Benefits and Rights

Treaties signed with the Crown pre-1975 as well as other old and new legislation guarantee certain rights and benefits to Aboriginal peoples living in Canada.  Aboriginal rights are also protected in Canada's Constitution.

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) is responsible for fulfilling the Government of Canada's obligations and commitments to First Nations, Inuit and Métis. The Department also deals with specific rights and benefits for First Nations people such as "Indian Status", and, in some cases, managing band moneys or individual estates.

Highlights

In keeping with the legislative requirements under the amended Canadian Human Rights Act (CHRA), AANDC is working in cooperation with the Assembly of First Nations, the Native Women's Association of Canada and the Congress of Aboriginal Peoples to seek comments in the development of a collaborative review of the repeal of section 67 of the Actwhich allows for any decisions made or actions taken by Band Councils and the federal government, made under or pursuant to the Indian Act, to now be subject to the CHRA.

The 2008 repeal of section 67 ensures that First Nations individuals that are registered Indians and members of Bands, or individuals residing or working on reserves are able to make complaints of discrimination to the Canadian Human Rights Commission relating to decisions or actions arising from or pursuant to the Indian Act.

What Information is Available?

In this section, find out about AANDC's role in current human rights issues and proposed legislation, including property rights for women living on-reserve. Read about the Department's programs for living and decedent estates and the management of band moneys or find out more about Indian status - if you are eligible and how to register.

Additional Information

Droits et avantages sociaux

Des traités conclus avec la Couronne avant 1975, ainsi que d'autres lois, anciennes ou récentes, garantissent certains droits et privilèges aux Autochtones vivant au Canada. Les droits des Autochtones sont aussi protégés par la Constitution du Canada.

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) est chargé de s'acquitter des obligations et des engagements qu'a le Canada envers les Premières Nations, les Inuit et les Métis. Le Ministère s'occupe aussi des droits et privilèges spécifiques des membres des Premières Nations, comme le « statut d'Indien ». Dans certains cas, le Ministère gère les fonds d'une bande ou la succession de particuliers.

Points saillants

Conformément aux exigences législatives prévues en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne (LCDP) modifiée, AADNC collabore avec des organisations des Premières Nations participantes pour l'élaboration de son examen de l'abrogation de l'article 67 de cette loi, qui fait en sorte que toute décision ou mesure prise par des conseils de bande et le gouvernement fédéral, en vertu ou en application de la Loi sur les Indiens, peut maintenant être assujettie à la LCDP.

Depuis 2008, l'abrogation de l'article 67 permet aux membres des Premières Nations qui sont des Indiens inscrits et membres d'une bande ou aux personnes qui vivent ou travaillent dans une réserve de déposer des plaintes de discrimination pour des mesures ou des décisions prises en vertu ou en application de la Loi sur les Indiens auprès de la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne.

Renseignements disponibles

Dans cette section, vous prendrez connaissance du rôle que joue AADNC dans le dossier des droits de la personne et dans celui du projet de loi, qui concerne, entre autres, les droits immobiliers des femmes vivant dans les réserves. Découvrez les programmes du Ministère pour l'administration des successions et l'administration du patrimoine des personnes vivantes, et pour la gestion des fonds d'une bande. Apprenez-en plus sur le statut d'Indien, voyez si vous y êtes admissible et, le cas échéant, comment vous inscrire.

Information supplémentaire