2009 Framework For Negotiations Agreement

THIS AGREEMENT dated for reference the ____ day of ____________, 2009

AMONG:

THE ALGONQUINS OF ONTARIO ("Algonquins")

– and –

HER MAJESTY THE QUEEN IN RIGHT OF ONTARIO ("Ontario")

– and –

HER MAJESTY THE QUEEN IN RIGHT OF CANADA ("Canada")

Collectively referred to as "the Parties"

WHEREAS the Algonquins assert that they have never been party to, nor beneficiary of, any treaty of cession or surrender of any lands in Ontario;

WHEREAS on June 15, 1991, Ontario undertook to negotiate in respect of the land and title issues in the area identified by the Algonquins of Golden Lake;

WHEREAS on December 7, 1992, Canada agreed to become a party to the land claim negotiation with the Algonquins of Golden Lake and Ontario;

WHEREAS the Parties intend that the Algonquin Treaty resulting from these negotiations will provide certainty concerning the constitutionally protected rights of the Algonquins respecting lands and resources in Ontario;

WHEREAS the Parties agreed to broaden the negotiations to include a number of Communities of Algonquins, namely Antoine, Snimikobi, Bancroft, Bonnechere, Greater Golden Lake, Mattawa-North Bay, Ottawa, Shabot Obaadjiwan and Whitney and Area, each of which is represented by an Algonquin Negotiation Representative, and each of which Communities of Algonquins may include Algonquins whether or not they are status Indians within the meaning of the Indian Act;

WHEREAS the Chief and Council of the Algonquins of Pikwàkanagàn First Nation (formerly the Algonquins of Golden Lake) are also Algonquin Negotiation Representatives;

WHEREAS the Parties are committed to conducting these negotiations fairly and expeditiously;

WHEREAS the Parties intend this Framework for Negotiations (hereinafter referred to as the "Framework") to amend and replace the Framework for Negotiations entered into on August 25, 1994 and to govern the conduct of their negotiations towards an agreement-in-principle and Algonquin Treaty among the Parties;

NOW THEREFORE the Parties agree as follows:

1. Purpose Of This Framework

1.1 The purpose of this Framework is to:

  1. provide a process which will promote efficient and effective negotiations; and
  2. identify the matters to be addressed in developing an Algonquin Treaty.

2. General Approach To Negotiation Process

2.1 Consistent with Paragraphs 3.3 and 8.5, it is the shared goal of the Parties that the negotiations towards an agreement-in-principle and Algonquin Treaty will be conducted in a manner which represents the interests of the Algonquin participants in the Algonquin Treaty.

2.2 The Parties' negotiations towards an agreement-in-principle and Algonquin Treaty will be conducted in accordance with this Framework. The agreement-in-principle shall describe, in sufficient detail to ensure certainty and understanding, the rights and obligations of the Parties with respect to each element of the settlement, but shall not be legally binding.

2.3 Following conclusion of the agreement-in-principle, the Parties will work towards concluding the Algonquin Treaty and implementation agreement. The Algonquin Treaty shall not depart from the principles, intent or spirit of the agreement-in-principle except as agreed by all Parties. It shall, upon ratification in a manner to be set out in the Algonquin Treaty, bind the Parties.

2.4 The Parties intend that the Algonquin Treaty, when it comes into effect, shall be a land claim agreement within the meaning of subsection 35 (3) of the Constitution Act, 1982 as amended.

3. Subject Matters To Be Considered For Inclusion In An Agreement-In-Principle

3.1 The following elements may be addressed in negotiations towards an agreement-in-principle:

3.1.1 Land, non-renewable and renewable natural resources, including:

  1. quantum and location
  2. nature of rights, title and interests
  3. selection criteria
  4. planning, management, and administration
  5. conservation and environment assessment and protection
  6. public and other interests
  7. use, access and benefit
  8. implementation and timing

3.1.2 Other elements of settlement, including:

  1. financial:
    • nature and quantum
    • administration of assets
    • method and schedule of transfer
    • calculation and payment of negotiation loans, and expenses
    • implementation and timing
    • taxation
  2. other elements:
    • nature
    • quantum
    • administration
    • implementation and timing

3.1.3 Nature and exercise of authority of the Parties regarding the elements of the Algonquin Treaty

3.1.4 Certainty and finality of rights regarding the elements of the Algonquin Treaty

3.1.5 Mechanisms for approval and ratification of various agreements by the Parties

3.1.6 Mechanisms for the resolution of disputes arising under the Algonquin Treaty

3.1.7 Mechanisms for amending the Algonquin Treaty

3.2 The above list is not intended to be exhaustive, but rather is intended to guide the Parties during negotiations. Each Party may raise a broad range of issues for negotiations.

3.3 In addition, issues and criteria respecting representation, eligibility and enrolment shall be resolved in the agreement-in-principle.

4. Procedures concerning meeting arrangements and exchange of documents

4.1 Meetings will generally be held on a monthly basis for durations to be determined by the Parties. It will be the responsibility of each Party to host every third meeting, unless otherwise agreed.

4.2 At the end of each meeting the Parties will determine the date, location, agenda and tabling of documents for the next meeting. Developments between meetings may require that dates, locations, agendas and the tabling of documents be changed as necessary.

4.3 Generally all correspondence and documents will be exchanged through the Negotiators whose addresses are as follows:

Robert J. Potts, Algonquin Principal Negotiator and Senior Legal Counsel
Blaney McMurtry LLP
2 Queen Street East, Suite 1500
Toronto, Ontario M5C 3G5

Brian A. Crane Q.C., Ontario Chief Negotiator
Gowling Lafleur Henderson LLP
160 Elgin Street, Suite 2600
Ottawa, Ontario K1N 8S3

Robin Aitken, Chief Federal Negotiator
Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development
10 Wellington Street
Gatineau, Quebec K1A 0H4

5. Scheduled Target Dates

5.1 The Parties will make every reasonable effort to achieve an agreement-in-principle by March 31, 2011.

5.2 Once the agreement-in-principle is approved, the Parties will establish a target date for completion of the Algonquin Treaty and its implementation agreement.

6. Interim Arrangements

6.1 Interim arrangements may be negotiated between any or all of the Parties to accommodate their interests.

6.2 Negotiations towards interim arrangements, or extensions thereof, will be conducted in such a fashion that will not cause undue delay in the completion of an agreement-in-principle and Algonquin Treaty.

7. Funding The Negotiations

7.1 Canada and Ontario recognize that it is essential that the Algonquins be able to participate effectively in the negotiations. This will require that the Algonquins have the funds to, among other things, hire staff, obtain independent legal and technical advice, prepare for and attend negotiation sessions, to conduct research, prepare and consider positions, undertake internal discussions and for other related purposes.

7.2 The Parties shall determine the level of funding on an annual basis, subject to yearly appropriations by the Parliament of Canada and the Legislature of Ontario and subject to federal and provincial policies as they may exist from time to time.

7.3 The funds provided by Canada and Ontario to the Algonquins pursuant to Paragraph 7.2 shall be advanced under separate annual agreements between Canada and the Algonquin Treaty Negotiation Funding Trust and between Ontario and the Algonquin Treaty Negotiation Funding Trust.

8. The Negotiation Process

8.1 It is the intention of the Parties that draft chapters of an agreement-in-principle on a subject or subjects will be concluded within a reasonable period of time.

8.2 The negotiating process will begin with the Parties identifying the principles which they hold in respect of each of the subject matters set out in Article 3 in order to assist the Parties in reaching consensus on those principles and in narrowing any differences which they may have.

8.3 The Parties will address the subjects identified in Article 3 in such sequence as the Negotiators may from time to time agree, may work on several subjects at once, and may establish working groups for specific tasks.

8.4 The Parties may set down their proposals in writing if no useful progress has been made within a reasonable period on a subject under Article 3.

8.5 Notwithstanding Paragraphs 8.2, 8.3, 8.4 and 8.6, criteria referred to in Paragraph 3.3 will be developed by the Algonquins and provided to Canada and Ontario for their review.

8.6 Notwithstanding Paragraphs 8.2, 8.3 and 8.4, any Party may, in the interest of furthering the negotiations, table its proposals on any subject or subjects set out in Article 3 after giving the other Parties thirty days notice of its intention to do so that, during this period, the other Parties may make representations with regard to the subject prior to the tabling of the proposal.

8.7 Any draft chapter of the agreement-in-principle on any subjects concluded among the Parties shall be initialled by the Negotiators. Initialing shall signify that the Negotiators are prepared to begin negotiating another sub-agreement. However the Negotiators may still reconsider any initialed draft chapters until the agreement-in-principle is signed pursuant to Paragraph 8.9.

8.8 The agreement-in-principle shall be approved as a basis for the Algonquin Treaty as follows:

8.9.1 the Algonquin Principal Negotiator shall be authorized to initial the agreement-in-principle if it is approved by the Algonquin Negotiation Representatives in accordance with a Special Vote as defined in the Terms of Reference for Algonquin Negotiation Representatives dated September 26, 2005, or any amendment thereto;

8.9.2 once the agreement-in-principle is initialed by the Negotiators it shall be submitted for approval by a vote of Algonquin eligible voters;

8.9.3 if approved pursuant to Subparagraph 8.9.2 the agreement-in-principle shall be submitted by the federal and provincial Negotiators to their respective principals for approval.

9. Openness And Public Awareness

9.1 The Parties recognize that communication with the public is essential to the conclusion of an Algonquin Treaty. Therefore, the Parties agree that the public, including individuals, groups or organizations having a particular interest in the outcome of the negotiations, should be knowledgeable and well-informed regarding the general status, aims, objectives and progress of the negotiations. Therefore, for that purpose:

9.1.1 The Parties may engage in a joint process of public information and, to this end, may attend meetings with such selected individuals, organizations or groups as they may agree; and

9.1.2 The Parties may, separately, carry out such public consultation and communication initiatives as they see fit, including initiatives to obtain a broad range of input and consensus, and to communicate with the public on the course of negotiations and on matters of interest which arise during the negotiations.

10. Consultation And Accommodation

10.1 Canada and Ontario confirm that they are committed to meeting any obligations to the Algonquins that may be required by law in relation to consultation and, if appropriate, accommodation.

11. Status And Interpretation Of This Agreement

11.1 Except for Paragraphs 11.1 to 11.8, this Framework is not legally binding and is intended as an expression of goodwill and as a political commitment to enter into discussions.

11.2 The Parties claim settlement privilege with respect to this Framework and the negotiations that are conducted under it and intend that the Framework and negotiations shall be without prejudice to the Parties; more particularly, no Party will attempt to use the Framework Agreement or any aspect of the negotiations including records, information or communications that disclose the content of the negotiations or proposals or positions of the Parties, as evidence in any court of law or in any administrative, adjudicative or regulatory tribunal or board.

11.3 Participation in this Framework and the negotiations conducted under it does not constitute an admission by any Party respecting the existence, nature, scope or geographical extent of rights or title of any of the Parties or respecting who may hold such rights or title.

11.4 Negotiations conducted under the Framework do not constitute consultation by government respecting aboriginal rights or title.

11.5 Notwithstanding Paragraphs 11.1 to 11.4, where the Parties agree in writing that negotiations are being conducted for the purpose of concluding interim arrangements, evidence of such negotiations or of any accommodation resulting from such negotiations may be tendered as evidence of consultation and accommodation in any legal proceedings. This provision is without prejudice to any Parties' position with respect to the sufficiency or legal effect of such consultation or accommodation.

11.6 The Parties acknowledge that the public should be well informed regarding the general status, objectives and progress of the negotiations, but that the specific content of meetings and discussions, including Parties' views, positions and proposals shall not be disclosed except as may be required by law, but nothing in this Paragraph shall limit the Parties' ability to conduct internal discussions with their principals and stakeholders that may be required to formulate positions or react to the positions of other Parties.

11.7 The disclosure of information, confidential or otherwise, to anyone not a Party to this Framework shall not constitute a waiver of Paragraph 11.2.

11.8 In the event that Canada or Ontario receives a request or demand under access to information legislation which is relevant to Paragraphs 11.2 or 11.6, Canada or Ontario, as is appropriate, shall give notice to the other Parties of such request or demand, shall bring Paragraphs 11.2 and 11.6 to the attention of the decision-maker under the access to information legislation and shall advise the decision maker of the rationale for seeking protection of such information.

11.9 This Framework shall not be interpreted so as to affect or derogate from the aboriginal, treaty or other rights of the Algonquins or any other aboriginal people nor, for greater certainty, rights in relation to consultation and accommodation.

11.10 This Framework Agreement may be amended by the Parties in writing.

11.11 This Framework Agreement shall terminate upon the earlier of December 31, 2011 and the date of completion of the Algonquin Treaty and may be terminated by any Party upon 4 weeks written notice.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF the Algonquin Negotiation Representatives on behalf of the Algonquins of Ontario have executed this Agreement on the ____ day of _____________, 2009, the Minister of Aboriginal Affairs on behalf of Her Majesty the Queen in right of Ontario has executed this Agreement on the ____ day of ________________ 2009, the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development and Federal Interlocutor for Métis and non-status Indians, on behalf of Her Majesty the Queen in right of Canada has executed this Agreement on the ____ day of ________________, 2009.

The Algonquins Of Ontario

CLIFFORD BASTIEN JR.
Mattawa-North Bay

KATHERINE CANNON
Bancroft

LYNN CLOUTHIER
Ottawa

ROBERT CRAFTCHICK
Whitney and Area

DOREEN DAVIS
Shabot Obaadjiwan

PATRICK GLASSFORD
Greater Golden Lake

DAVIE JOANISSE
Antoine

SHERRY KOHOKO
Pikwàkanagàn

H. JERROW LAVALLEY
Pikwàkanagàn

RANDY MALCOLM
Snimikobi

CLIFF MENESS
Pikwàkanagàn

JIM MENESS
Pikwàkanagàn

RICHARD SARAZIN
Pikwàkanagàn

VICKY TWO-AXE
Pikwàkanagàn

KIRBY WHITEDUCK
Pikwàkanagàn

RICHARD ZOHR
Bonnechere

Ontario:

The Honourable Brad Duguid
Minister of Aboriginal Affairs

Canada:

The Honourable Chuck Strahl
Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development and Federal Interlocutor for Métis and non-status Indians

Date modified:

Entente relative au cadre des négociations - 2009

LA PRÉSENTE ENTENTE portant comme date de référence du _____ jour de ____________ 2009

ENTRE :

LES ALGONQUINS DE L'ONTARIO (« Algonquins »)

– et –

SA MAJESTÉ LA REINE DU CHEF DE L'ONTARIO (« Ontario »)

– et –

SA MAJESTÉ LA REINE DU CHEF DU CANADA (« Canada »)

Désignés collectivement comme « les parties »

ATTENDU QUE les Algonquins confirment qu'ils n'ont jamais été partie à un traité de cession ou de renonciation relatif à des terres en Ontario, ni bénéficiaires d'un tel traité;

ATTENDU QUE le 15 juin 1991, l'Ontario a entamé des négociations relativement à la question des terres et des titres dans la région désignée par les Algonquins de Golden Lake;

ATTENDU QUE le 7 décembre 1992, le Canada a accepté de participer aux négociations relatives aux revendications territoriales avec les Algonquins de Golden Lake et l'Ontario;

ATTENDU QUE les parties veulent que le Traité algonquin qui découlera de ces négociations donne des garanties à l'égard des droits constitutionnellement protégés des Algonquins au chapitre des terres et ressources en Ontario;

ATTENDU QUE les parties ont convenu d'élargir les négociations afin d'inclure plusieurs collectivités algonquines, à savoir Antoine, Snimikobi, Bancroft, Bonnechere, Greater Golden Lake, Mattawa-North Bay, Ottawa, Shabot Obaadjiwan et Whitney et ses environs, et que chacune de ces collectivités soit représentée par un représentant algonquin aux négociations et puisse comprendre des Algonquins inscrits ou non inscrits au sens de la Loi sur les Indiens;

ATTENDU QUE le chef et le conseil des Algonquins de la Première nation Pikwàkanagàn (anciennement les Algonquins de Golden Lake) sont également des  représentants algonquins aux négociations;

ATTENDU QUE les parties se sont engagées à mener ces négociations avec équité et célérité;

ATTENDU QUE les parties veulent que le présent cadre de négociations (ci-après appelé le « cadre ») modifie et remplace le cadre de négociations conclu le 25 août 1994 et qu'il régisse la conduite de leurs négociations en vue de la conclusion de l'entente de principe et du Traité algonquin;

À CES CAUSES, les parties conviennent de ce qui suit :

1. Objet du présent cadre

1.1 Le présent cadre a pour objet :

  1. d'offrir un mécanisme qui favorisera la conduite de négociations efficientes et efficaces;
  2. de déterminer les questions à aborder lors de l'élaboration du Traité algonquin.

2. Approche générale concernant le processus de négotiation

2.1 Conformément aux paragraphes 3.3 et 8.5, les parties ont un but commun, soit de faire en sorte que les négociations entourant la conclusion de l'entente de principe et du Traité algonquin soient menées de façon à représenter les intérêts des participants algonquins au Traité algonquin.

2.2 Les négociations des parties en vue de la conclusion de l'entente de principe et du Traité algonquin seront menées selon le présent cadre. L'entente de principe donnera une description suffisamment détaillée des droits et des obligations des parties relativement à chaque élément afin d'en assurer la clarté et la compréhension, mais elle ne sera pas juridiquement contraignante.

2.3 Une fois l'entente de principe conclue, les parties se consacreront à la conclusion du Traité algonquin et de l'entente visant sa mise en oeuvre. Le Traité algonquin ne devra pas s'écarter des principes, de l'objet ou de l'esprit de l'entente de principe, sauf entente contraire entre toutes les parties. Une fois qu'il aura été ratifié selon les modalités prévues, le Traité liera les parties.

2.4 Il est de l'intention des parties que le Traité algonquin, lorsqu'il entrera en vigueur, constitue un accord sur des revendications territoriales au sens du paragraphe 35 (3) de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982, modifiée.

3. Éléments à considérer dans l'entente de principe

3.1 Les éléments suivants peuvent être examinés dans le cadre des négociations :

3.1.1 Terre, ressources naturelles non renouvelables et renouvelables, notamment :

  1. quantité et emplacement
  2. nature des droits, titres et intérêts
  3. critères de sélection
  4. planification, gestion et administration
  5. conservation, évaluation et protection environnementales
  6. intérêts publics et autres
  7. utilisation, accès et avantages
  8. mise en oeuvre et délais

3.1.2 Autres éléments de l'entente, notamment :

  1. éléments financiers :
    • nature et montants
    • administration de l'actif
    • méthode et calendrier du virement
    • calcul et paiement des prêts négociés et des dépenses
    • mise en oeuvre et délais
    • imposition
  2. autres éléments :
    • nature
    • montants
    • administration
    • mise en oeuvre et délais

3.1.3 Nature et exercice du pouvoir des parties relativement aux éléments du Traité algonquin

3.1.4 Garantie et finalité des droits concernant les éléments du Traité algonquin

3.1.5 Processus d'approbation et de ratification des diverses ententes par les parties

3.1.6 Modes de règlement des différends découlant du Traité algonquin

3.1.7 Processus de modification du Traité algonquin

3.2 La liste qui précède n'est pas exhaustive, mais elle a pour objet de guider les parties durant les négociations. Chacune des parties peut soulever un large éventail de questions pouvant faire l'objet de négociations.

3.3 En outre, les questions et les modalités relatives à la représentation, à l'admissibilité et à l'inscription sont réglées dans l'entente de principe.

4. Procédure à suivre concernant l'organisation des réunions et l'échange des documents

4.1 De façon générale, les réunions auront lieu chaque mois et leur durée sera déterminée par les parties. Chacune des parties sera l'hôte de la réunion une fois sur trois, sauf convention contraire des parties.

4.2 À la fin de chaque réunion, les parties établiront la date, le lieu et l'ordre du jour, et elles donneront des précisions concernant le dépôt des documents pour la réunion suivante. Tout fait nouveau pouvant survenir entre les réunions pourra entraîner des changements concernant la date, le lieu, l'ordre du jour et le dépôt des documents.

4.3 De façon générale, l'échange de toute la correspondance et de tous les documents se fera par l'entremise des négociateurs dont les adresses sont les suivantes :

Robert J. Potts, principal négociateur algonquin et conseiller juridique principal
Blaney McMurtry s.r.l.
2, rue Queen Est, bureau 1500
Toronto (Ontario) M5C 3G5

Brian A. Crane c.r., négociateur en chef de l'Ontario
Gowling Lafleur Henderson s.r.l.
160, rue Elgin, bureau 2600
Ottawa (Ontario) K1N 8S3

Robin Aitken, négociateur en chef du gouvernement fédéral
Ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien
10, rue Wellington
Gatineau (Québec) K1A 0H4

5. Dates cibles prévues

5.1 Les parties déploieront tous les efforts raisonnables pour parvenir à une entente de principe au plus tard le 31 mars 2011.

5.2 Une fois que l'entente de principe aura été approuvée, les parties établiront une date cible pour la conclusion du Traité algonquin et de l'entente visant sa mise en oeuvre.

6. Arrangements provisoires

6.1 Les partis peuvent négocier entre elles des arrangements provisoires qui tiennent compte de leurs intérêts.

6.2 Les négociations entourant les arrangements provisoires ou leur prorogation seront menées de manière à ne pas retarder indûment la conclusion de l'entente de principe et du Traité algonquin.

7. Financement des négociations

7.1 Le Canada et l'Ontario reconnaissent qu'il est essentiel que les Algonquins puissent participer efficacement aux négociations. À cette fin, les Algonquins devront disposer des fonds nécessaires pour, notamment, embaucher du personnel, obtenir des avis juridiques et techniques indépendants, se préparer aux séances de négociations et y prendre part, effectuer des recherches, préparer leurs arguments et prendre en compte les arguments des autres parties, amorcer des discussions à l'interne et pour d'autres objectifs connexes.

7.2 Les parties établissent le niveau de financement sur une base annuelle, sous réserve des crédits annuels versés par le Parlement du Canada et l'Assemblée législative de l'Ontario et sous réserve des politiques fédérales et provinciales en vigueur.

7.3 Les fonds qui sont fournis aux Algonquins par le Canada et l'Ontario, conformément au paragraphe 7.2, sont avancés dans le cadre d'ententes distinctes entre le Canada et la fiducie de financement des négociations relatives au Traité algonquin (Algonquin Treaty Negotiation Funding Trust) et entre l'Ontario et la fiducie de financement des négociations relatives au Traité algonquin.

8. Processus de négociation

8.1 Les parties conviennent que l'ébauche des chapitres de l'entente de principe portant sur un ou plusieurs sujets sera terminée dans un délai raisonnable.

8.2 Les parties amorceront le processus de négociation en définissant les principes qui leur tiennent à coeur relativement à chacun des sujets visés à l'article 3 afin d'aplanir les divergences pouvant exister entre elles à cet égard et atteindre un consensus.

8.3 Les parties traiteront des sujets énumérés à l'article 3 dans l'ordre qui aura été convenu par les négociateurs, le cas échéant; elles pourront travailler sur plusieurs sujets à la fois et créer des groupes de travail pour des tâches précises.

8.4 Les parties peuvent présenter des propositions écrites sur un des sujets visés à l'article 3 si aucun progrès utile n'est réalisé dans un délai raisonnable.

8.5 Nonobstant les paragraphes 8.2, 8.3, 8.4 et 8.6, les modalités mentionnées au paragraphe 3.3 seront élaborées par les Algonquins et transmises pour examen au Canada et à l'Ontario.

8.6 Nonobstant les paragraphes 8.2, 8.3 et 8.4, toute partie peut, dans le but de faire avancer les négociations, déposer des propositions sur un ou plusieurs des sujets énumérés à l'article 3 après en avoir avisé les autres parties 30 jours au préalable, de sorte que pendant ce délai, celles ci pourront formuler leurs observations sur le sujet avant le dépôt des propositions.

8.7 Tout projet de chapitre de l'entente de principe sur tout sujet dont les parties ont convenu doit être paraphé par les négociateurs. L'apposition de paraphes signifie que les négociateurs sont prêts à commencer à négocier une autre entente auxiliaire. Toutefois, les négociateurs peuvent encore reconsidérer tout projet de paragraphe paraphé tant que l'entente de principe n'est pas signée conformément au paragraphe 8.9.

8.8 L'entente de principe sera approuvée comme fondement du Traité Algonquin selon les modalités suivantes :

8.9.1 le principal négociateur algonquin est autorisé à parapher l'entente de principe si elle est approuvée par les représentants algonquins aux négociations dans le cadre d'un vote spécial défini dans le mandat des représentants des Algonquins aux négociations, daté du 26 septembre 2005, ou de toute modification y afférente;

8.9.2 une fois que l'entente de principe a été paraphée par les négociateurs, elle est soumise pour approbation au vote des électeurs algonquins admissibles;

8.9.3 si elle est approuvée conformément au sous-paragraphe 8.9.2, l'entente de principe est présentée par les négociateurs fédéraux et provinciaux à leurs mandants respectifs aux fins d'approbation.

9. Ouverture et sensibilisation du public

9.1 Les parties reconnaissent que la communication avec le public est essentielle pour parvenir à la conclusion du Traité algonquin. Par conséquent, les parties conviennent que le public, notamment les particuliers, les groupes ou les organisations ayant un intérêt particulier dans les résultats des négociations, doit être bien renseigné sur le déroulement général, les buts, les objectifs et l'évolution des négociations. Par conséquent, dans ce but :

9.1.1 les parties peuvent s'engager dans un processus d'information publique conjoint et, à cette fin, assister à des réunions avec des particuliers, des organisations ou des groupes sélectionnés, comme elles le conviennent;

9.1.2 les parties peuvent procéder séparément aux autres séances de consultation et d'information qu'elles jugent opportunes, y compris pour obtenir un grand éventail d'opinions et un consensus, et informer le public du déroulement des négociations et des questions d'intérêt soulevées au cours de celles ci.

10. Consultation et accommodement

10.1 Le Canada et l'Ontario confirment qu'ils se sont engagés à s'acquitter de toute obligation qu'ils peuvent avoir envers les Algonquins en vertu de la loi au chapitre de la consultation et, le cas échéant, de l'accommodement.

11. Statut et interprétation de la présente entente

11.1 Sauf en ce qui concerne les paragraphes 11.1 à 11.8, le présent cadre n'est pas juridiquement contraignant; il exprime le bon vouloir et l'engagement politique à entamer des discussions.

11.2 Les parties revendiquent le privilège lié aux négociations en vue d'un règlement relativement au présent cadre et aux négociations qui sont engagées en vertu de ce dernier, et elles veulent que le cadre et les négociations soient sous réserve de leurs droits; plus particulièrement, aucune des parties n'essaiera d'utiliser l'entente-cadre ou un aspect des négociations, notamment les dossiers, l'information ou les communications qui divulguent le contenu des négociations ou des propositions, ou les positions des parties, comme preuve devant un tribunal judiciaire ou devant tribunal ou un organisme administratif, d'arbitrage ou de réglementation.

11.3 La participation au présent cadre et aux négociations engagées en vertu de celui ci ne constitue pas un aveu de la part d'une quelconque partie concernant l'existence, la nature, la portée ou l'étendue géographique des droits ou du titre des parties ou concernant ceux qui détiennent les droits ou le titre.

11.4 Les négociations engagées en vertu du cadre ne constituent pas une consultation gouvernementale à l'égard de droits ancestraux ou de titre ancestral.

11.5 Nonobstant les paragraphes 11.1 à 11.4, lorsque les parties acceptent par écrit que des négociations soient engagées en vue de conclure des arrangements provisoires, la preuve de ces négociations ou de tout accommodement découlant de ces négociations peut être présentée comme preuve de consultation et d'accommodement dans toute instance judiciaire. La présente disposition ne porte pas préjudice à la position des parties concernant le caractère adéquat ou les effets juridiques de la consultation ou de l'accommodement.

11.6 Les parties reconnaissent qu'il importe de bien renseigner le public sur le déroulement général, les objectifs et l'évolution des négociations, sans toutefois divulguer le contenu précis des réunions et des discussions, notamment les opinions, les positions et les propositions des parties, sauf dispositions contraires de la loi; rien dans le présent paragraphe ne limite la capacité des parties de mener à l'interne avec leurs mandants et intervenants les discussions qui peuvent s'avérer nécessaires pour formuler leurs arguments ou répondre aux arguments des autres parties.

11.7 La divulgation de renseignements, confidentiels ou non, à quiconque n'est pas partie au présent cadre ne constitue pas une renonciation au paragraphe 11.2.

11.8 Dans l'éventualité où le Canada ou l'Ontario recevrait une requête ou une demande en vertu des lois sur l'accès à l'information, pour des renseignements visés aux paragraphes 11.2 ou 11.6, le Canada ou l'Ontario aviserait, si nécessaire, les autres parties de ladite requête ou demande, porterait les paragraphes 11.2 et 11.6 à l'attention du décideur en vertu des lois sur l'accès à l'information et informerait le décideur de la raison pour laquelle il demande la protection de ces renseignements.

11.9 Le présent cadre ne doit pas être interprété de façon à nuire ou à porter atteinte au traité ou aux autres droits des Algonquins ou de tout autre peuple autochtone ni, bien entendu, à leurs droits en matière de consultation et d'accommodement.

11.10 Les parties peuvent modifier par écrit la présente entente-cadre.

11.11 La présente entente-cadre prend fin le 31 décembre 2011 ou à la date de la conclusion du traité, selon la première de ces dates, et elle peut être résiliée par l'une ou l'autre des parties au moyen d'un préavis écrit de quatre (4) semaines.

EN FOI DE QUOI, ont signé la présente entente les représentants des Algonquins aux négociations, au nom des Algonquins de l'Ontario, le ____ jour de _____________ 2009, le ministre des Affaires autochtones, au nom de Sa Majesté la Reine du chef de l'Ontario, le ____ jour de _____________ 2009, et le ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien et interlocuteur fédéral auprès des Métis et des Indiens non inscrits, au nom de Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, le ____ jour de _____________ 2009.

Les Algonquins de l'Ontario

CLIFFORD BASTIEN JR.
Mattawa-North Bay

KATHERINE CANNON
Bancroft

LYNN CLOUTHIER
Ottawa

ROBERT CRAFTCHICK
Whitney et ses environs

DOREEN DAVIS
Shabot Obaadjiwan

PATRICK GLASSFORD
Greater Golden Lake

DAVIE JOANISSE
Antoine

SHERRY KOHOKO
Pikwàkanagàn

H. JERROW LAVALLEY
Pikwàkanagàn

RANDY MALCOLM
Snimikobi

CLIFF MENESS
Pikwàkanagàn

JIM MENESS
Pikwàkanagàn

RICHARD SARAZIN
Pikwàkanagàn

VICKY TWO-AXE
Pikwàkanagàn

KIRBY WHITEDUCK
Pikwàkanagàn

RICHARD ZOHR
Bonnechere

Ontario :

L'honorable Brad Duguid
Ministre des Affaires autochtones

Canada :

L'honorable Chuck Strahl
Ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien et interlocuteur fédéral auprès des Métis et des Indiens non inscrits

Date de modification :