Amendments to Selkirk First Nation Self-Government Agreement

Replaced - P.C. 1998-2024

14.4 Selkirk First Nation shall not exercise its power to enact laws pursuant to 14.1.2 until the expiration of the three years following the Effective Date, unless otherwise agreed between:

14.4.1 Selkirk First Nation and Canada with respect to the co-ordination of the exercise of Selkirk First Nation and federal tax powers; and

14.4.2 Selkirk First Nation and Yukon with respect to the co-ordination of the exercise of Selkirk First Nation and Yukon tax powers.

Amended - P.C. 2000-1658 - October 23, 2000

Sections 14 and 15 of the Selkirk First Nation Self-Government Agreement are amended as follows:

1. In 14.1.3, add "or with Canada" after "14.8".

2. Delete 14.3.

3. Delete 14.4.

4. In 14.5, delete "After the expiration of one year following the Effective Date, or at such earlier time as may be agreed by Canada and the Selkirk First Nation,". In addition, in the French language version only of 14.5, replace "ces deux parties" with " Le Canada et la première nation de Selkirk".

5. Delete 15.1.1.

6. Add, after 15.5:

15.6 For greater certainty, nothing in 15.1 to 15.5 shall be construed so as to prevent the application of section 149 of the Income Tax Act (Canada) to the Selkirk First Nation or to a corporation referred to in 15.3.

15.7 The Selkirk First Nation, or a trust, board, commission or similar body established by the Selkirk First Nation, or a corporation wholly-owned by any such entity or by a combination thereof (each of which is referred to in this clause as the "claimant"), may claim a refund of any tax paid by the claimant under subsection 165 (1) or sections 212 or 218 of Part IX of the Excise Tax Act (Canada) that is not otherwise recoverable by the claimant under any law, to the extent that the property or service in respect of which the tax was paid was acquired by the claimant:

15.7.1 for consumption or use in the course of exercising the powers of government within Settlement Land authorized under this Agreement, Self-Government Legislation, its Settlement Agreement or Settlement Legislation; and

15.7.2 not for consumption, use or supply in the course of any business or other activity engaged in by the claimant for profit or gain.

15.8 A refund of tax under 15.7 will not be paid to a claimant referred to in that clause unless, at the time at which the tax is paid:

15.8.1 all of the claimant's real property, other than the interest it holds in the Fort Selkirk Historic Site under Schedule A of Chapter 13 of the Selkirk First Nation Final Agreement, and all or substantially all of the claimant's tangible personal property is, or is situated on, Settlement Land; and

15.8.2 the claimant does not engage in any business or other activity for profit or gain, other than a business or activity, engaged in by the claimant on Settlement Land, the primary purpose of which is to provide goods or services to the Selkirk First Nation, Citizens, individuals resident on Settlement Land, or corporations wholly owned by the Selkirk First Nation or by Citizens, or such other businesses or activities as the parties may from time to time agree.

15.9 A refund of tax under 15.7 will not be paid unless an application for the refund is filed with the Minister of National Revenue within four years after the tax is paid.

15.10 The provisions of Part IX of the Excise Tax Act (Canada) will apply, with such modifications as the circumstances require, in respect of claims under 15.7 and in respect of amounts paid as a refund under 15.7 as though the refund provided for under 15.7 were a rebate provided for under Division VI of that Part.

15.11 Unless otherwise defined in this Agreement, words used in 15.7 to 15.10 have the same meaning as in Part IX of the Excise Tax Act (Canada).

15.12 Notwithstanding any other provision of this Agreement, 15.7 to 15.11 shall not apply to tax that is paid or becomes payable before amendments to the Yukon First Nations Self-Government Act (Canada) which provide for the matters set out in 15.7 to 15.1.1 come into effect.

Replaced - P.C. 2002-1567 - September 24, 2002

13.6.6 The provisions in 13.6.4 are interim provisions and shall expire eight years from the Effective Date or on the effective date of the agreement concluded pursuant to 13.6.1 and 13.6.2, whichever is earlier. The eight year period may be extended for such further time as may be agreed to in writing by the Minister on behalf of Canada, the Minister on behalf of the Yukon and the Council on behalf of the Selkirk First Nation.

Replaced – P.C. 2013-0027 – January 31, 2013

Subsection 13.6.4.1 of the Selkirk First Nation Self-Government Agreement is repealed and replaced by the following:

13.6.4.1 the Selkirk First Nation shall have the power to establish penalties of:

  1. fines up to $300,000 for the violation of a law enacted by the Selkirk First Nation in relation to the use of Settlement Land and of natural resources on Settlement Land or the control or prevention of pollution and the protection of the environment on Settlement Land;
  2. fines up to $5,000 for the violation of any other law enacted by the Selkirk First Nation; and,
  3. imprisonment to a maximum of six months for the violation of a law enacted by the Selkirk First Nation;
Date modified:

Modifications à l'Entente sur l'autonomie gouvernementale de la première nation de Selkirk

Remplacé - C.P. 1998-2024

14.4 La Première Nation de Selkirk ne pourra exercer son pouvoir d'édicter des lois en vertu de 14.1.2 avant l'expiration d'un délai de trois ans après la date d'entrée en vigueur, à moins d'entente contraire entre :

14.4.1 La Première Nation de Selkirk et le Canada à l'égard de la coordination de l'exercice des pouvoirs de taxation de la Première Nation de Selkirk et du gouvernement fédéral;

14.4.2 La Première Nation de Selkirk et le Yukon à l'égard de la coordination de l'exercice des pouvoirs de taxation de la Première Nation de Selkirk et du gouvernement du Yukon.

Modifié - C.P. 2000-1658 - 23 octobre 2000

Articles 14 et 15 de l'Entente sur l'autonomie gouvernementale de la première nation de Selkirk sont modifiés comme il suit :

1. dans 14.1.3, ajouter « avec le Canada ou » à la suite de « conclue » ;

2. abroger 14.3 ;

3. abroger 14.4 ;

4. dans 14.5, supprimer « À l'expiration d'un délai d'un an après la date d'entrée en vigueur ou à la date plus rapprochée dont conviennent, le cas échéant, le Canada et la première nation de Selkirk, » ; de plus, dans le même article et dans la version française seulement, remplacer « ces deux parties » par « Le Canada et la première nation de Selkirk » ;

5. abroger 15.1.1 ;

6. ajouter après 15.5 :

15.6 Il est entendu que les articles 15.1 à 15.5 n'ont pas pour effet d'empêcher l'application de l'article 149 de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (Canada) à la première nation de Selkirk ou à une corporation visée à l'article 15.3.

15.7 La première nation de Selkirk , une fiducie, un conseil, une commission ou une entité semblable établi par la première nation de Selkirk, ou une corporation détenue à cent pour cent par une ou plusieurs de ces entités (individuellement appelés « demandeur » dans le présent article) peuvent demander le remboursement de la taxe payée par le demandeur en application du paragraphe 165(1) ou des articles 212 ou 218 de la Partie IX de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise (Canada), si le demandeur ne peut, par ailleurs, récupérer cette taxe en vertu d'une autre règle de droit, dans la mesure où le bien ou le service ayant donné lieu au paiement de la taxe a, tout à la fois, été acquis par le demandeur :

15.7.1 pour consommation ou utilisation dans l'exercice, dans les limites des terres visées par le règlement, des pouvoirs gouvernementaux prévus par la présente entente, la législation sur l'autonomie gouvernementale, son entente portant règlement ou sa loi de mise en oeuvre ;

15.7.2 autrement que pour consommation, utilisation ou fourniture dans le cadre d'une entreprise que le demandeur exploite, ou d'une autre activité qu'il exerce, à des fins lucratives.

15.8 Le remboursement de taxe prévu à l'article 15.7 n'est versé au demandeur visé à cet article que si, au moment où la taxe est payée, les conditions suivantes sont réunies :

15.8.1 tous les immeubles du demandeur, à l'exception de ses intérêts dans le lieu historique de Fort Selkirk prévus à l'Annexe A du chapitre 13 de l'Entente définitive de la première nation de Selkirk, et la totalité, ou presque, de ses biens meubles corporels sont des terres visées par le règlement ou sont situés sur ces terres ;

15.8.2 aucune entreprise n'est exploitée, ni aucune activité exercée, par le demandeur à des fins lucratives, à l'exception d'une entreprise exploitée ou d'une activité exercée sur les terres visées par le règlement et dont le but principal consiste à fournir des biens ou des services à la première nation de Selkirk, aux citoyens, aux particuliers résidant sur les terres visées par le règlement ou aux corporations détenues à cent pour cent par la première nation de Selkirk ou par des citoyens, et de toute autre entreprise ou activité relativement à laquelle les parties se sont entendues.

15.9 Le remboursement de taxe prévu à l'article 15.7 n'est versé que si la demande de remboursement est présentée au ministre du Revenu national dans les quatre ans suivant le paiement de la taxe.

15.10 Les dispositions de la Partie IX de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise (Canada) s'appliquent, avec les adaptations nécessaires, à l'égard des demandes présentées en vertu de l'article 15.7 et des sommes versées à titre de remboursement en vertu de cet article comme si le remboursement qui y est prévu était un remboursement prévu à la section VI de cette Partie.

15.11 Sauf définition contraire de la présente entente, les mots employés aux articles 15.7 à 15.10 s'entendent au sens de la Partie IX de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise (Canada).

15.12 Malgré toute disposition contraire de la présente entente, les articles 15.7 à 15.11 ne s'appliquent pas aux taxes payées ou devenues payables avant l'entrée en vigueur des modifications à la Loi sur l'autonomie gouvernementale des premières nations du Yukon (Canada) relatives aux questions abordées aux articles 15.7 à 15.11.

Remplacé - C.P. 2002-1567 - 24 septembre 2002

13.6.6 Les dispositions de l'article 13.6.4 sont provisoires. Elles cesseront de s'appliquer à la première des éventualités suivantes : à l'expiration d'un délai de huit ans à partir de la date d'entrée en vigueur de la présente entente, ou à la date d'entrée en vigueur de l'entente conclue conformément aux articles 13.6.1 et 13.6.2. La période de huit ans peut être prolongée d'une durée convenue par écrit entre le ministre au nom du Canada, le ministre au nom du Yukon et le conseil de la Première nation de Selkirk au nom de celle-ci.

Remplacé – C.P. 2013-0027 – 31 janvier 2013

Le sous-alinéa 13.6.4.1 de l'Entente sur l'autonomie gouvernementale de la première nation Selkirk est abrogé et remplacé par ce qui suit :

13.6.4.1 la première nation Selkirk aura le pouvoir d'établir des peines :

Date de modification :