Lands & Access

THE ISSUE:

Some British Columbians are concerned that lands transferred to the Nisga'a as part of a treaty would not be accessible to other Canadians. They also wonder what will happen to private property that falls within the boundaries of the settlement lands, and to the provincial roads and highways that cut through the Nisga'a Lands. Will the Nisga'a Final Agreement create an independent fiefdom within Canada?

THE ANSWER:

The Nisga'a Lands will be as much a part of Canada as any other place in B.C.

The Nisga'a Lands will amount to about 2,000 square kilometres around the lower Nass Valley. Federal and provincial laws of general application will be in force in the Nisga'a Lands, and the public will have substantially greater rights of access to the Nisga'a Lands than to other privately held lands. For example, access to the Nisga'a Lands for hunting, fishing and recreational activities will be subject only to the sorts of restrictions that other local governments apply to these activities.

Private property remains private property after the Treaty takes effect.

MORE TO CONSIDER:

Does the Supreme Court of Canada's decision in Delgamuukw have any impact on what the Treaty will say about the Nisga'a Lands? After finalizing the Treaty, could the Nisga'a ask for more land?

The Nisga'a Treaty is an example of the kind of negotiated settlement that the Delgamuukw decision encouraged. The Treaty will clearly set out the amount and boundaries of the settlement lands that are defined as Nisga'a Lands, as well as the scope of the Nisga'a Government's powers on those lands. Its terms will be final.

So, the Treaty, not the Delgamuukw decision, will guide the future of the Nisga'a Lands and Nisga'a Government.

What about private property located within the boundaries of the Nisga'a Lands? Will the current owners lose it? Can the Nisga'a Government regulate what private property owners do on their land?

No. Private property was never on the table in negotiations. Privately owned land will not become part of the Nisga'a Lands and the provincial government will continue to have jurisdiction over those areas.

What about people who rent Crown land in the Nass Valley?

The territory that will be included in the Nisga'a Lands comes from federal and provincial Crown property holdings. People who are renting Crown land in the area designated for the Nisga'a Lands may have a new landlord. However, the Final Agreement stipulates that existing interests in land, such as rentals, will be continued by the Nisga'a in accordance with the rental terms in place when the Treaty comes into effect, and replacement tenures have been negotiated.

What will happen to roads and highways on the Nisga'a Lands?

The Final Agreement ensures that there will be no uncertainty about the status of the roads and rights of way in the Nisga'a Lands. The Nisga'a Highway will remain Crown land and the Final Agreement provides for unrestricted access for public and commercial traffic on public roads. The Final Agreement clearly defines the provincial government's rights to these existing and planned roadways. The Nisga'a Government will regulate access on other Nisga'a-owned roads, but all private landowners will have adequate access to their lands.

Federal Treaty Negotiation Office
PO Box 11576
2700–650 West Georgia St
Vancouver, BC V6B 4N8
Telephone (604) 775–7114
or toll free 1–800–665–9320

Les terres et l’accès

LA QUESTION :

Certains résidants et certaines résidantes de la Colombie-Britannique craignent que les terres transférées aux Nisga'as en vertu du traité ne soient pas accessibles aux autres Canadiens et Canadiennes. Ils se demandent aussi quel sort sera réservé aux propriétés privées situées à l'intérieur des limites des terres visées par le règlement ainsi qu'aux routes et aux autoroutes provinciales qui traversent les terres nisga'as. L'entente définitive des Nisga'as créera-t-elle un fief indépendant au sein du Canada?

LA RÉPONSE :

Les terres nisga'as feront autant partie du Canada que tout autre endroit en Colombie-Britannique.

La superficie des terres nisga'as, situées autour de la partie sud de la vallée de la Nass, s'élèvera à environ 2 000 kilomètres carrés. Les lois fédérales et provinciales d'application générale seront en vigueur sur les terres nisga'as. Le public pourra accéder beaucoup plus facilement aux terres nisga'as qu'aux autres terres privées. Par exemple, l'accès aux terres nisga'as à des fins de chasse, de pêche et d'activités récréatives ne sera assujetti qu'aux mêmes genres de restrictions imposées par les autres gouvernements locaux à ces activités.

Les propriétés privées demeureront propriétés privées lorsque le traité entrera en vigueur.

LES CONSIDÉRATIONS SUPPLÉMENTAIRES :

Le jugement de la Cour suprême du Canada dans la cause Delgamuukw a-t-il une incidence sur les dispositions du traité relatives aux terres nisga'as? Une fois le traité conclu, les Nisga'as pourraient-ils revendiquer d'autres terres?

Le traité des Nisga'as est un exemple du genre de règlement négocié que le jugement rendu dans la cause Delgamuukw a favorisé. Le traité définira clairement l'étendue et les limites des terres de règlement qui seront désignées à titre de terres nisga'as ainsi que la portée des pouvoirs du gouvernement nisga'a sur ces dernières. Ses conditions seront définitives.

Donc, le traité, et non le jugement rendu dans la cause Delgamuukw, orientera l'avenir des terres nisga'as et du gouvernement nisga'a.

Les personnes possédant actuellement des propriétés privées situées à l'intérieur des limites des terres nisga'as les perdront-elles? Le gouvernement nisga'a peut-il réglementer ce que les propriétaires privés font sur leur terrain?

Non. Les propriétés privées n'ont jamais fait l'objet de négociations. Les propriétés privées ne feront pas partie des terres nisga'as et elles continueront à relever du gouvernement provincial.

Qu'arrive-t-il aux personnes qui louent des terres de la Couronne dans la vallée de la Nass?

Le territoire qui sera ajouté aux terres nisga'as provient des propriétés de la Couronne fédérale et de la Couronne provinciale. Les personnes qui louent des terres de la Couronne dans la région désignée comme étant les terres nisga'as pourraient simplement avoir un nouveau propriétaire. Toutefois, l'entente définitive stipule que les intérêts existants sur le territoire, tels que les locations, seront désormais administrés par les Nisga'as conformément aux conditions de location existantes une fois que le traité entrera en vigueur et que les nouvelles tenures auront fait l'objet de négociations.

Qu'arrivera-t-il aux routes et aux autoroutes sur les terres nisga'as?

L'entente définitive assure qu'il n'y aura aucune incertitude à l'égard du statut des routes et des droits de passage sur les terres nisga'as. La route nisga'a demeure une propriété de la Couronne et l'entente définitive prévoit un libre accès à la circulation publique et commerciale sur les routes publiques. L'entente définitive définit clairement les droits du gouvernement provincial sur les routes existantes ou prévues. Le gouvernement nisga'a réglementera l'accès aux autres routes appartenant aux Nisga'as, mais tous les propriétaires privés jouiront d'un accès équitable à leurs terres.

Bureau fédéral de négociation des traités
Case postale 11576
650, rue Georgia Ouest, bureau 2700
Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique) V6B 4N8
Téléphone : (604) 775-7114
ou 1 800 665-9320 (sans frais)