation and Inuit communities (and the organizations they mandate) to deliver economic development services on their behalf, such as community economic development planning and capacity development initiatives or proposal developments.
  • It provides funding allocations to help First Nations communities assume greater control over reserve land, resources, and the environment on behalf of the Minister and under the Indian Act. This includes control over land use planning, environmental management, and compliance.
  • It provides funding allocations to signatories of the Framework Agreement on First Nation Land Management, and those who are on the schedule for the First Nations Land Management Act, to help them build capacity to effectively manage their land using modern tools. These include land codes, individual agreements, land management systems, and environmental agreements.
  • It also makes available targeted funding for lands, environmental and economic development support services to help communities achieve the objectives of the Program. This includes services that prevent the contamination of reserve lands and other lands under AANDC's custodial responsibility.

What funds are available?

Two types of funding are available: core allocations; and targeted funding. Eligibility and program requirements differ according to the funding type. Targeted funding is available for initiatives related to: community economic development; and reserve lands and environmental management.

Core Allocations: Who is eligible?

  • First Nation and Inuit communities and their governments, including Tribal Councils (Inuit communities are only eligible for the economic development services component)
  • Other persons performing delegated land management functions under Sections 53 and/or 60 of the Indian Act on behalf of First Nations

Core Allocations: What activities are eligible?

  • economic development activities including (but not limited to) capacity development, community economic development planning, and the development of proposals to lever financial resources
  • support to First Nations who want to take on a broad scope of land and environmental responsibilities on behalf of the Minister, pursuant to sections 53 and 60 of the Indian Act, including land use planning, environmental management, and compliance
  • initiatives that support First Nations who are signatories of the Framework Agreement on First Nations Land Management, and on the schedule for the First Nations Land Management Act

Core Allocations: How can I apply?

Applications by eligible recipients are not required. Allocations will be provided on an annual basis commensurate with the level of responsibility for land management assumed under the Indian Act or the First Nations Land Management Act.

Eligible recipients seeking to increase their level of responsibility for land management must complete a readiness assessment for review by the Department.

Core Allocations: What expenditures are eligible?

  • salaries, wages, and benefits
  • travel
  • overhead, including (but not limited to) rent, utilities, supplies, accounting and audit services, and insurance
  • minor machinery and equipment
  • communications, including (but not limited to) content development, translation, dissemination, advertising, and signage
  • professional, consulting, advisory, and other services (including fees, travel, and report production)
  • attendance at, or participation in, training and professional development programs, conferences, workshops, seminars, events and meetings, including (but not limited to) tuition, registration, travel, testing and evaluation
  • work experience, including travel
  • preparing, organizing, and delivering conferences, workshops, seminars, events, meetings and information sessions, including (but not limited to) room and equipment rentals, food and beverage, promotion, travel and the costs of presenters or facilitators
  • land surveys and appraisals
  • awareness and information sessions, training, and communications relating to environmental promotion and compliance
  • feasibility studies, marketing, advertising, and promotion
  • costs related to economic infrastructure such as, planning, design, identification, capitalization, and acquisition of rights and rights-of-way (core allocations only)
  • capital costs relating to the establishment, acquisition, expansion or modernization of an Aboriginal business

Core Allocations: What expenditures are ineligible?

  • payments for services normally provided without charge (e.g., honoraria)
  • operation, repair and maintenance of economic or municipal infrastructure
  • economic infrastructure which has a reasonable expectation of capturing capital and operating costs through user fees and other means, and can function as a commercial enterprise
  • costs for services provided by a federal or provincial government

Core Allocations: Reporting Requirements

Recipients are responsible for meeting the reporting requirements set out in their funding agreement, within the established deadline (e.g., annual, semi-annual and/or quarterly) and with financial reports consistent with the Department's Directive 121 – Financial Reporting.

Recipients will be requested to submit data, schedules, plans, and reports in sufficient detail to enable AANDC to evaluate the effectiveness of the contributions. Recipients will report to AANDC using the Lands and Economic Development Community Profile Report (DCI# 471935). The applicable section to be completed is section D. This report serves both as an application requirement as well as a reporting requirement for the previous year.

Recipients receiving funding allocations under the Framework Agreement on First Nation Land Management will be required to submit a final report using the First Nations Land Management Report (DCI# 41740) at the conclusion of each fiscal year. Developmental First Nations will submit a report every 6 months under the Community Approval Process Plan (CAPP). They will also submit year-end financial statements using Lands and Economic Development Programs Project Status Report (DCI# 472939).

Programme des services relatifs aux terres et au développement économique

Les terres et les ressources naturelles comptent parmi les actifs les plus précieux que possèdent les collectivités inuites et des Premières Nations Leur utilisation efficace et durable est indispensable au développement économique, à l'établissement de partenariats avec l'industrie et au maintien de solides relations avec d'autres collectivités. Les efforts du gouvernement fédéral visant à favoriser la participation des Autochtones à l'industrie s'appuient sur le Cadre fédéral pour le développement économique des Autochtones, lequel repose sur le principe que le gouvernement peut aider à établir les conditions favorables au développement économique des Autochtones mais qu'il ne peut le faire seul.

Le gouvernement a pris des mesures pour concrétiser le potentiel économique des terres des Premières Nations et des Inuits, en réformant les lois et les programmes qui permettent aux collectivités d'assumer une maîtrise accrue de la gestion des terres.

Dans bien des cas, les terres d'une Première Nation se prêteraient à un grand projet de mise en valeur des ressources, mais la collectivité n'a pas encore établi les lois et règlements fonciers qui donneraient aux entrepreneurs la confiance nécessaire pour investir.

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) aide les collectivités autochtones à régler ces problèmes, parmi d'autres, par l'entremise du Programme des services relatifs aux terres et au développement économique (PSTDE), qui veille à ce que la collectivité puisse mettre en place et gérer avec efficacité les activités de développement économique. Le programme comprend quatre volets :

  • Les allocations de fonds aux collectivités des Premières Nations et des Inuits et aux organismes qu'elles mandatent pour offrir des services de développement économique en leur nom, notamment des initiatives de planification du développement économique communautaire et du renforcement des capacités ou l'élaboration de propositions.
  • Les allocations de fonds pour aider les collectivités des Premières Nations à exercer un contrôle accru des terres de réserve, des ressources et de l'environnement au nom du ministre et en vertu de la Loi sur les Indiens. Cela comprend le contrôle de l'aménagement des terres, de la gestion de l'environnement et de la conformité.
  • Les allocations de fonds aux signataires de l'Accord-cadre relatif à la gestion des terres des premières nations, mis en vigueur en vertu de la Loi sur la gestion des terres des premières nations afin de les aider à renforcer leurs capacités à gérer efficacement leurs terres au moyen d'outils modernes, notamment les codes fonciers, les accords individuels, les systèmes de gestion des terres et les ententes environnementales.
  • Un financement ciblé qui permet d'offrir des services de soutien au développement économique et à la gestion des terres et de l'environnement afin d'aider les collectivités à atteindre les objectifs du programme. Cela englobe les services de prévention de la contamination des terres de réserve et des autres terres sous la responsabilité d'AADNC.

Quels sont les fonds offerts?

Deux types de financement sont offerts : les allocations de base et le financement ciblé. Les exigences du programme et les exigences en matière d'admissibilité diffèrent selon le type de financement. Le financement ciblé est offert pour soutenir les initiatives axées sur : le développement économique communautaire et la gestion de l'environnement et des terres de réserve.

Allocations de base : Qui est admissible?

  • Les collectivités des Premières Nations et des Inuits ainsi que leur gouvernement, y compris les conseils tribaux (les collectivités inuites ne sont admissibles qu'aux services de développement économique).
  • D'autres personnes exerçant des fonctions déléguées de gestion des terres en vertu des articles 53 et 60 de la Loi sur les Indiens au nom des Premières Nations.

Allocations de base : Quelles sont les activités admissibles?

  • Les activités de développement économique incluant, entre autres, le renforcement des capacités, la planification du développement économique communautaire et l'élaboration de propositions pour l'obtention de ressources financières.
  • Les initiatives qui soutiennent les Premières Nations désireuses d'élargir leurs responsabilités à l'égard de la gestion des terres et de l'environnement, conformément aux articles 53 et 60 de la Loi sur les Indiens, notamment en ce qui a trait à l'aménagement des terres, à la gestion environnementale et au respect des normes environnementales, au nom du ministre.
  • Les initiatives qui soutiennent les Premières Nations signataires de l'Accord-cadre relatif à la gestion des terres des premières nations, mis en vigueur en vertu de la Loi sur la gestion des terres des premières nations.

Allocations de base : Comment puis-je présenter une demande?

Les bénéficiaires admissibles ne sont pas tenus de présenter une demande. Les allocations seront versées sur une base annuelle et seront proportionnelles au niveau de responsabilité attribué à la gestion des terres en vertu de la Loi sur les Indiens ou de la Loi sur la gestion des terres des premières nations.

Les bénéficiaires admissibles qui désirent augmenter leur niveau de responsabilité en matière de gestion des terres doivent se soumettre à une évaluation de l'état de préparation qui sera effectuée par le Ministère.

Allocations de base : Quelles sont les dépenses admissibles?

  • Les traitements, les salaires et les avantages sociaux;
  • Les déplacements;
  • Les coûts indirects, incluant, entres autres, les locations, les services publics, les fournitures, les services de comptabilité et de vérification et les assurances;
  • Le matériel et l'outillage;
  • Les communications, incluant, entres autres, le développement des contenus, la traduction, la diffusion, la publicité et l'affichage;
  • Les services professionnels, de consultation, les services-conseils et les autres services, y compris les honoraires, les frais de déplacement et la production de rapports;
  • La participation à des programmes de formation et de perfectionnement professionnel, à des conférences, à des ateliers, à des séminaires, à des événements et à des réunions, notamment les frais de scolarité, d'inscription, de déplacement, d'examen et d'évaluation;
  • Les initiatives liées à l'expérience de travail, y compris les déplacements;
  • La préparation, l'organisation et la présentation de conférences, d'ateliers, de séminaires, d'événements, de réunions et de séances d'information, incluant, entres autres, la location des salles et du matériel, le coût des aliments et des boissons, les frais de promotion, la rémunération versée aux présentateurs ou animateurs et leurs frais de déplacement;
  • Les relevés d'arpentage et les évaluations;
  • Les séances de sensibilisation et d'information, la formation et les communications liées à la promotion et au respect de l'environnement;
  • Les études de faisabilité, le marketing, la publicité et la promotion;
  • Les coûts liés à l'infrastructure économique comprenant, notamment, la planification, la conception, la détermination, la capitalisation et l'acquisition de droits et de droits de passage (allocations de base seulement);
  • Les dépenses en immobilisations liées à l'établissement, à l'acquisition, à l'expansion ou à la modernisation d'une entreprise autochtone.

Allocations de base : Quelles sont les dépenses non admissibles?

  • Les paiements pour des services dont la prestation serait normalement assurée gratuitement (p. ex. les honoraires);
  • L'exploitation, la réparation et l'entretien des infrastructures économiques ou municipales;
  • Les projets d'infrastructure économique dont les coûts de construction et de fonctionnement devraient raisonnablement être couverts par les frais d'utilisation et par d'autres moyens, et qui fonctionnent comme des entreprises commerciales;
  • Les coûts des services fournis par un gouvernement fédéral ou provincial.

Allocations de base : Exigences en matière de production de rapports

Les bénéficiaires doivent satisfaire aux exigences de production de rapports indiquées dans leur entente de financement dans les délais fixés (p. ex.. tous les ans, tous les six mois ou tous les trois mois), et les rapports financiers soumis doivent être cohérents avec la Directive 121 – Rapports financiers du Ministère.

Le bénéficiaire sera prié de produire des données, des calendriers, des plans et des rapports suffisamment détaillés pour qu'AADNC puisse évaluer l'efficacité des contributions. Les bénéficiaires feront rapport à AADNC au moyen du Rapport sur le profil communautaire – Terres et développement économique (ICD no 471935). La partie D est celle qu'il faut remplir. Ce rapport répond aux exigences relatives aussi bien aux demandes qu'aux rapports pour l'exercice précédent.

Les bénéficiaires qui reçoivent des allocations de financement en vertu de l'Accord-cadre relatif à la gestion des terres des premières nations devront soumettre un rapport final, intitulé Rapport de la gestion des terres des Premières Nations (ICD no 41740), à la fin de chaque exercice financier. Les Premières Nations en phase de démarrage doivent soumettre un rapport tous les six mois en vertu du plan relatif au processus d'approbation communautaire. Elles doivent également fournir des états financiers de fin d'exercice au moyen du Rapport sur l'état du projet – Programmes des terres et du développement économique (ICD no 472939).