Amendments to the First Nation of Nacho Nyak Dun Self-Government Agreement

Amended - P.C. 1995-199 - February 7, 1995

SCHEDULE C

SECTIONS 15.1 AND 15.3

15.1 and 15.3 are amended by deleting the words "at all times before the end of the year" and replacing them with "at all times during the year".

SECTION 25.1.4

25.1.4 is amended by deleting the words:

unless otherwise agreed by the First Nation of Nacho Nyak Dun, and the Yukon or the affected municipality, as the case may be:

and replacing them with:

in matters not subject to the development assessment process referred to in Chapter 12 of the Final Agreement, unless otherwise agreed by the First Nation of Nacho Nyak Dun and either the Yukon or the affected municipality as the case may be:

SECTION 29.7

29.7 is amended by deleting the entire section and replacing it with the following:

29.7.1 Except as provided in 29.7.2, the Indian Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. I-5, shall cease to apply to the McQuesten Lands and this Agreement shall apply to the McQuesten Lands as if they were Settlement Land.

29.7.2 For the purposes of 20.6.1 and 20.6.2 of the Final Agreement the McQuesten Lands are deemed to be reserves within the meaning of the Indian Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. I-5.

SECTION 29.8

29.8 is amended by deleting the entire section and replacing it with the following:

29.8 Except as provided in 29.8.1 and subject to 29.8.2, 29.8.3, 29.8.4 and 29.8.5 the Final Agreement shall apply to the McQuesten Lands as if they were Category A Settlement Land, designated as Developed Settlement Land.

29.8.1 Section 5.2.6 of the Final Agreement shall not apply to the McQuesten Lands

29.8.2 For the purposes of the application of 5.12.0 of the Final Agreement to the McQuesten Lands, in the event of the reacquisition of any of those lands in fee simple by the First Nation of Nacho Nyak Dun, the First Nation may declare that the Final Agreement shall apply, and it shall thereafter apply, to those lands reacquired as if they were:

(a) Category A Settlement Land when Mines and Minerals are included; or

(b) Fee Simple Settlement Land when Mines and Minerals other than Specified Substances are not included, except that the cession, release and surrender of any aboriginal claim, right, title or interest in respect of the land shall not be affected.

29.8.3 For the purposes of 7.5.2.8 of the Final Agreement, land ordered as compensation thereunder shall be designated as if it were:

(a) Category A Settlement Land when Mines and Minerals are included, or

(b) Category B Settlement Land or Fee Simple Settlement Land when Mines and Minerals are not included.

29.8.4 For the purposes of 20.5.1 and 20.5.2 of the Final Agreement, the McQuesten Lands are deemed to be transferred or acquired under a Settlement Agreement.

29.8.5 For the purposes of 29.8 the following terms have the meanings provided for each of them in the Final Agreement: Category A Settlement Land, Category B Settlement Land, Fee Simple Settlement Land, Developed Settlement Land, Mines, Minerals and Specified Substances.

Amended - P.C. 2001-478 - March 29, 2001

Sections 14 and 15 of the First Nation of Nacho Nyak Dun Self-Government Agreement are amended as follows:

1. In 14.1.3, add "or with Canada" after "14.8".

2. Delete 14.3.

3. Delete 14.4.

4. In 14.5, delete "After the expiration of one year following the Effective Date, or at such earlier time as may be agreed by Canada and the First Nation of Nacho Nyak Dun,". In addition, in the French language version only of 14.5, replace "ces deux parties" with " Le Canada et la première nation des Nacho Nyak Dun".

5. Delete 15.1.1.

6. Add, after 15.5:

15.6 For greater certainty, nothing in 15.1 to 15.5 shall be construed so as to prevent the application of section 149 of the Income Tax Act (Canada) to the First Nation of Nacho Nyak Dun or to a corporation referred to in 15.3.

15.7 The First Nation of Nacho Nyak Dun, or a trust, board, commission or similar body established by the First Nation of Nacho Nyak Dun, or a corporation wholly-owned by any such entity or by a combination thereof (each of which is referred to in this clause as the "claimant"), may claim a refund of any tax paid by the claimant under subsection 165 (1) or sections 212 or 218 of Part IX of the Excise Tax Act (Canada) that is not otherwise recoverable by the claimant under any law, to the extent that the property or service in respect of which the tax was paid was acquired by the claimant:

15.7.1 for consumption or use in the course of exercising the powers of government within Settlement Land authorized under this Agreement, Self-Government Legislation, its Settlement Agreement or Settlement Legislation; and

15.7.2 not for consumption, use or supply in the course of any business or other activity engaged in by the claimant for profit or gain.

15.8 A refund of tax under 15.7 will not be paid to a claimant referred to in that clause unless, at the time at which the tax is paid:

15.8.1 all of the claimant's real property and all or substantially all of the claimant's tangible personal property is, or is situated on, Settlement Land; and

15.8.2 the claimant does not engage in any business or other activity for profit or gain, other than a business or activity, engaged in by the claimant on Settlement Land, the primary purpose of which is to provide goods or services to the First Nation of Nacho Nyak Dun, Citizens, individuals resident on Settlement Land, or corporations wholly owned by the First Nation of Nacho Nyak Dun or by Citizens, or such other businesses or activities as the parties may from time to time agree.

15.9 A refund of tax under 15.7 will not be paid unless an application for the refund is filed with the Minister of National Revenue within four years after the tax is paid.

15.10 The provisions of Part IX of the Excise Tax Act (Canada) will apply, with such modifications as the circumstances require, in respect of claims under 15.7 and in respect of amounts paid as a refund under 15.7 as though the refund provided for under 15.7 were a rebate provided for under Division VI of that Part.

15.11 Unless otherwise defined in this Agreement, words used in 15.7 to 15.10 have the same meaning as in Part IX of the Excise Tax Act (Canada).

15.12 Notwithstanding any other provision of this Agreement, 15.7 to 15.11 shall not apply to tax that is paid or becomes payable before amendments to the Yukon First Nations Self-Government Act (Canada) which provide for the matters set out in 15.7 to 15.1.1 come into effect.

Replaced – P.C. 2013-0027 – January 31, 2013

Subsection 13.6.4.1 of the First Nation of Nacho Nyäk Dun Self-Government Agreement is repealed and replaced by the following:

13.6.4.1 the First Nation of Nacho Nyäk Dun shall have the power to establish penalties of:

(a) fines up to $300,000 for the violation of a law enacted by the First Nation of Nacho Nyäk Dun in relation to the use of Settlement Land and of natural resources on Settlement Land or the control or prevention of pollution and the protection of the environment on Settlement Land;

(b) fines up to $5,000 for the violation of any other law enacted by the First Nation of Nacho Nyäk Dun; and,

(c) imprisonment to a maximum of six months for the violation of a law enacted by the First Nation of Nacho Nyäk Dun;

Date modified:

Modifications à l'Entente sur l'autonomie gouvernementale de la Première nation des Nacho Nyak Dun

Modifié - C.P. 1995-199 - 7 février 1995

ANNEXE C

ARTICLES 15.1 ET 15.3

Les articles 15.1 et 15.3 sont modifiés par suppression des mots « avant la fin de l'année » et par substitution des mots suivants « durant l'année ».

ARTICLE 25.1.4

L'article 25.1.4 est modifié par suppression du passage suivant :

sauf convention contraire entre la première nation des Nacho Nyak Dun et, selon le cas, le Yukon ou la municipalité touchée :

et par substitution de ce qui suit :

pour ce qui est des questions non assujetties au mécanisme d'évaluation des activités de développement prévu au chapitre 12 de l'entente définitive, sauf convention contraire entre la première nation des Nacho Nyak Dun et, selon le cas, le Yukon ou la municipalité touchée :

ARTICLE 29.7

L'article 29.7 est modifié par substitution du texte suivant :

29.7.1 Sous réserve des dispositions du paragraphe 29.7.2, la Loi sur les Indiens, L.R.C. (1985), ch. I-5, cesse de s'appliquer aux terres de McQuesten et la présente entente s'applique à celles-ci comme si elles étaient des terres visées par le règlement.

29.7.2 Pour l'application des articles 20.6.1 et 20.6.2 de l'entente définitive, les terres de McQuesten sont réputées être des réserves au sens de la Loi sur les Indiens, L.R.C. (1985), ch. I-5.

ARTICLE 29.8

L'article 29.8 est modifié par substitution du texte suivant :

29.8 Sous réserve des dispositions des articles 29.8.1, 29.8.2, 29.8.3, 29.8.4 et 29.8.5, l'entente définitive s'applique aux terres de McQuesten comme si elles étaient des terres visées par le règlement et désignées comme étant des terres mises en valeur et visées par le règlement.

29.8.1 L'article 5.2.6 de l'entente définitive ne s'applique pas aux terres de McQuesten.

29.8.2 Pour l'application de l'article 5.12.0 de l'entente définitive aux terres de McQuesten, en cas de réacquisition de ces terres en fief simple par la première nation des Nacho Nyak Dun, celle-ci peut déclarer que l'entente définitive s'applique aux terres ainsi réacquises comme s'il s'agissait :

a) soit de terres visées par le règlement de catégorie A, si les mines et les minéraux sont inclus;

b) soit de terres visées par le règlement détenues en fief simple, si les mines et les minéraux - à l'exception des matières spécifiées - ne sont pas inclus.

Il est entendu que la cession de quelque revendication, droit, titre ou intérêt ancestral visant ces terres n'est pas touché.

29.8.3 Pour l'application de l'article 7.5.2.8 de l'entente définitive, les terres visées par une ordonnance rendue au titre de l'indemnité prévue par cette disposition sont désignées, selon le cas :

a) terres visées par le règlement de catégorie A, si les mines et les minéraux sont inclus;

b) terres visées par le règlement de catégorie B ou terres visées par le règlement détenues en fief simple, si les mines et les minéraux ne sont pas inclus.

29.8.4. Pour l'application des articles 20.5.1 et 20.5.2 de l'entente définitive, les terres de McQuesten sont réputées avoir été transférées ou acquises en vertu d'une entente portant règlement.

29.8.5 Pour l'application de l'article 29.8, les termes suivants s'entendent au sens de l'entente définitive : terres visées par le règlement de catégorie A, terres visées par le règlement de catégorie B, terres visées par le règlement détenues en fief simple, terres mises en valeur et visées par le règlement, mines, minéraux et matières spécifiées.

Modifié - C.P. 2001-478

Articles 14 et 15 de l'Entente sur l'autonomie gouvernementale de la première nation des Nacho Nyak Dun sont modifiés comme il suit:

1. dans 14.1.3, ajouter « avec le Canada ou  » à la suite de « conclue  »;

2. abroger 14.3;

3. abroger 14.4;

4. dans 14.5, supprimer « À l'expiration d'un délai d'un an après la date d'entrée en vigueur ou à la date plus rapprochée dont conviennent, le cas échéant, le Canada et la première nation des Nacho Nyak Dun,  »; de plus, dans le même article et dans la version française seulement, remplacer « ces deux parties  » par « Le Canada et la première nation des Nacho Nyak Dun  » ;

5. abroger 15.1.1;

6. ajouter après 15.5 :

15.6 Il est entendu que les articles 15.1 à 15.5 n'ont pas pour effet d'empêcher l'application de l'article 149 de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (Canada) à la première nation des Nacho Nyak Dun ou à une corporation visée à l'article 15.3.

15.7 La première nation des Nacho Nyak Dun, une fiducie, un conseil, une commission ou une entité semblable établi par la première nation des Nacho Nyak Dun, ou une corporation détenue à cent pour cent par une ou plusieurs de ces entités (individuellement appelés « demandeur  » dans le présent article) peuvent demander le remboursement de la taxe payée par le demandeur en application du paragraphe 165(1) ou des articles 212 ou 218 de la Partie IX de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise (Canada), si le demandeur ne peut, par ailleurs, récupérer cette taxe en vertu d'une autre règle de droit, dans la mesure où le bien ou le service ayant donné lieu au paiement de la taxe a, tout à la fois, été acquis par le demandeur :

15.7.1 pour consommation ou utilisation dans l'exercice, dans les limites des terres visées par le règlement, des pouvoirs gouvernementaux prévus par la présente entente, la législation sur l'autonomie gouvernementale, son entente portant règlement ou sa loi de mise en oeuvre;

15.7.2 autrement que pour consommation, utilisation ou fourniture dans le cadre d'une entreprise que le demandeur exploite, ou d'une autre activité qu'il exerce, à des fins lucratives.

15.8 Le remboursement de taxe prévu à l'article 15.7 n'est versé au demandeur visé à cet article que si, au moment où la taxe est payée, les conditions suivantes sont réunies :

15.8.1 tous les immeubles du demandeur et la totalité, ou presque, de ses biens meubles corporels sont des terres visées par le règlement ou sont situés sur ces terres;

15.8.2 aucune entreprise n'est exploitée, ni aucune activité exercée, par le demandeur à des fins lucratives, à l'exception d'une entreprise exploitée ou d'une activité exercée sur les terres visées par le règlement et dont le but principal consiste à fournir des biens ou des services à la première nation des Nacho Nyak Dun, aux citoyens, aux particuliers résidant sur les terres visées par le règlement ou aux corporations détenues à cent pour cent par la première nation des Nacho Nyak Dun ou par des citoyens, et de toute autre entreprise ou activité relativement à laquelle les parties se sont entendues.

15.9 Le remboursement de taxe prévu à l'article 15.7 n'est versé que si la demande de remboursement est présentée au ministre du Revenu national dans les quatre ans suivant le paiement de la taxe.

15.10 Les dispositions de la Partie IX de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise (Canada) s'appliquent, avec les adaptations nécessaires, à l'égard des demandes présentées en vertu de l'article 15.7 et des sommes versées à titre de remboursement en vertu de cet article comme si le remboursement qui y est prévu était un remboursement prévu à la section VI de cette Partie.

15.11 Sauf définition contraire de la présente entente, les mots employés aux articles 15.7 à 15.10 s'entendent au sens de la Partie IX de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise (Canada).

15.12 Malgré toute disposition contraire de la présente entente, les articles 15.7 à 15.11 ne s'appliquent pas aux taxes payées ou devenues payables avant l'entrée en vigueur des modifications à la Loi sur l'autonomie gouvernementale des premières nations du Yukon (Canada) relatives aux questions abordées aux articles 15.7 à 15.11.

Remplacé – C.P. 2013-0027 – 31 janvier 2013

Le sous-alinéa 13.6.4.1 de l’Entente sur l’autonomie gouvernementale de la première nation Nacho Nyäk Dun est abrogé et remplacé par ce qui suit :

13.6.4.1 la première nation Nacho Nyäk Dun aura le pouvoir d’établir des peines :

(a) d’amende maximale de 300 000 $ pour toute contravention à une loi qu’elle a édicté concernant l’utilisation des terres désignées et les ressources naturelles de ces terres ou concernant la prévention de la pollution, la lutte contre celle-ci et la protection de l’environnement sur les terres désignées;

(b) d’amende maximale de 5 000 $ pour toute contravention à toute autre loi qu’elle a édicté; et,

(c) d’emprisonnement maximal de six mois pour toute contravention à une loi qu’elle a édicté;

Date de modification :