ARCHIVED - Certainty

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

THE ISSUE:

Canadian taxpayers are investing a lot in the Nisga'a Final Agreement. The Nisga'a are getting land, resources, a new form of government and substantial cash transfers. What do other Canadians get in return?

THE ANSWER:

The Final Agreement provides all Canadians with certainty as it relates to lands and resources originally claimed by the Nisga'a and to the relationship between federal, provincial and future Nisga'a laws. This is a significant gain in the B.C. context where so few treaties exist.

A healthy economy is something we all want and is fundamental to every community's success. But economic prosperity is only possible where investors feel secure that their investments will not be jeopardized by disputes over land and resource rights.

The Nisga'a Final Agreement clarifies the rights the Nisga'a will have as they relate to lands, resources and governance in the Nass Valley. That means good news for the economy, and prosperity for communities in northwestern B.C.

"The Parties intend that this Agreement will provide certainty with respect to ownership and use of lands and resources, and the relationship of laws, within the Nass Area."

PREAMBLE
NISGA'A FINAL AGREEMENT

MORE TO CONSIDER:

What's in the Nisga'a Final Agreement to provide certainty?

Certainty is a central thread woven throughout the Nisga'a Final Agreement.

First, the Preamble Chapter of the Final Agreement clearly sets out the Parties' intention that certainty be provided with respect to Nisga'a ownership and use of lands and resources, and the relationship of federal, provincial and Nisga'a laws within the Nass Area.

The Final Agreement then sets out all the rights that the Nisga'a have under section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982, the area over which they apply and the limitations to those rights. It does so by modifying any Aboriginal rights the Nisga'a may have and by clearly defining any other rights the Parties have agreed the Nisga'a should exercise.

In addition, through the Final Agreement, the Nisga'a agree not to pursue any claims they may have arising from past infringements of Aboriginal rights.

And finally, as a precaution, the Final Agreement contains an agreement by the Nisga'a to release any Aboriginal rights the Nisga'a may be found to have, to the extent that those rights are different from the rights set out in the Final Agreement.

There's no vagueness about the Nisga'a Final Agreement. The Final Agreement is a full and final settlement of Nisga'a Aboriginal rights.

Does the wording in the Nisga'a Final Agreement provide the same level of certainty as the clauses commonly found in the treaties of the past?

This wording ensures that all the rights of the Nisga'a are set out clearly in the Treaty for everyone to understand. This is consistent with the objective achieved historically through treaties.

Canada, British Columbia and the Nisga'a Tribal Council all agree that the Treaty will provide the certainty that is needed to stand the test of time.

Why doesn't this Final Agreement contain an extinguishment or surrender clause the way that past treaties have?

Several reports, including the 1994 report of the Standing Committee on Aboriginal Affairs and the 1996 Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples, have recommended developing an alternative approach.

Aboriginal people throughout Canada have told the government that they could not accept an agreement that contains "cede, release and surrender" or extinguishment language. They believe that agreeing to these terms would break the spiritual and cultural link they have with their traditional territories and deny their identity as Aboriginal people in Canada.

Are the certainty provisions in the Nisga'a Final Agreement a model for other treaties?

Canada is committed to exploring with First Nations and other partners techniques for achieving certainty through treaties. The Nisga'a Final Agreement provides one technique to do this.

Federal Treaty Negotiation Office
PO Box 11576
2700–650 West Georgia St
Vancouver, B.C. V6B 4N8
Telephone (604) 775–7114
or toll free 1–800–665–9320

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - La certitude

Archivé: Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

 

LA QUESTION :

Les contribuables canadiens investissent beaucoup dans l'entente définitive des Nisga'as. Les Nisga'as reçoivent des terres, des ressources, un nouveau régime de gouvernement et des transferts financiers importants. Que reçoivent en retour les autres Canadiens et Canadiennes?

LA RÉPONSE :

L'entente définitive offre à tous les Canadiens et à toutes les Canadiennes la certitude quant à la propriété des terres et des ressources revendiquées à l'origine par les Nisga'as et quant à la relation entre les lois fédérales et provinciales et les futures lois nisga'as. Il s'agit là d'un avantage important, compte tenu de la rareté des traités en Colombie-Britannique.

Nous souhaitons tous et toutes profiter d'une saine économie, car elle est essentielle à la prospérité de toute collectivité. Cependant, la prospérité économique n'est possible que si les investisseurs sentent que leurs investissements ne seront pas compromis par des différends à propos de droits fonciers ou de droits à l'égard des ressources.

L'entente définitive des Nisga'as précise les droits dont jouiront les Nisga'as sur les terres, les ressources et les affaires publiques dans la région de la Nass. Voilà de bonnes nouvelles pour l'économie et pour la prospérité des collectivités du nord-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique.

« Les parties visent à ce que l'entente définitive offre la certitude quant à la propriété et à l'utilisation des terres et des ressources, ainsi qu'à l'égard des rapports entre les différentes lois régissant la région de la Nass. »

AVANT-PROPOS DE L'ENTENTE
DÉFINITIVE DES NISGA'AS

LES CONSIDÉRATIONS SUPPLÉMENTAIRES :

De quelle façon l'entente définitive des Nisga'as apporte-t-elle cette certitude?

La certitude est l'un des thèmes centraux sur lesquels s'articule l'ensemble de l'entente définitive.

D'abord, l'avant-propos de l'entente définitive précise clairement l'intention des parties d'établir la certitude quant à la propriété et à l'utilisation des terres et des ressources nisga'as, ainsi qu'à l'égard des rapports entre les lois fédérales, provinciales et nisga'as régissant la région de la Nass.

L'entente définitive définit ensuite tous les droits dont jouissent les Nisga'as en vertu de l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982, les domaines auxquels ils s'appliquent ainsi que les limites de ces droits. Pour ce faire, elle modifie tout droit ancestral que pourraient avoir les Nisga'as et précise clairement tout autre droit qu'ils devraient exercer selon les parties.

De plus, par l'entremise de l'entente définitive, les Nisga'as acceptent de ne pas présenter de revendications au sujet de possibles violations antérieures de leurs droits ancestraux.

Enfin, en guise de mesure de précaution, l'entente définitive stipule que les Nisga'as consentent à renoncer à tout droit ancestral qu'ils pourraient découvrir, dans la mesure où ce droit diffère de ceux qui y sont énoncés.

Rien n'est vague dans l'entente définitive. Cette entente règle de manière complète et définitive la question des droits ancestraux des Nisga'as.

Le texte de l'entente définitive des Nisga'as établit-il le même degré de certitude que les dispositions trouvées généralement dans les anciens traités?

Le texte fait en sorte que tous les droits des Nisga'as soient définis clairement dans le traité pour que tout le monde comprenne. Il est donc rédigé dans le même esprit que les anciens traités.

Le Canada, la Colombie-Britannique et le conseil tribal des Nisga'as conviennent tous du fait que la certitude apportée par ce traité lui permettra de résister à l'épreuve du temps.

Pourquoi cette entente définitive ne contient-elle pas de disposition concernant l'extinction ou la renonciation comme il en existait dans les anciens traités?

Plusieurs documents dont le rapport du Comité permanent des affaires autochtones, publié en 1994, et celui de la Commission royale sur les peuples autochtones, publié en 1996, ont recommandé le choix d'une autre approche.

Les Autochtones de partout au Canada ont dit au gouvernement qu'ils ne pouvaient pas accepter une entente qui contiendrait des dispositions relatives « à la cession, à l'abandon ou au renoncement », ou à toute autre expression associée à l'extinction. Ils sont convaincus que l'emploi de tels termes briserait le lien spirituel et culturel qu'ils entretiennent avec leurs territoires traditionnels et effacerait leur identité d'Autochtones du Canada.

Les dispositions de l'entente définitive des Nisga'as relatives à la certitude constituent-elles un modèle à suivre dans les autres traités?

Le Canada s'est engagé à envisager, avec les Premières nations et d'autres partenaires, des moyens permettant d'en arriver à la certitude par l'entremise de traités. L'entente définitive des Nisga'as constitue l'un de ces moyens.

Bureau fédéral de négociation des traités
Case postale 11576
650, rue Georgia Ouest, bureau 2700
Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique) V6B 4N8
Téléphone : (604) 775-7114
ou 1 800 665-9320 (sans frais)