What do you need when applying for a secure status card?

Find out what documents are required when applying for a secure status card.

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) does not charge for the secure status card. However, there are costs related to obtaining supporting documents, including photos. Each person must pay for their own documents, including photos, to support their application.

On this page

What documents do you need to submit when applying for an adult secure status card?

If you are 16 or older and are applying for a status card, need to renew your card or have lost your card more than six months ago, you need the following documents to apply for your Secure Certificate of Indian Status (secure status card):

What documents are required for a child or dependent adult?

If you are applying for a child 15 or younger or a dependent adult, you need the following documents to apply for a Secure Certificate of Indian Status:

One parent or legal guardian must sign the application form. The parent or legal guardian must:

What is considered acceptable valid identification?

Acceptable valid identification must include your:

  1. name
  2. date of birth
  3. photo
  4. signature

It must have been issued by a federal, provincial, territorial or state government authority.

Acceptable valid identification includes:

Original documents or photocopies are accepted. Photocopies must be of the front and back of the documents, signed and dated by a guarantor and accompanied by a Secure Certificate of Indian Status (SCIS) Guarantor Declaration.

If you cannot provide one acceptable valid supporting identity document with the four requirements (name, date of birth, photo and signature), you may provide multiple valid pieces of supporting identification that, when combined, meet all of the requirements.

If you only have one valid piece of supporting identification that meets some of the requirements, you may provide that piece and an original Secure Certificate of Indian Status (SCIS) Guarantor Declaration.

If you cannot find a guarantor, you may complete and submit the Secure Certificate of Indian Status (SCIS) Statutory Declaration in Lieu of Guarantor. You must complete and sign this form before a commissioner of oaths, a notary public or a lawyer.

To find out more, contact INAC Public Enquiries or your INAC regional office.

How will the original documents submitted be returned?

Original documents sent to INAC in support of a secure status card application will be returned by regular mail. All foreign country original proof of identity documents will be returned using a Canada Post secure envelope.

Date modified:

De quoi avez-vous besoin lorsque vous présentez une demande de carte de statut sécurisée?

Découvrez quels documents sont nécessaires pour soumettre une demande de carte de statut sécurisée.

Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) n’impose pas de frais pour la carte de statut sécurisée. Cependant, si vous n’avez pas les documents à l’appui, y compris les photos, vous devez débourser des frais pour les obtenir. Chaque personne doit payer ses propres documents, y compris les photos, pour appuyer sa demande.

Sur cette page

Quels documents devez-vous présenter pour demander une carte de statut sécurisée pour adulte?

Si vous avez 16 ans et plus et que vous présentez une demande de carte de statut, que vous devez renouveler votre carte ou que vous avez perdu votre carte il y a plus de six mois, vous devez présenter les documents suivants pour présenter une demande de certificat de statut d'Indien :

Quels documents devez-vous présenter pour un enfant ou un adulte à charge?

Si vous présentez une demande pour un enfant de 15 ans ou moins ou un adulte à charge, vous devrez fournir les documents suivants pour présenter une demande de certificat de statut d’Indien :

Un parent ou un tuteur légal doit signer le formulaire de demande. Le parent ou le tuteur légal doit :

Qu’est-ce qu’une pièce d’identité valide et acceptable?

Une pièce d’identité valide et acceptable doit inclure votre :

  1. nom
  2. date de naissance
  3. photo
  4. signature

Cette pièce d’identité doit avoir été délivrée par une autorité fédérale, provinciale ou territoriale ou par un gouvernement d’État.

Exemples de pièces d’identité valides et acceptables :

Les documents originaux ou des photocopies sont acceptés. Les photocopies doivent être faites recto-verso, signées et datées par un répondant et accompagnées d’un Certificat sécurisé de statut d'indien (CSSI) – Déclaration du répondant.

Si vous ne pouvez pas présenter de pièce d’identité valide et acceptable qui répond aux quatre critères (nom, date de naissance, photo et signature), vous pouvez présenter de multiples pièces d’identité valides qui, une fois combinées, répondent à tous les critères.

Si vous n’avez qu’une seule pièce d’identité valide qui répond à certains des critères, vous pouvez soumettre cette pièce accompagnée d’un Certificat sécurisé de statut d'Indien (CSSI) – Déclaration du répondant.

Si vous ne trouvez pas de répondant, vous pouvez remplir et soumettre un Certificat sécurisé de statut d’Indien (CSSI) – Déclaration solennelle faute de répondant. Vous devez remplir et signer ce formulaire devant un commissaire à l’assermentation, un notaire ou un avocat.

Pour plus d’information, communiquez avec le Centre des demandes de renseignements d’AANC ou votre bureau régional d’AANC.

Comment les documents originaux fournis seront-ils retournés?

Les documents originaux envoyés à AANC pour appuyer une demande de carte de statut sécurisée seront retournés par courrier ordinaire. Toute preuve d’identité originale provenant de l’étranger sera retournée dans une enveloppe sécurisée de Postes Canada.

Date de modification :