Treaties with Aboriginal people in Canada

The Government of Canada and the courts understand treaties between the Crown and Aboriginal people to be solemn agreements that set out promises, obligations and benefits for both parties.

Starting in 1701, in what was to eventually become Canada, the British Crown entered into solemn treaties to encourage peaceful relations between First Nations and non-Aboriginal people. Over the next several centuries, treaties were signed to define, among other things, the respective rights of Aboriginal people and governments to use and enjoy lands that Aboriginal people traditionally occupied.

Treaties include historic treaties made between 1701 and 1923 and modern-day treaties known as comprehensive land claim settlements.

Treaty rights already in existence in 1982 (the year the Constitution Act was passed), and those that came afterwards, are recognized and affirmed by Canada's Constitution.

The Royal Proclamation of 1763 and the Pre-Confederation treaties

In the 18th century, the French and British were competing for control of lands in North America. The two colonial powers formed strategic alliances with First Nations to help them advance their respective colonial interests in the continent. For example, in what are now New Brunswick and Nova Scotia, the British made a series of “Peace and Friendship” treaties with the Mi'kmaq and Maliseet tribes between 1725 and 1779.

By the early 1760s, the British had established themselves as the dominant colonial power in North America. The British Royal Proclamation of 1763 prohibited the purchase of First Nation lands by any party other than the Crown. The Crown could purchase land from a First Nation group that had agreed to the sale at a public meeting of the group.

Several treaties were signed after the Royal Proclamation and before Confederation in 1867. These include the Upper Canada Treaties (1764 to 1862) and the Vancouver Island Treaties (1850 to 1854). Under these treaties, the First Nations surrendered interests in lands in areas of what are now Ontario and British Columbia. They surrendered their interest in lands in exchange for certain other benefits that could include reserves, annual payments or other types of payment and certain rights to hunt and fish.

Historic treaties after Confederation

Between 1871 and 1921, the Crown entered into treaties with various First Nations that enabled the Canadian government to actively pursue agriculture, settlement and resource development of the Canadian West and the North. Because they are numbered 1 to 11, the treaties are often referred to as the “Numbered Treaties.” The Numbered Treaties cover Northern Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta, and parts of the Yukon, the Northwest Territories and British Columbia.

Under these treaties, the First Nations who occupied these territories gave up large areas of land to the Crown. In exchange, the treaties provided for such things as reserve lands and other benefits like farm equipment and animals, annual payments, ammunition, clothing and certain rights to hunt and fish. The Crown also made some promises such as maintaining schools on reserves or providing teachers or educational help to the First Nation named in the treaties. Treaty No. 6 included the promise of a medicine chest.

Modern treaties—comprehensive claims

Comprehensive land claim settlements deal with areas of Canada where Aboriginal people's claims to Aboriginal rights have not been addressed by treaties, or other legal means. The first of these modern-day treaties was the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement, signed in 1975. To date, the federal government has settled 15 comprehensive claims with Aboriginal people in Canada.

Specific claims

Specific claims arise when there is an outstanding historical grievance between a First Nation and the Crown that relates to an unfulfilled obligation of a treaty or another agreement, or a breach of statutory responsibilities by the Crown. Canada is committed to honouring its lawful obligations to First Nations. By addressing historic injustices which have undermined trust and co-operation, strong partnerships among Aboriginal people, governments and the private sector are emerging. In addition to building these partnerships, settling specific claims helps economic development on Aboriginal lands and in surrounding communities.

Canada's Specific Claims Policy was established to allow First Nations to have their claims appropriately addressed through negotiations by the government without having to go to court. Claims are accepted when it is determined that Canada has breached its lawful obligation to a First Nation.

The contemporary significance of treaties

In Gathering Strength — Canada's Aboriginal Action Plan, announced January 7, 1998, the Government of Canada affirmed that both historic and modern-day treaties will continue to be key elements in the future relationship between Aboriginal people and the Crown. The federal government believes that the treaties, and the relationship they represent, can guide the way to a shared future. The continuing treaty relationship provides a context of mutual rights and responsibilities that will ensure Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal people can together enjoy Canada's benefits.

Exploratory discussions with First Nations

The federal government is seeking the views of groups of Treaty First Nations on how the historic treaties and treaty issues can be understood in contemporary terms. These discussions allow the parties to develop a common understanding of the issues and consider ways to move into a relationship oriented to the future. Since many important treaty provisions are of direct interest to them, provincial governments will also have an important role in this process.

Bridging to self-government

The Government of Canada is negotiating agreements with treaty First Nations to put self-government in place. These agreements will build on the relationship already established by their treaties.

The role of impartial commissions

Impartial commissions help discussions about treaties. In Saskatchewan, for example, the Office of the Treaty Commissioner helps these discussions. This office was established in agreement with the federal government and treaty First Nations in Saskatchewan, and with the support of the Saskatchewan government.


Aboriginal peoples: The descendants of the original inhabitants of North America. The Canadian Constitution recognizes three groups of Aboriginal people—Indians, Métis and Inuit. These are three separate peoples with unique heritages, languages, cultural practices and spiritual beliefs.

Aboriginal rights: Rights that some Aboriginal peoples of Canada hold as a result of their ancestors' longstanding use and occupancy of the land. The rights of certain Aboriginal peoples to hunt, trap and fish on ancestral lands are examples of Aboriginal rights. Aboriginal rights vary from group to group depending on the customs, practices and traditions that have formed part of their distinctive cultures.

Aboriginal self-government: Governments designed, established and administered by Aboriginal peoples under the Canadian Constitution through a process of negotiation and, where applicable, the provincial or territorial government.

First Nation: A term that came into common usage in the 1970s to replace the word “Indian,” which some people found offensive. Although the term First Nation is widely used, no legal definition of it exists. Among its uses, the term “First Nations peoples” refers to the Indian peoples in Canada, both Status and non-Status. Some Indian peoples have also adopted the term “First Nation” to replace the word “band” in the name of their community.

Land claims: In 1973, the federal government recognized two broad classes of claims — comprehensive and specific. Comprehensive claims are based on the recognition that there are continuing Aboriginal rights to lands and natural resources. These kinds of claims come up in those parts of Canada where Aboriginal title has not been previously dealt with by treaty and other legal means. The claims are called “comprehensive” because of their wide scope. They include such things as land title, fishing and trapping rights and financial compensation. Specific claims deal with specific grievances that First Nations may have regarding the fulfillment of treaties. Specific claims also cover grievances relating to the administration of First Nations lands and assets under the Indian Act.

Reserve: Area of land, the legal title to which is held by the Crown, set apart for the use and benefit of an Indian band.

Treaty First Nation: First Nation that signed a treaty with the Crown.

This general information is provided as a brief overview only. The terms of the Indian Act, its regulations, other federal statutes and their interpretation by the courts take precedence over the content of this information sheet.

Publications and Public Enquiries
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
Ottawa, ON K1A 0H4
Telephone: (819) 997-0380

Les traités conclus avec les Autochtones au Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada et les différentes instances judiciaires estiment que les traités conclus entre la Couronne et les Autochtones sont des accords solennels stipulant les obligations et les avantages qui échoient aux deux parties, ainsi que les promesses faites par celles-ci.

À compter de 1701, dans ce qui allait devenir le Canada, la Couronne britannique a signé des traités solennels destinés à encourager l’établissement de rapports pacifiques entre les Premières Nations et la population non autochtone. Au cours des siècles qui ont suivi, des traités ont été signés pour définir, entre autres, les droits respectifs des Autochtones et des gouvernements relativement à l’usage et à la jouissance des terres traditionnellement occupées par les Autochtones.

Au nombre des traités, on distingue les traités historiques, signés entre 1701 et 1923, et les traités modernes, connus sous le nom de règlements de revendications territoriales globales.

Les droits issus de traités qui existaient déjà en 1982 (année d’entrée en vigueur de la Loi constitutionnelle) et ceux qui ont été accordés par la suite sont reconnus et confirmés par la Constitution canadienne.

La Proclamation royale de 1763 et les traités signés avant la Confédération

Au 18e siècle, les Français et les Britanniques se disputaient les pouvoirs sur les terres en Amérique du Nord. Les deux puissances coloniales ont formé des alliances stratégiques avec les Premières Nations pour aider ces dernières à défendre leurs intérêts sur le continent. C’est ainsi qu’entre 1725 et 1779, les Britanniques ont signé, dans ce qui constitue maintenant le Nouveau-Brunswick et la Nouvelle-Écosse, une série de traités de paix et d’amitié avec les Mi’kmaqs et les Malécites.

Au début des années 1760, les Britanniques se présentent déjà comme la première puissance coloniale en Amérique du Nord. La Proclamation royale britannique de 1763 interdisait à tout acquéreur potentiel autre que la Couronne d’acheter des terres des Premières Nations. La Couronne pouvait acheter des terres d’un groupe d’une Première Nation qui avait consenti à la vente lors d’une réunion publique.

Plusieurs traités ont été signés après la Proclamation royale et avant la Confédération en 1867. Mentionnons notamment les traités du Haut-Canada (de 1764 à 1862) et les traités de l’île de Vancouver (de 1850 à 1854).

En vertu de ces traités, les Premières Nations renoncent à leurs intérêts sur les terres de ce qui constitue aujourd’hui l’Ontario et la Colombie-Britannique, en échange de biens ou d’avantages tels que des terres de réserve, des annuités et d’autres types de paiement, et certains droits de chasse et de pêche.

Les traités historiques signés après la Confédération

Entre 1871 et 1921, la Couronne a signé avec diverses Premières Nations des traités qui permettaient au gouvernement du Canada de se livrer activement à l’agriculture, à la colonisation et à l’exploitation des ressources dans l’Ouest canadien et dans le Nord. Parce que ces traités portent les numéros 1 à 11, ils sont souvent désignés comme étant les traités numérotés. Ces traités couvrent le Nord de l’Ontario, le Manitoba, la Saskatchewan, l’Alberta et certaines régions du Yukon, des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et de la Colombie-Britannique.

En vertu de ces traités, les Premières Nations qui occupaient ces territoires devaient céder de vastes étendues de terrain à la Couronne. En échange, les traités leur accordaient des terres de réserve et d’autres biens ou avantages tels que de l’équipement agricole, des animaux, des annuités, des munitions, des vêtements et certains droits de chasse et de pêche. La Couronne a également fait certaines promesses relativement au maintien des écoles dans les réserves, aux fournitures scolaires destinées aux enseignants ou à la prestation d’aide aux études pour les Premières Nations signataires de traités. Le Traité no 6 promet, pour sa part, l’achat d’une armoire à pharmacie.

Les traités modernes — les revendications globales

Les règlements de revendications territoriales globales sont accordés à des Autochtones venant de régions du Canada dans lesquelles les droits ancestraux revendiqués n’ont pas été reconnus au moyen d’un traité ni d’autres dispositions légales. La Convention de la Baie-James et du Nord québécois, signée en 1975, constitue le premier de ces traités modernes. À l’heure actuelle, le gouvernement fédéral a réglé 15 revendications globales avec les Autochtones au Canada.

Les revendications particulières

Une Première Nation formule une revendication particulière quand il existe, entre elle et la Couronne, un grief historique non réglé résultant d'un manquement de la Couronne à une obligation issue d’un traité ou d’une autre entente, ou encore d’un manquement à ses responsabilités légales. Le Canada s’est engagé à honorer ses obligations légales envers les Premières Nations. Le règlement des injustices historiques, qui ont miné la confiance et la collaboration, donne aujourd’hui naissance à de solides partenariats entre les peuples autochtones, les gouvernements et le secteur privé. Le règlement des revendications particulières non seulement fortifie ces partenariats, mais de plus stimule le développement économique sur les terres autochtones et dans les collectivités environnantes.

La politique du Canada en matière de revendications particulières a été établie pour faire en sorte que les Premières Nations puissent obtenir le règlement approprié de leurs revendications par le biais de négociations avec le gouvernement, sans avoir à recourir aux tribunaux. Une revendication est acceptée une fois qu’il est déterminé que le Canada a manqué à une obligation légale envers une Première Nation.

L’importance des traités à l’époque actuelle

Dans Rassembler nos forces : le plan d’action du Canada pour les questions autochtones, publié le 7 janvier 1998, le gouvernement du Canada affirmait que les traités tant historiques que modernes continueront à jouer un rôle clé dans les rapports futurs entre les Autochtones et la Couronne. Le gouvernement fédéral est d’avis que les traités, de même que les rapports qu’ils établissent, peuvent frayer la voie à un avenir commun. Les rapports continus fondés sur un traité forment un cadre de droits et de responsabilités mutuels qui permet aux Autochtones et aux non-Autochtones de profiter ensemble des avantages qu’offre le Canada.

Les discussions préliminaires avec les Premières Nations

Le gouvernement fédéral sonde actuellement l’opinion des Premières Nations signataires de traités pour savoir quelle serait la façon d’interpréter les traités historiques et les questions connexes en termes contemporains. Ces discussions permettent aux parties d’en arriver à une même compréhension des problèmes et d’envisager des moyens d’établir des relations orientées vers l’avenir. Étant donné que de nombreuses dispositions de traité importantes concernent directement les gouvernements provinciaux, ceux-ci auront aussi un rôle majeur à jouer dans le processus.

Le passage à l’autonomie gouvernementale

Le gouvernement du Canada négocie, avec les Premières Nations signataires de traités, des ententes favorisant leur accession à l’autonomie gouvernementale. Ces ententes s’appuient sur les bonnes relations établies grâce aux traités.

Le rôle des commissions impartiales

Les commissions impartiales facilitent les discussions consacrées aux traités. En Saskatchewan, c’est le Bureau du commissaire aux traités qui joue ce rôle. Cet organisme a été institué grâce à un accord conclu entre le gouvernement fédéral et les Premières Nations de la Saskatchewan ayant signé un traité, et ce, avec l’appui du gouvernement de cette province.

Terminologie

Autochtone : Le terme Autochtones désigne les premiers peuples au Canada ainsi que leurs descendants. La Loi constitutionnelle de 1982 stipule que les peuples autochtones au Canada sont répartis en trois groupes : les Indiens, les Inuit et les Métis. Il s’agit de trois peuples, chacun se distinguant des autres par son patrimoine, sa langue, ses habitudes culturelles et ses croyances.

Autonomie gouvernementale autochtone : Forme de gouvernement conçue, établie et administrée par des Autochtones aux termes de la Constitution canadienne, dans le cadre de négociations menées avec le gouvernement fédéral et, le cas échéant, avec le gouvernement provincial en cause.

Droits ancestraux : Droits détenus par certains Autochtones au Canada en raison du fait que leurs ancêtres ont occupé et utilisé des terres durant de longues années. Les droits de certains Autochtones en matière de chasse, de piégeage et de pêche sur les terres ancestrales en sont des exemples. Les droits ancestraux varient d’un groupe à l’autre, selon les coutumes, les pratiques et les traditions qui ont façonné leurs propres cultures.

Première Nation signataire d’un traité : Première Nation qui a signé un traité avec la Couronne.

Réserve : Une réserve est une terre qui a été mise de côté par la Couronne pour l’usage et le bénéfice d’une bande au Canada.

Revendications territoriales : En 1973, le gouvernement fédéral a reconnu deux grandes catégories de revendications : les revendications globales et les revendications particulières. Les revendications globales s’appuient sur le fait qu’il peut encore exister des droits ancestraux sur les terres et les ressources naturelles. Ces revendications sont présentées dans des régions du Canada où les titres ancestraux n’ont jamais fait l’objet de traités ou d’autres dispositions légales. Elles sont appelées globales en raison de leur vaste portée et comprennent des éléments comme les titres fonciers, les droits de pêche et de piégeage et les mesures d’indemnisation financière. Les revendications particulières désignent des griefs bien précis formulés par les Premières Nations à l’égard du respect des engagements énoncés dans les traités. Les revendications particulières désignent aussi les griefs concernant l’administration des terres et des biens des Premières Nations en vertu de la Loi sur les Indiens.

Ces renseignements généraux sont fournis dans le but d’offrir un aperçu des questions abordées. Les termes de la Loi sur les Indiens, de ses règlements apparentés et d’autres lois fédérales, de même que l’interprétation qu’en donnent les tribunaux, ont préséance sur le contenu de ce feuillet d’information.

Publications et Renseignements au public
Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H4
Téléphone : (819) 997-0380